Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    Bullet to the Head doesn't try to adapt its star to 2013. It just pretends that we're still living in 1986. And for 91 minutes, it just about works.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Stallone looks great (even if his face doesn't quite move when he talks), while Hill (48 Hours, The Warriors) brings lean economy to the film's bloody, unapologetic mayhem.
  3. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Jan 31, 2013
    67
    This film feels like one you discover late at night and watch for ten minutes before remembering you've already seen it, and yet we still kinda loved it.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    It's a surprise that Stallone is as funny as he is playing a hit man paired with a cop in Bullet to the Head. He's man-cave witty in a way that his "Expendables" movies have strived for but haven't really managed.
  5. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Unfortunately the bulk of the picture is cut together like a beer commercial on poorly lit cheap video without much panache. Unless primary colors with a gauzy halo is panache.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Like Stallone, director Walter Hill is also far from his heyday ("The Warriors," "48 HRS.," "Streets of Fire"), but the old-guy camaraderie behind the scenes is evident. Despite the movie being based on a graphic novel, no one adds extra flash here just to appease the kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    By the end I could have used a Bulleit to the mouth.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    A total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full actionA total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full action movies from the past. Collapse
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was a lot of fun. It is exactly what the trailers show it to be. I am glad Stallone is back. Very fun movie. If you like Cobra,This movie was a lot of fun. It is exactly what the trailers show it to be. I am glad Stallone is back. Very fun movie. If you like Cobra, Get Carter, The Specialist, or any of his other movies along this line, you will like this one. And isn't entertainment what we go to the movies for? Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    Hope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. WeHope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rant column. Sorry, the movie is a great Stallone movie. As it should be being directed by the master of this genre. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    5
    Sorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous PhillySorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous Philly steps. I'm pretty sure that other things happened in the movie, but nothing could break my trance. Sly is Rocky. Nothing else matters. If you want to see an action flick with an aging star I'd save my money and go see the new Die Hard movie when it comes out. Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    5
    I usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually findI usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies with Sylvester Stallone, but this was different. It was just an average action movie, and had the low budget feeling. Honestly I can`t blame it on any of the actors. I just didn`t care for the movie overall. I found it to be a very forgettable movie. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    Can a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit manCan a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit man Jimmy Bobo (Sylvester Stallone) loses his partner Louis (Jon Seda) in a double cross he joins forces with Taylor Kwon (Sung Kang), a DC police officer whose partner was killed by the same group. The problem with Bullet to the Head isn't that it feels like been there done that, its that it believes its actually being original, that it isn't the hundredth odd couple action film to exist, at least when the Last Boy Scout came out, it didn't pretend it was something it wasn't, original. Almost the entirety of Bullet to the Head is cliches and while they irritate the film does have some thrills to it. The action is good, not great but its got a certain charm, the film uses profanity properly, it actually feels like it belongs and these two characters meld well meaning the cheesy dialogue does provide a few laughs although the script is filled with unnatural dialogue delivered by actors who can clearly tell its dreadful. The supporting cast is awful with Christian Slater continuing his slow journey to obscurity and Jason Momoa playing a unintentionally hilarious sadist. All in all the film is filled with problems but its oddly still fun watching Sly murder countless numbers of people even if at times it doesn't make a lick of sense. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story isI went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story is ridiculous and the dialogue is tedious. Seeing a 70 yr Stallone all steroid-ed up with his face still botched up, was unnerving. Seeing him battle the young, hunky
    Jason M... was a just an embarrassment. Skip this one folks! Save your hard-earned dollars and see something else.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers