Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 21, 2011
    91
    It gives you all that you could ask for when you buy a ticket to a thrill ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jul 22, 2011
    88
    The movie surges ahead, moving nimbly through a series of action set-pieces that owe more to films like "Where Eagles Dare" and "The Guns of Navarone" than they do to, say, "The Green Hornet."
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 22, 2011
    88
    Adding goofy uncertainty to shoulders as wide as the East River makes for a disarming hero in one of the spiffiest WWII action yarns ever to march out of Hollywood.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 21, 2011
    88
    The best kind of comic-book movie. It's stylish and spectacular, yet it's rooted in history and human emotions. It's smart yet it's funny. It's wise yet it kicks ass when it has to. Just like the U.S. of A.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 21, 2011
    88
    The most stylish comics-derived entertainment of the year...It's paced and designed for people who won't shrivel up and die if two or three characters take 45 seconds between combat sequences to have a conversation about world domination, or a dame.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 733 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 218
  1. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Never was a huge Captain America fan, but since 2008, starting with Iron Man leading up to Cap's movie, the quality of the movies have gotten better and better - with an exception of Thor - and Captain America is the pinnacle of Marvel Studios' movies' quality. The whole time, you're immersed in the 1940's. I only say "1940's" because I'm trying to use as little spoilers as possible. But the movie is a blend of a WWII movie, a Superhero movie and a Sci-fi movie. It explains the origin of Captain America and really brings you into his shoes and makes the viewers understand his views. The movie is loaded with action, supporting cast - Nick Fury's father, Tony Stark's father Howard, Bucky and even Stan Lee which is a fun little thing to throw in - and interesting, intense story. The movie definitely made you realize that Captain America IS a hero and the world would be different without him. Bottom line, see the movie. It will make you laugh, it will make you want to punch Nazis and it might even bring about a tear. Full Review »
  3. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    I really don't know why I'm seeing so many good scores to this weak, terrible and, surely, dispensable movie.
    First of all... Where is, in the
    hell, the background story?
    Oh, I got it... It's just some kind of excuse for these meaningless gunshots. "Oh, damn, is a war!" YES! The great super-hero Captain America is shown as a big brainless mass of muscles and a damned shield that I don't know HOW works against all those attacks, because it only defends his empty head!
    And, of course, in the middle of all, he finds a space to kiss the girl.
    No, I have no problems against the Cap, but this movie is simply useless. Made just to say that all of the Avengers have their own movies. I'll really appreciate if the Avengers movie have something smart on it, just like the Iron Man's... and unlike this Cap America's crappy thing.

    But, beyond all this, if you want some movie with no commitment to physics nor background story; if you really want to face something just for fun - or maybe for some excuse to kiss in the dark of the cine - go on, but I am not responsible for the consequences
    Full Review »