Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 24, 2017
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 722 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
567
Mixed:
46
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
hepwaNov 24, 2017
Where do I begin? The novel grabbed my heart in January and by July I was touring Italy, reading passages on the beach in the town where its set, strolling through the side street in Rome where Oliver and Elio share their final nightWhere do I begin? The novel grabbed my heart in January and by July I was touring Italy, reading passages on the beach in the town where its set, strolling through the side street in Rome where Oliver and Elio share their final night together. It is the gay romance of my lifetime, having grown up in the era of its setting, asking the same questions of myself that Elio does (only failing the question, "Is it better to speak or to die?"). Elio doesn't fail - he speaks and it changes his life, for better or worse. The movie captures that turning point in his young adulthood and brings it to glorious life, replete with the inevitable pain. Hopefully without spoiling anything, the fire that is lit within him will burn for a lifetime and into the viewer's heart during a crushing final scene that glances over every possible emotion but ending on determination and hope. For the love of God, don't leave this movie when the credits start to roll. And be a good movie citizen and let everyone you know who will be seeing it to do the same. Guadanigno, the director, is painterly but nothing without the astonishing performances, especially from Timothee Chalamet who brings Elio to life in a way I haven't seen a young actor do since Timothy Hutton broke through in "Ordinary People" almost forty years ago. Armie Hammer crosses the Rubicon with his performance as Oliver, becoming the master of his creative domain and I can't wait to see what he does in the future. Stuhlbarg as Elio's father is kind, compassionate, clear-eyed and so very wise and his final talk with his son is almost Shakespearean in word and delivery. While the words are never spoken, his monologue is the paternal 'to be or not to be' that every gay kid would cherish and every straight kid needs to hear. The women are all highly memorable and its a shame that they're a bit lost in the shuffle with the acclaim for the film (that none of them are American actors might play a part). Call Me By Your Name is a work of cinematic art, the kind that is rarely given and even more rarely appreciated. But it exists and thanks to its creators, from page to screen, I feel like a wiser, less cynical person. When is the last time a movie had that sort of effect. 10/10 Expand
35 of 38 users found this helpful353
All this user's reviews
10
feefis03Dec 16, 2017
An instant modern classic. Beautiful perception of first love and queer sexual awakening, married perfectly to the sensual Mediterranean summer. Hope this gets all the awards it deserves.
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
sadie11Dec 16, 2017
I loved this movie it was the perfect blend of romance humour and joy. It emphasizes the very best things love has to offer us. The actors have amazing chemistry and were so natural and lived-in their roles. The compassion between theI loved this movie it was the perfect blend of romance humour and joy. It emphasizes the very best things love has to offer us. The actors have amazing chemistry and were so natural and lived-in their roles. The compassion between the characters really helps to understand how 2 people could fall in love. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
rsfrsrfDec 17, 2017
I came here to give an undoubtly +A to this masterpiece fulfilled of feelings, an incredible acting, script perfection, huge work on cinematography, and a mark that Luca is one of the strongest cinema directors of this year, reminded me soI came here to give an undoubtly +A to this masterpiece fulfilled of feelings, an incredible acting, script perfection, huge work on cinematography, and a mark that Luca is one of the strongest cinema directors of this year, reminded me so much to what I felt with Io sono l´amore with Tilda Swinton, a film Luca made like 7 years ago. But the reviews here are proof that this is not a film that Hollywood, Oscars, are ready to accept. 70% of the negative reviews are not even reviews, are comments alledging to pedophilia, and it´s quite obvious that this comes from the fact that is a queer film. On the other hand, I quote a Slate article: "In trying to think through these issues in Call Me by Your Name, I called Joseph Fischel, a Yale scholar who has written on the messy politics of age and consent for Slate. He noted our society’s intense focus on age and sexuality is a relatively recent notion, not a long-settled one, and that while the law may have a legitimate need to be blunt and rigid, our art does not. In my view, it’s reasonable to be disturbed by the unconventional relationship in Call Me by Your Name, but it’s not reasonable to say the movie endorses pedophilia, or really any kind of power-based abuse, just because it depicts that relationship. If we go down that censorious and unnuanced path with our art, very little will survive the trip."

There are films more related to pedophilia, or that "age-gap" argument, and they are not even pointed. Like... Idk, "The reader"? This is a film of love. I adore it, it´s perfectly made & if you are open minded enough, it will leave you thinking in that first time your heart crushed. It´s beyond 2:30 minutes.
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
WaelDec 28, 2017
“Call Me By Your Name” is an emotionally-triggering work of art. It is very well-adapted, and very well-shot, with daring performances from Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. The setting is beautiful, and will make you long for a summer love“Call Me By Your Name” is an emotionally-triggering work of art. It is very well-adapted, and very well-shot, with daring performances from Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. The setting is beautiful, and will make you long for a summer love you never thought you wanted so bad. The whole movie has a melancholic feel to it, and its ending is just emotionally-wrecking but it serves as a very satisfying conclusion. With the story, however raw and sentimental, being slow and monotonous, this 2-hours-journey was more about the visuals, the aesthetics (Italy, summer, love, swimming pools, greenery...) and the all the feelings that are sparked by the story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsDec 20, 2017
Call Me By Your Name is a flawless film that will stick with you long after the credits roll. This film is a long, slow-burning juggernaut that will hit you right in the feels. The acting across the cast is superb, with special shout-outs toCall Me By Your Name is a flawless film that will stick with you long after the credits roll. This film is a long, slow-burning juggernaut that will hit you right in the feels. The acting across the cast is superb, with special shout-outs to Timothee Chalamet, Armie Hammer, and Michael Stuhlbarg. The characters are incredibly real and dynamic, and this film feels so intimate and private that you'll feel like you shouldn't be watching these really vulnerable people. Call Me By Your Name incorporates the best parts of timeless Italian Cinema. The visual motiffs of water, the flies on the wall, and the music matching perfectly to what is happening on screen all propel this film to greatness. The still moments dominate this film, but the acting is so brilliant you'll be able to read everyone's mind. This is a must see for art-film lovers! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewJan 19, 2018
Having partial Italian blood in my veins, I particularly enjoy when that culture gets some rare, overdue representation in cinema. Now, after the opening credits of Call Me by Your Name kick off the film’s wide survey of art history’sHaving partial Italian blood in my veins, I particularly enjoy when that culture gets some rare, overdue representation in cinema. Now, after the opening credits of Call Me by Your Name kick off the film’s wide survey of art history’s continual impact on Italy’s culture, temptation strongly urges me to book a flight to Italy! Director Luca Guadagnino (A Bigger Splash) succeeds at raising immediate love for Italy’s artful history with a masterful focus on the little details crafted to immerse you into the Jewish-American-Italian-French family over the summer.

The production crew’s delicate artistry swells your eyes, thanks to Guadagnino’s relaxing artistic direction. The cinematography by Sayombhu Mukdeeprom overblows the sun’s highlights in the frame until the snow peacefully mellows out the inner chaos. The thin, loose fabric costumes designed by Giulia Piersanti practically weep while they turn their wearers into zombies decomposed by pain. To top it off, the calm dancing musical selection’s reflective piano tune juxtaposes the visualized teen angst.

Those small enriched elements craft the protagonist of the story, Elio, a teenager who hunches over the piano, overcome by his insecure fervor, his space evaded by flies, supposedly awaiting someone like St. John the Baptist to pull him out of his hell hole. Then once Oliver, the family researcher, comes to stay over the summer, he spends extra time in the backyard pool alongside his new friend, a confusing curiosity in mind.

With each performance fueled by the struggle against the anonymous, the two lead characters grow up over the painful season. The harsh summer weather outside seems to kill them both slowly in support to one of the feature’s many stated philosophies: “nature has a cunning way of finding our weakest spot.”

Though unfortunately, some cultural issues outside the visual cues still taint the experience, including a couple of stereotypical old, angry comic relief Italians who disrupted the natural flow of the genre. Oliver’s story also lacks enough establishment: where does his romantic infatuation to a seventeen-year-old boy originate? The closest thing to a justification about his romantic spark is the Jewish background they both share, which still lacks needed prominence within the relationship.

The two other female roles, Elio’s mother and girlfriend, seem to subsist just to comfort his pain, the mother in particular could have been written out completely without hurting the script. Yet European masculinity carries even greater problems in depiction. Oliver is the one representative of America, a country with a higher age of consent than Italy, so this film supposedly encourages pedophilia, as if the United Kingdom believes their legal system has a better understanding of existentialism than the United States.

Although, the homosexual love still rings true in its natural approach. It starts innocent enough as Elio and Oliver just so happen to share a bathroom, the toilet in plain sight from the bed’s perspective. As time goes by, the connection they share turns into one of forbidden fruit. In one scene, passion between the two brims in the majesty of the mural of Adam’s creation, in another, Olio’s loneliness resorts him to ejaculate into a cored apricot. The chemistry between Armie Hammer (The Social Network) and Timothée Chalamet (Interstellar, Lady Bird) creates the impeccably heartful moments, tension set by emphasized distance in the framing.

But most of all, the technicians’ subtle cues acutely capture the essence of being a teenager trying to figure out sexuality: the crew dresses Chalamet to look scrawny in his wardrobe, his hair messed up, his strut insecure, as editor Walter Fasano (A Bigger Splash) completes it by lingering on the star’s complexion to show a teen's dim psychology. These elements, when together, stick hard into your arteries a good long hour after the motion picture’s emotive final frame.

Looking beyond the uneasy subject matter, a very plain application can be taken away: love hurts. Even I myself, a heterosexual, felt Elio’s heartbreak before, since an old desire to love a certain someone back in high school continues to hurt me today; I know loving somebody you cannot hold hurts more physically than emotionally. Despite those unpredictable moods, just remember: loved ones, including friends and family, not just romantical partners, are always there offer free hugs. These are the ones who most want to see the best come out of you and take action in your life to make sure you get to your highest point. This key takeaway of Call Me by Your Name reminds us all that whatever, however, you think, you deserve love.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BeastJ18Apr 25, 2018
Wildly realistic and mesmerising. The director went into this film thinking "I'm not going to make a gay movie, I'm going to make a romance between two men." and it shows. This is not a film to draw attention or make statements, like a lot ofWildly realistic and mesmerising. The director went into this film thinking "I'm not going to make a gay movie, I'm going to make a romance between two men." and it shows. This is not a film to draw attention or make statements, like a lot of current movies do with this type of story. It is just simply, a human story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kcsimmsFeb 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bravo! Bravo! This movie was simply incredible. Prior to seeing the film, I was not familiar with Luca Guadagnino's work, but now I want to see more of his films, and I will keep an eye out for him in the future. Call Me by Your Name is about the son (Emilio) of an eccentric professor who develops feelings for his father's new resident, who's name is Oliver. There is immediate sexual tension between the two characters, even though Oliver is markedly older than Emilio, who is only 17. Emilio hasn't revealed his sexual preferences to anybody, but it's easy to notice his immediate attraction to Oliver. Oliver attempts to keep his distance because he knows that developing a relationship with the younger Emilio may be inappropriate, given the circumstances. However, despite his resistance, he eventually caves in to his desires and becomes sexually involved with Emilio. You can sense Emilio's conflicted conscience throughout the film, and it builds until he is forced to confront questions that he has been purposefully avoiding. The film ends with closure and sadness, but there is a silver-living that leaves you feeling good and optimistic. The best scene of the film is unquestionably the one that comes at the end when Emilio has the impending conversation with his father about his relationship with Oliver. Such a heartfelt moment, and the professor's words were absolutely moving. Everything about this film was incredible. It made you feel as if you were there in Italy, and I felt the urge to book a ticket the next day. This is easily one of the best films of the year, if not the best. I give it a 9.5/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
miracleghMar 24, 2018
call me by your name is a movie that changes lives I really love each of the scenes, especially the scene of elio in the final scene really heartbreaking
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
forestationDec 19, 2017
An extraordinarily sensitive and exquisite portrayal of first love. The movie is filled with gorgeous scenery, enduring melodies and sly humor. But above all it is filled with tenderness, so much tenderness, between lovers, family andAn extraordinarily sensitive and exquisite portrayal of first love. The movie is filled with gorgeous scenery, enduring melodies and sly humor. But above all it is filled with tenderness, so much tenderness, between lovers, family and friends. The kindness and beauty in the movie is an antidote to the toxic ugliness of our times (with some of that ugliness displayed in the "reviews" of people who bash the movie for their own twisted agenda without even seeing the film). Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
gamhottieDec 19, 2017
Superb film with flawless acting all around, but especially a breathtaking performance from Timothee Chalamet. Chalamet gives what might be the best portrayal of a teenager male in film history.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
bluemilkDec 17, 2017
Masterpiece. Script, Acting, photography, and love for cinema. You can feel the passion of the actors, director, and everyone involved in this project. This is cinema. All those hate critics are just a sympthom of a sick society. NothingMasterpiece. Script, Acting, photography, and love for cinema. You can feel the passion of the actors, director, and everyone involved in this project. This is cinema. All those hate critics are just a sympthom of a sick society. Nothing there is constructive or solid. Thank you Guadagnino. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
orangedroogDec 20, 2017
Saw this movie at it's final showing at the Sundance Film Festival and it's final moments did something to me that only one other film has ever dared to do, with limited success. This movie drives home every buried emotion a human has everSaw this movie at it's final showing at the Sundance Film Festival and it's final moments did something to me that only one other film has ever dared to do, with limited success. This movie drives home every buried emotion a human has ever had by daring to be unabashedly romantic, and so cheesy it becomes authentic. Never has a script enticed such an emotional response from my core. The last time I remember a film even approaching the emotional grandeur of Call Me By Your Name was The Place Beyond the Pines. Prepare to sit through the last moment of the credits, as the final shot of the film is the most powerful shot ever committed in a romance movie. Regardless of sexual preference, regardless of how emotionless you are, just give yourself over to the life-improving movie that is Call Me By Your Name and let every stifled emotion you didn't know existed inside you come to the surface. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
eriberry14Dec 18, 2017
Damn close to a perfect movie. By far the most anticipated movie of my year, and it on no accounts disappointed. Slow build up to such an impactful climax. No spoilers meant, but I can't stop thinking about the end/credits scene with theDamn close to a perfect movie. By far the most anticipated movie of my year, and it on no accounts disappointed. Slow build up to such an impactful climax. No spoilers meant, but I can't stop thinking about the end/credits scene with the beautifully constructed Sufjan Stevens song (buy the soundtrack!). Can't wait to see this again, because I'm still wrapping my head around it. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
isteph02Dec 21, 2017
The story will always be precious, moving and unforgettable. But being able to read the book for about three times, I was still wrecked emotionally, my heart temporarily expired after that last scene, and I'm pretty sure this would get stuckThe story will always be precious, moving and unforgettable. But being able to read the book for about three times, I was still wrecked emotionally, my heart temporarily expired after that last scene, and I'm pretty sure this would get stuck in my head again for a while. I believe this is because of the heartfelt performances of Chalamet, Hammer, and Stuhlbarg. The cinematography and screenplay reminds me of "Maurice" by James Ivory (which makes sense for he also had written this film). P.S. This is one of those films that you won't forget for a while, and if you do and remembered it all again, will make you feel it's more precious and timeless as before. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
NickPMDec 18, 2017
Worth your money. Absolutely beautiful. After reading the book, I went in with high expectations, and they were met. Guadagnino does an excellent job of bringing the Italian summer to life.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
djulianaDec 13, 2017
