User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 203
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DeWayneP.
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    Brilliant...a must see.
  2. JaneO.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Will be on my all-time best movies list.
  3. Jane
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    Simply brilliant.
  4. K.Swisher
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    The best movie of the year. Brilliant acting, brilliant writing, brilliant direction. PSH and Catherine Keener deserve Oscars. You will leave the theatre haunted and contemplative.
  5. SimonS.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Amazing performance by Hoffman but also an important movie.
  6. MichaelaM.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    This is a truly brilliant film which doesn't go for the easy or the black and white. The writer is seen as manipulator and betrayer - operating in cold blood, like the killer- and the murder is seen as incomprehensible even to the perpetrator. The performances are universally excellent and the pace of the film is perfect. A film which uses restraint to make its point and doesn't This is a truly brilliant film which doesn't go for the easy or the black and white. The writer is seen as manipulator and betrayer - operating in cold blood, like the killer- and the murder is seen as incomprehensible even to the perpetrator. The performances are universally excellent and the pace of the film is perfect. A film which uses restraint to make its point and doesn't spoon feed the audience with predigested opinions on crime, fame, or punishment. Expand
  7. JacobR.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    a mastepiece! a strong film.
  8. JackT.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    The real Best Picture of 2005 is Capote. Futterman's script and Miller's direction take the viewer on an incredible journey into the psyche of two madmen; one a murderer, and the other a greedy author who will go to the edge of the Earth, and betray those around him, just to acheive personal success. Hoffman is outstanding. In the first half, he expertly shows the various The real Best Picture of 2005 is Capote. Futterman's script and Miller's direction take the viewer on an incredible journey into the psyche of two madmen; one a murderer, and the other a greedy author who will go to the edge of the Earth, and betray those around him, just to acheive personal success. Hoffman is outstanding. In the first half, he expertly shows the various eccentricities of his character, but by the end of the film he really makes you hate this sad, wretched human being. Clifton Collins JR was excellent as Perry Smith, one of the most sympathetic murderers in history. The rest of the supporting cast is great, as well. I really hate that the Best Picture race was only legitimately between Crash and Brokeback Mountain, because Capote is one of the most captivating, engrossing, and just flat-out incredible films I have ever witnessed. Expand
  9. Fantasy
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Saw this movie yesterday and thought it was absolutely sensational. Philip Seymour Hoffman captured Truman Capote brilliantly. He deserves serious consideration for the Best Actor award. The ensemble cast pulled this off tremendously. Kudo's to all.
  10. GeorgeB
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    A hauntingly beautiful reflection on the very big idea that fame is a faustian bargain with death. PSH's performance is riveting from start to finish.
  11. PaulF.
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    The best aspect of this movie was to see the two sides of Capote, the caring compassionate side and the calculating manipulative one. The trick was to try to separate the two sides from each other but they weer so interwoven they could hardly be removed from what made this character so complex.
  12. MaryCatherineS.
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Best performance I've seen in a long time.
  13. DavidW.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Best movie of the year and yes, I have seen Brokeback. More perfect than any other and Hoffman's acting is at the center of that perfection.
  14. erics
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I may be one of the few people who thought Capote was infinitely better than Brokeback Mountain. Much praise has been given to Hoffman and the rest of the cast, all deserved, but the director and screenwriter deserve equal credit. Futterman and Miller paint a believable picture of a man who puts on acts to disguise his loneliness. It would have been easy to focus on only one aspect of I may be one of the few people who thought Capote was infinitely better than Brokeback Mountain. Much praise has been given to Hoffman and the rest of the cast, all deserved, but the director and screenwriter deserve equal credit. Futterman and Miller paint a believable picture of a man who puts on acts to disguise his loneliness. It would have been easy to focus on only one aspect of Truman Capote's character, pushing the others to the side, but instead the filmmakers choose the harder way, and the end result is a brilliant and memorable character study. Of course, the other characters are also fleshed out. While it may be tempting to think of them as foils for Capote, some of the things they say and do clearly define them as three-dimensional characters. Finally, the film provides a balanced look at the death penalty that just may cause you to rethink some of your opinions. In an industry permeated by heavy-handed, tearjerker films (many of which are nominated for best picture), it refreshing to see one that brings up an issue and lets the viewer draw their own conclusions. Capotes ambivalent yet deep relationship with Smith (one of the killer) sends a seemingly clear message against the death penalty. Then, as you begin to sympathize with the characters plight, the film flashes back to the brutal murder of the Clutter family, causing one to rethink the issue yet again. In the end, the audience is left to judge issue, and I personally believe that a movie that provokes thought is better than one that grinds its viewpoint in your face. Capote is a masterpiece of a film that everyone should see, whether they are familiar with the people and events it describes or not. Expand
  15. RobertB.
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    This was simply the best picture of 2005. Seymout-Hoffman's channeling of Capote and a strong cast along with an intelligent screenplay and fine direction make it well worth savoring.
  16. B.C.Clearman
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Exceptional in every way... Hoffman doesn't so much act as inhabit the role.
  17. Betsy
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Subtle, wonderful movie. It's so refreshing to see a movie that leaves room for ambiguity in its assessment of human character.
  18. IanF.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Nearly perfect. Although drawn out at times, the movie carries the sense of Capote's dilema and his resignation to accept the destiny he himself carved out when he began his story. Although his choices may seem ultimately selfish and careless, his decisions and their repercussions are thoroughly modern and ineffectual. Hoffman does an outstanding job of protraying the one time New Nearly perfect. Although drawn out at times, the movie carries the sense of Capote's dilema and his resignation to accept the destiny he himself carved out when he began his story. Although his choices may seem ultimately selfish and careless, his decisions and their repercussions are thoroughly modern and ineffectual. Hoffman does an outstanding job of protraying the one time New York set hero, occassionally even making the imitation so accurate as to leave the audience wondering is it Hoffman or the real thing. Overall, a step up from anything he has previously done due to the detail of the character he protrays. Although retractors could argue about the slow moving ending and some journalist have argued that it does not protray Capote's homosexuality fully, neither trully effects the quality of the film. In truth, both aspects help to make the film more of a post-modern examination of the complexity of choices we face and leave the both the questions and the answers for the movie goer to explore for him or her self. Expand
  19. JeremyW.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    If it weren't for "Brokeback Mountain," Bennett Miller's "Capote" would be the best movie of the year. A movie of mesmerizing subtelty and heartbreaking performances, "Capote" is a rare gem that proves there are still talented individuals out there who can make high-quality films that don't involve gimmicks and/or high-budget special effects. While the direction of Miller If it weren't for "Brokeback Mountain," Bennett Miller's "Capote" would be the best movie of the year. A movie of mesmerizing subtelty and heartbreaking performances, "Capote" is a rare gem that proves there are still talented individuals out there who can make high-quality films that don't involve gimmicks and/or high-budget special effects. While the direction of Miller and screenplay of Dan Futterman are incredibly moving and effective, it is ultimately the performance of Phillip Seymour Hoffman as the great author, Truman Capote, who anchors the film, and as it progress, raises the film to the level of his performance and apparent talent. Hoffman's portrayal of Capote is all the more effective when one considers the obvious physical differences between the the actor and Capote himself. Catherine Keener and Chris Cooper provide excellent supporting performances to Hoffman's lead, as well as Clifton Collins Jr.'s memorable performance as killer Perry Smith. The cold and calculating tone of the film fits perfectly with the subject matter and with Capote's nature, and never does the audience doubt the 1950's era of the movie, as Miller and his crew have taken great pains to provide an authentic feel of the times. For those who have the patience and who enjoy a movie which takes its time in unfolding a story (especially of a story which many already know) then "Capote" is a must-see. Expand
  20. CuculizaO.
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Everything, from the outstading performances (every single one is flawless), to the designs, the director, the music. The plot is intriguing and though you get to know Mr.Capote as a self indulgent manipulative person, you understand him as a human being (thanks Phillip S.Hoffman for the best piece of acting in a long time). Something I really liked from this film is Absolutely brilliant. Everything, from the outstading performances (every single one is flawless), to the designs, the director, the music. The plot is intriguing and though you get to know Mr.Capote as a self indulgent manipulative person, you understand him as a human being (thanks Phillip S.Hoffman for the best piece of acting in a long time). Something I really liked from this film is that it feels like a classic one, the story is told in a rythm that few can keep. Go and see it NOW. Expand
  21. ZakT.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Hoffman is outstanding.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Best flim and performance of the year.
  23. RuthS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    This is just an incredibly good film, at all levels. It was much more emotionally moving than I expected it to be.
  24. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    I've long admired the writings of Truman Capote (especially In Cold Blood). What Bennett Miller is able to accomplish is an extraordinary feat. Documenting Capote as he writes his infamous piece of non-fiction, we are guided in suspense by Dan Futterman's incredible script. Phillip Seymour Hoffman gives the finest performance of the year!
  25. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Capote is a spectacle of a movie. Without Mr. Hoffman's Oscar-winning performance, the film is an average period piece with nice atmosphere and a strong supporting cast that i would've given a 7.5/10 for, but nothing to marvel at. However, with Phil in the central role, the film turns into a masterpiece. His mannerisms, his swagger, and especially his voice have all been mastered byCapote is a spectacle of a movie. Without Mr. Hoffman's Oscar-winning performance, the film is an average period piece with nice atmosphere and a strong supporting cast that i would've given a 7.5/10 for, but nothing to marvel at. However, with Phil in the central role, the film turns into a masterpiece. His mannerisms, his swagger, and especially his voice have all been mastered by Hoffman beyond belief. He didn't just play Truman Capote, he WAS Truman Capote. Many films have tried to reach the heights this one did (ahem ahem Infamous one year later ahem ahem), however they can never overtake this wonderful, deep, dark piece of filmmaking that should've beaten out Crash at the Oscars for Best Picture. Expand
