Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Carrie White, a sheltered high school girl, unleashes her newly developed telekinetic powers after she is pushed too far by her peers.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Oct 17, 2013
    88
    Long before the blood starts spilling, it’s clear the new team has mostly nailed it. The reboot is as good a Carrie remake as possible, though it’s not truly a scary movie; the film takes its time living up to its R rating.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    If you're going to take another stab at this tale of a taunted, traumatized teen who exacts fiery revenge on, well, everyone, then Kimberly Peirce is the director to do it.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Oct 18, 2013
    67
    Peirce is gifted, but she lacks the ability of directors like DePalma to transform schlock into something deeply personal.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Oct 17, 2013
    60
    If De Palma’s version was one part adolescent dream, three parts nightmare, with a sly streak of satire running through it, Peirce’s is a more earnest yet still engrossing take on the story that should connect with contemporary teens. At the very least it might send fledgling horror buffs scurrying to their Netflix queues to watch a vintage masterpiece of the genre.
  5. 50
    So yes, even if you know how this story goes, there are moments that work wickedly well in between the needlessly drawn out ones, by which I mean the entire, predictable third act.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    Despite the talent involved and the notoriety of the source material, Carrie feels strangely small, even television-sized.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Oct 17, 2013
    25
    In focusing on predominately kid-gloves portrayals of her teen players, Kimberly Peirce never properly addresses the machinery behind their doom, which is why the film is relentlessly lifeless when it's not literally ripping off De Palma shot-for-shot.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 112
  2. Negative: 34 out of 112
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of CarrieI already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of Carrie throughout the movie and then she snaps and when she does it is intense I loved it! The only thing negative was that by the end I loved the intensity so much that I was craving for more! All in all a 10 out of 10! Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    I am giving this rating based off of this movie standing alone not compared to the original. I loved the original and this one was also veryI am giving this rating based off of this movie standing alone not compared to the original. I loved the original and this one was also very good. My only complaint is comparing this one to the original, that is they are nearly 99% identical and if you saw the first one absolutely nothing will be new or exciting. Its a tough choice for me because I wanted something new but similar and what I got was a great carbon copy. This is more for new watchers or someone who wanted to see the movie a second time. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Firstly, let me say that I have never seen the 1976 version of the film. Therefore, I feel I am relatively objective in my review of theFirstly, let me say that I have never seen the 1976 version of the film. Therefore, I feel I am relatively objective in my review of the movie.

    Well, this movie's plot isn't entirely hard to follow. It tells a simple story, but is very effective. Chloë Grace Moretz who plays "Carrie White" the movies main character, did an excellent job. The movie's dialogue, sound effects, and special effects were all very well done, as well as the camera work. Only a pretentious snob would not be impressed by this movie. It was very well done. Gabriella Wilde did an excellent job as "Sue Snell" and Judy Greer did a great job as Miss Desjardin.

    Again, I have never seen the original, but the only critics who would bash this movie are those from the camp of, "It didn't live up to the original." Trust me, this movie is well worth the price of admission. It's not an all-time classic, and it wasn't "scary" in the typical sense of a horror movie, but it was very well done.
    Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    The first half of Kimberly Peirce's "Carrie" couldn't decide whether it wanted to be a horror movie or a "b*tches-go-to-prom" movie, and thisThe first half of Kimberly Peirce's "Carrie" couldn't decide whether it wanted to be a horror movie or a "b*tches-go-to-prom" movie, and this made both side lacking. The second half was a fairly satisfying retributionfest except for an incredibly stupid final ten seconds. I went into Carrie expecting a scary movie and I didn't get one. Maybe that's my fault.
    On the plus side, there were good-to-strong performances throughout. I was impressed with Elgort as Tommy and especially with Julianne Moore as Momma White. I would have liked a little more carnage during the rampage, but what I got was enjoyable. I thought some of the cinematography was awfully cool, and as said before Julianne Moore was excellent as the mom, but all the pluses just made me wish it were a better film.

    tl;dr: The two sides of the first half foiled one another and the second half was merely passable. The really good aspects just couldn't make up for an ultimately floundering effort.
    Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horrorI have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie a good review must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change.I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2014
    3
    Why the didn't cast unknown actress to play Carrie White ?, i think they cast Chloe Grace Moretz because all the people loves the movieWhy the didn't cast unknown actress to play Carrie White ?, i think they cast Chloe Grace Moretz because all the people loves the movie Kick-Ass, and that is a pity there are so many unknown actress in hollywood who like to play that role. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    Any movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is justAny movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is just too weird to feel any sympathy for, the question is: why the remake, if the original is just so much better ? Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Trailers