More than just a movie, Call Me By Your Name is an experience. It's immersive, inviting you into this gorgeous Italian summer and truly putting you in these characters' shoes, with an empathy not many movies are able to evoke. There is aMore than just a movie, Call Me By Your Name is an experience. It's immersive, inviting you into this gorgeous Italian summer and truly putting you in these characters' shoes, with an empathy not many movies are able to evoke. There is a perfect balance between realism and idealization. It plays like a memory you hold very dear and romanticize, which very much captures the book's feel. The performances are subtle and the characters feel incredibly real, but there's also a dream-like quality to the entire thing that makes it a truly delicious watch. Speaking of the performances, Armie Hammer is incredible Oliver, a character who could've easily been one-note. Oliver's a confident, sometimes borderline rude American grad student who is given no backstory or depth in the book, as we know him only from Elio's point of view, but Hammer's understated performance gives the character a vulnerability that makes you see right through him and understand him without being offered any information at all. Michael Stuhlbarg is also great as professor Perlman, delivering a speech that is in a way a more tender and intimate version of Spencer Tracy's in Guess Who's Coming To Dinner. But even though the entire ensamble delivers, it's Timothée Chalamet's performance that truly makes the movie. In his breakout role as Elio, he delivers what is without doubt one of the strongest performances of the year, if not the single best one. It's him who could make or break the movie, and his portrayal of this intelligent, strange, vulnerable young man is one that crackles with life and elevates this movie to a masterpiece. He's a joy to watch, and his Elio is a fully realized person you feel you truly know by the time the credits role -- or maybe even more *while* the credits are rolling, as a gorgeously haunting original song by Sufjan Stevens plays.
All in all, this movie is deserving of every word of praise it's been getting, and it does an incredible job at portraying real people bringing a beloved book to life.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
RayFundoraDec 12, 2017
I left this movie with a knot in my stomach and a lump in my throat. It’s simply stunning. The acting, directing, music, it all just works. I left the theater feeling haunted. I will not post any spoilers, but bring tissues.
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
10
DelingarDec 12, 2017
My heart was aching through most of it...aching for the longing the protagonist experienced, aching for the pain of the mixed signals between he and Oliver, aching for the anticipation for what he hoped might happen, aching for how thingsMy heart was aching through most of it...aching for the longing the protagonist experienced, aching for the pain of the mixed signals between he and Oliver, aching for the anticipation for what he hoped might happen, aching for how things might all end up. Meanwhile, the cinematography literally had me crying that I never had the great fortune to grown up in such a beautiful, idyllic environment. The amazing Michael Stuhlbarg almost managed to steal the whole movie in a late scene, and had me again wiping away joyful tears. I'm currently relishing the audiobook version (narrated by Armie Hammer) and toying with the idea of seeing the movie a second time before it leaves theaters. Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
10
wabbieDec 4, 2017
There is no doubt everyone has a story that mirrors the one shown in this movie. For it to be done with such great actors, a gifted director and with such lovely scenery makes this a once in a lifetime film. The movie follows the book quiteThere is no doubt everyone has a story that mirrors the one shown in this movie. For it to be done with such great actors, a gifted director and with such lovely scenery makes this a once in a lifetime film. The movie follows the book quite closely. Timothee Chalamet is perfection. Stole my heart. Sufjan Stevens songs fit perfectly as well. The final scene over the credits is magic. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondNov 27, 2017
At first, the film felt a bit like a modern version of Blame it on Rio, with the older guy, living with the under-aged kid on vacation, hooks up with him in the paradise setting. Unlike Blame it on Rio, this hook-up is fully endorsed by theAt first, the film felt a bit like a modern version of Blame it on Rio, with the older guy, living with the under-aged kid on vacation, hooks up with him in the paradise setting. Unlike Blame it on Rio, this hook-up is fully endorsed by the kid's parents, and it, therefore, obviously, doesn't have the same taboo feel to it. It also lacks Rio's sense of humor. The critical drawback of this film is how timid it is with respect to the gay sex scenes. I mean, they show SO MUCH MORE of the kid hooking up with the local girl, yet when he hooks up with his older male lover, they pan away. The director of this film should look to Greg Araki or the makers of Queer as Folk to see how it's done tastefully. What saves the film is the brilliant conversation between father and son, reflecting on what the son had in this particular relationship. A model for parents of gay children, I would guess. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
Arkham318Dec 15, 2017
Amazing. That's the word i would use to describe this film, it is a beautiful story about the relationship between a 17 year old boy and a 24 year old, finally LGBT movies are getting the mainstream attention they deserve. Also all the peopleAmazing. That's the word i would use to describe this film, it is a beautiful story about the relationship between a 17 year old boy and a 24 year old, finally LGBT movies are getting the mainstream attention they deserve. Also all the people yelling about paedophilia clearly don't understand the message of this film. It isn't about normalising pedophilia it is about love and passion. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
smoothieDec 19, 2017
This movie profoundly moved me and everyone around me in the theater. I think people are moved by the movie because it transports them to a time and place where people are kind and feeling are pure.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
caf2042Mar 1, 2018
Call Me by Your Name is directed by Luca Guadagnino and stars Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. I first heard about this back in February, when it premiered at Sundance. I remember the reviews were near perfect. After finally having seen itCall Me by Your Name is directed by Luca Guadagnino and stars Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. I first heard about this back in February, when it premiered at Sundance. I remember the reviews were near perfect. After finally having seen it last night, I can tell you that not only were the rumors true, but they fall short. I’ve thought long and hard about this before I made up my mind. Call Me by Your Name is one of the best films I have ever seen. I’m not kidding. This is a staggeringly good film. There isn’t a scene, even a moment that feels out of place. Every frame is absolutely perfect. Armie Hammer gives the performance of a lifetime. Somehow though, he doesn’t even give the best performance. Timothée Chalamet is insane. This IS the best performance of the year, and if he isn’t at least nominated, I will just leave the Oscars. The cinematography is stunning, the soundtrack is euphoric, and the dialogue is impeccably good. Unlike The Last Jedi or Dunkirk, or any other film I have given an A+ to this year (except maybe Blade Runner), I have no trouble saying that this is the best film of the year. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
gerry6992Nov 25, 2017
Call Me by Your Name is an heartfelt and beautiful love story. Luca Guadagnino is an incredibly talented director (Italians are the best :) ). I really loved Sufjan Stevens songs as well and the closing credits' scene is really powerful. ThisCall Me by Your Name is an heartfelt and beautiful love story. Luca Guadagnino is an incredibly talented director (Italians are the best :) ). I really loved Sufjan Stevens songs as well and the closing credits' scene is really powerful. This story feels real and authentic. I would have loved just a little bit more of nudity. It was a bit too chaste Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelObeNov 24, 2017
Italy, 1983. To the villa of Professor Perlman (Michael Stuhlbarg), the father of 17-year-old Elio (Timothée Chalamet), arrives assistant Oliver (Armie Hammer) for the summer. Everyone loves him: from the maid Mafalda to local beauties. ButItaly, 1983. To the villa of Professor Perlman (Michael Stuhlbarg), the father of 17-year-old Elio (Timothée Chalamet), arrives assistant Oliver (Armie Hammer) for the summer. Everyone loves him: from the maid Mafalda to local beauties. But most of all he is sympathetic to the young Elio, who can not fully determine his feelings for the guest. Italian director Luca Guadagnino presents the adaptation of the novel by André Asiman about the first love and its complexities.

"Call me by your name" - like a long-awaited trip to a country house from a noisy megapolis. Here, the silence of a summer day is broken only by the call for lunch or a horn of a bicycle. Peaches are ripening on branches, pending until they are ripped off. The pool is always filled with water and waits for someone. Here you go out for breakfast, when everyone has already had lunch. And the nights are as hot as everyday life: discos, walking with friends, swimming in the lakes. And in this idyll he invades, americano, riotous and bright, like a wind on a rocky cliff, bringing confusion to Elio's plans for the summer. Oliver introduces the professor's son to new feelings and experiences, which are unknown to him. But Guadagnino does not go into tragedy, he adapts Asiman's novel brightly and sometimes funny. The filmmaker took the best of Asiman's novel and smoothed out the rough erotic edges, so the scenes of the intimate closeness of the characters were shot as decently as possible, and even the episode with peach can not be called very vulgar. Guadagnino removed from the adaptation the girl Vimini, who was sick with leukemia, he decided to concentrate on the feelings of the main characters, and not on the secondary lines. But also the director deliberately excluded Elio and Oliver's meeting 15 years later, so as not to turn the film into a complete statement, but leave a feeling of understatement, as well as between the characters themselves.

During one of the dinners at the villa, one of the Perlman's guest says the phrase: "Cinema is not a reflection of reality, but a filter for it." That Asiman in the novel and Guadagnino in the film created a partly fabulous story of the first love with its difficulties and delights. "Call me by your name" - a coming of age drama (magical in its atmosphere), a movie about growing up through the first experience and about what it means to be alive and free.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
pauloandradeNov 24, 2017
What a great film. Definitely the best of 2017 so far. The script is superb, the directing is on point and the cast was just flawless. Timothée Chalamet specially did a great job here. I really feel like rewatching it, to be honest.
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
9
Patman1234Feb 16, 2018
It's not Pedophilia at all. The age of consent is 16 and Pedophilia is described as an illness where someone is attracted to a pre pubescent boy or girl. The boy in this is 17, well past puberty. The guy is in his early 20's. My friend (girl)It's not Pedophilia at all. The age of consent is 16 and Pedophilia is described as an illness where someone is attracted to a pre pubescent boy or girl. The boy in this is 17, well past puberty. The guy is in his early 20's. My friend (girl) was 17 and started dating a neighbour (guy) who was 33. They are happily married. It wasn't Pedophilia, it was love and those who claim this is any different are completely ignorant. Beautiful film. Simply beautiful. I suggest people grow up and stop being so overly sensitive. Bad stuff happens, and people need protecting, but not at age 17, I certainly felt mature enough, to make my own decisions, by then. Stop treating teenagers like they are not intelligent and can't make their own decisions, it's degrading and disrespectful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
fairbrotherMar 3, 2018
First Love and Sexual Awakening are some of the ripest, most universally resonant themes in any art-form, so we've all seen them handled before many times. Call Me by Your Name pulls off the neat trick of feeling simultaneously new andFirst Love and Sexual Awakening are some of the ripest, most universally resonant themes in any art-form, so we've all seen them handled before many times. Call Me by Your Name pulls off the neat trick of feeling simultaneously new and timeless: a story you've seen before yet, somehow, haven't. I keep turning this film over and over in my mind, looking for a flaw, and I can't find one. The performances - Timothee Chalamet and Michael Stuhlbarg in particular - are excellent. The script builds drama so incrementally you hardly notice it, in such a way that the final 20 minutes, despite resisting any melodramatic contrivance or hysteria, overwhelmed me emotionally. Kudos to director Luca Guadagnino for realizing this delicate tone with evocative but unfussy framing, bang-on casting, and marrying a modern perspective with a classical sense of pace and purpose. Call Me by Your Name is a gorgeous ode to the ecstasy and agony of growing up; to the sunshine of discovery and the shadow of wisdom; to the "mystery of love" we spend our whole lives puzzling over. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Tcurran2Jan 19, 2018
An ode to classic cinema, yet with a contemporary topic, Call Me By Your Name is one of the most spellbinding films to hit theaters in quite a long time. Telling the story of two young gay men in love in Italy in the 1980s, it almost has aAn ode to classic cinema, yet with a contemporary topic, Call Me By Your Name is one of the most spellbinding films to hit theaters in quite a long time. Telling the story of two young gay men in love in Italy in the 1980s, it almost has a cinema verite like quality to it. With a warm, Mediterranean color pallet, and a languid pace that gives it the feel of an everlasting summer, every frame of the film is captivating. It may take a while to build to its climax, but when it does, it is really something to behold. Starring Armie Hammer as Oliver, and Timothee Chalamet as Elio, these two young men completely sell their roles, and enrapture the audience in their heartbreaking performances in the process. Michael Stuhlbarg, who plays Elio's father, delivers a final speech to Chalamet that transcends anything I've seen in film this past year. You may feel the film's run time at points during the film (which clocking in at 2 hours and 12 minutes, isn't exactly brief), but you might just want to linger on those moments. You'll want to soak up every ounce of this treat before its all over. After all, there'll come a time when all of us can no longer experience the magic of movies. Let's just hope it doesn't come too soon, there's still so much left to learn. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
luke100Jan 10, 2018
A beautifully shot, excellently acted and overall wonderful gay romance, and a faithful adaptation of the source material. But the novel is definitely better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lcasco1Jan 12, 2018
Timothee Chalamet truly brings Elio to life with his beautiful performance, you will fall in love with both the actor and the character of this joyful and heart breaking master piece. Timothee's performance is further enhanced by the amazingTimothee Chalamet truly brings Elio to life with his beautiful performance, you will fall in love with both the actor and the character of this joyful and heart breaking master piece. Timothee's performance is further enhanced by the amazing Armie Hammer who gives a wonderful performance as Oliver, Elio's love interest and best friend. Luca Guadagnino did a truly amazing job of sticking to the book from which this movie comes from while leaving an opening to create a sequel and overall he did an amazing job of directing this once in a lifetime project. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ndyinesJan 18, 2018
This film was amazing, very emotional. A full-hearted romantic masterpiece. A movie that makes the audience can't stop crying, what a beautiful cinematography and best soundtrack ever. What a sad ending, just would like to see the sequel ifThis film was amazing, very emotional. A full-hearted romantic masterpiece. A movie that makes the audience can't stop crying, what a beautiful cinematography and best soundtrack ever. What a sad ending, just would like to see the sequel if Luca will make the sequel. The book and film are very consistent, Timothee Chalamet is perfect Elio and Armie Hammer is perfect Oliver. Although Armie said he hates the dancing scene, the dancing scene is my favorite scene. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
909dotJan 22, 2018
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME is one of the most beautiful, truthful movies you will see. Its poetry; an ode to love, life and discovering who you are. Its ravishing from beginning to end. I wont go into details or the plot, thats something you shouldCALL ME BY YOUR NAME is one of the most beautiful, truthful movies you will see. Its poetry; an ode to love, life and discovering who you are. Its ravishing from beginning to end. I wont go into details or the plot, thats something you should experience for yourself. I do have one thing to say. I've read on this site some negative reviews suggesting the glamorization of pedophilia. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE! Our society’s intense focus on age and sexuality is a relatively recent notion, not a long-settled one, and that while the law may have a legitimate need to be blunt and rigid, our art does not. In my view, it’s reasonable to have different opinions of the unconventional relationship in Call Me by Your Name, but it’s not reasonable to say the movie endorses pedophilia, or really any kind of power-based abuse, just because it depicts that relationship. (there is not ONE predatory moment between the two characters in the film.) If we go down that censorious and unnuanced path with our art, very little will survive the trip. Oh, and I also read a negative review that said if this was an older guy and a younger girl, people would freak out, well, thats already happened. Its called DIRTY DANCING. Same age difference. Im done now. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AlexanderTorresJan 22, 2018
Una historia de amor diferente a la que estamos acostumbrados a ver, adicional a ello, la actuación de Timothée Chalamet es espectacular y la fotografía encantadora. Sin duda alguna una gran película.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieGrayNov 24, 2017
Incredible and beautifully crafted film, it’s sensual without the need of being vulgar, and it’s so romantic and beautiful. Both Timothée and Armie did amazing jobs
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
10
AndyThomasNov 24, 2017
Luca Guadagnino's latest is beautiful to watch -a motion Caravaggio painting, and marvelous to ponder -a moving rumination on the bated joy of first love.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 27, 2017
LIFF31 2017 #2

"Nature has cunning ways of finding our weakest spot." There is no doubt how incredibly beautiful "Call Me By Your Name" is. Putting aside your age and sexuality, the film offers more than romance. It's not sad or tragic, but
LIFF31 2017 #2

"Nature has cunning ways of finding our weakest spot."

There is no doubt how incredibly beautiful "Call Me By Your Name" is. Putting aside your age and sexuality, the film offers more than romance. It's not sad or tragic, but a peaceful one. It's all about falling in love. What's been said by many will be repeated here, so none of this is gonna be new to you, because it's all true.

Armie Hammer, Michael Stuhlbarg, and newcomer Timothée Chalamet all deliver terrific performances. Not a weak or unconvincing actor in sight. All of them were perfectly cast in the roles and there was no shred of doubt during the emotional parts. Especially Stuhlbarg monologue towards the end is as moving as anything I have ever seen.

The way Luca Guadagnino manages to play on your emotions and present gay romances is really mesmerizing. The warm and summer spectacle of Italy makes you want to be there. With the scenery, sunny waters, and the food which look so good, all through Sayombhu Mukdeeprom brilliant cinematography. It's paradise.

Even the sexual tension never once came across pornographic. I don't mind sex or nudity in movies and people seriously just need to stop being so sensitive about it. Ever thought that making little things a huge deal only makes it a huger deal. Or your sloppy description.

The sexuality in this film is more of an emotional connection you personally experience through the characters. And you don't have to be gay to enjoy those scenes. It avoids the typical tropes you find in movies that isn't as perfectly presented as this.

This is a truly special movie that I easily got lost in.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
fabricioartJan 17, 2018
The best film of 2017 it might be one of the greatest of all time love all the parts of the film and I want to read the book for get aprofunded on the history and I hope that had a part 2
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JCatJan 14, 2018
Saw this and Lady Bird within 2 days, and as much as I loved Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name lingered in my brain days after. Coming from a similar situation to the movie's story (without the gorgeous Italian backdrop), I can relate toSaw this and Lady Bird within 2 days, and as much as I loved Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name lingered in my brain days after. Coming from a similar situation to the movie's story (without the gorgeous Italian backdrop), I can relate to Chalamet's spot on performance. Even his most simplest reactions to various situations were insanely natural. What a performance out of this kid who I never heard of until Lady Bird! Not for a second did I feel like I was watching an actor do a job. It was like being there, feeling his every emotion. Armie Hammer has such screen appeal as well. I'm sure we'll be seeing a lot more of him. By far my favorite film in years. Oh folks, the reviews with zero? Those aren't opinions, that's just 100% pure ignorance and in some cases, hate. Must suck to go through life like that, but they don't know, which sucks even more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeDec 25, 2017
The best movie of the year! A romantic ode to first love and heartbreak and an ending that is a master class in acting. The the latest from Luca Guadagnino (I Am Love, A Bigger Splash). Incredible acting by Timothy Chalamet.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodFeb 12, 2018
...poetry, sweet poetic love... Call me by your name is a film beyond gender and sex... A true masterclass in the romance genre that is as captivating as it is silent and heartbreaking. I've never seen such a purely honest, understanding, and...poetry, sweet poetic love... Call me by your name is a film beyond gender and sex... A true masterclass in the romance genre that is as captivating as it is silent and heartbreaking. I've never seen such a purely honest, understanding, and relatable love story. The film is timeless. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
francisrgoDec 24, 2017
Easily one of the best films of the year. Beautifully acted performance by the cast and wonderfully written script. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet had an undeniable chemistry. It is more than just a love story and the joy of meeting thatEasily one of the best films of the year. Beautifully acted performance by the cast and wonderfully written script. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet had an undeniable chemistry. It is more than just a love story and the joy of meeting that one person, it is about the pain and the heartache of that first love. What is even more excruciating, is when your fist love is of the same sex and you are just coming to terms of who you are. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
haw2991Mar 6, 2018
Call me by your Name take's place in the summer of 1983, 17-year-old Elio Perlman is spending the days with his family at their villa in Italy. He soon meets Oliver, a handsome doctoral student who's working as an intern for Elio's father.Call me by your Name take's place in the summer of 1983, 17-year-old Elio Perlman is spending the days with his family at their villa in Italy. He soon meets Oliver, a handsome doctoral student who's working as an intern for Elio's father. Gradually, Elio and Oliver realize the intoxicating beauty of awakening desire over the course of a summer that will alter their lives forever.

