Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    Bullet to the Head doesn't try to adapt its star to 2013. It just pretends that we're still living in 1986. And for 91 minutes, it just about works.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 31, 2013
    75
    A good action movie, whose title expresses what is, more or less, a recurring motif. It also gives a sense of the film's general attitude toward life. It's a film with no ambition but to get viewers' pulses moving. It does that, and with a fair degree of wit and style.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Heath Jr.
    Jan 29, 2013
    75
    Walter Hill thoughtfully regards the pummeling power of weaponry at work.
  4. 70
    The upshot is a shoot-‘em-up with a lean palette and relatively streamlined carnage, wet but not sloppy. It can almost pass for “classical.”
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Stallone looks great (even if his face doesn't quite move when he talks), while Hill (48 Hours, The Warriors) brings lean economy to the film's bloody, unapologetic mayhem.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Bullet to the Head is an adrenaline shot to your movie memory if the blunt, gleefully dumb, no-nonsense ways of '80s-style action flicks are your nostalgia drug of choice.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Jan 18, 2013
    70
    Like the amped up comeback tour of two rockers who had their heyday sometime in the mid-'80s, Sylvester Stallone and director Walter Hill (48 HRS., The Warriors) join forces for a hard-hitting exercise in beefy, brainless fun with the New Orleans-set actioner Bullet to the Head.
  8. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    Jan 18, 2013
    70
    To claim the dialogue is written to comfort the narratively challenged would be mere quibbling, as the picture's chief pleasure lies in its store of funny lines, which Stallone tosses off with genuine brio.
  9. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Jan 31, 2013
    67
    This film feels like one you discover late at night and watch for ten minutes before remembering you've already seen it, and yet we still kinda loved it.
  10. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 30, 2013
    67
    The X-factors tend to be the script and the performances, and those elements largely betray him in Bullet To The Head, which is a perfunctory exercise whenever Hill isn't busying himself with gun battles, ax fights, and other mano-a-mano confrontations. He can only do so much.
  11. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    An entertaining if nonsensical variation on Hill's greatest hit from that bygone era, "48 Hrs.''
  12. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    Bullet in the Head is a throwback to the past with its eyes trained on the present, and it proves Hill has kept up with the times.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    It's junk, and it's excessively violent, which is a given. Approach it as a Stallone movie (which it is) or as a Hill movie (which it is), but it's more interesting as a Hill movie. If it gets this director back into the hard-driving action game, then it will have done its duty.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    Hope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. WeHope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rant column. Sorry, the movie is a great Stallone movie. As it should be being directed by the master of this genre. Full Review »
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    This was a very good action movie. Nothing more, nothing less. Personally, I thought Stallone looked great for his age, regardless of how heThis was a very good action movie. Nothing more, nothing less. Personally, I thought Stallone looked great for his age, regardless of how he got there. If you go in with zero expectations, then you deserve to be disappointed. This ain't Shakespeare, folks. It's a rough and ready popcorn movie that just happens to be done very well. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    Why did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude VanWhy did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude Van Damme. If you are a huge action movie fan you may like this for me it's sub par. D+ Full Review »