Captivity

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 68
  2. Negative: 32 out of 68

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KeithJ
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on due to complaints it promotes violence against women. The movie does not suck the way they claim, it's political. That said, I think the movie pulls too many punches. It goes to the limit but it doesn't cross the limit ... and at the end, it I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on due to complaints it promotes violence against women. The movie does not suck the way they claim, it's political. That said, I think the movie pulls too many punches. It goes to the limit but it doesn't cross the limit ... and at the end, it pulls back even from that. It's as if they lost their nerve halfway through. There is a deep vein of darkness and fear inside us that this movie could have mined, but instead, it just took a core sample. Collapse
  2. JaredC.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Very good movie. Way unexpected.
  3. stevev.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    This movie sucks. Anything that can make Saw look good has to be immensely shite.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    I dont like this movie. Its quiet boring with a standart twist in the middle of the film. And iam disappointed that there is not much gore or splatter. I wanted a movie that is a torture porn movie and not a teenager movie. Saw and hostel by far better that this.
  5. TurnerS.
    Jul 13, 2007
    7
    The movie was more than I expected. It really had on feeling glad that it's just a movie, and not real...way to go!!!
  6. RichardF.
    Jul 16, 2007
    1
    This movies goes for pure shock value and fails on all levels. A must miss.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Wow! I was not expecting this film to offer so much. It was powerful, interesting, suspenseful, and brilliant. Better than Saw ! I honestly think that this horror flop should not be missed by horror fans. There is plenty of realistic and awesomely perfect gore.
  8. KevinJ.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    The most shocking thing about this movie is that it's good.
  9. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    A film with a very small cast that has a very claustrophobic feel to much of the action. I have seen it described as just another
  10. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    Saw meets Hostel in this entertaining, but painfully predictable film. Elisha Cuthbert is the difference between Captivity and the dozens of lame horror movies produced every year. Don't get me wrong, Captivity is full of gore and has a ridiculously stupid storyline, but it's not that bad, and Cuthbert is the reason. The veteran actress, best known as Kim Bauer and The Girl Next Door, isSaw meets Hostel in this entertaining, but painfully predictable film. Elisha Cuthbert is the difference between Captivity and the dozens of lame horror movies produced every year. Don't get me wrong, Captivity is full of gore and has a ridiculously stupid storyline, but it's not that bad, and Cuthbert is the reason. The veteran actress, best known as Kim Bauer and The Girl Next Door, is very methodical with every move she makes and that really manages to keep your attention. The maze of traps, moving walls, and pitfalls were also really cool, but outside of that and Cuthbert, Captivity is your typical gore fest, with zero character development, and a chilling story that really doesn't make a whole lot of sense. I liked it for the little things, but overall, there's nothing special here, just another lame horror movie, that happened to land the right star. Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Torture junkies should remember it’s only four months to Saw IV -- so you can afford to avoid Captivity.
  2. The end result doesn't even satisfy on its own sleazy terms. Not only does it lack the satirical nihilism of the "Hostel" films or the admittedly clever torture machinations of the "Saw" series, it doesn't even provide its target young male audience with the requisite nudity.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    Destined to be better remembered for its grisly billboard imagery than for its relatively tame torture-porn tropes, Captivity is a thoroughly nasty piece of work that nonetheless earns credit for generating modest suspense after a predictable but effective plot twist around the 50-minute mark.