Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ali is a small-town girl with a big voice who escapes hardship and an uncertain future to follow her dreams to LA. After stumbling upon The Burlesque Lounge, a majestic but ailing theater that is home to an inspired musical revue, Ali lands a job as a cocktail waitress from Tess, the club’s proprietor and headliner. Burlesque’s outrageous costumes and bold choreography enrapture the young ingenue, who vows to perform there one day. Soon enough, Ali builds a friendship with a featured dancer, finds an enemy in a troubled, jealous performer, and garners the affection of Jack, a bartender and fellow musician. With the help of a sharp-witted stage manager and gender-bending host, Ali makes her way from the bar to the stage. Her spectacular voice restores The Burlesque Lounge to its former glory, though not before a charismatic entrepreneur arrives with an enticing proposal. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    It's big, perfectly cast and entertaining in every way, but more than that it feels like a generous public event.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The results, while occasionally forced, are consistently amusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Burlesque delivers eyeful after eyeful of rapid-fire opulence and spectacle. But its most memorable sight is the indelible image of one star taking flight, and another triumphantly staying put.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    A musical vamp on young LA's decade-long Pussycat Dolls fascination with tarting up like strippers and shaking those money makers, it's somewhat less than the sum of its parts. But those parts. Oh my.
  5. 50
    Falling in the pillowy cleavage between mildly awful and slightly entertaining, Burlesque is a clichéd rags-to-diva story that culminates in a series of Christina Aguilera videos.
  6. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 9, 2010
    42
    Earnestly ersatz down to every spangle, dance move, plot turn, and line of hokum dialogue, Burlesque is a showbiz pic for these American Idol times - a time when we agree to pretend that mediocre mimicry of better artists is good enough to keep us entertained. We agree to pretend that quality is in the eye and ear of the undemanding beholder.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    20
    Basically a theme-park version of a tawdry tradition.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 61
  2. Negative: 10 out of 61
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    BURLESQUE is the movie of the year. i love xtina, and i will always love what she will be doing in the future,! i watched the video for so many times now and i cant get over with it! Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    CHRISTINA AGUILERA WELCOME TO HOLLYWOOD

    This film is about fun, AMAZING MUSIC NUMBERS and a great performance by Christina Aguilera who
    deserves a Golden Globe for her debut role in Hollywood, she can dance, she can ACT, she can dance and has a classic beauty. Michael Kaplan costumes bring the old Hollywood Glamour, the cinematography is excellent, too. Cher WELCOME TO BURLESQUE number is an amazing welcome to this world, where, fun, tease and love can live in a musical environment. BOUND TO YOU, SHOW ME HOW YOU BURLESQUE and YOU HAVENT SEEN THE LAST OF ME are going to be the front runners for Best Original Song for the Oscars. Critics are so biased and hypocrites...BURLESQUE is pure FUN.

    The people was laughing, dancing and clapping during the film....WOW.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    BURLESQUE is so BURLESQUE they did a perfect work and delivery a msg to the world have fun without touch Fun Fun Fun , so amazing film in general the film count with super performances the music is so good !!!! Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    Well neither Cher nor Christina Aguilera are my thing but this movie is actually really well done. Tells a good story and it's well-written and well-acted. Congratulations to all involved. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2011
    6
    i really enjoy this movie. the storyline was okay. At fist i thought that this movie was going be horrible. I got into the movie from the beginning. Good acting and okay storyline. I could watch it again. I think this is a good movie for everybody to watch . A nice movie to get on blu ray or dvd. Expand
  6. May 25, 2011
    5
    Only good thing about this movie is the music and the fact that fu*kin' CHER is in it! Every single music number is pure perfection, 'cause Christina Aguilera is very talented singer with unique voice and strong stage presence - but the girl can't act! And the storyline is beyond lame. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    1
    The movie Burlesque is much like Christina Aguliera's career , tacky, predictable & recycled .
    Every dance number and line are lifted from
    another movie, Cher is great per usual but Christina's performance leaves something to be desired.
    It's a wonder why the cast (except Christina) would attach themselves to such a uncomfortable campy poorly written movie.
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews