Captivity

Captivity Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Top cover girl and fashion model, Jennifer Tree has it all - beauty, fame, money and power. She is loved and adored and sought after. But someone out there wants her in the worst way. Out alone at a charity event in Soho, Jennifer is drugged and taken.
    Held captive in a cell, Jennifer is
    Top cover girl and fashion model, Jennifer Tree has it all - beauty, fame, money and power. She is loved and adored and sought after. But someone out there wants her in the worst way. Out alone at a charity event in Soho, Jennifer is drugged and taken.
    Held captive in a cell, Jennifer is subjected to a series of terrifying, life-threatening tortures that could only be conceived by a twisted, sadistic mind. (After Dark Films)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Roland Joffé creates a visually interesting and aurally unsettling vibe, and the story from B-movie maestro Larry Cohen keeps it simple.
  2. 50
    Quite possibly the final word on a much-maligned genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Torture junkies should remember it’s only four months to Saw IV -- so you can afford to avoid Captivity.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    25
    Thoroughly irritating little film.
  5. 25
    Captivity is torture porn without the sex. Cuthbert squirms, screams, weeps and pleads for her life with great conviction. Slick, sick sleaze.
  6. A lurid thriller that marks a new career low for both director Roland Joffé (The Killing Fields, The Mission) and co-screenwriter Larry Cohen (Phone Booth, It's Alive).
  7. 0
    Captivity is the kind of film that gives torture porn a bad name.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. JaredC.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Very good movie. Way unexpected.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Wow! I was not expecting this film to offer so much. It was powerful, interesting, suspenseful, and brilliant. Better than Saw ! I honestly Wow! I was not expecting this film to offer so much. It was powerful, interesting, suspenseful, and brilliant. Better than Saw ! I honestly think that this horror flop should not be missed by horror fans. There is plenty of realistic and awesomely perfect gore. Collapse
  3. KevinJ.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    The most shocking thing about this movie is that it's good.
  4. KeithJ
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on I think the movie has a lot of material to mine, most of which it doesn't mine. The negative professional reviews are people piling on due to complaints it promotes violence against women. The movie does not suck the way they claim, it's political. That said, I think the movie pulls too many punches. It goes to the limit but it doesn't cross the limit ... and at the end, it pulls back even from that. It's as if they lost their nerve halfway through. There is a deep vein of darkness and fear inside us that this movie could have mined, but instead, it just took a core sample. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    A film with a very small cast that has a very claustrophobic feel to much of the action. I have seen it described as just another
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    I dont like this movie. Its quiet boring with a standart twist in the middle of the film. And iam disappointed that there is not much gore orI dont like this movie. Its quiet boring with a standart twist in the middle of the film. And iam disappointed that there is not much gore or splatter. I wanted a movie that is a torture porn movie and not a teenager movie. Saw and hostel by far better that this. Expand
  7. stevev.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    This movie sucks. Anything that can make Saw look good has to be immensely shite.

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.