User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 749 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 749

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    I really don't know why I'm seeing so many good scores to this weak, terrible and, surely, dispensable movie.
    First of all... Where is, in the hell, the background story?
    Oh, I got it... It's just some kind of excuse for these meaningless gunshots. "Oh, damn, is a war!" YES! The great super-hero Captain America is shown as a big brainless mass of muscles and a damned shield that I don't
    know HOW works against all those attacks, because it only defends his empty head!
    And, of course, in the middle of all, he finds a space to kiss the girl.
    No, I have no problems against the Cap, but this movie is simply useless. Made just to say that all of the Avengers have their own movies. I'll really appreciate if the Avengers movie have something smart on it, just like the Iron Man's... and unlike this Cap America's crappy thing.

    But, beyond all this, if you want some movie with no commitment to physics nor background story; if you really want to face something just for fun - or maybe for some excuse to kiss in the dark of the cine - go on, but I am not responsible for the consequences
    Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    2
    11£ wasted on this crappy attempt for making another good MARVEL Avengers movie. I have to admit, First half an hour for me was full of excitement and expectations from this movie, but after that I started yawning, sleeping, moving on the chair from one side to another and eventually I left the cinema. Look at movies like Ironman, X-men, Spiderman, Hulk. Those movies have not only amazing effects but also great story, actors feel their characters, authentic historical facts and language. I don't understand why Marvel made this Capt. America such an expected movie when the actors can't even learn German language, and naming the main villain Schmidt and placing there Agent Smith from Matrix is just pathetic. So therefore, this movie deserves nothing but grade 2 for effects and for Hailey Atwell, who's hot. I strongly do not recommend to go see this movie in cinema. I got a 3D glasses and I did not find one single 3D effect, so waste of money. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    I thought Captain Ameirca was a pretty decent movie, but the weakest out Avengers prelude movies. The two biggest problem I have with the movie is the slow pace in the middle of the movie and lack of a really good soundtrack I expect from a super hero movie.
  4. JLW
    Aug 2, 2011
    0
    I am shocked by all the good reviews of this film. It is terrible. I felt like I was watching a bad 80s B-grade action film. Please, Nazi motorbikes that come out of nowhere; ray guns powered by divine Norse-god energy cubes; a serum that makes a weakling into a superman....what utter contrite crap. WORST OF ALL: It was another embarrassing attempt to inject some American exceptional-ism and Imperialism back into the movies. Aren't we over this yet? No wonder other we are hated so much around the world. All this poor excuse of a movie was, was an exercise in setting up the Avengers movie...oh joy. Capt. American was an utter waste of money....And what is up with all the good movie reviews? Makes one suspicious about who is on the take. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2011
    4
    This is one movie where I really can't understand how it is critically pretty good. The whole time I was watching it felt like the movie was on a thin line between being humorous and serious. It was like the whole thing was a parody of itself. It glorified the propaganda that was in the U.S. during the 1940s. The action scenes are unexplained and mindless for the most part, there was not a single scene in this movie that I honestly enjoyed. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    There has been few good superhero movies over the last decade (excluding the first Iron Man and Christopher's Batman franchise) and Captain America is no exception. While the movie had some originality at the beginning, with the movie staying true to the WWII setting, the movie quickly veered away from that. It quickly became another bland modern action thriller. Terrible dialogue, extremely predictable (though some decent character development), this is no exception to a failing superhero genre. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Captain America was a watchable movie, thanks only to its campy/retro style and its mildly charming cast. The script was lazy and quite mediocre at best, with inconsistent dialogue, very little semblance of time and a plot that only skimmed the surface of what could have been achieved in this world war 2 adventure flick. In one instance; montages were used to show the captain and his team's earlier missions, rather than detailed scenes showing such missions (which was unfortunate). Such script weaknesses caused underdevelopment in both the story and characters. The score was perpetual and annoying, and the acting was okay (with the exception of Weaving and Jones who were quite good), but luckily; the simple character arcs and the romance between our leads, added a little to these 2 dimensional characters. The retro production of this movie won me over completely and its pulpy qualities were nice to watch as its hardly being done now. The comic book movies of this summer comes to an end, and I must say it was a pretty average group of movies (ranging from horrible to 'okay'). I may forever be baffled as to why this film got such good reviews. But its technical attributes are easily the best of the 4 comicbook films. but it surely wasn't the best, artistically. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    I watched this movie to see Tommy Lee Jones, and was disappointed by the fact that nobody was disemboweled by TLJ. I cannot see a difference from this movie and a Power Rangers Movie. The only thing good about this movie was the trailer for the Avengers after the credits, But even to see that, you have to sit through two hours of war profiteering to witness this trailer. This might as well been animated. Expand
  9. Aug 20, 2011
    4
    This film i was expecting to enjoy. But overall, i didn't at all. It gets a 4 because I give props to it's great effects, and the beginning was good. But when he became captain america, it all came down. A forgettable, ABSOLUTELY unrealistic superhero film with just an OK performance from chris evans. This movie was a guy on superhero steroids. It did not explain anything about his powers. Yeah he was muscular, but that doesn't mean he immediately knows how to use his shield super well, and fly a HUGE ship at the end. A huge disappointment. I didn't care for ANYONE in the film. and every superhero movie, Batman, superman, spiderman, iron man, have scenes showing the heros developing their powers. This movie didn't at all. Uninteresting, and BAD. Expand
  10. May 22, 2012
    4
    I'm so sick of origin stories but that was the only part of this movie that worked. Once he turns into the Captain this movie becomes just a crappy actioner. How many times can a guy be shooting - cut to Captain America gas pedaling him? The action scenes reminded me of the type I thought we moved on from a long time ago in low budget 80s movies where 100s of soldiers kinda just fall over and somehow I'm supposed to find that interesting like if I were watching someone play Goldeneye for N64. Expand
  11. May 10, 2012
    4
    Okay, it's kid's movie. At a certain point that undeniable and disappointing. Not much in it for us sober adults. Stoned or buzzed should be the appropriate counter weight to all the corn ball simple mindedness. It starts off with just a sprinkling of mozzarella on top but then quickly gets cheezier and cheezier, until it'oozing all over everything and turning into a sloppy bland mess.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    2
    American propaganda is like so 60 years ago. It's painful to watch this movie( cause I can't call it film).
    It's just too fact breaking.
    Everything about it is fake. Actors do as much as they can with such a poor script.
    Unfortunately this movie makes you understand the nazi. If you'd had a **** with a shield trying to stop you, you'll do the same..
  13. Aug 31, 2011
    3
    I really hoped that they would get this movie right, but I was let down. Captain America is uninspried and dull. It never finds the right tones, the dialogs are boring as is the acting. The screenwriting is as poor as it gets. The only thing I grant this movie is that the special FX are top notch.
  14. Aug 4, 2011
    2
    PIECE OF CRAP!!! Seems pretty obvious they just threw this together to make a few dollars, and to preface the Avengers film. What a waste of time and money. I have never cared less about a super hero, and was actually rooting for the bad guys, who were WAY cooler than the good guys. The editing and cut scenes were terrible. He runs, jumps the enormous, fire engulfed, opening, and... is running to the exit. He runs, grabs a chain to swing over dozens of enemies (all of them shooting at him) and... is running through a field. The good guys grab a bunch of the bad guy's vastly superior weapons, but when then storm the enemy's stronghold, then use weak, conventional weapons. Where did the shield material come from? How does it come back to him when he throws it? The ending was absolutely ridiculous. The ONLY saving grace of this movie was Hayley Atwell. WOW. Seeing her in that red dress gave this a couple of extra rating points. I will never get those 2 hours, or $14 back. If this is the basis of The Avengers, I may skip it! Expand
  15. Feb 25, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The problem with a lot of these action-hero movies is that they're all anachronistic and that these superheroes are simply outdated notions of teenage fantasies from way back that do not fit today's reigning philosophy of moral relativism. (Not saying that's a good or bad thing but it does mean that all these heroes come across as terribly old-fashioned, kind of like your grandpa that won't stop raving about the olden days) This movie intentionally plays out like a propaganda movie just to hide the fact that it is a cheap action movie. The acting is okay but the set pieces, costumes and storyline are just plain B-movie quality. Nothing is ever explained and they could as well have placed the story in a 2040's setting. The fighting scenes are just horrible and the gun fights are reminiscent of G.I Joe's better episodes. The bitter irony was the ending of the movie where the antagonist, who flies a nuclear bomber, proclaims that "in the future there will be no flags" and the protagonist then proudly utters "Not if I can help it!" after which he proceeds to crash the bomber into the ground. I'm pretty sure the only people who flew nuclear bombers during World War 2 were Americans and they never had the common courtesy to fly one into the ground before reaching its destination either. And what's the deal with Red Face's vision of the future? So Captain America is responsible for 70 more years of suffering caused by the greed of individuals and governments? I reckon Captain American was an anachronism before he was even invented. What a horribly politically correct movie. Expand
  16. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Unfortunately, this movie leaves much to be desired. I expected it to be amazing, and it was for about 40 Mins, until Steve turns into Captain America. The movie goes steeply down hill from that point. The pacing in the second half of the movie was terrible, and nothing makes any sense. The fight scene choreography was the worst I've ever seen in any comic book movie. In fact, i don't think there was any fight scene choreography at all. I may be a little harsh with this review but if you have one of the greatest fighters in the world wouldn't he have some sort of training? Wouldn't he have at least one memorable fight? The movie was not all bad, The main actors were quite pleasant due to good casting, except Evans. He looks perfect but his corny one liner jokes don't fit with him being Captain America. This is largely due to the director not having a clue. All of the scenes that were not super heroish, that were made to look like the early 1900's were great! The cinematography was not bad but suffered from lasers. Really bad lasers. It was like "that scene looks really nice, ..wait...no...noooo...stop....stop it...why are they shooting lasers? and why do they look worse then the lasers in the GIJoe movie?" The movie all in all was a good home rental but should have been at least an iron man level movie but came no where near. Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I really thought that this movie was going to be awesome when I saw the trailer but it was a disappointment. The dialogues were boring and so was the acting.
  18. Oct 28, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another Marvel Atrocity, It has a strong start, then quickly ran out of steam especially in the climax of the battle between good and evil. Red Skull was a seriously lousy villain. He was more laughable than frightening, especially his cheap looking face. The romance;. you can integrate a romantic subplot in a "superhero" movie and do it well, I've seen it done (Spider-man 2, The Dark Knight). But this was much too Thor-esque but the ending was good as necessary. And it was okay. I could live with it. UNTIL Steve chose to utter, "I'll be okay. But I had a date." or something to that effect. More corny scripting. Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    Not a great movie but watchable if you are a fan. I felt like I was watching a Michael Bay movie were there are action scenes and no story. Good action scenes but overall a less than decent movie. Marvel movies nowadays are a complete disaster.
  20. Apr 30, 2012
    3
    How anyone can call this movie good is beyond me. It would be similar to calling Mc'donalds good food. You can do it but you know you're just lying to yourself.
  21. Apr 29, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I could not stand this movie. I hated the character of captain America and the story. But most of all it was just stupid and didn't make any sense Germans with instant kill machine gun lasers and laser tanks vs American riflemen with single shot rifles, but of course only one American dies and the massive army of high tech laser carrying Germans all die. Hated this movie and i left feeling that i had payed to watch American propaganda. (also i hated that they basically didn't include Britain at all except for one very over the top Englishmen) Expand
  22. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love action, I love fiction and I love a passionate story. Mix it all and a movie should receive 5 or more points. Captain America failed in all mentioned categories. Its not its spider-man-like story: good loser turns into super hero why the story became an abomination: Its just that it is predictable: The brave scientist which gets shot, the best friend which can not be saved although mighty Cptn. is super strong, the only girl in the story is the heros passion. Now add some James Bond gadgets coming from nowhere and you have an invincible hero. Not that they at first have to fight enemies with über-guns, they werent even surprised by what the enemy threw at them. Alas the bad guy could have saved the movie, but it was just too obvious that the impersonation of evil was played by "Mr. Smith" from Matrix: He looks like him, he acts like him, and even his metamorphosis to a red-skinned-something was just invented to pretend to have a real bad ass. In fact the bad guys act as stupid as the good guy and are nothing but cannon fodder. What was wrong with the fiction: Bad guy made through almost the same as the good guy to get his evil powers. Only difference one has a pure heart the other has not. Bad guy discovers a divine energy thingy but this does not help him either. It was just put into the movie to be able to make up some special FX with laser guns which would not have been common at the time the movie plays. The only thing needed for the good guys to block the special FX weapon is a shield from a metal which you never-heard-before and is indistructable. Funny thing: Its painting looks worn out after being shot at some times. So if you saw Matrix 3 and liked the movie because of the action, well this is what was good about Matrix 3. Cptn. Americas action is about a guy sneaking into an enemy base with a stars-and-stripes-painted shield - at least it wasnt glowing - and then beating up all enemies. Every 5th enemy is hit by the shield which behaves like a boomerang and returns to Cptn. America just in time to block the next blow. Btw. the only thing the Cptn. is afraid of is not the super powers of the enemy, nor the mysterious weapons which can dematerialize you within an instant when being hit, no, its flame throwers which make him duck and cover. At least: if you still want to watch the movie: look out for about its three funny scenes. Its not that its worth seeing them, its just makes you hope that there will be more. Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Realistically, I would score this movie about a 4, but I feel obligated to drop it to a 1 just to counteract the inflated scores this garbage has been racking up. I'm baffled as to how this movie got such positive reviews. I can forgive the high audience reviews, because, let's face it, most people are dumb and can't recognize a bad movie when they see it...but, I don't get how the professional critics could have scored this movie so well. This was, quite simply, not a very good movie. The beginning was pretty good, as there was some decent story and character development starting to happen...but once he transforms into Captain America, the movie just turns into a typical corn-ball, over-the-top Hollywood turd. There are some pretty big plot holes. A lot of questions, and some things that are just too difficult to believe ruin any credibility that the first part of the movie had built up. How can Red Skull attach a perfectly realistic human face to his skull in the 1940's?...they can't even do a very good face transplant in 2011, yet Red Skull had a detachable "Hugo Weaving face" that just popped on and off like a Halloween mask...cheesy...bad writing. Then there's the mysterious "blue cube" which is never really explained...they just give the cheap comic book explanation "it's just a mysterious cube of great power, and we don't need to explain it because it's not important that our movie be believable or credible" cheesy...bad writing. Then there's the fact that Captain America has a shield that he can throw from great distances, and it always inexplicably returns to him like some kind of magical boomerang..no explanation as to how the shield does this...cheesy...terrible writing. Just because the shield can do this in the comics doesn't mean you don't have to explain it in the movie. Then there's the fact that Captain America crashes a plane into the icy ground and they just dig him out decades later and bring him back to life...and he hasn't aged a day no explanation...we're just supposed to accept all of this terrible writing and not question it...sorry, Hollywood, I demand better quality from my movies and this will be the last super hero trash I see from you. Expand
  24. Aug 23, 2011
    2
    I hated this movie, it looks very bad that I'm addicted to film all the hours I will be more boring and I hate to put these ideas in a final bizarre and pointless to have a continuation of summarizing everything''''I did not like the performances are even more good it did not save the movie
  25. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    One of the worst waste of time movies I've seen in a long time -- even for summer flicks. The only reason I didn't fall asleep is that the theater seat wasn't comfortable enough. It was interminable.
  26. Sep 18, 2011
    2
    Captain America: The Wooden Avenger? This film is just awful. Its not just Evans' portrayal of Cap as a plank of elm but its also a film overburdened by too many fighting montages and stupid set pieces. If anything Captain America did its job and linked it to the Avengers but everything else was just so idiotic and clunky that you can't enjoy the ride. However before I finish mocking the very core of this piece of tripe I have to say Tommy Lee Jones eating steak has to be one of the most captivating things I have seen in recent history. Its just too bad that great actors like Jones, the other Jones and Weaving had to get involved in a movie without anything going for it. Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2013
    4
    A bland, unspectacular superhero movie with a forced love angle. It fails to excite, lacking humor and devoid of any style: be it narrative or directional.
  28. Feb 26, 2013
    4
    A solid prerequisite to 'The Avengers' but predictably unimaginative and mediocre in almost every conceivable way possible. We've come to expect more from superhero blockbusters and this falls short: CGI'd Chris Evans short.
  29. Apr 21, 2013
    1
    No need to poke the history of creating films of this type of hostility. In my opinion, a very cheap imitation of BATMAN. Pretty much to not enter a category.
  30. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    In my opinion this is the worst Avengers lead-in movie.
    It's hard to pin down exactly what my problem with it is. Maybe it's the lack of Nazis in WW2. Maybe it's the possibly interesting parts being presented in a quick hokey montage. Maybe it's the mini submarines and laser beams/tanks. There are a few good things: Hugo Weaving as Red Skull, Captain America and his love interest, Tony
    Stark's father, the tie-ins to the Avengers and Tommy Lee Jones.
    So yeah this is by far the worst Avengers lead-in.
    Expand
  31. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    this film does not represent a good captain america, it is a film with a pretty bad script, this film is the kind of movie that should be forgotten in the future.
  32. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    סרט ממש בינוני, היה אפשר להפיק הרבה יותר מגיבור העל הענק הזה, וחבל שהוא קיבל סרט בינוני ומטה שנראה כאילו מארוול עושים טובה שהם עושים אותו, כי ברור שזה לא סרט שהם רצו לעשות אלא רק כדי לעשות את הנוקמים ולא יותר מזה
  33. Aug 9, 2014
    4
    A wonderful cinematography for a decent action flick. "Captain America" is much more interesting than its comics counterpart, although the whole picture seems stupid thanks to an unintelligent plot that has little to say. Marvel superhero lovers may find themselves a bit unfamiliar with the film's different looks, but as a Marvel movie, it is nice overall.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Colin Kennedy
    Jul 28, 2011
    60
    Charming, handsome and full of pep – all 70 year-old Cap lacks is a knockout blow. Still, Johnston should be saluted for old-fashioned heart in a cynical age, while Marvel should be confined to barracks for cynical marketing.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    The final conflict is so protracted as to comfortably accommodate a bathroom break. Don't worry. You won't miss anything you haven't seen before.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 23, 2011
    63
    Captain America falls into the prevalent pitfalls of origin stories. So much time and effort is expended explaining how the protagonist gains his super-powers (and exploring his initial usage of them) that there's not enough opportunity to develop a compelling storyline beyond his "baptism."