Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    Bullet to the Head doesn't try to adapt its star to 2013. It just pretends that we're still living in 1986. And for 91 minutes, it just about works.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Stallone looks great (even if his face doesn't quite move when he talks), while Hill (48 Hours, The Warriors) brings lean economy to the film's bloody, unapologetic mayhem.
  3. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Jan 31, 2013
    67
    This film feels like one you discover late at night and watch for ten minutes before remembering you've already seen it, and yet we still kinda loved it.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    It's a surprise that Stallone is as funny as he is playing a hit man paired with a cop in Bullet to the Head. He's man-cave witty in a way that his "Expendables" movies have strived for but haven't really managed.
  5. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Unfortunately the bulk of the picture is cut together like a beer commercial on poorly lit cheap video without much panache. Unless primary colors with a gauzy halo is panache.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Like Stallone, director Walter Hill is also far from his heyday ("The Warriors," "48 HRS.," "Streets of Fire"), but the old-guy camaraderie behind the scenes is evident. Despite the movie being based on a graphic novel, no one adds extra flash here just to appease the kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    By the end I could have used a Bulleit to the mouth.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    A total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full action movies from the past. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was a lot of fun. It is exactly what the trailers show it to be. I am glad Stallone is back. Very fun movie. If you like Cobra, Get Carter, The Specialist, or any of his other movies along this line, you will like this one. And isn't entertainment what we go to the movies for? Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    Hope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rant column. Sorry, the movie is a great Stallone movie. As it should be being directed by the master of this genre. Collapse
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    "Bullet To The Head" is entertaining in a mindless way in fact, it's the perfect 80's film bone-crushing violence, action and slightly "past-their-sell-date" one-liners. If this has been released in 1986 it would be #1 at the box office. An entertaining and oddly out of date film that grinds out for an audience that no longer exists. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bullet to the Heat is a decent action film with some high quality fight scenes and good acting. Sylvester Stallone plays his typical BA role and Sung Kang continues to emerge as a potential star on the rise. I also loved the addition, though small, of Sarah Shahi. I really hope she starts to get some bigger roles because she is a fantastic actress and has such a unique and exotic look. The flaws in the movie were pretty major though. The plot development was frantic and sort of a mess and the element of Kang's character being ignorant to the police's involvement seemed kind of silly considering how obvious is was to the audience and even the rest of the characters in the film. The gun play was also horrendous. How many movies are going to use the silencer in this unrealistic fashion? It's really getting old. I also thought Sly's character was a little over the top. It's tough to "root for" a protagonist that you can't stand and his character was a bit too much of a jerk to get in his corner. On a slightly off-topic note, I find it ironic that Stallone has opined against guns and the 2nd amendment but then makes movies like this where there are criminals and crooked cops left and right. Talk about hypocrisy. Back to the point though, this was a decent movie that had some entertainment value but nothing more really. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    If only director Walter Hill could make a great Sylvestor Stallone action movie like memorable hits such "Rambo" and "The Expandables", but i guess this is all he can give to us. It's not that it's terrible because it's not terrible, but it's storyline is uninteresting and unoriginal. If this movie had came out in the 80s, it probably could have been a big hit. But since it's 2013, i don't think we're into those typical action movies anymore. Overall, just a boring, unoriginal story of vengeance. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story is ridiculous and the dialogue is tedious. Seeing a 70 yr Stallone all steroid-ed up with his face still botched up, was unnerving. Seeing him battle the young, hunky
    Jason M... was a just an embarrassment. Skip this one folks! Save your hard-earned dollars and see something else.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers