Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 753 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Captain America: The First Avenger will focus on the early days of the Marvel Universe when Steve Rogers volunteers to participate in an experimental program that turns him into the Super Soldier known as Captain America. (Paramount Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 21, 2011
    91
    It gives you all that you could ask for when you buy a ticket to a thrill ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 21, 2011
    88
    The most stylish comics-derived entertainment of the year...It's paced and designed for people who won't shrivel up and die if two or three characters take 45 seconds between combat sequences to have a conversation about world domination, or a dame.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 20, 2011
    80
    Captain America is exactly what the third week of July needed: a curiously fun, surprisingly imaginative and unashamedly old-fashioned yarn of skulduggery and adventure.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 23, 2011
    70
    On its own, Captain America is a modestly engaging little-big movie in the median range: well below the first "Iron Man," somewhat above "X-Men: First Class."
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 23, 2011
    63
    Captain America falls into the prevalent pitfalls of origin stories. So much time and effort is expended explaining how the protagonist gains his super-powers (and exploring his initial usage of them) that there's not enough opportunity to develop a compelling storyline beyond his "baptism."
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 20, 2011
    63
    Tommy Lee Jones provides wisecracking levity as Rogers's commanding officer, Hayley Atwell supplies the aforementioned buxom chest and accompanying tough-girl grit as Rogers's British love interest, and Johnson directs with flair, his set pieces defined by both muscularity and clarity.
  7. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jul 19, 2011
    40
    (A) hokey, hacky, two-hour-plus exercise in franchise transition/price gouging, complete with utterly unnecessary post-converted 3-D.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 225
  1. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Outstanding movie. Maybe best of the summer. I really had high hopes for Cowboys and Aliens and was kind of let down. Had no real expectations for Captain America but was blown away. Good story, good character and development, reminded me a little of a cross between Raiders of the Lost Ark and Ironman. Funny, all kinds of connections to Ironman (Marvel too) so well set up for sequel or sharing the next movie! Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    The girlfriend & i found this movie to be really enjoyable.I'm a big fan of Captain America,always have been,but i admit i was a little disappointed when i heard this film was set entirely in World War 2.I know thats the time he comes from,& was expecting to see that,but thought at least half the movie would be set in the modern day.. But when i saw the movie,i appreciated that having almost the whole thing in WW2 allows you to get to know that Cap better about the kind of person he is,& the era he's from,with a totally different way of life.It also allows us to see the Howling Commandos in action as well as Dum Dum Dugan & seeing Tony Starks father,Howard Stark.It made me appreciate more also,the way that Cap was a man ahead of his time,being one of the first Super Heroes.I thought the film had alot of heart,& i liked all the main characters,as they all bought something to the story.So as it goes,i REALLY enjoyed the whole WW2 era in the movie,& it was all done really well,but part of Captain Americas origin is the fish out of water/man out of his time part,which wasnt really covered in this movie,so that important part of Cap's story is going to be have to squeezed into & shared along with the other Avengers.I hope Weedon can do him justice under those conditions still,time will tell.Avengers will be epic i'm sure,but i'm not sure its fair on us Cap fans,to have the remainder of his origin story squeezed in with the big events & many other characters that are going to be in the Avengers.Great film though. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    7
    One word: Hugo Weaving! Weaving's spectacular turn as the Red Skull definitely makes Captain America worth viewing. He is officially an actor who exudes acting perfection when on screen. Some fans who are familiar with Chris Evans' turn as the Human Torch in the Fantastic Four movies may also want to take a second look at his acting prowess and stage charisma as Captain America. Evans is no longer the exasperating wisecracking sidekick. Evans captures Captain America's palpable candor, untouchable honesty, and magnanimity. Captain America is a Baby Boomer's boy scout, and Evans plays it to a tee. The film's story could use some development, but I'm suspecting that the film makers learned that comic book movie fans generally don't go in for long-winded dialogue and expansive character study (ala The Return of Superman). The audience is treated to a brief development of Steve Rogers' character, then it's off to the races as Captain America battles the dark forces of Nazism. Overall, "Captain America" is a great movie for a mixed crowd. For those not very familiar with the character, the brief development and fast-paced action makes for an enjoyable ride. For those die hard Cap fans, the director is careful to pay homage to the Golden Age of Captain America, while setting the stage for the larger frame of the "Avengers" movie. Be sure to keep your seat until after the credits roll. An extended "Avengers" trailer awaits those who are patient. My vote: 7 out of 10 for a solid comic book flick. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    The early 1940's represents tough times. A horrible war is being fought, and Colonel Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) strongly believes that sweet victory will be embraced by the side that places more confidence in men than in weapons.

    The United States of America needs the best soldiers they can find, and in comes a young man with an unparalleled desire to serve his country. His name is Steve Rogers. He is an asthmatic and weighs less than a hundred pounds. If he
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    Somehow this film clicks, but I'm not sure how. The main character is strong and Evans does well in the role, perhaps his best performance ever. Weaving is spectacular as ever, along with Tucci and Jones. Yes, this film has an excellent cast. However, this film compared to it's story-arch predecessors is far less flashy and much more scrappy. That is what I suppose makes it click, but aren't superheroes supposed to both? Regardless, this is an easy addition to the Avengers project and it will be interesting to see how well Capt. America stands alongside his teammates. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love action, I love fiction and I love a passionate story. Mix it all and a movie should receive 5 or more points. Captain America failed in all mentioned categories. Its not its spider-man-like story: good loser turns into super hero why the story became an abomination: Its just that it is predictable: The brave scientist which gets shot, the best friend which can not be saved although mighty Cptn. is super strong, the only girl in the story is the heros passion. Now add some James Bond gadgets coming from nowhere and you have an invincible hero. Not that they at first have to fight enemies with über-guns, they werent even surprised by what the enemy threw at them. Alas the bad guy could have saved the movie, but it was just too obvious that the impersonation of evil was played by "Mr. Smith" from Matrix: He looks like him, he acts like him, and even his metamorphosis to a red-skinned-something was just invented to pretend to have a real bad ass. In fact the bad guys act as stupid as the good guy and are nothing but cannon fodder. What was wrong with the fiction: Bad guy made through almost the same as the good guy to get his evil powers. Only difference one has a pure heart the other has not. Bad guy discovers a divine energy thingy but this does not help him either. It was just put into the movie to be able to make up some special FX with laser guns which would not have been common at the time the movie plays. The only thing needed for the good guys to block the special FX weapon is a shield from a metal which you never-heard-before and is indistructable. Funny thing: Its painting looks worn out after being shot at some times. So if you saw Matrix 3 and liked the movie because of the action, well this is what was good about Matrix 3. Cptn. Americas action is about a guy sneaking into an enemy base with a stars-and-stripes-painted shield - at least it wasnt glowing - and then beating up all enemies. Every 5th enemy is hit by the shield which behaves like a boomerang and returns to Cptn. America just in time to block the next blow. Btw. the only thing the Cptn. is afraid of is not the super powers of the enemy, nor the mysterious weapons which can dematerialize you within an instant when being hit, no, its flame throwers which make him duck and cover. At least: if you still want to watch the movie: look out for about its three funny scenes. Its not that its worth seeing them, its just makes you hope that there will be more. Expand

See all 225 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.