  26. MarcD.
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    It just blows my mind that Clifton Collins, Jr. wasn't nomited for Best Supporting Actor ahead of William Hurt in "History of Violence" or George Clooney in "Syrianna". That was truly an amazing performance in a terrific film. Since his days as Tack in "The Stoned Age" (Clifton Gonzales Gonzales), he's been one of the finest character actors in Hollywood, and he deserves to be It just blows my mind that Clifton Collins, Jr. wasn't nomited for Best Supporting Actor ahead of William Hurt in "History of Violence" or George Clooney in "Syrianna". That was truly an amazing performance in a terrific film. Since his days as Tack in "The Stoned Age" (Clifton Gonzales Gonzales), he's been one of the finest character actors in Hollywood, and he deserves to be recognized as such. Expand
  27. Rev.Rikard
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    I rarely rate a film with a 10, since that score implies perfection. However, if not for a few minor issues this film would merit a 10. Hoffman embodied the enigmatic personality of Capote. Capote was in public an arrogant author, in awe of his own work, actually paying individuals to boast about his literary brilliance and cultural relevance. In private he struggled to understand the I rarely rate a film with a 10, since that score implies perfection. However, if not for a few minor issues this film would merit a 10. Hoffman embodied the enigmatic personality of Capote. Capote was in public an arrogant author, in awe of his own work, actually paying individuals to boast about his literary brilliance and cultural relevance. In private he struggled to understand the "piece of work" named "Truman;" a man that would have loved to purchase the words he needed to say to doomed killer Perry Smith. The feelings he typed on the page flowed with ease and clarity; the contradictory, personal feelings that doused his heart in chaos plunged him into depression. The man that could snub his nose at those who had no use for his "alternate lifestyle" in the 1950s, could not ignore what a death row inmante thought of him. Hoffman captures these contrasts and contradictions so masterfully that I feel totally safe in claiming this is going to the one work that best defines his acting career. He may act as well later, but never better. The only shortcoming of this film was an issue over which Bennett had no control. The viewer could not fully grasp the wonder of this film and Hoffman's performance without reading "In Cold Blood" or seeing the movie. Endowed with this prior perspective of Capote made this movie far more powerful than when viewed without it. This movie was that cold January blast of wind that awakens us to the ecstacy and torment experienced by great artists. Expand
  28. billys.
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    I thought truman capote died until i saw philip seymour hoffman and now i know mr. capote lives!
  29. ThomasE.
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    Superb movie. For the first two minutes, you watch the character closely to see if you believe -- where are the flaws, does he do it well. Amazingly, Philip Seymour Hoffman's portrayal is so thorough and compelling that you are swept up into a story that is so far from most of our lives that this movie really takes you places you don't normally go -- really amazing. The acid Superb movie. For the first two minutes, you watch the character closely to see if you believe -- where are the flaws, does he do it well. Amazingly, Philip Seymour Hoffman's portrayal is so thorough and compelling that you are swept up into a story that is so far from most of our lives that this movie really takes you places you don't normally go -- really amazing. The acid test is that the theatre was stone silent -- everyone was fully engaged. Expand
  30. Stephen
    Feb 24, 2006
    9
    Just terrific. When it wants to be great, and Bennett Miller wants it a lot, American film-making still rates with any in the world. Judgment, craft, moral relevance, and terrific acting, it's all here. I was totally put off by the subject matter, but I was so wrong. Better than Brokeback Mountain, way better than Good Night & Good Luck.
  31. D.B.
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    An absolute knockout. Philip Seymour Hoffman is indescribable, plain and simple. Everyone else in this movie is also excellent, absolutely top notch acting. The cinematography is very well done, and the whole film packs a whallop that will blow away absolutely anyone with a brain in their skull. Just beautiful.
  32. JimH.
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    As boring as the subject matter sounds-- it's essentially about how a novel was written-- the film is a granular exposition of all the issues involved. As such, it meanders slightly, and that's another reason why there is a wide divergence of opinions concerning "what Capote is about." In watching Capote build one of the most important books of his time, we see how his spirit is As boring as the subject matter sounds-- it's essentially about how a novel was written-- the film is a granular exposition of all the issues involved. As such, it meanders slightly, and that's another reason why there is a wide divergence of opinions concerning "what Capote is about." In watching Capote build one of the most important books of his time, we see how his spirit is not really eqaul to the task, even as his talents as a journalist and a writer most certainly are. I say it's about how self annihiliating the process of self-making ultimately can be. It's a provocative, fascinating DVD I'm glad I purchased. Kudos to Messsers Hoffman, Miller and Futterman. This should have been nominated for and won Best Picture of the year. Expand
  33. ChristopherS.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    The film has a remarkable, intensive athmosphere, and certainly one of the best movies this year.
  34. PatC.
    May 10, 2006
    9
    A one-dimensional movie with only one character. Even the murderers seem to exist only to play off of Truman. But he's the story, which is an engaging one in spite of the quirky distractions of his personality. Because the presentation is so straightforward I couldn't find anything majorly wrong with this movie.
  35. KingFolderol
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    Not quite the gem that the critics is claiming it is, but pretty damn close. Hoffman is indeed as incredible as Truman Capote. I wouldn't quite go so far as to say that he "becomes" Capote, but I would say that he morphs into the character this movie creates quite perfectly. This is one of those movies that doesn't seem all that spectacular while you're watching it, but Not quite the gem that the critics is claiming it is, but pretty damn close. Hoffman is indeed as incredible as Truman Capote. I wouldn't quite go so far as to say that he "becomes" Capote, but I would say that he morphs into the character this movie creates quite perfectly. This is one of those movies that doesn't seem all that spectacular while you're watching it, but will have you thinking about what you just witnessed long after leaving the theater. Very unsettling. Expand
  36. EvanS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    At the top of the movie, the staging feels as affected as Hoffman's performance. Even Catherine Keener looks stiff and more concerned with blocking the scene correctly than giving a warm and loose performance. But not far into the movie, the amazing technical feats (set design and cinematography are the best I've seen in a long time) start to fade back and the story and At the top of the movie, the staging feels as affected as Hoffman's performance. Even Catherine Keener looks stiff and more concerned with blocking the scene correctly than giving a warm and loose performance. But not far into the movie, the amazing technical feats (set design and cinematography are the best I've seen in a long time) start to fade back and the story and characters come at you. Hoffman lives up to the hype and it is definitely his show. A great movie. of the once you're into formal, stiff and as affected t the top of the movie and once you're used. Expand
  37. LanceC.
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    A wonderful portrayal of Truman Capote based on pure drama and the incredible performance of Phillip Seymour Hoffman.
  38. ChrisR.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    This film will be reviewed based on several mostly irrelevent factors: most obviously the performances -- that Hoffman is great, if schitcky, and that Keener and Cooper don't really shine like they supposedly should, etc. Also it will be judged on historical accuracy. Performances don't make movies -- good ones enhance, bad ones detract, that's all -- and historical This film will be reviewed based on several mostly irrelevent factors: most obviously the performances -- that Hoffman is great, if schitcky, and that Keener and Cooper don't really shine like they supposedly should, etc. Also it will be judged on historical accuracy. Performances don't make movies -- good ones enhance, bad ones detract, that's all -- and historical accuracy is only important in documentaries. Knowing nothing of this case, In Cold Blood, or Truman Capote may in the end be best for the viewer, because seeing this film just for the story and the wonderful art direction is an engrossing experience. The story examines many important themes: friendship, ambition, success. And Hoffman, whose knack for scene-stealing supporting work, does not trump the story, but, just like he's supposed to, enhances it. Expand
  39. AliC
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    Hoffman's Oscar is surely secured. An extraordinarily engaging, but uncomfortable movie, with the finest celluloid acting performance of the decade so far (that I've seen). Watch it, not something else.
  40. C.B.Browne
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    Amazing performance by Philip Seymour Hoffman. Slow at times, but always compelling watching PSH.
  41. GinaB.
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    I loved Clifton Collins, Jr. in this movie. Who is this masked man? Powerful movie.
  42. DaleM.
    Feb 19, 2006
    9
    I agree with everyone who praised this film for the outstanding acting. Some reviewers said they felt the film as a whole was rather pointless. I disagree. I think this is a case study in "watch out what you ask for because you just might get it." The movie shows us how Capote got the book he wanted and how it destroyed him as a writer. Unfortunately the outstanding acting actually I agree with everyone who praised this film for the outstanding acting. Some reviewers said they felt the film as a whole was rather pointless. I disagree. I think this is a case study in "watch out what you ask for because you just might get it." The movie shows us how Capote got the book he wanted and how it destroyed him as a writer. Unfortunately the outstanding acting actually overshadows the theme of the movie. This is a real fault. Imagine if we came away from Mel Gibson's "Passion" with remarks about the actor playing Christ rather that remarks about the movie. Expand
  43. Dean
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    The lead capote gives mesmerizing perforamce and carrys the whole film on his shoulders. He is brillian in the role and deserve an Oscar for his performance. Story good and I enjoyed the film and and got me interested in reading the book.
  44. FrankO.
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    Although it starts slowly, this was a very good movie; Hoffman outstanding as Capote and deserves academy award - enjoyed it more than I expected it - good to see Chris Cooper again.
  45. RobertC.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Phillip Seymour Hoffman deserves every award possible for his portrayal of Truman Capote...This is a mesmerizing glimpse into one part of Capote's varied and troublesome life.
  46. MichaelLee
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    haha, RobW thought he was reviewing syriana and gave this movie a 5. Anyway, great acting by Brant from Lebowski. Thank god they didn't go into the gay stuff with the his partner. I'd do Harper Lee surrounded by copies of to kill a mockingbird like it was money. Maybe I'll read Capote's book afterall.
  47. ChrisH.
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    In a time where I catagorize movies as "trash" and "non trash." This is definately NOT trash. The movie plays with your mind and keeps you guessing awaiting the ending. Inspired me to read In Cold Blood.
  48. WayneB.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    Mesmerising and intense. The story meanders a bit and some plot threads are just forgotten, but on the whole, it's truly memorable. Philip Seymour Hoffman is seductively good in making a creepy character empathetic.
  49. AmyR.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    Now this film deserved the Oscar! Wow, fabulous performances, engrossing script, entirely atmospheric film. Transports you to the 1950's cultural divide between NYC and rural America, and you understand how so many people just had no way to be themselves in our society. It's heartbreaking and utterly fascinating watching Truman Capote's journey into himself and his Now this film deserved the Oscar! Wow, fabulous performances, engrossing script, entirely atmospheric film. Transports you to the 1950's cultural divide between NYC and rural America, and you understand how so many people just had no way to be themselves in our society. It's heartbreaking and utterly fascinating watching Truman Capote's journey into himself and his character. This is a character study to beat all, and PSH is utterly astounding. The supporting performances are exquisite, too. Expand
  50. JeremyK.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    Of the films nominated for Best Picture (as though such an award holds any real merit anyways) Capote should have won by a landslide. Bennett Miller will be a Director to watch as he masterfully displays his "soft" skills as a Director and avoids cheesing it up by wringing out a typical biopic. Hoffman is pure magic, captivating from start to finish. Wonderful pace, color and emotional Of the films nominated for Best Picture (as though such an award holds any real merit anyways) Capote should have won by a landslide. Bennett Miller will be a Director to watch as he masterfully displays his "soft" skills as a Director and avoids cheesing it up by wringing out a typical biopic. Hoffman is pure magic, captivating from start to finish. Wonderful pace, color and emotional resonance -- unapologetically capturing the essence of the eccentric, conflicted-artist-soul of a misplaced and mysteriously courageous man named Truman Capote. A mesmerizing figure to be sure -- don't avoid it because you think this film will be dreary, dull or boring --- there is genuine comedy here too -- it will, however, be the realism that grabs you. Beautifully filmed. Expand
  51. Kramer
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    Fantastic performance by PSH, as well as excellent character development and story structure.
  52. RhettW.
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    Philip Seymour Hoffman is "spooky" good.
  53. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Great film! Very slow, but once the story gets going, it grips you hard and never lets you go. Philip Seymour Hoffman is absolutely perfect and gives one the best male performances I've seen. A truly devastating performance and one that certainly solidifies him as one of the all-time greats (no surprise really).One of the absolute best films of 05.
  54. AndrewT.
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Overall, a highly satisfying movie. It deftly combines a number of interesting elements- 1) Hoffman's brilliant character portrayal of Truman Capote, who was a spectacle in himself, 2) An very intriguing depiction of Capote's inspiration for, and process of, researching the novel that crowned his career, In Cold Blood 3) A facinating exploration of the motives and psychology of Overall, a highly satisfying movie. It deftly combines a number of interesting elements- 1) Hoffman's brilliant character portrayal of Truman Capote, who was a spectacle in himself, 2) An very intriguing depiction of Capote's inspiration for, and process of, researching the novel that crowned his career, In Cold Blood 3) A facinating exploration of the motives and psychology of the murderers that the novel is about, 4) A very mature description of the personal relationship that formed between Capote and the criminals at the center of In Cold Blood, 5) The contrast between the sophistication of the New York literary scene that Capote is the center of in 1960 and heartland America where the crimes of the novel take place. All of these combine to make this movie a rich viewing experience. Wonderfully written and acted. Expand
  55. DanaM.
    Dec 5, 2005
    8
    Well acted. Great direction. Wonderfully textured cinematography. Vivid murder and hanging scenes. Viewers entered knowing Capote's homosexuality but the producer kept physical displays of sexuality under wraps. A bit slow at the end which is the only criticism. Worth seeing.
  56. SamuelT.
    Mar 24, 2006
    8
    One of the best movies of the year. But if you have read the book "In Cold Blood" before seeing it, it becomes even better.
  57. JonathanA.
    Sep 29, 2005
    8
    Extraordinary in pretty much every respect: screenplay, historic detail, direction, costumes, pacing -- but most of all for PSH, who broke the sound barrier on this one. He leaves the hard to watch flaws intact and takes us further, which is really remarkable.
  58. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Philip Seymour Hoffman gives one of the greatest on screen performances of recent years. Truman Capote's flamboyancy is well apparent and his flaws are as visible as a deep scar. The journey is a sad one, but ultimately brings to light, the price and desire of greatness, even when it means the death of a fellow man.
  59. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Just absolutely brilliant. Philip Seymour Hoffman is impeccable as Truman Capote, as well as the rest of the cast. Director Bennett Miller sure has a knack for biopics, as both this as "Moneyball" are amazing works. With this film, it is most certainly slow and it took a bit to hook me in, but once I was hooked, I was two feet in until the end.
  60. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Philip Seymour Hoffman's greatest performance. His characterization of the famed writer is so uncanny that I still marvel at it. If that would be his only Oscar, let it be that one. The rest of the movie trails behind him, but delivers enough to satisfy and still stay with the plot and the acting. Clifton Collins Jr. also played well. Certainly overlooked, but by an amazing actor.
  61. MarkB.
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    This deceptively straightforward account of a significant period in the life and career of legendary author, raconteur and world-class eccentric Truman Capote is a classic example of the "warts-and-all" school of biographical storytelling: heavy on the warts, light on everything else. In telling the tale of how Capote, in researching and putting together his "nonfiction novel" In Cold This deceptively straightforward account of a significant period in the life and career of legendary author, raconteur and world-class eccentric Truman Capote is a classic example of the "warts-and-all" school of biographical storytelling: heavy on the warts, light on everything else. In telling the tale of how Capote, in researching and putting together his "nonfiction novel" In Cold Blood, his famous account of the random, senseless murder of a Kansas family by two drifters, ingratiated himself with the townspeople as well as the killers, writer Dan Futterman and director Bennett Miller paint the writer as an ethically challenged opportunist and master manipulator whose long decline and demise after the book's success seem like a karmic payoff. Like Kirk Douglas's unscrupulous newsman Chuck Tatum in Billy Wilder's Ace in the Hole, who delayed attempts to rescue the victim of a mine disaster in order to stretch out the story, Capote is repeatedly seen playing around with the legal system in order to protract Perry Smith's and Dick Hickock's sentencing and time on Death Row and therefore buy himself extra time to artificially enhance the drama of the story and finish his research and writing. Under the circumstances, the town sheriff (Chris Cooper), who knew the victims and is forced to watch Capote try to subvert justice on legal technicalities, is a model of grace and decorum under extreme provocation: I can see how even some partial proponents of the Miranda and Escobedo laws may want to see the lawman take a Buford Pusser-sized club to the intrusive, obsequious little pipsqueak. And even if you totally oppose capital punishment in theory and practice, it's difficult to justify the emotional torture that Capote puts Smith and Hickock through, dragging out the inevitable rather than mercifully letting justice be speedy. As far as the bestselling result of Capote's string-pulling is concerned, I think trash novelist and Capote foe Jacqueline Susann said it best (and had her finest moment ever) when she expressed her distaste for the book's unseemly sympathy for the killers on the basis that the unfortunate Clutter family was middle class. (Richard Brooks' excellent 1967 film version, one of the very last big-studio black and white movies of the 1960s, was far more balanced in its view.) As screen bios go, I wish the film had been more cinematically exciting to watch, like last year's dazzling Kinsey or the current underreleased and underrated Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio; except for some chilling reenactments of the crime, it's too much of a talking-head movie too often, but the performances make it a must-see. Philip Seymour Hoffman, an actor with no sense of egotistical self-protection whatsoever (remember his unflattering role as a tubby porn-film crew member with an unrequited crush on Mark Wahlberg in Boogie Nights, and let's not even go into what he was most famous for doing in Happiness!) adds dimensionality if not always sympathy to the title role and not only nails Capote's famously peculiar speech and other mannerisms, but even more impressively makes the viewer completely used to them in record time. But equally good (if not even better) is Catherine Keener as Capote's friend and sometime assistant, To Kill A Mockingbird author Harper Lee, who also acts as Capote's final judge. I've always liked Keener, but found her characterizations in most movies rather too pigeonholed: in nearly everything from Walking and Talking to Being John Malkovich, she's too often played the sharp-tongued rhymes-with-witch. But this year, in the otherwise mediocre thriller The Interpreter, the delightful comedy The 40-Year-Old Virgin and now this, she's admirably expanded her repertoire: watching Keener redefine her screen persona playing tough-minded but big-hearted women in all three films is one of the major moviegoing thrills and treats of 2005. Expand
  62. Matt
    Dec 6, 2005
    7
    No ambiguity about it
  63. RaduG.
    Jan 23, 2006
    7
    just great acting, nothing more.
  64. MohammedR.
    Jul 26, 2006
    7
    This movie is overrated. The acting is very good, but the story is boring. This is not the sort of movie that one would want to see twice.
  65. AaronS
    Oct 31, 2005
    7
    Decent enough film that happens to have an amazing performance from Hoffman. I do believe we'll hear his name called out for a Best Actor nom come Oscar nomination time. Slighly overrated film prehaps, but a great showcase for Hoffman.
  66. MichaelS.
    Jan 23, 2006
    7
    well made and acted film that has no real point. explores capote's life with no real purpose to where film loses it cohesion. imagery and acting keep your attention, but left me feeling empty in the end. was also not blown away by hoffman's performance as others i have seen this year.
  67. DW
    Oct 8, 2005
    6
    Another film the critics are rating way too high. Nice, but not art. Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a very good character actor but, as he showed with "Love Liza," facile tricks don't carry a movie. Catherine Keener again demonstrates how little it takes to maintain a film career when you're in vogue; Cliff Collins as the wimpy killer wastes with generality what could have been a Another film the critics are rating way too high. Nice, but not art. Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a very good character actor but, as he showed with "Love Liza," facile tricks don't carry a movie. Catherine Keener again demonstrates how little it takes to maintain a film career when you're in vogue; Cliff Collins as the wimpy killer wastes with generality what could have been a sure Oscar nomination; Chris Cooper does his standard curmugeon and Bob Balaban his unctuous nebbish. Other than that the film is cast with typically bland, faceless Canadians (I'm sorry Canada, you may not let American actors work in your otherwise production friendly country, but you can't legislate fire in the bellies of your native talent). It's all interesting enough, yet I found myself wishing I was watching the great black and white movie of "In Cold Blood" instead. Expand
  68. IsabelI.
    Jun 23, 2007
    6
    It was just ok. The first part was better than the second half. I thought the last 20 mins really dragged. It could have been a made-for-TV movie. Don't understand what all the fuss is about.
  69. May 31, 2013
    6
    It is almost unbelievable how remarkable and convincing Hoffman's performance is, and while the material is dry and drags one too many times, it is an elegant drama about operating in "cold blood" so to speak about the murderers themselves and Capote's tactics of achieving his own agenda.
  70. DougG.
    Oct 23, 2007
    5
    Excessively slow, unconvincing performance by Hoffmann, I did not feel much sympathy for the main character, who seemed to be mainly self-centered, lying and manipulative.
  71. dennis
    Oct 2, 2005
    5
    Hoffman was very good, but the film makers got a lot of facts wrong. Capote never got to Kansas until 2 weeks after the murders, so he never looked into the Clutters' coffins. He also never nursed Perry Smith back to health (with baby food or any other food)--at least, not according to Gerald Clarke's biography. And Capote's relationship with Alvin Dewey was apparently much Hoffman was very good, but the film makers got a lot of facts wrong. Capote never got to Kansas until 2 weeks after the murders, so he never looked into the Clutters' coffins. He also never nursed Perry Smith back to health (with baby food or any other food)--at least, not according to Gerald Clarke's biography. And Capote's relationship with Alvin Dewey was apparently much bettor than the movie shows. Capote's life was so interesting, I wondered why they didn't include the 2 decades after "In Cold Blood"--they coulda had a knock-out scene filming the famous "Black & White Ball" at the Plaza. Expand
  72. robw
    Feb 28, 2006
    5
    it is clear this picture is about the oil industry and the many playesr in it. But for persons world wide who may not have read the book or heard about this guy; it is pretty to hard to follow. that just my opinion. i watched up to the point where the kid dies but i still couldn't grasp the concept.
    thereafter i slept through the picture
  73. NK
    Jan 3, 2009
    5
    Hoffman's performance is clearly phenomenal and I can appreciate that this is a very well made film, but I just don't like it. Capote is despicable and the murderers are scum - why do I give a damn about any of this?
  74. carolinee.
    Oct 17, 2005
    5
    Sluggish, wheezing & repetitive. In spite of PSH's performance, dramatically & narratively underdeveloped. Actor playing the killer gives a weak performance that makes you wonder what Capote sees in him. This critically overpraised film was a big disappointment.
  75. TonyB.
    May 13, 2006
    5
    "Capote" is among the most overrated films of 2005. There is no question that Philip Seymour Hoffman's tour de force performance as that nasty little man is a memorable achievement. The supporting cast is top notch, and the cinematography and production design are superb. The problem here, and it's serious enough to nearly wreck the film, is that it is extremely slow moving too "Capote" is among the most overrated films of 2005. There is no question that Philip Seymour Hoffman's tour de force performance as that nasty little man is a memorable achievement. The supporting cast is top notch, and the cinematography and production design are superb. The problem here, and it's serious enough to nearly wreck the film, is that it is extremely slow moving too often, the result being a rather boring piece of work. Collapse
  76. MaxL
    Oct 12, 2005
    5
    Hoffman was decent in the lead role and he was great at times, however, couldn't quite pull if off in the end to prop up this long, sluggish movie. Keener was completely wasted here and so were Cooper and Clifton. This movie is strictly one man show about narcissism that, well, takes itself too seriously. I'm pretty sure some of the historical facts were discarded to make for a Hoffman was decent in the lead role and he was great at times, however, couldn't quite pull if off in the end to prop up this long, sluggish movie. Keener was completely wasted here and so were Cooper and Clifton. This movie is strictly one man show about narcissism that, well, takes itself too seriously. I'm pretty sure some of the historical facts were discarded to make for a better narrative flow, however, it didn't help the movie much. Too bad, as 'In Cold Blood' was very good. Expand
  77. MartyM
    Dec 20, 2005
    5
    If I had not just seen Brokeback Mountain, I may have been more impressed with this movie. In all fairness it may take awhile until a movie thrills me like Brokeback. I had heard some good things about Capote, but it just did not live up to espectations. Maybe if I had seen it first, I would have been more impressed.
  78. BeauM
    Dec 15, 2005
    5
    I may be the only person to feel this way about this film, but I'm going to flat out say it. This is the most overrated film this year. There are moments of power, most definetely, but the film had moments of unevenness that I could not believe. There is one scene, in particular, when Hoffman's Capote is approaching Perry Smith's cell, and we as the audience are tense. I may be the only person to feel this way about this film, but I'm going to flat out say it. This is the most overrated film this year. There are moments of power, most definetely, but the film had moments of unevenness that I could not believe. There is one scene, in particular, when Hoffman's Capote is approaching Perry Smith's cell, and we as the audience are tense. We're almost expecting a semi-Hannibal Lecter moment to occur, and be truly introduced to this character. Yet Miller decides to interrupt this with a flashback to an object that Capote obtains for Smith, and it not only kills the scene, but it is a horrible way for us to be introduced to Collin's character. In addition, I did not feel any connection to Collins Jr's performance whatsoever. It's a mediocre job at best, and to be honest, I felt no sympathy for the man. No understanding of him. The film should encapture that point or that moment where he makes sense, but it never does. Thus, the entire script as a whole falters. It may be only me, but Hoffman, who I dearly loved in Almost Famous and Magnolia, is good here. Not great, not suberb, not the second coming of screen acting, but just good. It's not on the part of the actor, I believe, becuase I've seen what this man can do (and the fact that he manages to create any kind of real character here is amazing to me) but on the whole, I dislike Capote. In fact, I loathed him. Hoffman's reach to find the character is slammed down my Futterman's failure to find defining moments for characters. In this, Capote is an obnoxious snob with almost no admirable traits. He's conceited, rude, arrogant, and has an air about him that makes you want to slap him the first time you meet him. To think that so many people, including a death row inmate, would be inclined to share moments and instances with this walking flamboyant stereotype is beyond me. It's always been in my opinion that when you watch a film, and you find no traits in a character that you can connect with, then there's no real point to the film. Why root for the main character, when we can't connect with him? This is my main frustration for a majority of well-loved films as of late, including Napoleon Dynamite and Drumline. When watching both films, I felt nothing for the main characters. Nick Cannon deserved to get run over in the first half hour not for his "rebelliousness", but rather for his lack of decency when talking to anyone. He had a sense of arrogance, not unlike Capote, who felt that he was better and could do anything better than anyone he meets. Napoleon Dynamite, for me, was not as offensive, but rather just unnecessary. I felt more pity for him than anything else, and that's not what you should think of your main character. In this, we're to believe Capote and his lover are in a relationship, yet I see no evidence of this. No love is represented in either's eyes, no hint of romance. These two looked more like distant roommates than anything else. It may seem that I'm going rather harsh on this film, and you know what? I am. It has its admirable qualities, (namely the brilliance of Catherine Keener, who can do no wrong in ANY film she's in, and Chris Cooper, who manages to establish a living, breathing character with only a few scenes) but my frustration with it is that it is being proclaimed as one of the best films of the year, when in fact it is one of the more uneven ones I've seen. Hoffman, for me, will have a capper to the extraordinary career he is having so far, but this is not it. This is his effort to establish a consistent plausible character when the script and the direction does not provide one, and for his partial achievement (where almost everyone else would fail) he should be applauded. Miller and Futterman on the otherhand, should not. I'm only hard on them because there are moments here that show that the both of them have the possiblity to make something great one day... but this is merely their test run. For me, the film does not work, but hopefully they'll view their missteps and acheive greatness with their next films. More power to you men, but this is not one of them in my opinion. Regardless, even if I did happen to miss the essence of the film that is getting you applause, congratulations on your success. At the very least, it's good to see men with partial ideas than ones with none at all. Expand
  79. Eon
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Now that's what i call overrated. Well it is not a complete trash, but nothing special either, and most of the time - very boring.
  80. OleksaB
    Jan 2, 2009
    4
    I couldn't help feeling a heavy bubble of disgust in my throat, hearing the main character speak like an imbecile clown. I know Mr.Hoffman as a real good actor, but this... 'performance' just gave me the willies. Whatever the real Truman Capote was like (well, who knows, maybe he indeed was an infantile pompous moron), the person which Mr.Hoffman is portraying is NOT a I couldn't help feeling a heavy bubble of disgust in my throat, hearing the main character speak like an imbecile clown. I know Mr.Hoffman as a real good actor, but this... 'performance' just gave me the willies. Whatever the real Truman Capote was like (well, who knows, maybe he indeed was an infantile pompous moron), the person which Mr.Hoffman is portraying is NOT a writer. And that woman character is not a writer either. The prisoner guy is credible, yes: lost and bitter, after letting the most primitive side of him once take the wrong control of his actions. But the writers... I don't believe them. And as one of the critics here said, the search portrayed in the film is not a search of existential drive that when perversed, makes people do horrid things: it is indeed a search for fame and celebrity status. What I understood after watching this movie is that I'll probably never read anything by Capote. Salinger, too, never finished a book since the 50's, but I don't suppose he died of alcoholism. He was simply looking for something esle in his books. Expand
  81. SierraC.
    Apr 13, 2009
    3
    A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings he's got in the media. The saving grace of the movie is the strong performance by Clifton Collins Jr who succeeded in providing a glimpse into the dark A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings he's got in the media. The saving grace of the movie is the strong performance by Clifton Collins Jr who succeeded in providing a glimpse into the dark soul of a killer. Expand
  82. RadCompanyDotNet
    Nov 3, 2005
    2
    Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having our noses rubbed in it's over-hyped self importance? All these critics are telling you that Capote is, or should be, an Oscar contender. I Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having our noses rubbed in it's over-hyped self importance? All these critics are telling you that Capote is, or should be, an Oscar contender. I don't know about an Oscar, but if I was catering this film I'd throw Hoffman a weiner and let the rest of the production starve. It relies too much on the audience's percieved respect for its heady subject matter, which is poorly judged, The film is as smitten with itself as Capote was at dinner parties. Expand
  83. PrestonB.
    Mar 30, 2009
    1
    This is possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Hoffman's performance is spot-on as Capote but the story is so boring. The remaining characters are one dimensional. Tediously slow at times, I struggled to watch it till the end. Definitely overrated.
  84. Sep 7, 2011
    1
    Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It has almost no plot. It was so boring that after 50 minutes I had absolutely no reason to finish it. I suppose if you're a die-hard biopic fan, then youPhillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It has almost no plot. It was so boring that after 50 minutes I had absolutely no reason to finish it. I suppose if you're a die-hard biopic fan, then you might get something out of this. Expand
  85. JoeS.
    Apr 30, 2006
    0
    this is the worst movie ever the most boring movie i have ever seen.
  86. ShaniaD.
    May 24, 2006
    0
    This movie is simply awful.
  87. SandraB.
    Apr 28, 2006
    0
    Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when there was absolutely nothing to think about. It had no insight to Capote's life and as to why he was a weird depressed author who eventually died Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when there was absolutely nothing to think about. It had no insight to Capote's life and as to why he was a weird depressed author who eventually died from alcoholism. There were absolutely no character development. If the director had tried then I can honestly tell you he failed. Also, Hoffman's acting was so atrociously over the top. It's digusting how people made this awful movie out as such a thoughtful, meaningful, and artful movie which it totally wasn't. Those people only scream PRETENTIOUS! This movie was trying so desperately to be meaningful, but it failed miserably. It is just a complete failure & disaster. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 88
    Capote is a movie that doesn't pull its punches. It's a knockout.
  2. Capote represents something unique in cinema.…Most eye-catching for critics and audiences in the weeks to come will be Philip Seymour Hoffman's brilliant metamorphosis into the persona of the late author.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Hoffman and the film are terrific. Supported by the eminent Catherine Keener (as author Harper Lee) and Chris Cooper (as detective Alvin Dewey), Hoffman begins with a dead-on impersonation of Capote that soon becomes a kind of channeling as the audience comes to see this American tragedy through his eyes.