A wonderfully crafted film, from the beginning director Luca Guadaginino propels you into the atmosphere of the Italian country. The cinematography and visuals are spectacular; this film definitely created a desire to book my tickets to Italy. The music is dreamy and serene, much like summer. The chemistry between the actors are effortless and genuine. While Armie Hammer (Oliver) was good, his performance was probably the weakest of the four primary characters. Esther Garrell and Michael Stuhlbarg were excellent as Elio's parents. However, Elio himself, played by Timothee Chalamet was simply spectacular. There are so many well-crafted scenes; in particular, the scene where Elio is speaking to his father got me choked up; something I haven’t experienced watching a film in quite some time. In the end, “Call Me by Your Name” is a film that explores the pleasure and anguish of growing up; specifically discovering our identity. Which can be confusing but also rewarding. This I believe was the best film in 2017.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Jan 13, 2018
A subtle, yet beautiful film in every sense of the word! Along with the captivating cinematography and showcase of 80s Italy throughout, Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer are simply perfect together and Michael Stuhlbarg's moving and potentA subtle, yet beautiful film in every sense of the word! Along with the captivating cinematography and showcase of 80s Italy throughout, Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer are simply perfect together and Michael Stuhlbarg's moving and potent speech towards the end ties the film together so wonderfully! Overall, despite it's slow movement throughout, the human emotion, heartbreak, and so many other emotions in between, along with the gorgeous shots of Italy of course, this film is quite the work of art in many wonderful ways. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ebambirraJan 25, 2018
É triste ver um filme tão incrível estar recebendo tamanho boicote nos cinemas, pelo menos aqui no Brasil. É incrível a forma como o filme conseguiu traduzir toda a carga sentimental do livro em simples olhares, nas atuações maravilhosas dosÉ triste ver um filme tão incrível estar recebendo tamanho boicote nos cinemas, pelo menos aqui no Brasil. É incrível a forma como o filme conseguiu traduzir toda a carga sentimental do livro em simples olhares, nas atuações maravilhosas dos protagonistas, que têm uma química monstruosa. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GiaccoUJan 23, 2018
Beautifully acted, adapted and directed. This movie is a gem from start to finish, it deals with one of the most relatable things is live which is first love, and it manages to portray it in such an innocent and calmed way. Couldn't be any better.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 11, 2018
Bold and honest proposal of an uncommon, impossible love story with unbeatable, magnetic performances, and a touching final act. A movie that requires be seen with wide open eyes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
enrick9Feb 27, 2018
"La naturaleza tiene maneras extrañas de encontrar nuestros puntos débiles"- Call Me By Your Name Solo diré que es PERFECTA.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jaasieljuniorFeb 4, 2018
Honesto,sincero e poético. Poderia citar mais adjetivos para descrever esse filme,mas não caberia na review. As atuações são impecáveis e dignas de indicações.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ALIREZA13Feb 21, 2018
“What do you do around here?” the tall, strapping Oliver (Armie Hammer) asks Elio (Timothée Chalamet), the 17-year-old giving him a tour of the charming Italian village where Oliver will be living for the next six weeks. “Wait for the summer“What do you do around here?” the tall, strapping Oliver (Armie Hammer) asks Elio (Timothée Chalamet), the 17-year-old giving him a tour of the charming Italian village where Oliver will be living for the next six weeks. “Wait for the summer to end,” the bored-seeming Elio says with a sigh. “And what do you do in the winter? Wait for the summer to come?” Oliver shoots back. That only gets a chuckle from Elio, but that line nails the initial mood of Call Me by Your Name, Luca Guadagnino’s sumptuous new romance, which follows a deep connection that springs out of those restless days of late adolescence.
The intimacy Guadagnino (and James Ivory, who wrote the film’s script) finds in these characters is present from the beginning, but Chalamet (a 21-year-old budding superstar whom I knew best from an old season of Homeland) is the audience’s way in, as a boy on the verge of adulthood who develops immediate, if confused, attraction to the confident Oliver. Not long after the two first meet, Elio retires to his room and reclines in his bed, looking at the tuft of hair sprouting from his armpit, and lazily blowing on it. A few scenes later, Elio is bold enough to sneak into Oliver’s empty room and put Oliver’s swimsuit over his head
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
paulofalmeidaDec 21, 2017
I'm glad this movie didn't disappoint, at all. Loved every bit, especially Chalamet's portrayal. I didn't even know who he was before this, but i'll have to check out his work from now on.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CharisFeb 25, 2018
Beautiful! The director drives you into the atmosphere of italian county. The pace is a little slow but it represents reality as summers tend to move slowly. The music from Sufjan Stevens is wonderful and dreamy and the lyrics fit so perfectBeautiful! The director drives you into the atmosphere of italian county. The pace is a little slow but it represents reality as summers tend to move slowly. The music from Sufjan Stevens is wonderful and dreamy and the lyrics fit so perfect with the movie. The chemistry between the actors is very sweet and seems effortless. The most beautiful thing about this film is that despite their homosexual relatioshipthose two get the lucky chance to experience it without having someone to tell them that it's wrong. Their only obstacle is time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JaceNguyen2402Feb 20, 2018
One of the best movies I've ever watched. Head over heels in love with the two guys.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ncan7336Dec 19, 2017
Is it better to speak or die?

André Aciman's magnum opus is, perhaps, the most controversial novel I ever read—how can a straight man like Aciman write homosexual lovemaking so vividly? Some gay readers have even claimed that it may be the
Is it better to speak or die?

André Aciman's magnum opus is, perhaps, the most controversial novel I ever read—how can a straight man like Aciman write homosexual lovemaking so vividly? Some gay readers have even claimed that it may be the author's deep-seated fantasy that he kept for so long until he released this book. And now, after 10 years since the novel became a canon for LGBT romance, Luca Guadagnino, an openly gay man, had skillfully put into screen every powerful exchange in the literature that finally gave light to that existential debate between Elio and Oliver:

Call Me By Your Name IS NOT A GAY ROMANCE. It is a story of love not by two men but by two beings being vulnerable to each other who explored the boundaries of their beings being one in the search of infinity, the constant desire to be one organic whole. There's a huge reference to the works of Heidegger, **** M.C. Escher, and even Descartes, despite not being mentioned directly in the novel, when Elio mocked him and argued that the pineal gland isn't where the soul and body meet.

So how did Aciman write it so well without being gay? Simple, aside from the fact that it isn't a gay novel as I argued, there's a plethora of literature about homosexual love that predates the contemporary notion of homosexuality (see Foucault's repressive hypothesis in History of Sexuality, 1976). History will tell you that there were no sexual labels prior to the rise of capitalism. Same-sex love existed in different parts of the world even before the East meets the Western world. The novel, I surmise, is Aciman's contemporary take on pederasty, noting the age gap between the two main characters and their academic status.

Some critics see the lack of explicit sex scenes and frontal nudity as the downside of the film, that it is an implicit negotiation of the film with its straight audience and that it tolerates the homophobic resistance in cinema culture. Rather, I see it as an asset. Its current accolades could have been different, and even non-existent if not for that decision made by Guadagnino himself. It should be noted that the director revised its original screenplay which includes explicit scenes. At the end of the day, both the novel and the film are not about sex. It is about the passion between the two main characters who transcended their existential tension.

No actor can perfectly fit Elio's precocious nature but Timothée Chalamet. When I first saw the trailer, I said to myself, "they found the right guy." This guy, despite his very young age, will definitely win the most coveted awards this season. Armie Hammer, on the other hand, is the perfect support Chalamet can get. Their chemistry is one of the best on screen.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GoForDec 25, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many extraordinary moments elevate a gorgeously shot art film into something wondrous and memorable long after Elio's emotional face finally disappears from the screen. The depth of the acting gives the work many layers such that all you want to do at the end is watch it again to better understand the hidden emotions. The surface characters are not sympathetic - Elio precociousness is matched by Oliver's arrogance but both are revealed to be outer protective layers covering inner vulnerability and the drama is the awkward revelation of mutual attraction. "We wasted so much time", Oliver says towards the end. Then much like Dr. Zhivago and Lara live their limited time together to the full, so do Oliver and Elio. Their parting is silent appropriately enough at a train station where timetables are fixed and insensitive to the wight of the moment. Just when we think the end has come, Elio's father delivers the greatest father-son talk ever captured in cinema - which of us would not have wanted our father to articulate Mr. Perlman's generosity and love to them? - immediately trumped by one of the greatest pieces of cinema ever as the emotions cascade through Elios face in a single shot over almost 4 minutes. Film-lovers will be left breathless. This is a piece of cinema history. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Shlomo3006Feb 28, 2018
Completely empathetic and dramatic, it has a very warm heart, even I can say hot, that may trap us and live the spiral of the love of both characters, and also provides outstanding performances by Timotheé Chalamet and Armie Hammer.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
KaustavFeb 27, 2018
It is a serene, intoxicating youth drama where each line holds you comfortably as think as about joys of life and love. It is exquisite in execution and the score is very underrated in its obviousness.
Shout out to Chalamet, Hammer, Sthulbarg
It is a serene, intoxicating youth drama where each line holds you comfortably as think as about joys of life and love. It is exquisite in execution and the score is very underrated in its obviousness.
Shout out to Chalamet, Hammer, Sthulbarg and Esther Garrel. Their selection is vindicated in their sincere presentation of their roles. I understand why this movie was appreciated by so many critics and audience in general - It is truly of the gay romance masterpiece of its time and it is also is something so much more than it resonates with something in every one of us. I do hope you'll take my word for it on this much, you must watch it and then decide on calling it by its name. :)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RroyJan 5, 2018
A good movie about a boy’s first love is turned into something great by strong acting, wonderful cinematography and a father’s great speech.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoshuaBlackFeb 7, 2018
I have read negative reviews about this movie because of the pedophilia. Does it make you somewhat uncomfortable? Yes it does, as it should. I will say that this film is about as real as a movie can get. This happens in real life without aI have read negative reviews about this movie because of the pedophilia. Does it make you somewhat uncomfortable? Yes it does, as it should. I will say that this film is about as real as a movie can get. This happens in real life without a doubt. Im glad someone decided to depict a story that some may shy away from. Just because it makes you uncomfortable and it may be controversial doesn't mean it deserves a negative review. Its a great movie that shows an emotional real life story. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AshkanisaredMar 2, 2018
hard to put in the words, Fantastic, masterpiece and very emotional movie
just go and watch
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
idanteMar 5, 2018
Bellissimo! nostalgia del primo amore. bel Paese. genitori amorevoli e accettanti.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nickster6Mar 8, 2018
An amazing film that everyone should watch!! Especially parents.. It doesn't matter if you're gay or straight. The movie is about first love, passion, heartbreak and everything that each and everyone of us has experienced in a relationship.An amazing film that everyone should watch!! Especially parents.. It doesn't matter if you're gay or straight. The movie is about first love, passion, heartbreak and everything that each and everyone of us has experienced in a relationship. Great cast, tremendous acting, wonderful sceneries and magnificent music. It's easily one of the best movies I have ever seen - if not the best-. It really left its mark on me. Watch it now ! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
WhiskeyStoriesDec 23, 2017
A beautiful, warm and touching romance told with elegance and sophistication. The acting is superb, the chemistry between every actor and actress is palpable and realistic. The only possible flaw I had with the film was with the editing,A beautiful, warm and touching romance told with elegance and sophistication. The acting is superb, the chemistry between every actor and actress is palpable and realistic. The only possible flaw I had with the film was with the editing, other than that I thoroughly loved every minute of Call Me by Your Name. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
marcovelousDec 22, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is difficult not to hype about this film, which received acclaim already before its formal release. After the first watch, I was actually a bit underwhelmed by how raw this film is. I was also distracted and annoyed by the smoking actions – almost everybody smokes in this film, a lot, throughout the film. Forgive me, but I do not find it adds anything to the narrative. I really was not sure what to feel from the first sitting. So I decided to watch this film again, the next night. Having to piece everything together, I think this film is certainly picture of the year with an emotional and sensual love story.

Call Me by Your Name starts with Oliver visiting Elio’s house as Oliver helps with Elio’s Dad’s academic work. Oliver and Elio spend time together in the summer days riding bikes, reading and dancing. A magical love thrives and they decide to speak how they feel about each other. As the couple starts getting closely together for several weeks, they find themselves a difficult time having to separate, both in terms of location and emotion.

We are all spoiled by modern romance drama films that any relationship should be based on a series of dramatic events that the couple is formed by a strong link between each other. So during my first watch, I find it quite unbelievable, almost like a fantasy, that Elio and Oliver just clicks together, and has so profound love towards each other. But I realized that a relationship need not to be reasoned in a heavily detailed manner. It’s not a fairy tale, but simply the reason is what Dad says, the two are ‘good’. Simple as that, and no arguments needed to support. That’s why I feel this love story is light-hearted yet so romantic and heart-warming, just to see the couple do things together, improvised, without an apparent reason. “Because it was him. Because it was me.”

Elio’s and Oliver’s relationship grows as well. Elio at first has nothing nice to say about Oliver, calling him arrogant as he loves using the word “later!”. As Elio’s bed is now Oliver’s, Elio initially uses a stoic voice talking to Oliver. “We’re being called for dinner” perhaps is the most stern and cold line of the film. And we have Dad and Mom as the cupid parents. “You’ll grow to love him.” What a bless from them and they are together LATER! Mom noticed Elio’s necklace very quickly. Dad also just couldn’t stop making this couple work using metaphors with sculpture wordings. Both Elio and Oliver hesitate to make the first move, but they eventually choose to speak. The love develops. Elio becomes patient – he waits and anticipates for Oliver. Elio cares for him. Oliver desires Elio, fellatio-ing Elio or eating what Elio leaves in the peach as he likes. Realizing the days are counting, they cherish the time being intimate physically and emotionally. And this is portrayed on the point.

Dad’s monologue lifts the message of the film to a high level. This relationship is not that easy that the story we know makes it out to be. We know everything. But they have to hide everything from everyone else. I still think what he says applies to the present. When coming out is still on the to-do list, any heartbreaks would be needed to be hidden and would be painful. Many have chosen the easy and also the difficult way – play straight, get married – if not that reluctant to women. But will it take a true love as a consequence? Without the story of Elio and Oliver, we may not be able to think about love in such a perspective. To embrace our feelings about the ups and downs of our relationships. To seize the once-in-a-lifetime chance with ‘the one’ we have in front of us. To be brave to express ourselves and not to be limited by our sexuality or anything that stands in between. And more than that is self-acceptance, parents’ acceptance and the whole generation’s acceptance to homosexual relationships. Elio and Oliver are just like everybody else, but face problems too. Oliver sadly follows Dad’s footsteps. Elio knows Oliver is getting married. I love the moment where Elio repeats saying ‘Elio’ on the phone, wishing Oliver would come back to him. It is heart-breaking and becomes even more heart-wrenching when Sufjan Stevens’ “Visions of Gideon” fits in. It was difficult for such true love to execute long distance relationship, but even more to break it.

The soundtrack is also a highlight in this film. I love the easy-going strings go on “Mystery of Love” and how the bass hits on “Visions of Gideon” to suit the romantic and heart-breaking scenes. The soundtracks add so many colors to the film.

Call Me by Your Name does not only live up to our hype over this year, but also will remain a recognizable, bitter-sweet, and roller-coaster summer love story. This is done, without Elio and Oliver saying “I love you”, and instead “call me by you name and I’ll call you by mine”.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rvancMar 8, 2018
Simplesmente foi o melhor romance que assisti em anos.
Não tenho palavras, nem detalhes à acrescentar, é simplesmente maravilhoso!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
minhtriFeb 7, 2018
emotional, true love, teen develop and i cry. This movie is so so so good, i wish the ending is not sad like in movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rootsFeb 16, 2018
Zesty. Leaves you with crucial mark on both mind and heart. Easy and Loving.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
StevieGJDDec 1, 2017
This is a lovely film. It is filled with intelligent, cultured and good looking people. The Italian town, countryside and villa where the majority of the film take place could not be more inviting. The blossoming of the relationship isThis is a lovely film. It is filled with intelligent, cultured and good looking people. The Italian town, countryside and villa where the majority of the film take place could not be more inviting. The blossoming of the relationship is both romantic and understandable. The acting is excellent, as are the art direction and cinematography. The final scene upon which the credits are layered, is incredibly moving. All but the truly homophobic will find something to love about this beautiful, tender film. My only complaint is not really a complaint, it is just a sad fact: the world in which these characters reside does not exist. It would be lovely if it did. But, alas it does not. It is a kind of fantasy place where everyone is understanding, accepting and kind, nobody is judgmental and bigotry does not exist. This is a very good, but not amazing, film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryJan 24, 2018
Even though they speak mostly English (with plenty of subtitled French & Italian), this is undeniably a foreign film. The location in Italy make it obvious, but the languid pacing is another hallmark of imports. The budding romance takesEven though they speak mostly English (with plenty of subtitled French & Italian), this is undeniably a foreign film. The location in Italy make it obvious, but the languid pacing is another hallmark of imports. The budding romance takes plenty of time to blossom. Timothée Chalamet plays a 17- year-old who lives with his family in an old villa. When an American doctoral student (Armie Hammer) visits for the summer, their initial indifference grows into desire. It develops slowly, but with a quiet sensuality. Chalamet has deservedly been getting lots of awards buzz because he captures the spontaneous enthuiasim of a teen, while revealing naive confusion and touching depth. Hammer also turns in a strong performance. The expressions of their love is tender and unafraid. Ultimately, it's a heartfelt, beautifully made story of a powerful emotional bond. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JalemanyJan 24, 2018
Excellent, very enjoyable and tasty film. Slow and beautiful burner. Slightly elitist, but why not ...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GrumpyReviewerJan 15, 2018
This is probably the most beautiful movie I have seen in years - in my life, perhaps. I find it hard to choose a bunch of words to explain how deep and heartbreaking this movie is... I feel this movie, deeply; but it's just hard to explain itThis is probably the most beautiful movie I have seen in years - in my life, perhaps. I find it hard to choose a bunch of words to explain how deep and heartbreaking this movie is... I feel this movie, deeply; but it's just hard to explain it all.

The buzz attracted me to it; sat down without much knowledge and by the end I had tears in my eyes and the feeling I had experienced something so unforgettable. This is a masterpiece, this is a work of art. The strong acting (Timothée Chalamet is a vision of melancholy and curiosity), the beautifully written script, the shots, the gorgeous direction by Luca Guadagnino, the music (the songs by Sufjan Stevens are haunting, dreamlike); the nostalgia of it all. I have lived moments in my life that passed, that are forever gone; but left their marks in me. And this is what this moving story is about. This is so much more than a "love story" between Elio and Oliver, a young boy and an older man who discover each other during a summer in Italy, in the 80s. It is about moments; memories, what we carry with us through the years, what is left in the past and how important events will change us forever.

"Call me by your name" needs to be seen, known, shared, celebrated.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
rafa14Feb 1, 2018
A masterpiece, spetacular, amazing, perfect! There're so many words that i could use to try to describe what I felt when I watched this movie, but none of them would trully describe the feeling. I wanted to see this film since sundance whenA masterpiece, spetacular, amazing, perfect! There're so many words that i could use to try to describe what I felt when I watched this movie, but none of them would trully describe the feeling. I wanted to see this film since sundance when it got great reviews, but i had to wait almost a year to watch, maybe that was good, because when the movie started I was so excited and this feeling continued until the end of it, actually even after it, because i had the feeling inside of me that i wanted to visit italy and study/read more about the 80's, the reason i felt this was because the whole movie it's well written and directed, probably James Ivory, the writer will win the oscar, and if it does, it will be deserved because the way he wrote I belevied in Elio and Oliver love and it made me feel like i was there with them the whole time, and talking about this two, Armie Hammer, who should have been nominated for best supporting actor and Timothée Chalamet is a star. Everyone should watch this movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveJan 25, 2018
A sublime film. Achingly well written. Beautifully and subtly performed and directed with such delicacy that you can feel and smell the environment. The score is pretty great too which includes an appropriately titled song called' mystery ofA sublime film. Achingly well written. Beautifully and subtly performed and directed with such delicacy that you can feel and smell the environment. The score is pretty great too which includes an appropriately titled song called' mystery of Love', which is just gorgeous. The film looks wonderful,Sounds Wonderful and is one to be seen again and again. Timothee Chalamet stands out and Armie Hammer has never been better. Everyone may be talking about that fruity scene, but it is Michael Stuhlbarg's end monologue that raises the hairs on one's neck and arms. The scene is an electric wow and I doubt we will see its like for quite some time. Bravo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticFeb 3, 2018
A film that puts you in the mind of a young man searching through his feelings as a stranger comes into his life. I became enamored with the confidence that is shown by our two leads, they play off each other so well. The finale of this filmA film that puts you in the mind of a young man searching through his feelings as a stranger comes into his life. I became enamored with the confidence that is shown by our two leads, they play off each other so well. The finale of this film is one of the best finale's of the year, from Elio's father to the emotional phone call at the end, I was blown away. Also Italy has never looked better in a film. A Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
khoinguyen1220Jan 30, 2018
Poignant, sweet, and beautiful to look at, Call Me by Your Name is the year's best movie showcasing love and growing up. Chalamet and Hammer's chemistry is undeniably real and touching, along with the stellar supporting performance fromPoignant, sweet, and beautiful to look at, Call Me by Your Name is the year's best movie showcasing love and growing up. Chalamet and Hammer's chemistry is undeniably real and touching, along with the stellar supporting performance from Michael Stuhlbarg. Also, James Ivory deserves a lot of credit for this adapted screenplay as well. Also, stay through the end credit, and you'll see why Chalamet deserves that Oscars. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Sassypants25Feb 1, 2018
An absolutely stunning film, both emotionally and artistically. The performances are so nuanced, truthful, and raw that I am left shook to my core. THIS is the best movie of 2017. Luca Guadagnino directed this with a masterful touch and theAn absolutely stunning film, both emotionally and artistically. The performances are so nuanced, truthful, and raw that I am left shook to my core. THIS is the best movie of 2017. Luca Guadagnino directed this with a masterful touch and the poignant script by the sublime James Ivory takes us back to a time that we can't and don't want to forget. The performances are unlike anything you will see from a film released in this time of angst and quirkiness. Firstly, the end with Michael Struhlbarg is breaktaking and one of the most important moments in cinema. Armie Hammer subtle performance is brave in its command and vulnerability. He has moments of quiet that break your heart and you know EXACTLY what he's thinking. It's the quiet work that gets overlooked, but is pivotal to the emotional core of the film. Timothée Chalamet is a rare gem. He carries this movie in every way possible and is so powerful and charming that I can't believe he's 22 (now). This movie is WHY people love film and I can not say enough about it. I could talk for hours and THAT is what you want from Art. Thank you to everyone for this gift. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
battytipexFeb 2, 2018
An astonishing, sensual, riveting account of young love. Not always faithful to the book, but that's usually a good thing: the ending improves on the source material, for example, while the lengthy (and slightly dull) middle-section isAn astonishing, sensual, riveting account of young love. Not always faithful to the book, but that's usually a good thing: the ending improves on the source material, for example, while the lengthy (and slightly dull) middle-section is significantly reduced. Timothée Chalamet gives the clear performance of the year, while Michael Stuhlbarg's monologue towards the end deserves to go down in history as one of the great film moments. The fact we see straight sex more explicitly than gay sex is a little wearying, but this film is otherwise utterly flawless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoJan 30, 2018
"Call Me By Your Name" was a beautiful and spectacular movie, the story is excellent and the characters have given the best effort to make this movie, spectacular. The romanticism and love in this film have no limits and in this film the"Call Me By Your Name" was a beautiful and spectacular movie, the story is excellent and the characters have given the best effort to make this movie, spectacular. The romanticism and love in this film have no limits and in this film the concept was well managed, a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Aldrin13Jan 26, 2018
This movie is one of the most stunning love stories of all time. It's a achievement in terms of realism and acting. We can wonder the characters feelings and emotions just by looking at the actors faces, not needing a straight off dialogueThis movie is one of the most stunning love stories of all time. It's a achievement in terms of realism and acting. We can wonder the characters feelings and emotions just by looking at the actors faces, not needing a straight off dialogue and long coversations.
The star-making performance made by Timothée Chalamet is an Oscar worth and Armie Hammer made his best role in his career so far. Their chemestry made the film even more empathic and moving if it weren't enought the brillant screenplay written and perfectly adapted by Aciman sensible book, the legendary James Ivory, whose movie are already timeless as well as this one will be.
It's a universal story about first love, empathy, family and coming of age that will blow away it's audiences when it meets it's audiences, which I think EVERYONE, no matter the agem gender, religious beliefs or sexual orientation. A cinematic classic that brings beatutiful shots in the northern Italy and outstanding cinematography. A story of a lifetime.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
davd123Jan 25, 2018
When I watched this movie even though in my country at that time was cold and snowing I could feel like I'm in holiday sitting in hot summer. The scenery was beautiful. The storyline wasn't surprising. But I really did enjoy it. Every momentWhen I watched this movie even though in my country at that time was cold and snowing I could feel like I'm in holiday sitting in hot summer. The scenery was beautiful. The storyline wasn't surprising. But I really did enjoy it. Every moment of it touched my heart. It really helped me to deal with some feeling I have inside.
UPDATE. At first I gave this movie 8 but now it's 9 because after watching this movie two days I was thinking about it consistently.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DefinitelyMaybDec 31, 2017
Honestly one of the most beautiful films made in this century. Luca Guadagnino's Call Me By Yuor Name is an exquisite adaptation of the novel of the same name by Andre Aciman (who also has a small cameo in the film). Whilst some might justHonestly one of the most beautiful films made in this century. Luca Guadagnino's Call Me By Yuor Name is an exquisite adaptation of the novel of the same name by Andre Aciman (who also has a small cameo in the film). Whilst some might just bypass this as another 'Moonlight' or LGBT bait-and-switch for the Oscars, no, this is a legit film that is well crafted with beautifully acted characters that serves more of a coming-of-age film rather than a gay romance. I didn't like Moonlight that much because that film felt contrived and bare, whereas CMBYN is exactly the type of film that you get lost in. The film has the feeling of a Richard Linklater film and the aethestics of a Sofia Cappola film. CMBYN will move you, make you cry, make you care for the protagonist and most importantly, make you appreciate your life's experiences and what you have whether that is pain or for longing. The word 'beautiful' cannot be stressed enough because the music, lighting, languid pacing of the film are what contributes it to being a unique cinematic experience. It is a fairytale set in Italy for our young protagonists, but also a dream that each of them knows will end in a short time. It is cinema at its finest and that is all that we can hope for in this day and age. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
al_dszFeb 2, 2018
Amazing piece of film-making

Call Me By Your Name is one of those films that keeps you mesmerised while you watch it and doesn't leave you for the next few days. Everything about this film is great: the excellent cinematography; the setting
Amazing piece of film-making

Call Me By Your Name is one of those films that keeps you mesmerised while you watch it and doesn't leave you for the next few days. Everything about this film is great: the excellent cinematography; the setting of the film in rural Italy; the performances from the lead characters; the soundtrack. The movie very brilliantly captures the budding romance between two young adults who engage in a love slightly forbidden, but so passionate and real. The acting in this film deserves great applause, it's one of those few films that really reaches out to you emotionally and you can really feel the joy and pain of the characters. The aesthetics and visuals of the film are also top-notch and gives a really strong sense of the location and atmosphere of the world the story is set in. It's a must watch for any moviegoer.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ajgseriesDec 29, 2017
It is a very well directed film. The movie is just so real, Timothée Chalamet and Armie Hammer have an unequaled chemistry. They build a relationship in a wonderful way, and I think it's also due to the script… IT’S AMAZING. They do not rushIt is a very well directed film. The movie is just so real, Timothée Chalamet and Armie Hammer have an unequaled chemistry. They build a relationship in a wonderful way, and I think it's also due to the script… IT’S AMAZING. They do not rush to present you the beautiful connection between Elio and Oliver, there's definitely a very interesting development. The Italy of 1980 certainly gives a romantic atmosphere to the movie. There are certain things that I didn’t like, the cinematography for example. I feel it is very simple, it could have been better. But in general I think it’s an amazing coming-of-age film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixJan 1, 2018
'Call Me by Your Name' is an airy, meditative look at a summer of sexual discovery. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet--who was recently introduced to audiences in 'Ladybird' and is destined for an even bigger spotlight--bask in the Northern'Call Me by Your Name' is an airy, meditative look at a summer of sexual discovery. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet--who was recently introduced to audiences in 'Ladybird' and is destined for an even bigger spotlight--bask in the Northern Italian countryside, soaking in each other's company as the camera drifts like a zephyr through the idyllic scenery.

The acting and cinematography particularly stand out, so much so that one must pity those (or themselves) who have to trudge back to their cars through crusty snow and single digit temperatures after watching these two lovebirds lounging in the sun for an entire summer.

Given the subject matter and release date, I suspect that various film executives hoped this film would replicate last year's success of 'Moonlight'--which, let's not forget, won the Oscar for Best Picture--yet 'Call Me by Your Name' is simply far less compelling. And while it served as a pleasant respite from the harsh winter, it felt more like a June release both in feel and overall impact.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ShzamJan 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Call me by Your Name" é um filme que retrata a relação apaixonante e intrigante entre Elio, um garoto de 17 anos, e Oliver, um universitário que vai até a casa do pai do garoto, na Itália, para estudar melhor a arte local. Vou simplesmente dizer que CMBYN é um filme que retrata o amadurecimento e auto-conhecimento. Não é um filme somente sobre homossexualidade, tendo em vista que é usada principalmente como um recurso narrativo para o desenvolvimento maior da trama.
Possui atuações fantásticas de TODOS membros do cast (especialmente de Timothée Chalamet,que merece um Oscar de Melhor Ator acima de tudo), uma ótima fotografia e uma direção excepcional. A história envolve o interlocutor e o faz chorar (literalmente) até a cena dos créditos finais. Muito mais do que um filme cult com vários gifs no Tumblr, "Call Me by Your Name" é uma experiência de vida que nos faz refletir sobre tempo e sentimentos. Não vou me alongar muito para não dar spoilers, porém, é simplesmente resumido em uma tragédia emocional. Com soluços que iniciam-se logo na primeira metade do filme, CMBYN é uma obra de arte, e a definição de melodrama e paixão. Um dos pontos mais fortes do filme é a humanização de ambos personagens presentes no relacionamento, o que não é muito presente em todos romances (a Summer de "500 Dias com Ela", por exemplo).
A trilha sonora - com destaque para as faixas "Mystery of Love" e "Visions of Gideon", ambas de Sufan Stevens - é totalmente apaixonante, e consegue imergir o público na cultura da época e do local.
Sem dúvidas, "Call Me By Your Name" é o melhor filme da Oscar Season e provavelmente um dos melhores - isso senão for O MELHOR - filmes da história do cinema. Bravo,Luca Guadagnino!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JonasCroftDec 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So deep, so moving, so perfect. Call Me By Your Name is the BEST movie of 2017. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AkumaJackFeb 2, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call me by your name is a decent film and nothing more.
Chalamet's performance was perfect through the whole movie, the soundtrack was on point (Especially thanks to Sufjan Stevens' "Mystery of Love" and "Futile devices").
The settings, as an Italian, is beautiful and well portrayed.
The weak part is the plot and some characters.
First of all Armie Hammer is 42 and Chalamet is 23. In the movie Elio (Chalamet) is 17 so Oliver (Hammer) should be around 30 to 36 years old. That's some serious pedophilia over there and i couldn't get over it for the whole movie.
Is not romantic, is quite sick. There is not an antagonist in this movie besides time. They make a big deal about hiding their affair because it's an homosexual relationship and all but then EVERYONE seems to be okay with it. Elio's father later in the movie confesses to his sons that he had an affair with a friend (male) when he was younger and that he always knew about Elio and Oliver relationship.
So why hiding if apparently is okay for everyone if they are gay? Also, Elio is a jerk to his friend Marzia with whom he has sex multiple times just to dump her a couple of days later to be with Oliver. So Elio, although sympathetic, is the only "Bad" character of the movie. From a technical point of view this movie is incredible, great aesthetics and imagery, but the story is weak and meaningless.
Meaningless could summarize this film story perfectly in my opinion.
You get nothing out of it, it doesn't have a deeper meaning and characters don't learn anything besides Elio knowing that he's gay/bisexual
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mrharrybeckDec 27, 2017
The movie finds love in the quietest moments: the slightest touch of hands, the laugh that lasts a beat longer that it should.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
WalterTSolleyFeb 2, 2018
Literate, well acted film about a summertime romance between Elio, the 17 year-old son of a professor, and Oliver, his father’s American associate, who is living with them while working toward his doctorate. Intelligently written, aLiterate, well acted film about a summertime romance between Elio, the 17 year-old son of a professor, and Oliver, his father’s American associate, who is living with them while working toward his doctorate. Intelligently written, a surprisingly forthright same sex love story. It avoids the standard gay romance cliches, and instead gives us a thoughtful, realistic (if somewhat idealized) movie about well developed and interesting characters. Timothée Chalamet is astonishing in a breakout performance. But, I really loved the flawless supporting cast, especially Michael Stuhlbarg and Amira Casar as Elio’s loving parents. Wonderfully linear filmmaking, refreshingly unadorned, and never maudlin. One of the year’s best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jurman7Jan 26, 2018
This is the best movie of 2017 hands down. In this film, you see amazing chemistry between the three main characters; Elio, Oliver, and Mr. Perlman. A story of how a homosexual relationship can form naturally between two straight men in theThis is the best movie of 2017 hands down. In this film, you see amazing chemistry between the three main characters; Elio, Oliver, and Mr. Perlman. A story of how a homosexual relationship can form naturally between two straight men in the span of a six week period in Italy is truly inspiring. It is unique in that there no struggle for acceptance, like in most coming-of-age films concerning gay teens. This film instead focuses in on the relationship itself and the growth of two seemingly already mature characters with the guidance of Elio's father. The film is accompanied by the beautiful images of Northern Italy and the emotional melodies and lyrics written by Sufjan Stevens and others. Not to mention that a new top-tier actor, Timothee Chamalet, is born. At only 22 years old this actor tears down the house with his powerful performance and chilling ending filled with a rollercoaster of emotions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lvelasquezJan 31, 2018
It's a masterpiece! It captures the first love feelings in a courageos way. I loved it! I loved them both, Elio and Oliver!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Joshua76UKFeb 5, 2018
This is a stunning movie, no matter if you are gay or straight. The atmospheres, the acting, I cried my eyes out and I don't cry easily. Bravo!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ianglaucoFeb 22, 2018
cada cosa tiene su nombre, y cada animal también así como cada persona pero decir mi propio nombre en voz alta se siento como algo abismal y ajeno a mi.. pensé que no era una sensación común pero call me by your name tiene mi 100% por crearcada cosa tiene su nombre, y cada animal también así como cada persona pero decir mi propio nombre en voz alta se siento como algo abismal y ajeno a mi.. pensé que no era una sensación común pero call me by your name tiene mi 100% por crear ese peso y esa sensación sublime de llamar alguien mas por mi propio nombre Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RachataMar 9, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie so bad, Sorry my English is not really good
But this movie made me cry even though a few scenes I do not really under stand, I've never experienced of love but this movie made me so infatuated, Thanks for showing us the great movie
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GG1946Mar 9, 2018
Fantastic evocation of adolescence and first love. Exceptional performances, gorgeous to look at.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cgtravers1Mar 21, 2018
This film was such a surprise. It has greatness about it! It's a rare thing in the annals of film-making. We are all lucky that the project reached fruition...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
section20mi6May 15, 2018
A grotesque romance that will obviously gross out some straight males, Call Me By Your Name certainly does achieve the effect of love and affection with two top-notch acting professionals(Timothee and Armie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spencieMar 15, 2018
This might be the best movie I have ever seen. Luca Guadagnino directed a masterpiece right here. Timothee Chalamet gives one of the best performances I've ever seen, the chemistry between him and Armie Hammer is incredible. Call Me By YourThis might be the best movie I have ever seen. Luca Guadagnino directed a masterpiece right here. Timothee Chalamet gives one of the best performances I've ever seen, the chemistry between him and Armie Hammer is incredible. Call Me By Your Name is wildy romantic, masterfully directed, and beautifully shot. This movie feels like a memory, I felt like I had fallen in love and I felt like I had gone to Italy. I've never felt so much during a movie. This movie is great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews