User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 163
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brian
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Very impressive and engaging pastiche of images and personal testimonies. His interviewees, particularly the families who have lost everything, are the driving force of the narrative. I appreciated this film as the culmination of Moore's general argument about corporate victimization which has underlain his previous entries. A tour-de-force of documentary filmaking, and a Very impressive and engaging pastiche of images and personal testimonies. His interviewees, particularly the families who have lost everything, are the driving force of the narrative. I appreciated this film as the culmination of Moore's general argument about corporate victimization which has underlain his previous entries. A tour-de-force of documentary filmaking, and a career-defining film. Expand
  2. GotaSoul
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    This is the best movie of the year by far! Michael Moore should be given both an Oscar and the Nobel Prized for economics.
  3. julianj
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    If people understood this movie they wouldn't be saying that michael moore is a communist. Stupidity is the reason for all these problems. Americans need to get the 50's propoganda of the soviet union out of their head and look at the facts. Want proof a communist country in china could strangle your economy at any point, now answer which economic system is better.
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    3
    Even if what is said or shown in this documentary is true, I can't help but to feel some of the same anger shown here against the banks and capitalism towards Michael himself. Why didn't he release this movie for free, it's easy to talk but it's not easy actually doing what you preach.
  5. aasfd
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    Utter Crap....Hes trying to sell you his thoughts! He is washed up and instead work as a Corner store clerk! I use to respect him...But now hes Mr. Know it all, who knows nothing! pass!
  6. Sam
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    What a pile of crap. MM needs to move to a nice place like Cuba. There he can make films all he wants, until the government kills him for treason.
  7. stephens
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    A terrific movie. If you're ignorant enough to think that you have to accept the capitalist/corporate takeover of this country or move to Cuba, you won't go to the movie anyway. If you're foolish enough not to understand how the corporate power structure has ruined our economy and culture, call Michael Moore names and stick your head back in the sand. Richard R: Learn to A terrific movie. If you're ignorant enough to think that you have to accept the capitalist/corporate takeover of this country or move to Cuba, you won't go to the movie anyway. If you're foolish enough not to understand how the corporate power structure has ruined our economy and culture, call Michael Moore names and stick your head back in the sand. Richard R: Learn to spell or proofread. Paul: Living in a democracy means that you can call for changes in the way things are run. If you don't like the process called freedom, go live somewhere else...your choice. Syzygy: I hope that your first language isn't english, because your review is nonsense. Did you read it before you posted it? Expand
  8. Gerald
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    All these people here talk about misinformation and they watch Faux News and get all huffy about a birth certificate and the tooth fairy...please...this movie goes for the jugular of the perverted children of eighties excess. This doesn't attack capitalism parse, but attacks the lack of conscience that is created by the accumulation of too much power...an interesting socioeconomic All these people here talk about misinformation and they watch Faux News and get all huffy about a birth certificate and the tooth fairy...please...this movie goes for the jugular of the perverted children of eighties excess. This doesn't attack capitalism parse, but attacks the lack of conscience that is created by the accumulation of too much power...an interesting socioeconomic study of what American values are coming too. Expand
  9. MichaelD.
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    Yes, Michael Moore oversimplifies and tries to correlate things that aren't correlated, but the movie was entertaining and there are some fundamental truths that do ring home.
  10. uluru28
    Sep 26, 2009
    6
    If you've seen other Michael Moore films, you're familiar with his style, and it's more of the same here. Where I differ from the other user reviews here, is that this is not a criticism of capitalism in general - it's a criticism of the *corruption* of our capitalistic system and where it has gone wrong, to put us in our current predicament. It's not capitalism If you've seen other Michael Moore films, you're familiar with his style, and it's more of the same here. Where I differ from the other user reviews here, is that this is not a criticism of capitalism in general - it's a criticism of the *corruption* of our capitalistic system and where it has gone wrong, to put us in our current predicament. It's not capitalism itself that MM considers a cancer, but what it has *become* in the US - which is surely not what our forefathers had in mind. But as another reviewer mentioned, this is not "liberal" filmmaking, MM has plenty of criticism for the Repubs and the Dems. What nobody can really dispute is the extent to which lobbyists and special interest groups have permeated and corrupted our legislative processes (yes, I suppose like a "cancer") - which is how you get situations like former bank CEO's rewriting our economic regulations in a way that, surprise, is good for a few bank executives in the short run and results in a major recession some years later. If you believe capitalism is beyond reproach or that any criticism of it whatsoever is an endorsement of "socialism" or is "un-American", you'll probably hate this film - but MM does present a lot of legitimate issues here and with an open mind you might learn something. Say what you will about MM, but his films are effective and skillfully assembled, and he gets people talking one way or the other. Expand
  11. Adam
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Another great movie from Michael Moore. Don't be fooled by the right wing operatives above. They are paid to go on sites and purvey their usual "obama and moore are socialists" crap. Any time the facts come out, they usually come out on the wrong side of what can be observed or measured.
  12. TomS
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    You have to take the rating for this movie with a grain of salt. Some reviewers will definitely go out of their way to hurt the score (New York Post) due to political bias (Rupert Murdoch owns the Post). So don't let the commenters and all that fool you, they don't care if the movie is good or if it's even true, they are here to take a shot at Michael Moore above all else.
  13. Chris
    Oct 1, 2009
    0
    The usual over-baked film from Moore, filled with his usual one-sided, factually questionable, hit-you-over-the-head self righteousness. I have come to believe that Moore is the worst thing to happen to documentary films in decades.
  14. OccamR
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    It's an excellent movie. Two or three things stand out: showing how Sully the hero pilot testified in Congress and that got no almost no media attention (because it was sad commentary on airlines); the part where corporations buy life insurance on their employees and bemoan their low death rate. The movie is about Greed, and that's what American capitalism is all about.
  15. grrrllll
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    But capitalism is a cancer of the human being. Those who believe it is not are themselves infected. Maybe not the best film ever made, but representative of a message that is becoming all the more popular.
  16. rc
    Oct 12, 2009
    1
    Boring!
  17. Pedro
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    MM craves on conspiracy theory maniacs and fills is pockets with all of "you". Is worst then the things he talk about.
  18. Craig
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The critics of this movie are either naive or unwilling to face the reality of how the government in this country is actually run.
  19. CruisinLindaM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    We all need to know as informed voters these specific stories of how families lose their homes from foreclosure after generations of ownership because they were enticed to take home equity loans with harsh terms in small print. We need to see how big corporations like GM cut thousands of jobs every year to increase productivity. We should know that corporations like Wal-Mart insured the We all need to know as informed voters these specific stories of how families lose their homes from foreclosure after generations of ownership because they were enticed to take home equity loans with harsh terms in small print. We need to see how big corporations like GM cut thousands of jobs every year to increase productivity. We should know that corporations like Wal-Mart insured the lives of tens of thousands of low-level employees in what is called "dead peasant" insurance. No wonder they provide inadequate health insurance. We see how they track profits based on mortality. We learn how Bank of America took over Republic Windows in Chicago and closed the factory without paying employees. They staged a sit in for six days and got supportive visits from the bishop and members of Congress. Moore picks on Democrats as well as Republicans. At the end he shows solutions, like FDR's Second Bill of Rights and an interview with Sen. Bernie Sanders of VT on Democratic Socialism. Regardless of your political biases, this film will open your eyes. Expand
  20. NickS
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I never really understand all the Michael Moore haters. Here's a guy who obviously loves his country and hates to see inequality. He is standing up for you against those who don't feel they have to play by the rules and buy up the lawmakers thereby freeing themselves to be as grimy as they like. It is truly sickening. When you it finally dawns on you who the real assholes are I never really understand all the Michael Moore haters. Here's a guy who obviously loves his country and hates to see inequality. He is standing up for you against those who don't feel they have to play by the rules and buy up the lawmakers thereby freeing themselves to be as grimy as they like. It is truly sickening. When you it finally dawns on you who the real assholes are get back to me. Excellent. The conservatives are just jealous cause he's about a thousand times more wit than they do! Expand
  21. syzygy
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Mikey is a cheap propagandist whose worst deficiency all these years has been dishonesty. He never so much cared for people's plight as needing it to push his gross beliefs. Finally, with his latest putrid opus, he is far less scared because he feels comfortable with our current financial crisis in ways that did not show in prior films. He reveals more of his core beliefs rather than Mikey is a cheap propagandist whose worst deficiency all these years has been dishonesty. He never so much cared for people's plight as needing it to push his gross beliefs. Finally, with his latest putrid opus, he is far less scared because he feels comfortable with our current financial crisis in ways that did not show in prior films. He reveals more of his core beliefs rather than simply dancing on the periphery of the crises. He is a true Marxist, a person who doesn't think capitalism suffers from momentary convulsions but is a cancer on all societies. Expand
  22. AlexL
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Woah. I was shocked to find out the metacritic rating was so high for this movie. I went and was absolutely stunned to see all of the misinformation Moore provides. Where does he get his stats? From 30 people? Now, I know he's an entertainer, but many critics are referring to the movie as an "eye-opener". For what? Shock value? This is the poorest "documentary" I've ever seen in Woah. I was shocked to find out the metacritic rating was so high for this movie. I went and was absolutely stunned to see all of the misinformation Moore provides. Where does he get his stats? From 30 people? Now, I know he's an entertainer, but many critics are referring to the movie as an "eye-opener". For what? Shock value? This is the poorest "documentary" I've ever seen in terms of journalistic quality. I actually liked Sicko because I see his point; this movie just completely misses the mark. He's desperate for more attention, and got it for all the wrong reasons. Expand
  23. KF
    Sep 25, 2009
    7
    Look, you can hate on Moore all you want for making what amounts to op-ed-umentaries. But he's not some America hating communist that needs to move to Cuba. He's a New Deal Democrat-- he believes in unions, mom and pop stores, workers rights, all that stuff. When he condemns 'capitalism,' he's condemning rampant corporatism; stuff like' Too Big To Fail,' Look, you can hate on Moore all you want for making what amounts to op-ed-umentaries. But he's not some America hating communist that needs to move to Cuba. He's a New Deal Democrat-- he believes in unions, mom and pop stores, workers rights, all that stuff. When he condemns 'capitalism,' he's condemning rampant corporatism; stuff like' Too Big To Fail,' and making a buck being more important than people's lives. I actually think we can pretty much all agree on that stuff-- Moore says Wall Street is a bunch of greedy bastards who stole our money. Nobody's really disputing that fact. So all you Glenn Beck-ites saying that Moore should move to Cuba, I say that you and Moore actually probably have a lot in common. You can disagree with his methods, or think he's pompous, but when he says that giant-ass corporations are the biggest threat to our democracy from within, everyone should really think about it. It's not that capitalism is bad, it's not-- rampant corporatism, however, is. Just my thoughts. Expand
  24. BobB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    The Capitalist Micheal Moore tells us Capitalism is a scam. Who is scamming who? I didn't realize he donates all the money he makes from his movies to charity. Oh, that's right, he doesn't. Don't you think Moore makes too much money? Maybe the Federal Government should get involved and limit the amount of money Moore makes. What a joke of a human being. Move to Europe The Capitalist Micheal Moore tells us Capitalism is a scam. Who is scamming who? I didn't realize he donates all the money he makes from his movies to charity. Oh, that's right, he doesn't. Don't you think Moore makes too much money? Maybe the Federal Government should get involved and limit the amount of money Moore makes. What a joke of a human being. Move to Europe you fat wealthy pig! Expand
  25. OrthoS.
    Sep 30, 2009
    5
    Moore is a gasbag who makes sloppy movies, but at least he asks questions. By the way, I read the full text of Kyle Smith's NYP review. I don't know that I have ever read film criticism as right wing propaganda before. When did Glenn Beck join At the Movies?
  26. RadarGunBlow
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Why should Moore move from his own country? He's entitled to his view and besides the drive for efficiency and profit has caused the US to have the largest inequality gap between rich and poor in the whole world. For years we've been told by 99.9 per cent of the Western world's self-serving Neo-Conservative media that devolvement of power from Government to the free market Why should Moore move from his own country? He's entitled to his view and besides the drive for efficiency and profit has caused the US to have the largest inequality gap between rich and poor in the whole world. For years we've been told by 99.9 per cent of the Western world's self-serving Neo-Conservative media that devolvement of power from Government to the free market and the world's greedist people is a way to sustain a just world. But the insanity which for years has made the world a great place for only a tiny fracttion of the world's population by exploiting vulnerable workers in countries condemed by Capittalists(Who despise China but don't mind shafting US jobs to relocate to workforces unprotected by any kind of unions to improve, filthy, dirty and degrading conditions for paltry pay) whose festering, bloated gorgefest has now inevitably blown up in their faces. But what should have forced change has only re-enforced the power and greed of the overbearing private Sector that along with spying and building profiles on our internet movements and privatising the streets we walk unelected now have the power to dip their hands in our pockets and hold us to ransom whenever they like. At a time where Neo-Conservative is tearing the world apart and the right-wing media which controls 99.9m per cent of output is desperately scrambling to prop up our corrupt, minority serving institutions it's a wonder there are not more voices like Moore. That we get to hear any voice of reason at all in our Private Sector controlled world though is a wonder in itself. Something we could do alot more of. As for the Private Sector goon squads who surf the web looking to quash any vaguely questioning voice of the all powerful zenith that is the great Capitalism I have nothing to give you but a good old fashioned two fingered salute. Time for a fairer world before greed destroys us all. Expand
  27. BryanK
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    For the past several years, Michael Moore has released films showing the truth behind America in the new century and this is another one of them. Capitalism:The Love Story shows the way America is seen which is as a business. Companies are shown in this film to be ruthless seeing middle-class Americans as inferior who they consider to be nothing more than money-makers for higger-ups in For the past several years, Michael Moore has released films showing the truth behind America in the new century and this is another one of them. Capitalism:The Love Story shows the way America is seen which is as a business. Companies are shown in this film to be ruthless seeing middle-class Americans as inferior who they consider to be nothing more than money-makers for higger-ups in the companies. It presents sad stories and stories of hope which demonstrate the compassion which still remains in the U.S.. Like the way the novel " The Jungle" from 1906 demonstrated the horror many workers went through at the time, we have a film one-hundred and three years later that shows the horrors of America's biggest companies and the greed which exists in the heart of corrupt humans. Expand
  28. NicS.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Do you SEE the others comments? These aren't reviews, they're just haters attacking this movie. I though it was very informational and very funny, and just to spite the haters, I'm giving it a 10. Yeah. Suck it haters.
  29. AdamS.
    Oct 1, 2009
    7
    Of course it's a polemic. If it weren't manipulative, it would be boring! He is a big goofball, but there are many valid points not being covered in the mainstream media. This is a good antidote to the regular news, to get you thinking and discussing. It's Michael Moore, so be aware, but it's still worthwhile to get a different point of view.
  30. GreatS
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Loved it! I expect the Corporate media and reviewers to bash this. I also expect some right-wing nuts who didn't see it to give it a "0". Because the wealthy and the large corporatiosn and the Kool-Aid drinkers on the right are afraid of this movie and this movement. This not only shows what a scary country we live in and how we the people have let the wealthy rip us off and take Loved it! I expect the Corporate media and reviewers to bash this. I also expect some right-wing nuts who didn't see it to give it a "0". Because the wealthy and the large corporatiosn and the Kool-Aid drinkers on the right are afraid of this movie and this movement. This not only shows what a scary country we live in and how we the people have let the wealthy rip us off and take over our government, it shows you that a 99% us are ready to fight back. When only 1/3 of our youth believes in capitalism you know a change is coming. Expand
  31. K.G.
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    This movie isn't about whether you are a Democrat or a Republican, it also isn't about whether you are liberal or conservative...it is about whether you are in the 1% or the 95%. And guess what folks...ALL of us are in the 95% regardless of whether we hope and pray to be in the 1%! Get real! The 1% is laughing at us for helping them stay that way....productivity should be This movie isn't about whether you are a Democrat or a Republican, it also isn't about whether you are liberal or conservative...it is about whether you are in the 1% or the 95%. And guess what folks...ALL of us are in the 95% regardless of whether we hope and pray to be in the 1%! Get real! The 1% is laughing at us for helping them stay that way....productivity should be rewarded of course, but what good is it to live in the best and most successful country in the world when children go without food, old people go without care and the sick can't get health insurance. Like MM says, "I don't want to live in a country that does that!--BUT I'm not going anywhere!!!" Expand
  32. YevgeniS
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    Michael Moore knows about as much about how REAL corporations are run as most Hollywood writers: Nothing at all. At least he doesn't depict evil CEOs plotting to murder the reporter who has discovered they are dumping dangerous chemicals in the water supply of the city they live in (as TV shows do), but on the other hand, a class in basic Economics seems to be in order here.
  33. Andy
    Oct 2, 2009
    6
    Michael Moore is obviously a talented filmmaker, regardless of your political views. This film has its share of both humorous and heartbreaking moments, just like his previous films. However, I don't think this is as good as work as "Sicko" or "Bowling" because he never proposes any solutions to this mess. He also doesn't delve into deeper questions that he could have addressed. Michael Moore is obviously a talented filmmaker, regardless of your political views. This film has its share of both humorous and heartbreaking moments, just like his previous films. However, I don't think this is as good as work as "Sicko" or "Bowling" because he never proposes any solutions to this mess. He also doesn't delve into deeper questions that he could have addressed. It is entertaining, but it's basically just 2 hours of complaining. Expand
  34. KathleenC.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Michael Moore has been right on every issue and he lays out the issues of how democracy has been eroded by the power of the overpaid, corrupt plutocrats. His new film is a clarion call to those who care about saving this country from fascism. I don't think the populace is smart enough to heed the call.
  35. Dee
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    A dizzyingly important movie for Americans to see, that they should be shouting about in the streets. How infuriating that 10x more people go see Transformers 2. Serves them right when Corporate America pushes their faces down in the mud.
  36. marku
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Chicago Times asks why the title of this movie is never explained?, because it is obvious "America you have been screwed!", and you are not the only ones. Funny how they can`t print money for dying children or to home the homeless, as it will cause inflation, yet they go to town when the banks are in trouble!, print it like there is no tomorrow, why ...to save thier own arse!. Haven`t Chicago Times asks why the title of this movie is never explained?, because it is obvious "America you have been screwed!", and you are not the only ones. Funny how they can`t print money for dying children or to home the homeless, as it will cause inflation, yet they go to town when the banks are in trouble!, print it like there is no tomorrow, why ...to save thier own arse!. Haven`t seen this movie yet but I surely will, Michael Moore will go to town on this one!, and he won`t need to embellish the facts with the help of your average fruitcake to do it. Expand
  37. DougT
    Oct 5, 2009
    0
    Didn't even watch it. But I'm expressing my freedom of speech as an American- isn't that what you like MM? Yeah, thought so.
  38. Ray
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    Heya Michael, if that stupid universal healthcare proposal gets passed, I hope you get taxed for being a fatty. That is all.
  39. JimmyD
    Oct 7, 2009
    5
    The concept is great, but as far as Michael Moore movies go, I have to say this is his weakest to-date. It has some very funny parts, but I just felt that it really lacked that 'hard hitting' nature of his previous endeavours. It is certainly worth seeing (perhaps wait for rental), but don't expect to walk away feelings/thinking like you did after Fahrenheit 9/11 or Bowling The concept is great, but as far as Michael Moore movies go, I have to say this is his weakest to-date. It has some very funny parts, but I just felt that it really lacked that 'hard hitting' nature of his previous endeavours. It is certainly worth seeing (perhaps wait for rental), but don't expect to walk away feelings/thinking like you did after Fahrenheit 9/11 or Bowling for Columbine. Expand
  40. KyleJ
    Oct 9, 2009
    0
    Wretched. Utterly useless. How can so many people be sandbagged by this moron. This is a college dropout with a few film-making talents that has made millions, now ripping the very (abstract) system by which he did it. Every film he has ever made has had well publicized lies/exaggerations/logical fallacies. He is a moron. He was fired from small paper for Are some of his points valid? Wretched. Utterly useless. How can so many people be sandbagged by this moron. This is a college dropout with a few film-making talents that has made millions, now ripping the very (abstract) system by which he did it. Every film he has ever made has had well publicized lies/exaggerations/logical fallacies. He is a moron. He was fired from small paper for Are some of his points valid? Maybe; I'm in no love with corporate criminals or the current system either. But he's trying to toe the line of journalism (Documentaries all are, the other choice is fiction). Only if he were a real reporter he would have been caught in so many mistakes and lies that he'd have been blackballed from every media outlet known to man. And lets face it, their standards aren't that high to begin with. Instead you all flock to his movies because you ALREADY agree with his views, even though he has NO CREDIBILITY AS A RELIABLE SOURCE WHATSOEVER. Any eye opening he does is through people who had no opinion to begin with and who were blind from the get-go. Moore, Beck, Limbaugh, these college dropouts (all of them, left or right) are the types of people preventing the advance of our country past a Red-Vs-Blue blood bath absent any rational or logical thought. Expand
  41. SiddilyW
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Some of the information he provided wasn't current. But, it was funny and biting.
  42. BobS
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    It delivers a powerful message, but isn't it strange that Michael Moore is against Capitalism, when he's making millions off the taxpayers who watch his movies? I'd say he actually likes it very much. Anyway, it's pretty funny and on target, even though it would have gotten the point across further if an amateur filmmaker made it.
  43. Paul
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Another piece of MM crap. He condemns capitalism, but still lives in the US instead of moving to a place like Cuba where he can embrace what he thinks is a great thing.
  44. basketc
    Sep 25, 2009
    7
    Sometimes insight comes in the form of flavored yogurt. i like flavored yogurt. hearing a man who lives in filth complaining about the filth without leaving the filth doesn't bother me. he just longs for the day of cleaner days and finds the struggle to find what he wants imperishable and worthy of time. he's an American complainer, fine in my book. hey join the club. Sometimes insight comes in the form of flavored yogurt. i like flavored yogurt. hearing a man who lives in filth complaining about the filth without leaving the filth doesn't bother me. he just longs for the day of cleaner days and finds the struggle to find what he wants imperishable and worthy of time. he's an American complainer, fine in my book. hey join the club. entertaining. with some insight, some of it original. im still waiting for him to crack American news open but he's fun to have around. Expand
  45. RichardR.
    Sep 25, 2009
    2
    More selective misinformation from Micheal Moore. If he truly believes he should be in the 70% tax bracket, there is a place on the 1040 to contribute extra money. This would be keeping in line with his idea that Bernie Sanders version of the future is Moore's version of America. I do give Moore credit for bashing both Republicans and Democrats. If you are looking for a Socialist More selective misinformation from Micheal Moore. If he truly believes he should be in the 70% tax bracket, there is a place on the 1040 to contribute extra money. This would be keeping in line with his idea that Bernie Sanders version of the future is Moore's version of America. I do give Moore credit for bashing both Republicans and Democrats. If you are looking for a Socialist creed or simplistic Capatilism bashing go; if you are looking for something serious don't waste your time or money. Expand
  46. KevinC
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    It only deserves 8/10 but I had to make up for all the bias dim-witted people who gave it a 0/10. Some people's reviews say stuff like "Another piece of MM crap."... Note the word "ANOTHER".. those people obviously didn't see the movie. Why in the world would you goo see a movie directed by someone you think has made "crap" movies in the Past? It's as good as the rest of It only deserves 8/10 but I had to make up for all the bias dim-witted people who gave it a 0/10. Some people's reviews say stuff like "Another piece of MM crap."... Note the word "ANOTHER".. those people obviously didn't see the movie. Why in the world would you goo see a movie directed by someone you think has made "crap" movies in the Past? It's as good as the rest of his movies. If you like them, you will like this, if not then you won't. End of story. Expand
  47. CheB
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    It takes cajones to challenge American's true religion: blind faith in an "invisible hand."
  48. RonaldS
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Wow, he calls it a "documentary" yet when asked how he can make this movie when he himself makes millions from his own work, he says he loves irony. So this isn't a documentary, its a comedy by the worlds biggest hypocrite. I want to know when he is going to give all that evil money away to poor people.
  49. VinnieS
    Sep 27, 2009
    3
    This movie is propaganda. not really a fair documentary. It's full of half truths and wrong conclusions drawn on incomplete evidence. If you don't know what the deal is with capitalism vs marxism or are pissed off at the banks and don't understand why they are still getting bailouts etc, you need to Google. It will teach you way more than this movie. I personally like This movie is propaganda. not really a fair documentary. It's full of half truths and wrong conclusions drawn on incomplete evidence. If you don't know what the deal is with capitalism vs marxism or are pissed off at the banks and don't understand why they are still getting bailouts etc, you need to Google. It will teach you way more than this movie. I personally like capitalism, I think that Moore is very selective in his movie, where he bemoans Bush for croneyism on Wall Street but doesn't say one peep about Obama who bailed them out with $787Billion. Capitalism as I see it, is not to blame here. We haven't lived in a capitalist society for some time now, it is entirely corporatist/fascist. It's the job of the government to prevent infringement on the freedom of all companies by making sure the big guys don't pick on the little ones; this is the ROLE of government in capitalism. They have singularly failed at this, and it's not just the Republicans, as Moore makes it out to be. Obama is socializing the businesses, but these are the same businesses that have lobbied the govt for decades and gotten their way. Do you really think they aren't going to be in any control once the government dictates even MORE of what's to happen? Are they really all just going to stop lobbying when they can lobby for even MORE power? Even if you think Obama is trustworthy and will abstain from giving in, he will not be president forever, and the next guy may not be so pristine. Collapse
  50. johnp
    Sep 28, 2009
    9
    While Michael Moore gets some things wrong in his new movie, he did outstanding job pointing out great U.S. problems and for that we should be happy, and for people whining about highest tax bracket, when FDR was president it was 90% and it didn't harm U.S. at all, in fact quite opposite.
  51. killdarren
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Why is it always about the man and not the message. Wake up people, in America you have 15.1% of the population controlling 83.4% of the wealth. That is a disgrace. Keep killing yourselves for money, see where it gets you. Go Mike, You are the unsung hero of our generation. Capitalism will be the end of us all, it must be destroyed.
  52. RickH
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    It was painful to watch until the end.. His disdain for America is so strong you can feel hatred oozing out of almost every seen.
  53. NikkoC.
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Marxist.... blah blah.... socialist... blah blah...... LOL.... what is actually tragic here america, is that you have SO many citizens who criticise Obama and Moore and this movie and anything or anyone 'collective' because you still haven't shaken the age-old American-as-apple-pie attitude of Big Bad Russia and communism as 'other' by proxy with this conflict..., Marxist.... blah blah.... socialist... blah blah...... LOL.... what is actually tragic here america, is that you have SO many citizens who criticise Obama and Moore and this movie and anything or anyone 'collective' because you still haven't shaken the age-old American-as-apple-pie attitude of Big Bad Russia and communism as 'other' by proxy with this conflict..., therefore nothing ever done by anyone of them can be remotely good. An obsession that really reflects why the rest of the world mocks America. When people say American's don't get irony, what they mean as much as anything, is that Americans seem to be highly attuned to everything and everyone but themselves!! Yet know nothing about anyone else or their countries!! So then, lacking the understanding of irony, but swimming in it. How.... ironic!? Anyway, I live in NZ, Universal health care is not about being a nazi or a communist, it is about commonsense. About one's taxes actually being useful for everyone in a practical term.. you know? LIke when I got hit and run last week after paying all my bills and instead of waiting a week to go, I went to the public hospital, got fixed up, no bill, and went home with cast etc and a follow-up appointment. In America, it is too bad -you should have made your coin the blue collar way or being rich cos America is the 'land of opportunity'... don't you see? It is propoganda. You have a strong country, recently a rich one, becos the poor in america have always been treated like shit. Fighting your wars, doing your dirty work, curing their own ailments or dying off cos they can't.... and the rich, in power, have always liked it that way. Well, grow up. Didn't america blackbook artists and so forth in the 50s due to obsessing like this once upon a time? Rhetorical question - LEARN from the past, or relive it. I imagine Nazis also, despite their obvious evil and untterly flawed intellect, probably also believed in child rearing, love and making money...... So tell me America, is it gonna be out with all that too? Lol.... Look at yourselves!! Calling Obama a Nazi etc.... You do it cos you are republican and anti-progression in any form..... you can see it lurking behind EVERY view, EVERY critic etc.... so much BS, and all becos your country is split in half.... i thought republican and democrat, but essentially it is: the ignorant and dim-witted; and the enlightened. Moore is an angry populist.... not a nazi, not a marxist.... stop speaking in cliches and prejudicial terms about ANY1 who tries to lift the intellectual average of your country. Why does Moore live in the US? Cos he knows what it COULD be.... personally, I think there are enough people in media and power of the old way to make sure he never sees it. After all, look at the two reviews above me. Morons are in quite an abundance. Expand
  54. JustinTime
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    There seems to be a correlation between the rating and the % of agreement with the facts and opinions presented in the movie. I'm giving it a 9 because he could have done more rebuttals.
  55. JohnV
    Oct 13, 2009
    2
    Would it be too capitalistic to ask for my money back? Moore comes off as a fake and a phony. Do as I say not as I do kinda guy. Movie wanders and makes little sense.
  56. BethC.
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    This is perhaps one of Moore's less focused films, and his performance art (such as wrapping the crime scene tape around the AIG Building) doesn't work for me. Yet parts of this film are certainly thought-provoking, even for those who don't completely agree with Moore's politics. Isn't it frightening that many of our airline pilots are barely making $20,000 per This is perhaps one of Moore's less focused films, and his performance art (such as wrapping the crime scene tape around the AIG Building) doesn't work for me. Yet parts of this film are certainly thought-provoking, even for those who don't completely agree with Moore's politics. Isn't it frightening that many of our airline pilots are barely making $20,000 per year and need to hold down second jobs? The footage of Franklin Roosevelt is fascinating. And it does end with some positive notes - the account of the recent sit down strike in Chicago, for example. Even if Moore isn't at his best, he still manages to be entertaining. Expand
  57. TimS
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Michael Moore never quite gets to the point in this movie, and that alone makes it worthless.
  58. KevinS
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Biased, misleading, and fraudulent. Michael Moore at his best. The left wing media will probably love this movie.
  59. PatG.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    This movie is powerful and disturbing. Everyone in America is affected by the behavior of the power brokers, those on the left and the right. Why can't people wake up and see the serious problems Wall Street is causing for all of us? Yes, Moore, has a point of view, but he did not make this stuff up. We are all at risk, and he wants us to see that.
  60. T.M.
    Sep 25, 2009
    7
    I love how the right comes crawling out of their holes to chime in on a movie half of them probably didn't even see. Every time MM comes out with a new movie, they all crucify him as a liar and a communist, but fast forward 2 years every time and the issues he is trying to bring to the light become all the rage in Washington and the media. Guns, 9/11, health care, and there will be I love how the right comes crawling out of their holes to chime in on a movie half of them probably didn't even see. Every time MM comes out with a new movie, they all crucify him as a liar and a communist, but fast forward 2 years every time and the issues he is trying to bring to the light become all the rage in Washington and the media. Guns, 9/11, health care, and there will be no difference with this. Wake up and join reality right wing scumbags, we're all getting bent over by the top 1%, they use wall street to do it, and you idiots who struggle just like the rest of us fight until your blue in the face to keep them doing it, because your church told you to do it. If only we could be as smart as you! Expand
  61. JD
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    If you fellas truly believe that 1% of the population is deserved of having 99% of all the money, then I see your point... If you don't think that bankers took a giant dump on every Americans' face, then -again- i see your point... If you are proud of the fact that The United States of America ranks 13th in the quality of healthcare, then -once more- i see your point... If you fellas truly believe that 1% of the population is deserved of having 99% of all the money, then I see your point... If you don't think that bankers took a giant dump on every Americans' face, then -again- i see your point... If you are proud of the fact that The United States of America ranks 13th in the quality of healthcare, then -once more- i see your point... FYI~Sweden (the most socialistic country in the world) has 2 cities ranked in the top 5 cities to live in while we have zero. Expand
  62. JohnH
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    Michael Moore shows the true flaws about capitalism, that the Ayn Rand theory of existence is a farce. Selfishness doe not mean the result is good for everyone. When are people going to figure that out?
  63. BillS
    Sep 26, 2009
    8
    Pay no attention to the right-leaning wingnuts who gave the movie a 0. It's obvious they never even saw the film, they're just MM haters. That said, it's a typically imperfect MM hybrid - it's not a documentary, it's not a mockumentary, it's something in between. What it has to say about capitalism should be taken with a grain of salt, but it's still Pay no attention to the right-leaning wingnuts who gave the movie a 0. It's obvious they never even saw the film, they're just MM haters. That said, it's a typically imperfect MM hybrid - it's not a documentary, it's not a mockumentary, it's something in between. What it has to say about capitalism should be taken with a grain of salt, but it's still tells a lot of truth about a system that's run amok and nearly brought the country to ruin. Expand
  64. JonS
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    This guy seriously is a propagandist. Talk about a one sided debate.
  65. EliJ.
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Wow, I don't think Moore is even trying anymore. I think he's just preying on random shit now, be it true or not. He cant prey on the conservatives anymore now that Obamas in office so he's resorted to singling out flaws in capitalism. In all its really not surprising. Its typical behavior for a bleeding heart liberal.
  66. philq
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    MM can't get enough of himself. I did laugh once or twice He's bashing capitalism all the way to the bank. Would have been better had he not been in it.I like Roger and Me Why doesn't he do a movie about type 2 adult diabetes and obesity and have it a one character (MM) film.
  67. KevinA
    Sep 28, 2009
    7
    When is metacritic going to create a useful way to calculate real movie reviews? These first few reviews are obviously by people who didn't see the movie. I'm not one to talk since I haven't as well (which is why I gave it an average 7). But c'mon Metacritic.
  68. GregG
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    Capitalism is not a system. It is people interacting and trading goods and labor as they so choose. The idea that this so-called "system" is evil is beyond laughable; it's ignorant.
  69. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    While not quite as good as the other documentaries Moore has made (probably because of its much larger scope of the film), "Capitalism: A Love Story" is still rather engaging. Showing the dark side of the American version of capitalism, Moore actively tries to push his audience to rethink their lives, values, and understandings and hopefully lead the charge of difference. This film,While not quite as good as the other documentaries Moore has made (probably because of its much larger scope of the film), "Capitalism: A Love Story" is still rather engaging. Showing the dark side of the American version of capitalism, Moore actively tries to push his audience to rethink their lives, values, and understandings and hopefully lead the charge of difference. This film, unlike some of his previous, ends on a rather optimistic note - we can bring change about; and that is rather refreshing when it comes to Moore. We have seen with our own eyes that the positive trends he had described are happening in Wisconsin, for example. It is a film that many Americans need to watch and, if nothing else, rethink their stances about issues the film talks about. Moore does not demand of you to become a Socialist and take down the US - he just tells you that there is another way. And that, quite frankly, is all that a good filmmaker can do: guide you, and hope you will make the right choice. Expand
  70. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Haven't heard people cheer and applaud a movie in a loooong time. At times harrowing but also uplifting to see how people have beaten such greed from banks and dirty politics. Lets just hope George Bush Jr. reaps what he sows one day.
  71. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    As usual, Michael Moore mixes up some incredibly interesting factual information with absurd political ideas. It's worth watching for the ties between Goldman Sachs and the US Government. Unfortunately he ruins his expose with his personal politics.
  72. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    This genius epic, another great film by politically-aware Michael Moore, is filled with truth. There is even some humor. It makes true statements and talks about...well...you know...capitalism. Underrated and entertaining.
  73. May 18, 2012
    7
    Capitalism: A Love Story is a fine piece of political documenting. It's not overtly shocking or revelatory (rich people are greedy... Who would've guessed?) and it plays up the violin-swelling sympathy a bit too much, but it still riles the viewer up nicely and makes you want to start kicking things. Although, the half-hearted nature in which Moore starts to 'harass' Wall Street suggestsCapitalism: A Love Story is a fine piece of political documenting. It's not overtly shocking or revelatory (rich people are greedy... Who would've guessed?) and it plays up the violin-swelling sympathy a bit too much, but it still riles the viewer up nicely and makes you want to start kicking things. Although, the half-hearted nature in which Moore starts to 'harass' Wall Street suggests that he might well balk at the very riot he's trying to incite. Expand
  74. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    Hilarious, shocking, sad. Michael Moore is amazingly talented in artistically putting together documentaries that make difficult topics understandable to almost everyone in an entertaining way. Highly recommended.
  75. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    It seems as if corporate America finally owns enough of us, our culture and our politics to obliterate the truths of this film and crush any hope of revelation much less revolution. But I don't believe that, and Capitalism: A Love Story reminds me not to. The giant is still sleeping is all. When it wakes up, look out.
  76. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Pretty eye-opening if slightly one-sided documentary.Interviews with certain families who have fallen victim to the capitalist regime are very haunting and provocative.It offers a certain hope while completely dismantling the system.Subversive and very funny at times.Everyone should see it.
  77. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    "Capitalism: A Love Story" - Brief review. (B)

    Chances are, C:ALS is the sort of movie you were going to see, or you weren't. If you agree with Moore and his politics, you'd probably check it out - if you are anti-Moore, you probably wouldn't. I am not particularly pro or Anti-Moore, personally I find him to be a bit abrasive at times, but I also like some of his ideas. I dug Roger and
    "Capitalism: A Love Story" - Brief review. (B)

    Chances are, C:ALS is the sort of movie you were going to see, or you weren't. If you agree with Moore and his politics, you'd probably check it out - if you are anti-Moore, you probably wouldn't. I am not particularly pro or Anti-Moore, personally I find him to be a bit abrasive at times, but I also like some of his ideas. I dug Roger and Me, as well as pieces of his other films. Rabble rousers gotta make noise I guess.

    Capitalism and our system is something I have a lot of views on, people know know me have probably heard and rolled their eyes at them - so this movie was of particular interest to me. As a MOVIE, I give it a B. Strong start, sags a bit in the middle, and a rally to the finish makes it interesting and enjoyable. It's emotional, there are some very interest pieces of film, and some simply funny stuff. I did find it to be a bit too long clocking in over 2 hours and 10 minutes. The movie itself is more or less a "documentary" about Capitalism in our society, and more specifically the last 30 years as the business interests have changed the rules of the game and how it has changed (and as argued by Moore, is destroying) the middle class. It touches on some neat historical notes, some "highlights" of the political and financial fiascos of the last 30 years, and touches on a few stories of real Americans and workers and how they have been effected. Other interesting scenes involve Moore asking Wall Street insiders to explain "Derivatives", which as it turns out, is a fancy way for investors to get out of paying taxes. Really, I think it's the sort of movie everyone should see if for no other reason to bring up some discussion and debate. It throws some interesting alternatives at you, as well as challenges the Conservative/Religious marriage by talking to religious figures about "WWJD" in regards to Capitalism as we know it. Everyone should probably google search "Citibank Plutocracy Memo", as well as "FDR's 2nd Bill of Rights" - a fantastic idea that seemed to die with him. A few of the Congresspeople who resisted the financial bailout bill also had some striking things to add as well.

    So, I hope most of you who think there's something a little fishy going on around here and are open minded give it a shot when it comes out on video. This week would probably be the last chance you have at it in the theaters, and that's if you live near a large 12+ screen movieplex.
    Expand
  78. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    this is really a good movie ! It tell us about the bad side of capiitalism !! But it just tell about economy, there still are many bad side such as: enviroment, etc
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Salisbury
    75
    With the global economic meltdown affecting just about everybody, the film is pertinent, hugely entertaining, and, above all, timely.
  2. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    70
    This is a typical Moore oeuvre: funny, often over the top and of dubious documentation, but with strongly made points that leave viewers much to ponder and debate after they walk out of the theater.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    60
    Whether Capitalism matches "Fahrenheit 9/11" or underperforms like "Sicko" will depend on how much workers of the world are ready to unite behind the message.