User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 203
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PrestonB.
    Mar 30, 2009
    1
    This is possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Hoffman's performance is spot-on as Capote but the story is so boring. The remaining characters are one dimensional. Tediously slow at times, I struggled to watch it till the end. Definitely overrated.
  2. SierraC.
    Apr 13, 2009
    3
    A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings he's got in the media. The saving grace of the movie is the strong performance by Clifton Collins Jr who succeeded in providing a glimpse into the dark A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings he's got in the media. The saving grace of the movie is the strong performance by Clifton Collins Jr who succeeded in providing a glimpse into the dark soul of a killer. Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    1
    Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It has almost no plot. It was so boring that after 50 minutes I had absolutely no reason to finish it. I suppose if you're a die-hard biopic fan, then youPhillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It has almost no plot. It was so boring that after 50 minutes I had absolutely no reason to finish it. I suppose if you're a die-hard biopic fan, then you might get something out of this. Expand
  4. Eon
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Now that's what i call overrated. Well it is not a complete trash, but nothing special either, and most of the time - very boring.
  5. JoeS.
    Apr 30, 2006
    0
    this is the worst movie ever the most boring movie i have ever seen.
  6. RadCompanyDotNet
    Nov 3, 2005
    2
    Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having our noses rubbed in it's over-hyped self importance? All these critics are telling you that Capote is, or should be, an Oscar contender. I Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having our noses rubbed in it's over-hyped self importance? All these critics are telling you that Capote is, or should be, an Oscar contender. I don't know about an Oscar, but if I was catering this film I'd throw Hoffman a weiner and let the rest of the production starve. It relies too much on the audience's percieved respect for its heady subject matter, which is poorly judged, The film is as smitten with itself as Capote was at dinner parties. Expand
  7. ShaniaD.
    May 24, 2006
    0
    This movie is simply awful.
  8. OleksaB
    Jan 2, 2009
    4
    I couldn't help feeling a heavy bubble of disgust in my throat, hearing the main character speak like an imbecile clown. I know Mr.Hoffman as a real good actor, but this... 'performance' just gave me the willies. Whatever the real Truman Capote was like (well, who knows, maybe he indeed was an infantile pompous moron), the person which Mr.Hoffman is portraying is NOT a I couldn't help feeling a heavy bubble of disgust in my throat, hearing the main character speak like an imbecile clown. I know Mr.Hoffman as a real good actor, but this... 'performance' just gave me the willies. Whatever the real Truman Capote was like (well, who knows, maybe he indeed was an infantile pompous moron), the person which Mr.Hoffman is portraying is NOT a writer. And that woman character is not a writer either. The prisoner guy is credible, yes: lost and bitter, after letting the most primitive side of him once take the wrong control of his actions. But the writers... I don't believe them. And as one of the critics here said, the search portrayed in the film is not a search of existential drive that when perversed, makes people do horrid things: it is indeed a search for fame and celebrity status. What I understood after watching this movie is that I'll probably never read anything by Capote. Salinger, too, never finished a book since the 50's, but I don't suppose he died of alcoholism. He was simply looking for something esle in his books. Expand
  9. SandraB.
    Apr 28, 2006
    0
    Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when there was absolutely nothing to think about. It had no insight to Capote's life and as to why he was a weird depressed author who eventually died Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when there was absolutely nothing to think about. It had no insight to Capote's life and as to why he was a weird depressed author who eventually died from alcoholism. There were absolutely no character development. If the director had tried then I can honestly tell you he failed. Also, Hoffman's acting was so atrociously over the top. It's digusting how people made this awful movie out as such a thoughtful, meaningful, and artful movie which it totally wasn't. Those people only scream PRETENTIOUS! This movie was trying so desperately to be meaningful, but it failed miserably. It is just a complete failure & disaster. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 88
    Capote is a movie that doesn't pull its punches. It's a knockout.
  2. Capote represents something unique in cinema.…Most eye-catching for critics and audiences in the weeks to come will be Philip Seymour Hoffman's brilliant metamorphosis into the persona of the late author.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Hoffman and the film are terrific. Supported by the eminent Catherine Keener (as author Harper Lee) and Chris Cooper (as detective Alvin Dewey), Hoffman begins with a dead-on impersonation of Capote that soon becomes a kind of channeling as the audience comes to see this American tragedy through his eyes.