Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 11, 2013
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 664 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
593
Mixed:
49
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarkCriticOct 11, 2013
According to Richard Phillips' "A Captain Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, And Dangerous Days At Sea," he tells his true story about a brave commander was kidnapped by pirates. Director, Paul Greengrass (The Bourne Supremacy, The BourneAccording to Richard Phillips' "A Captain Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, And Dangerous Days At Sea," he tells his true story about a brave commander was kidnapped by pirates. Director, Paul Greengrass (The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum, and United 93) adapts Mr. Phillips' latest feature "Captain Phillips" about a naval officer who has been hijacked by four Somali pirates in a MV Maersk Alabama in 2009. Tom Hanks delivers a great performance who plays a strong captain and he acts very well to become a lost tragic person who was caught up by those nasty pirates. Mr. Greengrass had done very well to make a realistic event with great suspense, very chilling, and tense of seriousness. This movie is unbelievable with terrific story, wonderful performances, and fascinate moments. I definitely enjoy watching "Captain Phillips" a strong commander who held hostage by Somali pirates and it's a marvelous film. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
fantasyOct 16, 2013
I saw Captain Phillips in a packed theater during Sneak Preview week. Let me start by saying the movie is outstanding. But many of you are reporting this based on a true story? It depends on your definition of the truth? The NY Post hasI saw Captain Phillips in a packed theater during Sneak Preview week. Let me start by saying the movie is outstanding. But many of you are reporting this based on a true story? It depends on your definition of the truth? The NY Post has reported, that 11 of his crew sued the ship company. They blamed Captain Phillips for putting them in harms way and described him as aloof, not in touch with reality, and not a good Captain. So Hollywood gave us their spin which sounds much better just to sell tickets. If you can accept that the truth lies somewhere in between, then this is a very good film; albeit, truthful or fiction. The accolades this film has been receiving are richly deserved. Tom Hanks gives yet another outstanding performance. Even when Tom has nothing to say his acting chops are so brilliant, that his facial expression, says it all. Just about everyone sat on their edge of their seat as the tension during the hostage crisis is so thick, you can literally cut it with a knife. It's the last 15 minutes of this flick when Tom shows his best acting as he releases all the emotions the real Captain Phillips must have felt. Without question, Mr. Hanks will be nominated for another Oscar. This is a must see movie for 2013. Enjoy Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
luckystrikerJan 13, 2014
Captain Phillips is a flawless and intense drama that ratchets up the tension with every passing minute. Tom Hanks delivers a career-best performance as the wily and quick-thinking everyman who does his best before cracking under theCaptain Phillips is a flawless and intense drama that ratchets up the tension with every passing minute. Tom Hanks delivers a career-best performance as the wily and quick-thinking everyman who does his best before cracking under the pressure. The Somali pirates are also treated fairly and their motivation is convincing. 5/5, a must-see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wishmasterDec 2, 2013
Captain Phillips takes you into the emotional breakdown, playing well with the stress of a wonderful script, Tom Hanks deserves Oscar nomination for this role, you should also consider sound, editing, photography, script, editing, direction,Captain Phillips takes you into the emotional breakdown, playing well with the stress of a wonderful script, Tom Hanks deserves Oscar nomination for this role, you should also consider sound, editing, photography, script, editing, direction, and without doubt award for best film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
hollyvNov 25, 2013
Ripping yarn and not the first time a sailor has "remembered things a bit more heroically" than they actually happened. Barkhad Abdi nearly steals the show as well as the ship... with a great performance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bigfoot6463Oct 12, 2013
Finally a good movie and maybe the best of 2013. Tom Hanks deserves an Oscar. The rest of the cast was excellent also. It's a must see movie if you love suspence.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
MovieFan123Jan 14, 2014
One of the greatest amazing acting films of the year is Captain Phillips. With amazing acting by Tom Hanks and newcomer Barkhad Abdi this film is gut wrenching and an amazing film to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Jun 7, 2014
Great movie! Captain Phillips kept my interest the whole time.This is a must see movie.It feels short even though it`s not, cause you just lose a track of time trying to see what happens next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveOct 31, 2013
Emotions run high in this piracy adventure which is gripping from beginning to end. It is also a much better film than the trailer marketing it suggests. I have always been rather irritated by the Tom Hanks' movie star persona, all saccharineEmotions run high in this piracy adventure which is gripping from beginning to end. It is also a much better film than the trailer marketing it suggests. I have always been rather irritated by the Tom Hanks' movie star persona, all saccharine and beaming smiles, and his choice of films are invariably of a very conventional or commercial nature (or both!) adding weight to one's off screen impression of him. In his roles, though, he is usually totally believable and rarely gives a bad performance. His Captain Phillips must rank as one of his best. For the most part it is understated and, unusually for a Hanks turn, he blends in to the ensemble rather than standing out as the obvious star.
Director Paul Greengrass keeps the action up close for the most part creating an atmosphere of claustrophobic desperation. He is aided no end by some stunning hand held camera shots with positioning and angles that truly add to the tension. Even when scenes are in darkness or low light the events happening on screen are clearly depicted, unlike in similar situations in many films where you just don't know what's going on because the cinematography is so poor. The editing too is just dazzlingly brilliant and provides the movie with its rapid heart beat.

The screenplay raises issues on the age of the hijackers and the fac that these 'terrorists' are in fact fishermen who have had to resort to piracy due to the fact that the western world have over fished the seas. However, it counter balances this particular comment by having Tom Hanks' character state at one point 'You're not a fisherman!' when one of the hijackers violently holds a gun to his forehead. The screenplay may have wanted to appear balanced but I personally know which side I'm on. In the end it is the responsibility of individual governments to combat piracy. As they say prevention is better than cure. It is incredible to me that governments will do anything in any other situation to prevent acts of terrorism these days. However, in this known problematic area where the evil flourishes man made laws, I believe, don't allow ships to have the proper security and weaponry to defend themselves against such acts. This is not only costly in all ways, but demonstrates stupidity in an extreme form. Stupidity that should be curtailed now!
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
TheRyanMcNeilOct 11, 2013
Captain Philips keeps you on the edge of your seat! You think it's intense when the pirates board the ship, but it takes you to a whole new level later on. I could not look away for a second. Tom Hanks delivers a breathtaking performanceCaptain Philips keeps you on the edge of your seat! You think it's intense when the pirates board the ship, but it takes you to a whole new level later on. I could not look away for a second. Tom Hanks delivers a breathtaking performance worthy of an Oscar nomination and possibly an Oscar. One of the best films I've seen this year. Captain Philips will make you rethink your ratings for other movies! Expand
15 of 17 users found this helpful152
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJJul 20, 2014
Outstanding acting! This movie is just must watch for everyone! Based on a true story, it delivers so much pain and pressure that it was hard to believe that this was just a movie! 10/10 For this masterpiece!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Oct 13, 2013
This movie is a Paul Greengrass classic! It's an outstanding movie with fantastic acting, especially Tom Hanks. I haven't seen him this good in such a long time. The thrills are there and the adventure based on the true story is unbelievable.This movie is a Paul Greengrass classic! It's an outstanding movie with fantastic acting, especially Tom Hanks. I haven't seen him this good in such a long time. The thrills are there and the adventure based on the true story is unbelievable. This is worth learning about. Overall, it's another Paul Greengrass hit. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
shpostalOct 18, 2013
Finally, a truly great movie with perhaps "The Prisoner" the only other drama worth seeing in a year of stunning failures. "Captain Phillips" is brilliant, and based on a true story I remember from 2009. Of course, Tom Hanks is theFinally, a truly great movie with perhaps "The Prisoner" the only other drama worth seeing in a year of stunning failures. "Captain Phillips" is brilliant, and based on a true story I remember from 2009. Of course, Tom Hanks is the catalyst here, and once again shows the movie world why he is the greatest living actor today, although Joseph Gordon-Levitt will be a major force to reckon with if he isn't already, and the great Jennifer Lawrence, probably the best actress out there, will be out in the "Hunger Games" sequel "Catching Fire" and a new movie with Bradley Cooper later.
The key to Hanks' greatness is his believability. Regardless of his role, he can assimilate anything, making us really think he is what his role says he is. Nobody could possibly have pulled off "Forrest Gump" or "Saving Private Ryan" except him. Now, as a captain of a cargo vessel bound from Oman to Somalia, his ship is taken over by a bunch of unbelievably scraggly pirates, who all deserve praise for their authentic portrayals as well.
I must ask is the lead pirate called "Mule" an authentic Somalian who Hollywood rescued for this role? If not, it's shocking how well they did making him especially gruesome and emaciated, almost making the viewer understand how starvation and the brutal regimes controlling that part of the world force people into desperate situations.
Without giving up the plot, which is predictable because it was a well covered news story, we see the workings of a cargo ship, the Navy SEALS and the plight of Phillips with alarming accuracy and not a shred of doubt.
It is my favorite movie of the year, and perhaps the most moving part is at the end of the film, with Phillips safely in sick bay, and suffering the hysteria of the ordeal as a Navy Corpswoman looks him over. No silly ass tough guy theatrics here his reaction is just what normal people would do, not make lame jokes like a Mark Wahlberg film. In that briefest of times, Hanks puts himself in the top running for an Oscar, and makes you almost cry. All hail Tom Hanks and the crew who put this masterpiece together.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ScorpionNov 16, 2013
Many critics described this film as the Argo this year (only without the same opportunities for prizes) in my my opinion he is the closest Zero Dark Third, being a real story treated extremely realistic (striking merits Career Paul G.) atMany critics described this film as the Argo this year (only without the same opportunities for prizes) in my my opinion he is the closest Zero Dark Third, being a real story treated extremely realistic (striking merits Career Paul G.) at first he tries to highlight all forms of the discrepancy of the two worlds, that of the captain and crew, who have their homes comfortaveis and enough food, and the pirates who sleep on the hard ground and wear clothes insignificant, the performances all of them are very good because they do not speak much but make many facial expressions and gestures, logically Tom H. steals but that only happens in the final 15 minutes, because the script helps, after the end we get the latent print that the great leaders never give evil in his works but his underlings certainly a film that will be fighting seriously by awards. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PStakhivOct 11, 2013
The most intense, atmospheric movie of 2013 so far (year I've seen Gravity and Prisoners). This is an outstanding adaptation of real story with top notch acting and great directing. "Captain Phillips" shoul be nominated for Best Picture atThe most intense, atmospheric movie of 2013 so far (year I've seen Gravity and Prisoners). This is an outstanding adaptation of real story with top notch acting and great directing. "Captain Phillips" shoul be nominated for Best Picture at Oscar's, Tom Hanks should be nominated for Best Lead Actor Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
JCouch777Dec 17, 2013
2 words: Tom Hanks. No one could have played this part any better. This true story shows how captain Phillips risks everything to protect his ship and his crew. The ending is one of the bests I've ever seen. If this isn't nominated for Best2 words: Tom Hanks. No one could have played this part any better. This true story shows how captain Phillips risks everything to protect his ship and his crew. The ending is one of the bests I've ever seen. If this isn't nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars then I will be upset Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
本片的那种贯穿始终的惊险刺激恐怖只有亲自看过才能真正体验,Tom Hanks影帝级表演,几位海盗的演出也很出色。
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensOct 11, 2013
People will be talking about Tom Hanks' masterpiece for a long time!!! Absolutely stunning and well acted. A thriller that will never be forgotten!!! Awesome!!!
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
ZombieWhosoeverOct 14, 2013
Captain Phillips is an astounding biopic that is executed with delicate precision to show the true human side of every character involved in the film, evoking pathos, joy and numerous other thoughts and emotions as the tension is expertlyCaptain Phillips is an astounding biopic that is executed with delicate precision to show the true human side of every character involved in the film, evoking pathos, joy and numerous other thoughts and emotions as the tension is expertly built throughout the film. Without a doubt, this is one of Tom Hanks's best performances of his entire career. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JaboyKoiNov 17, 2013
Not only is this one of the best movies of 2013, this is one of the best movies Tom Hanks has starred in in a long time. The commercials lead you to believe that the ship takeover is the majority of the movie, but it gets much better after that.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysNov 2, 2013
Captain Phillips is a riveting, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller that doesn't let up on any level of suspense or emotion. Tom Hanks delivers one of his best performances in recent years, maybe ever, and definitely deserves an Oscar nodCaptain Phillips is a riveting, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller that doesn't let up on any level of suspense or emotion. Tom Hanks delivers one of his best performances in recent years, maybe ever, and definitely deserves an Oscar nod for it. The Somali pirates don't have a long filmography, but still delivered realistic and accurate performances. If you think what you've seen all of the what the movie has to offer in the trailers, you've got another thing coming. One of the best films of the year. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
chess123mateJun 17, 2017
(Note: I didn't see the first ~10-30 minutes of the film.) I thoroughly enjoyed this film; it had very good suspense. I loved how they dealt with the ending!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZergaZOct 11, 2013
It's a funny and great movie. the best is that i was happy when i looked at it! Like when i was siting and looking at it in the cinema. i eated popcorn!
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
hocho99Oct 11, 2013
Captain Philips keeps you on the edge of your seat! You think it's intense when the pirates board the ship, but it takes you to a whole new level later on. I could not look away for a second. Tom Hanks delivers a breathtaking performanceCaptain Philips keeps you on the edge of your seat! You think it's intense when the pirates board the ship, but it takes you to a whole new level later on. I could not look away for a second. Tom Hanks delivers a breathtaking performance worthy of an Oscar nomination and possibly an Oscar. One of the best films I've seen this year. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
philatOct 12, 2013
One of the best of the year with great performance by Tom Hanks, particularly the last few minutes of the film, and by the Somolian actor who played "muse." The technical details of a large cargo ship, the work of the Navy, including theOne of the best of the year with great performance by Tom Hanks, particularly the last few minutes of the film, and by the Somolian actor who played "muse." The technical details of a large cargo ship, the work of the Navy, including the Seals, and the rescue operations were well and realistically done. A few critics complained about the opening 5 minutes when Hanks leaves his Vermont home and with wife goes to board his ship. This small bit added nicely to the film, rather than detracted. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RebelMax13Nov 6, 2013
This really is the best movie of the year. The acting from all the characters is on top and the Somali pirates are absolutely incredible. Even though most people know what happens to Captain Phillips due to it being a true story, I was on theThis really is the best movie of the year. The acting from all the characters is on top and the Somali pirates are absolutely incredible. Even though most people know what happens to Captain Phillips due to it being a true story, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. This is a theater experience not because of visuals but because of how amazing this film really is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YossiNov 9, 2013
Captain Phillips is based on a true story and in doing so it has created a story of its own. Simply spine chilling good, goose bump worthy and can captivate the most attention challenged person. Tom hanks tops an impressive career with aCaptain Phillips is based on a true story and in doing so it has created a story of its own. Simply spine chilling good, goose bump worthy and can captivate the most attention challenged person. Tom hanks tops an impressive career with a instant classic sure to be spoken about in the same breathe as godfather, braveheart and gladiator in years to come. The credits need to be greeted with applause for a movie done so flawless, so relatable, and so perfect. My only complaint is there won't be a second. Congrats Tom put this feather next to Forrest Gump in that hat of yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eagleeyevikingMay 20, 2014
Captain Phillips is brilliantly acted and incredibly tense. It features one of Tom Hanks' finest performances and Paul Greengrass at his best behind the camera.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Ciaran119Nov 29, 2013
For the first time in a while, I completely forgot I was in the cinema while watching this. An immersing plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat with a faultless performance from Hanks.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
I have but one word to comment on Tom Hanks' performance: Outstanding. Remark on Paul Greengrass' direction ? He deserves to win the Oscar Award for Best Director. They together brought a tense, thrilling story centering on a man's struggleI have but one word to comment on Tom Hanks' performance: Outstanding. Remark on Paul Greengrass' direction ? He deserves to win the Oscar Award for Best Director. They together brought a tense, thrilling story centering on a man's struggle with ruthless Somalian pirates to guarantee the sake of his crew as a captain's duty while at the same time saving his own life. A must-see blockbuster that makes you unable to keep your eyes off the screen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews