Sony Pictures Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 30, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 221 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
29
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
CarlosTorresAug 26, 2015
Bennett Miller first feature film is completely amazing, the writing and directing in the movie is just fantastic, but the thing that is the "WOW factor" is the performances by the great Phillip Seymour Hoffman in his OscarĀ® winning role andBennett Miller first feature film is completely amazing, the writing and directing in the movie is just fantastic, but the thing that is the "WOW factor" is the performances by the great Phillip Seymour Hoffman in his OscarĀ® winning role and far superior version than Toby Jones' Truman Capote, and an amazing and shamefully overlooked performance by Clifton Collins, Jr. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
I've long admired the writings of Truman Capote (especially In Cold Blood). What Bennett Miller is able to accomplish is an extraordinary feat. Documenting Capote as he writes his infamous piece of non-fiction, we are guided in suspense byI've long admired the writings of Truman Capote (especially In Cold Blood). What Bennett Miller is able to accomplish is an extraordinary feat. Documenting Capote as he writes his infamous piece of non-fiction, we are guided in suspense by Dan Futterman's incredible script. Phillip Seymour Hoffman gives the finest performance of the year! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysAug 10, 2014
Capote is a spectacle of a movie. Without Mr. Hoffman's Oscar-winning performance, the film is an average period piece with nice atmosphere and a strong supporting cast that i would've given a 7.5/10 for, but nothing to marvel at. However,Capote is a spectacle of a movie. Without Mr. Hoffman's Oscar-winning performance, the film is an average period piece with nice atmosphere and a strong supporting cast that i would've given a 7.5/10 for, but nothing to marvel at. However, with Phil in the central role, the film turns into a masterpiece. His mannerisms, his swagger, and especially his voice have all been mastered by Hoffman beyond belief. He didn't just play Truman Capote, he WAS Truman Capote. Many films have tried to reach the heights this one did (ahem ahem Infamous one year later ahem ahem), however they can never overtake this wonderful, deep, dark piece of filmmaking that should've beaten out Crash at the Oscars for Best Picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticMar 4, 2014
Philip Seymour Hoffman's greatest performance. His characterization of the famed writer is so uncanny that I still marvel at it. If that would be his only Oscar, let it be that one. The rest of the movie trails behind him, but delivers enoughPhilip Seymour Hoffman's greatest performance. His characterization of the famed writer is so uncanny that I still marvel at it. If that would be his only Oscar, let it be that one. The rest of the movie trails behind him, but delivers enough to satisfy and still stay with the plot and the acting. Clifton Collins Jr. also played well. Certainly overlooked, but by an amazing actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 6, 2013
Just absolutely brilliant. Philip Seymour Hoffman is impeccable as Truman Capote, as well as the rest of the cast. Director Bennett Miller sure has a knack for biopics, as both this as "Moneyball" are amazing works. With this film, it is mostJust absolutely brilliant. Philip Seymour Hoffman is impeccable as Truman Capote, as well as the rest of the cast. Director Bennett Miller sure has a knack for biopics, as both this as "Moneyball" are amazing works. With this film, it is most certainly slow and it took a bit to hook me in, but once I was hooked, I was two feet in until the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
Great film! Very slow, but once the story gets going, it grips you hard and never lets you go. Philip Seymour Hoffman is absolutely perfect and gives one the best male performances I've seen. A truly devastating performance and one thatGreat film! Very slow, but once the story gets going, it grips you hard and never lets you go. Philip Seymour Hoffman is absolutely perfect and gives one the best male performances I've seen. A truly devastating performance and one that certainly solidifies him as one of the all-time greats (no surprise really).One of the absolute best films of 05. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Alexander_FredDec 28, 2011
Philip Seymour Hoffman gives one of the greatest on screen performances of recent years. Truman Capote's flamboyancy is well apparent and his flaws are as visible as a deep scar. The journey is a sad one, but ultimately brings to light, thePhilip Seymour Hoffman gives one of the greatest on screen performances of recent years. Truman Capote's flamboyancy is well apparent and his flaws are as visible as a deep scar. The journey is a sad one, but ultimately brings to light, the price and desire of greatness, even when it means the death of a fellow man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertB.Apr 16, 2007
This was simply the best picture of 2005. Seymout-Hoffman's channeling of Capote and a strong cast along with an intelligent screenplay and fine direction make it well worth savoring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackT.Mar 14, 2007
The real Best Picture of 2005 is Capote. Futterman's script and Miller's direction take the viewer on an incredible journey into the psyche of two madmen; one a murderer, and the other a greedy author who will go to the edge of the The real Best Picture of 2005 is Capote. Futterman's script and Miller's direction take the viewer on an incredible journey into the psyche of two madmen; one a murderer, and the other a greedy author who will go to the edge of the Earth, and betray those around him, just to acheive personal success. Hoffman is outstanding. In the first half, he expertly shows the various eccentricities of his character, but by the end of the film he really makes you hate this sad, wretched human being. Clifton Collins JR was excellent as Perry Smith, one of the most sympathetic murderers in history. The rest of the supporting cast is great, as well. I really hate that the Best Picture race was only legitimately between Crash and Brokeback Mountain, because Capote is one of the most captivating, engrossing, and just flat-out incredible films I have ever witnessed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RuthS.Dec 26, 2006
This is just an incredibly good film, at all levels. It was much more emotionally moving than I expected it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyK.Sep 18, 2006
Of the films nominated for Best Picture (as though such an award holds any real merit anyways) Capote should have won by a landslide. Bennett Miller will be a Director to watch as he masterfully displays his "soft" skills as a Director and Of the films nominated for Best Picture (as though such an award holds any real merit anyways) Capote should have won by a landslide. Bennett Miller will be a Director to watch as he masterfully displays his "soft" skills as a Director and avoids cheesing it up by wringing out a typical biopic. Hoffman is pure magic, captivating from start to finish. Wonderful pace, color and emotional resonance -- unapologetically capturing the essence of the eccentric, conflicted-artist-soul of a misplaced and mysteriously courageous man named Truman Capote. A mesmerizing figure to be sure -- don't avoid it because you think this film will be dreary, dull or boring --- there is genuine comedy here too -- it will, however, be the realism that grabs you. Beautifully filmed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobR.Sep 8, 2006
a mastepiece! a strong film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MohammedR.Jul 26, 2006
This movie is overrated. The acting is very good, but the story is boring. This is not the sort of movie that one would want to see twice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ericsMay 12, 2006
I may be one of the few people who thought Capote was infinitely better than Brokeback Mountain. Much praise has been given to Hoffman and the rest of the cast, all deserved, but the director and screenwriter deserve equal credit. Futterman I may be one of the few people who thought Capote was infinitely better than Brokeback Mountain. Much praise has been given to Hoffman and the rest of the cast, all deserved, but the director and screenwriter deserve equal credit. Futterman and Miller paint a believable picture of a man who puts on acts to disguise his loneliness. It would have been easy to focus on only one aspect of Truman Capote's character, pushing the others to the side, but instead the filmmakers choose the harder way, and the end result is a brilliant and memorable character study. Of course, the other characters are also fleshed out. While it may be tempting to think of them as foils for Capote, some of the things they say and do clearly define them as three-dimensional characters. Finally, the film provides a balanced look at the death penalty that just may cause you to rethink some of your opinions. In an industry permeated by heavy-handed, tearjerker films (many of which are nominated for best picture), it refreshing to see one that brings up an issue and lets the viewer draw their own conclusions. Capotes ambivalent yet deep relationship with Smith (one of the killer) sends a seemingly clear message against the death penalty. Then, as you begin to sympathize with the characters plight, the film flashes back to the brutal murder of the Clutter family, causing one to rethink the issue yet again. In the end, the audience is left to judge issue, and I personally believe that a movie that provokes thought is better than one that grinds its viewpoint in your face. Capote is a masterpiece of a film that everyone should see, whether they are familiar with the people and events it describes or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.May 10, 2006
A one-dimensional movie with only one character. Even the murderers seem to exist only to play off of Truman. But he's the story, which is an engaging one in spite of the quirky distractions of his personality. Because the presentation A one-dimensional movie with only one character. Even the murderers seem to exist only to play off of Truman. But he's the story, which is an engaging one in spite of the quirky distractions of his personality. Because the presentation is so straightforward I couldn't find anything majorly wrong with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyR.Apr 12, 2006
Now this film deserved the Oscar! Wow, fabulous performances, engrossing script, entirely atmospheric film. Transports you to the 1950's cultural divide between NYC and rural America, and you understand how so many people just had no Now this film deserved the Oscar! Wow, fabulous performances, engrossing script, entirely atmospheric film. Transports you to the 1950's cultural divide between NYC and rural America, and you understand how so many people just had no way to be themselves in our society. It's heartbreaking and utterly fascinating watching Truman Capote's journey into himself and his character. This is a character study to beat all, and PSH is utterly astounding. The supporting performances are exquisite, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WayneB.Apr 12, 2006
Mesmerising and intense. The story meanders a bit and some plot threads are just forgotten, but on the whole, it's truly memorable. Philip Seymour Hoffman is seductively good in making a creepy character empathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherS.Apr 12, 2006
The film has a remarkable, intensive athmosphere, and certainly one of the best movies this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewT.Apr 8, 2006
Overall, a highly satisfying movie. It deftly combines a number of interesting elements- 1) Hoffman's brilliant character portrayal of Truman Capote, who was a spectacle in himself, 2) An very intriguing depiction of Capote's Overall, a highly satisfying movie. It deftly combines a number of interesting elements- 1) Hoffman's brilliant character portrayal of Truman Capote, who was a spectacle in himself, 2) An very intriguing depiction of Capote's inspiration for, and process of, researching the novel that crowned his career, In Cold Blood 3) A facinating exploration of the motives and psychology of the murderers that the novel is about, 4) A very mature description of the personal relationship that formed between Capote and the criminals at the center of In Cold Blood, 5) The contrast between the sophistication of the New York literary scene that Capote is the center of in 1960 and heartland America where the crimes of the novel take place. All of these combine to make this movie a rich viewing experience. Wonderfully written and acted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimH.Mar 26, 2006
As boring as the subject matter sounds-- it's essentially about how a novel was written-- the film is a granular exposition of all the issues involved. As such, it meanders slightly, and that's another reason why there is a wide As boring as the subject matter sounds-- it's essentially about how a novel was written-- the film is a granular exposition of all the issues involved. As such, it meanders slightly, and that's another reason why there is a wide divergence of opinions concerning "what Capote is about." In watching Capote build one of the most important books of his time, we see how his spirit is not really eqaul to the task, even as his talents as a journalist and a writer most certainly are. I say it's about how self annihiliating the process of self-making ultimately can be. It's a provocative, fascinating DVD I'm glad I purchased. Kudos to Messsers Hoffman, Miller and Futterman. This should have been nominated for and won Best Picture of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisH.Mar 24, 2006
In a time where I catagorize movies as "trash" and "non trash." This is definately NOT trash. The movie plays with your mind and keeps you guessing awaiting the ending. Inspired me to read In Cold Blood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamuelT.Mar 24, 2006
One of the best movies of the year. But if you have read the book "In Cold Blood" before seeing it, it becomes even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankO.Mar 24, 2006
Although it starts slowly, this was a very good movie; Hoffman outstanding as Capote and deserves academy award - enjoyed it more than I expected it - good to see Chris Cooper again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelaM.Mar 21, 2006
This is a truly brilliant film which doesn't go for the easy or the black and white. The writer is seen as manipulator and betrayer - operating in cold blood, like the killer- and the murder is seen as incomprehensible even to the This is a truly brilliant film which doesn't go for the easy or the black and white. The writer is seen as manipulator and betrayer - operating in cold blood, like the killer- and the murder is seen as incomprehensible even to the perpetrator. The performances are universally excellent and the pace of the film is perfect. A film which uses restraint to make its point and doesn't spoon feed the audience with predigested opinions on crime, fame, or punishment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelLeeMar 14, 2006
haha, RobW thought he was reviewing syriana and gave this movie a 5. Anyway, great acting by Brant from Lebowski. Thank god they didn't go into the gay stuff with the his partner. I'd do Harper Lee surrounded by copies of to killhaha, RobW thought he was reviewing syriana and gave this movie a 5. Anyway, great acting by Brant from Lebowski. Thank god they didn't go into the gay stuff with the his partner. I'd do Harper Lee surrounded by copies of to kill a mockingbird like it was money. Maybe I'll read Capote's book afterall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonS.Mar 10, 2006
Amazing performance by Hoffman but also an important movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenFeb 24, 2006
Just terrific. When it wants to be great, and Bennett Miller wants it a lot, American film-making still rates with any in the world. Judgment, craft, moral relevance, and terrific acting, it's all here. I was totally put off by the Just terrific. When it wants to be great, and Bennett Miller wants it a lot, American film-making still rates with any in the world. Judgment, craft, moral relevance, and terrific acting, it's all here. I was totally put off by the subject matter, but I was so wrong. Better than Brokeback Mountain, way better than Good Night & Good Luck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.SwisherFeb 20, 2006
The best movie of the year. Brilliant acting, brilliant writing, brilliant direction. PSH and Catherine Keener deserve Oscars. You will leave the theatre haunted and contemplative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaleM.Feb 19, 2006
I agree with everyone who praised this film for the outstanding acting. Some reviewers said they felt the film as a whole was rather pointless. I disagree. I think this is a case study in "watch out what you ask for because you just might I agree with everyone who praised this film for the outstanding acting. Some reviewers said they felt the film as a whole was rather pointless. I disagree. I think this is a case study in "watch out what you ask for because you just might get it." The movie shows us how Capote got the book he wanted and how it destroyed him as a writer. Unfortunately the outstanding acting actually overshadows the theme of the movie. This is a real fault. Imagine if we came away from Mel Gibson's "Passion" with remarks about the actor playing Christ rather that remarks about the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeanFeb 8, 2006
The lead capote gives mesmerizing perforamce and carrys the whole film on his shoulders. He is brillian in the role and deserve an Oscar for his performance. Story good and I enjoyed the film and and got me interested in reading the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful