Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 727 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Captain America: The First Avenger will focus on the early days of the Marvel Universe when Steve Rogers volunteers to participate in an experimental program that turns him into the Super Soldier known as Captain America. (Paramount Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 21, 2011
    91
    It gives you all that you could ask for when you buy a ticket to a thrill ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 21, 2011
    88
    The most stylish comics-derived entertainment of the year...It's paced and designed for people who won't shrivel up and die if two or three characters take 45 seconds between combat sequences to have a conversation about world domination, or a dame.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 20, 2011
    80
    Captain America is exactly what the third week of July needed: a curiously fun, surprisingly imaginative and unashamedly old-fashioned yarn of skulduggery and adventure.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 23, 2011
    70
    On its own, Captain America is a modestly engaging little-big movie in the median range: well below the first "Iron Man," somewhat above "X-Men: First Class."
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 23, 2011
    63
    Captain America falls into the prevalent pitfalls of origin stories. So much time and effort is expended explaining how the protagonist gains his super-powers (and exploring his initial usage of them) that there's not enough opportunity to develop a compelling storyline beyond his "baptism."
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 20, 2011
    63
    Tommy Lee Jones provides wisecracking levity as Rogers's commanding officer, Hayley Atwell supplies the aforementioned buxom chest and accompanying tough-girl grit as Rogers's British love interest, and Johnson directs with flair, his set pieces defined by both muscularity and clarity.
  7. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jul 19, 2011
    40
    (A) hokey, hacky, two-hour-plus exercise in franchise transition/price gouging, complete with utterly unnecessary post-converted 3-D.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 215
  1. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    It is great movie!! It is very interesting and excited for me.
    This movie is a little bit love story.
    Finally, I was a little bit tears. I
    want to watch again in Japan. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was so interesting. The actor was grate. There are good points, we can moved, cried, laughed. I enjoyed so much. My favorite is the lasy scean. I want to watch it once more. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    7
    One word: Hugo Weaving! Weaving's spectacular turn as the Red Skull definitely makes Captain America worth viewing. He is officially an actor who exudes acting perfection when on screen. Some fans who are familiar with Chris Evans' turn as the Human Torch in the Fantastic Four movies may also want to take a second look at his acting prowess and stage charisma as Captain America. Evans is no longer the exasperating wisecracking sidekick. Evans captures Captain America's palpable candor, untouchable honesty, and magnanimity. Captain America is a Baby Boomer's boy scout, and Evans plays it to a tee. The film's story could use some development, but I'm suspecting that the film makers learned that comic book movie fans generally don't go in for long-winded dialogue and expansive character study (ala The Return of Superman). The audience is treated to a brief development of Steve Rogers' character, then it's off to the races as Captain America battles the dark forces of Nazism. Overall, "Captain America" is a great movie for a mixed crowd. For those not very familiar with the character, the brief development and fast-paced action makes for an enjoyable ride. For those die hard Cap fans, the director is careful to pay homage to the Golden Age of Captain America, while setting the stage for the larger frame of the "Avengers" movie. Be sure to keep your seat until after the credits roll. An extended "Avengers" trailer awaits those who are patient. My vote: 7 out of 10 for a solid comic book flick. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I honestly walked into the theater expecting a pretty mediocre film. Thank you, Marvel Studios for proving me wrong. Captain America is better than Thor in every way. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    This was a decent movie. The 3D did add to the theatrical experience. I went to go see this with a friend and the 3D was so realistic that he flinched when Captain America threw his shield. What I liked best about this movie was that it took place during WW11. That being said I enjoyed the costumes and hair. I can't say whether all of that stuff was accurate because I wasn't alive back then. For an action and special effects movie it actually had a good plot. It was way better then what I was expecting. I actually even liked the acting. Didn't really like the casting. The Red Skull has to be one of my favorite Marvel villains. Although this is not the best war movie around it is fun to watch. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love action, I love fiction and I love a passionate story. Mix it all and a movie should receive 5 or more points. Captain America failed in all mentioned categories. Its not its spider-man-like story: good loser turns into super hero why the story became an abomination: Its just that it is predictable: The brave scientist which gets shot, the best friend which can not be saved although mighty Cptn. is super strong, the only girl in the story is the heros passion. Now add some James Bond gadgets coming from nowhere and you have an invincible hero. Not that they at first have to fight enemies with über-guns, they werent even surprised by what the enemy threw at them. Alas the bad guy could have saved the movie, but it was just too obvious that the impersonation of evil was played by "Mr. Smith" from Matrix: He looks like him, he acts like him, and even his metamorphosis to a red-skinned-something was just invented to pretend to have a real bad ass. In fact the bad guys act as stupid as the good guy and are nothing but cannon fodder. What was wrong with the fiction: Bad guy made through almost the same as the good guy to get his evil powers. Only difference one has a pure heart the other has not. Bad guy discovers a divine energy thingy but this does not help him either. It was just put into the movie to be able to make up some special FX with laser guns which would not have been common at the time the movie plays. The only thing needed for the good guys to block the special FX weapon is a shield from a metal which you never-heard-before and is indistructable. Funny thing: Its painting looks worn out after being shot at some times. So if you saw Matrix 3 and liked the movie because of the action, well this is what was good about Matrix 3. Cptn. Americas action is about a guy sneaking into an enemy base with a stars-and-stripes-painted shield - at least it wasnt glowing - and then beating up all enemies. Every 5th enemy is hit by the shield which behaves like a boomerang and returns to Cptn. America just in time to block the next blow. Btw. the only thing the Cptn. is afraid of is not the super powers of the enemy, nor the mysterious weapons which can dematerialize you within an instant when being hit, no, its flame throwers which make him duck and cover. At least: if you still want to watch the movie: look out for about its three funny scenes. Its not that its worth seeing them, its just makes you hope that there will be more. Expand

See all 215 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.