After Dark Films | Release Date: July 13, 2007
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
11
Negative:
34
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
KeithJNov 3, 2007
I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on due to complaints it promotes violence against women. The movie does not suck the way they claim, I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on due to complaints it promotes violence against women. The movie does not suck the way they claim, it's political. That said, I think the movie pulls too many punches. It goes to the limit but it doesn't cross the limit ... and at the end, it pulls back even from that. It's as if they lost their nerve halfway through. There is a deep vein of darkness and fear inside us that this movie could have mined, but instead, it just took a core sample. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 12, 2007
Very good movie. Way unexpected.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
stevev.Jul 12, 2007
This movie sucks. Anything that can make Saw look good has to be immensely shite.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
L34DMar 5, 2013
I dont like this movie. Its quiet boring with a standart twist in the middle of the film. And iam disappointed that there is not much gore or splatter. I wanted a movie that is a torture porn movie and not a teenager movie. Saw and hostel byI dont like this movie. Its quiet boring with a standart twist in the middle of the film. And iam disappointed that there is not much gore or splatter. I wanted a movie that is a torture porn movie and not a teenager movie. Saw and hostel by far better that this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TurnerS.Jul 13, 2007
The movie was more than I expected. It really had on feeling glad that it's just a movie, and not real...way to go!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichardF.Jul 16, 2007
This movies goes for pure shock value and fails on all levels. A must miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 11, 2007
Wow! I was not expecting this film to offer so much. It was powerful, interesting, suspenseful, and brilliant. Better than Saw ! I honestly think that this horror flop should not be missed by horror fans. There is plenty of realistic and Wow! I was not expecting this film to offer so much. It was powerful, interesting, suspenseful, and brilliant. Better than Saw ! I honestly think that this horror flop should not be missed by horror fans. There is plenty of realistic and awesomely perfect gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinJ.Jul 12, 2007
The most shocking thing about this movie is that it's good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Andys_ReviewsSep 8, 2012
A film with a very small cast that has a very claustrophobic feel to much of the action. I have seen it described as just another
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Saw meets Hostel in this entertaining, but painfully predictable film. Elisha Cuthbert is the difference between Captivity and the dozens of lame horror movies produced every year. Don't get me wrong, Captivity is full of gore and has aSaw meets Hostel in this entertaining, but painfully predictable film. Elisha Cuthbert is the difference between Captivity and the dozens of lame horror movies produced every year. Don't get me wrong, Captivity is full of gore and has a ridiculously stupid storyline, but it's not that bad, and Cuthbert is the reason. The veteran actress, best known as Kim Bauer and The Girl Next Door, is very methodical with every move she makes and that really manages to keep your attention. The maze of traps, moving walls, and pitfalls were also really cool, but outside of that and Cuthbert, Captivity is your typical gore fest, with zero character development, and a chilling story that really doesn't make a whole lot of sense. I liked it for the little things, but overall, there's nothing special here, just another lame horror movie, that happened to land the right star. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews