Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Using cutting-edge visuals and heart-pounding fight choreography, Bunraku combines comic-books, spaghetti westerns, samurai films, video-games, and more into a stunning glimpse at an alternate future. In a world without guns, a mysterious drifter walks into a strange town terrorized by the ruthless Nicola and his army of thugs, headed by nine deadly assassins including the vicious Killer #2. The drifter is forced to trust a young samurai looking to restore his family's honor, and the local bartender who has been secretly awaiting a dream team to help overthrow Nicola's tyrannical regime. (ARC Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Sep 27, 2011
    70
    Insular and indulgent as it is, though, the movie is never less than a visual treat.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    Bunraku comes up frustratingly empty, and just as many of its elements simply bloat an overlong run time. (Demi Moore shows up seemingly to give the film more than one female speaking part.) It looks good, but Bunraku feels like a Frankenstein's monster of references that someone failed to animate.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Sep 27, 2011
    40
    Bunraku aspires to be "Kill Bill: Vol 3"; it's more like an ornate pitch for a "Dick Tracy" reboot.
  4. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Sep 25, 2011
    30
    It's a picture that's akin to a terrarium of plastic flowers -- gaudily decorative, but airless and lifeless.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Sep 29, 2011
    30
    Everything feels secondhand in Guy Moshe's Bunraku, a potpourri of genres that ends up a morass of clichés.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 29, 2011
    30
    No image or moment is grounded – every shot is augmented with restless animation, smart-ass narration or video game sounds. The artificiality of it all is smothering.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2011
    0
    Extremely cool-looking in the manner of "Sin City,'' but clumsily staged, slackly acted and mind-numbingly dull, Israeli director Guy Moshe's English-language fantasy is set in a future when guns, and apparently coherent conversations, have been outlawed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Bunraku is super fun to watch. I'm not sure why the critics are acting like this should be more realistic or serious, but it's one of only a few times that I greatly disagree with them wholeheartedly. The visuals are obviously mesmerizing but it's the fun of the killers and narrative that made it so enjoyable for me. It's sad that so many people will miss this. I mean who takes a movie serious that has horns and video game sounds when punches happen? Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Probably the best movie I have seen in a long long time. I found the scene changes slick and general art direction of the movie to be beyond breath taking. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Play-like sets. Odd lighting. Interesting storyline. Demi Moore was not put to good use, but it was a very entertaining movie. Predictable, but entertaining. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    This is an interesting movie. I love the intro and the play with lights and music. The story line is good featuring a post-war world-war state that is ruled by swords and fist because guns were outlawed. I thought the fight scenes were nifty and not exaggerated. Overall what really draws me to this movie is the background were they combine lighting and paper montage for building and other scenes, for me this was really unique. That and sometimes how the fight and the music seem to be completely in sync. It a good movie that delivers decent entertainment. It won't blow your mind, but I'm sure most will enjoy it. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    Though debuting in 2010 at the Toronto International Film Festival, Bunraku didn
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Bunraku is not for everyone. People who are hungry for another slick action movie, may get disappointed by this movie. The movie is set on a dystopian world, where modern & ancient lifestyles cross paths regularly. After the global wars killing millions of people, guns are outlawed and knives & swords are back. 2 men (Josh Hartnett & Gackt) are out to get revenge against the most powerful man in Atlantic, the Woodcutter. Though having initially disliked each other, they are guided by the wise Bartender (Woody Harrelsen) to team up against the evil reign of the Woodcutter. The plot is simple and sometimes predictable, but makes space for a large number of well-choreographed action sequences. However, each scene has a colorful fantasy-themed dramatic background (probably shot on a Theatre Stage) - which can distract some people from all the tense action happening at front. The uniqueness of this movie is it keeps sending a fantasy vibe through-out, you will either love it or hate it! Collapse
  7. Aug 19, 2012
    0
    I was a true believer in The Harrelson Principle: a steadfast conviction that Woody Harrelson's presence in a movie's cast list was enough to indicate that it was -at the least- worth watching. This bloated turd of a movie has rendered the Harrelson Principle void.
    I beg you, do not watch Bunraku when there are so many good things you could be doing with your time and money.
    Seriously: the worst movie i have seen this year.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers