Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Capitalism: A Love Story explores the root causes of the global economic meltdown and takes a comical look at the corporate and political shenanigans that culminated in what Moore has described as the biggest robbery in the history of this country--the massive transfer of U.S. taxpayer money to private financial institutions. (Overture Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. After watching the bailouts, the bank foreclosures and the Bernie Madoffs of the world dominate headlines, Michael Moore is mad as hell, and he's going to try to make you mad as hell, too.
  2. 75
    Vintage Moore, which means that it will enthrall many and enrage an equal number of viewers.
  3. 75
    This lively, infuriating and occasionally moving film certainly leaves you thinking, and there isn't a dead spot in it. That's the mark of a real filmmaker, not just a muckraker.
  4. Like most of his movies, Capitalism is a tragedy disguised as a comedy; it’s also an entertainment.
  5. 63
    Redundant for a filmmaker whose work has always dealt with the dismaying consequences of this country’s profit motive. Isn’t every Michael Moore film ultimately about capitalism? This one just has a more facetious title.
  6. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    60
    Whether Capitalism matches "Fahrenheit 9/11" or underperforms like "Sicko" will depend on how much workers of the world are ready to unite behind the message.
  7. 25
    Shouldn’t Moore run his yellow crime-scene tape around the White House instead of Wall Street? Anyway, President Obama said this month that in cases where the government has fully sold its TARP bank holdings, it has gotten back its money plus 17 percent. Damn those capitalist barons, breaking into our treasury and filling it with their filthy money.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 78
  2. Negative: 24 out of 78
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    this is really a good movie ! It tell us about the bad side of capiitalism !! But it just tell about economy, there still are many bad side such as: enviroment, etc Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Pretty eye-opening if slightly one-sided documentary.Interviews with certain families who have fallen victim to the capitalist regime are very haunting and provocative.It offers a certain hope while completely dismantling the system.Subversive and very funny at times.Everyone should see it. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Haven't heard people cheer and applaud a movie in a loooong time. At times harrowing but also uplifting to see how people have beaten such greed from banks and dirty politics. Lets just hope George Bush Jr. reaps what he sows one day. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    "Capitalism: A Love Story" - Brief review. (B)

    Chances are, C:ALS is the sort of movie you were going to see, or you weren't. If you agree
    with Moore and his politics, you'd probably check it out - if you are anti-Moore, you probably wouldn't. I am not particularly pro or Anti-Moore, personally I find him to be a bit abrasive at times, but I also like some of his ideas. I dug Roger and Me, as well as pieces of his other films. Rabble rousers gotta make noise I guess.

    Capitalism and our system is something I have a lot of views on, people know know me have probably heard and rolled their eyes at them - so this movie was of particular interest to me. As a MOVIE, I give it a B. Strong start, sags a bit in the middle, and a rally to the finish makes it interesting and enjoyable. It's emotional, there are some very interest pieces of film, and some simply funny stuff. I did find it to be a bit too long clocking in over 2 hours and 10 minutes. The movie itself is more or less a "documentary" about Capitalism in our society, and more specifically the last 30 years as the business interests have changed the rules of the game and how it has changed (and as argued by Moore, is destroying) the middle class. It touches on some neat historical notes, some "highlights" of the political and financial fiascos of the last 30 years, and touches on a few stories of real Americans and workers and how they have been effected. Other interesting scenes involve Moore asking Wall Street insiders to explain "Derivatives", which as it turns out, is a fancy way for investors to get out of paying taxes. Really, I think it's the sort of movie everyone should see if for no other reason to bring up some discussion and debate. It throws some interesting alternatives at you, as well as challenges the Conservative/Religious marriage by talking to religious figures about "WWJD" in regards to Capitalism as we know it. Everyone should probably google search "Citibank Plutocracy Memo", as well as "FDR's 2nd Bill of Rights" - a fantastic idea that seemed to die with him. A few of the Congresspeople who resisted the financial bailout bill also had some striking things to add as well.

    So, I hope most of you who think there's something a little fishy going on around here and are open minded give it a shot when it comes out on video. This week would probably be the last chance you have at it in the theaters, and that's if you live near a large 12+ screen movieplex.
    Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    It seems as if corporate America finally owns enough of us, our culture and our politics to obliterate the truths of this film and crush any hope of revelation much less revolution. But I don't believe that, and Capitalism: A Love Story reminds me not to. The giant is still sleeping is all. When it wakes up, look out. Expand
  6. May 18, 2012
    7
    Capitalism: A Love Story is a fine piece of political documenting. It's not overtly shocking or revelatory (rich people are greedy... Who would've guessed?) and it plays up the violin-swelling sympathy a bit too much, but it still riles the viewer up nicely and makes you want to start kicking things. Although, the half-hearted nature in which Moore starts to 'harass' Wall Street suggests that he might well balk at the very riot he's trying to incite. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    3
    Even if what is said or shown in this documentary is true, I can't help but to feel some of the same anger shown here against the banks and capitalism towards Michael himself. Why didn't he release this movie for free, it's easy to talk but it's not easy actually doing what you preach. Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis

    Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis Image
    Published: October 19, 2011
    This week, the ensemble drama "Margin Call" becomes the latest film to tackle the ongoing economic downturn. Where does it rank among the films that came before it? Find out inside.