Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2011
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 397 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
162
Mixed:
154
Negative:
81
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Jul 15, 2011
I'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun actionI'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun action movie, and the movie does a great job of doing so. If you don't like that, go watch something else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJul 13, 2011
Cars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice workCars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice work is great. Do not listen to the critics... that is one of the first times I will say it. Cars 2 is a fantastic movie, that you should not miss out on. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMachineJul 12, 2011
Definitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-downDefinitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-down animated anthropomorphic spy movie. It didn't really have that feel for cars anymore. Since lightning McQueen became more of a side character and mater became the head of the movie, it was almost like watching a different movie. Criticisms are that the bad guys weren't convincing and the plot was pretty messy. It sort of lacked that Pixar charm. Overall, though, go. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FinnaticJul 10, 2011
More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags,More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags, and silliness to keep most anyone entertained. The use of 3D is smart and not in any way distracting from the story or artistic direction of the movie. I always come out of a Pixar film feeling like I got my money's worth, and this one is no exception. The short film that precedes the feature is just plain satisfying, as well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
scrieciuJul 6, 2011
I heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leadingI heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leading role. I wasn't expecting that at all. But he was really annoying, especially when it's voiced by Larry the Cable Guy. This is probably one of the worst Pixar movies, including the first one. But why did they made a sequel to '' Cars " ? Why they didn't to that to a good Pixar movie, like '' Monsters, Inc. '' for example ? It bothers me a little. After seeing how terrible and boring '' Cars '' was, I would have never thought that they will make an other one. At least '' Cars 2 '' was more enjoyable. Also, I liked the fact that the world of Cars resembles our world. The animators did a good job on that. I liked how the makers made the cars holding a gun and stuff like that. Yes, there's action scenes with guns, which was way to violent for children. The imagination was there, but not the elements necessary to make a good and noticeable Pixar movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
pwnstarJul 5, 2011
This is a good movie, not a great movie. The first one is better but this one is still fun to watch especially if you watched the first one. It may not be Pixars best movies but people who enjoyed the first one should see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
Lightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gainLightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gain back his friend's trust while trying to foil an evil professor's scheme. I was shocked to see the negative reviews it had from the critics, so I'm going to disagree with them by saying that this movie is as good as the first. What can I say about it? Acting...fantastic Animation...well done Action...very impressive Comedy...funny as h*ll The only problem that I had with the movie was the pacing because it was so rushed with no reason. Cars 2 is Pixar's amazing sequel to a good movie. Keep up the work, guys. 8/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
rucknrunJul 5, 2011
We didn't make it to the end of the movie. My daughter was so bored she was running around. We had to leave and that did not bother me. I guess I will get it when it comes out on DVD but I am glad I did not pay for 3D.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
RicochetPhoenixJul 2, 2011
It is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only existsIt is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only exists for Disney to sell more toy cars to children. It's a shame, too, because Pixar is better than this. Cars 1 was average at best and by far the worst of Pixar's outings, yet they are forced to push out a sequel to it instead of more deserving films like The Incredibles. This film just shouldn't have been done and hopefully there will never be a Cars 3 because I don't want Pixar's legacy to be tainted further. Avoid this one. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
AlnORTIZJul 2, 2011
I went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. TheI went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. The voice actors did a fine job and the story is predictable. This is slightly better than Cars and my only real gripe is how this film should have been PG because it's actually really violent for a kids movie! But this film is alright for what it is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
CaptiosusJul 1, 2011
This movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adultsThis movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks Animation movies that tried to copy Pixar's style rather than an actual Pixar film. All in all, it felt like a cash grab that purposely misled customers through their ads by not telling us that Mater was the lead in this film - not Lightning McQueen as the ads portrayed. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
JonathanMorganJun 30, 2011
There are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but IThere are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogue for the first movie. The spy story line was fun for the first scene but quickly transformed into a pointless story line for the only purpose of giving Mater more screen time and creating situations that he can act "wacky" in. The movie also attempts to cover up the fact that it was made for money by making some half-assed message about friendship. However, the animation is great, which is no surprise for Pixar, so the whole movie is far from being ugly like some other animated movies (Gnomeo and Juliet for example). Some parts are enjoyable, and I wasn't quite depressed until I got out of the theater and stopped trying to create excuses for the film because it's Pixar. I hope Brave and Monsters University is better than this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
myfajahas400Jun 29, 2011
I don't understand the negative reviews. This movie was great! Sure it wasn't as good as PIXAR's other movies, but I liked it. It was exciting, it was funny. For me, PIXAR's streak stays alive.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
momof3boysJun 28, 2011
Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you
Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you remember that this movie is supposed to be for little kids, they failed tremendously.

I was completely shock with the amount of guns and violence, seriously for a pixar's movie, how can Disney allow this?

As a mom of 3 little boys who adored cars and their whole world and my wallet was all about cars they really messed it up. They were frightened by all the gun power of the first 5 minutes and they were lost in the plot.

Who ever made the plot (probably a James Bond Fan) totally forgot who his target audience was, young children!

Do NOT take your little kids to watch this movie unless they are over 8 probably or take them if you are one of those parents who could care less about the amount of violence their child's watches
The toy story short at the beginning is the only true terrific thing about the movie and the animation, the technical part.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
doughboy74Jun 28, 2011
I don't understand why this has low scores? The movie was great, watched it in 3D with my daughter and we both loved it! The locations, cars & story was great!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
DrGhettoblasterJun 28, 2011
My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount ofMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaJun 27, 2011
Cars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie isCars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from the characters but they will recognize the good story and it's complexities. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
diogoatJun 27, 2011
Very disappointing! Rambo is a kid story compared to this unbelievable Cars 2! If I knew the movie would be so violent I wouldn't take my son to watch it!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
Sime88Jun 27, 2011
Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AgentHeroesJun 27, 2011
Truly the weakest pixar movie.It emphasised on random subplots,it was entertatining but i expected alot more!!! plus there is no racing this time so...yeah
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
8
IronmongerJun 27, 2011
I will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have handsI will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have hands and using front wheels as hands is a stretch. I halfway agree with that, but i still say you can't hate this movie. Go see it once, but I don't know about a second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesJun 27, 2011
I liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does notI liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't liked (although "Up" was barely acceptable for me). There is a 5 minute short before the movie featuring the Toy Story characters, and it is better than the feature film! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
jdxah123Jun 27, 2011
When there are parents and children up and walking around the theater literally during the entire movie, you know it's not holding anyone's attention. Most of the best jokes are in the movie trailer. We were very disappointed.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
RicshawJun 26, 2011
I liked this one. I thought it was actually better than the first, which I enjoyed as well. I can't quite figure out why this is being called the worst Pixar film to date. Pixar films are kind of like Bond films- even the bad ones areI liked this one. I thought it was actually better than the first, which I enjoyed as well. I can't quite figure out why this is being called the worst Pixar film to date. Pixar films are kind of like Bond films- even the bad ones are still OK movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
antenaJun 26, 2011
Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure,Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure, if you don't like Mater's schtick it will get tiring, but the spy stuff is great -- especially if you're a 007 fan -- and the movie expands the "Cars" universe beyond Radiator Springs. Funny, too. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Soes72Jun 26, 2011
To all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down toTo all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down to it, they're movies are made for children. I just have to laugh at how people can be angry over a movie that is about talking CARS. Are you also going to tell me that movie is just too unrealistic!? When you see this movie, you should judge it by your children's faces afterwards and not by your issues with the plot or anything else. My 5-1/2 and 4 year old boys LOVED this movie and SO DID I! We will go see it again and I have no doubt it will be even better the second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
ReviewlationsJun 26, 2011
Pixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail givenPixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail given to the first film. With cutout facsimiles of the original characters, an overly complex, confusing and dialogue besieging plot, and devoid of the heart and wit found in every other Pixar movie, I look forward to the documentary made to reveal the truth about how this awful train wreck of a movie came to be. Unbelievably disappointing. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
genxmoviegoerJun 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Car 2, a John Lasseter film. This piece of crap does not deserve to where the Pixar label. The only redeeming quality of the film was the incredible location artwork. Lasseter vilifies the very industry that supplies the raw materials used to make all the plastic toys they hoped to sell. Pixar should not bother with Incredibles 2 if it will receive the same treatment. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
utmamJun 25, 2011
There is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if youThere is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if you hate Larry the Cable Guy, you probably will hate the movie as he gets about 80% of the screen time. There are a lot of things that kids will not get, but both of my daughters, 7 and 4, enjoyed it. It got a few chuckles out of me, and parts of it were pretty good. I actually really enjoyed how Pixar poked a little good natured fun at the James Bond franchise while trying to weave a story kids will enjoy. Still, rent it on DVD when it comes out, don't spend your money at a theatre to see this. As to the people who say the animation is terrible, I think you might have seen a different movie. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was blown away by the animation. The street scenes, racing scenes, and backgrounds are amazing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
filmtrashreviewJun 25, 2011
I don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes areI don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes are only funny for a little while then they just become borderline retarded. Don't ever waste your money on such a horrible film. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
jacksparrow1234Jun 25, 2011
This movie was ok. Though I didn't think that the whole espionage story didn't really fit into the whole cars movie thing other than that it was fine. But I expected a little better on the story.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
guardian210Jun 25, 2011
I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good forI'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience. Mater (voice by Larry the Cable Guy) makes the movie funny, going into the ladies room in japan, mistaking wasabe ice cream and going gonzo with the voice activated disguise machine is adds to the enjoyment of the movie. Love how they brought in popular T.V. shows in with The F/v Northwestern (Crabby, voice by Capt. Sig Hansen) . A message to those of you who didn't like this movie, "don't get your prop in a twist," and go see the movie again. " Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaParadisoJun 25, 2011
How can someone not compare the sequels and in that department , part 2 does not make the cut with part 1. Where Cars 1 was funny and great in its character building department, Cars 2 puts too much emphasize on the secret agent plot,How can someone not compare the sequels and in that department , part 2 does not make the cut with part 1. Where Cars 1 was funny and great in its character building department, Cars 2 puts too much emphasize on the secret agent plot, forgetting that some of the best moments in part 1 were the quiet and thoughtful moments. It is still enjoyable and makes for some fun-filled 2 hours, but it won't stick as much and I am not sure making Mater the number 1 character really worked. Overall still a positive score as it is so well made , with tons of great animation ideas. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ZabbotJun 25, 2011
[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies.[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

[child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that perspective is an entirely great movie. Lots of action, bright colors, and funny characters. From the child's perspective I'd estimate this movie would hit around about an 8. Thus, my score is the average of the two rounded down to the nearest number.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
J-DubJun 25, 2011
Every great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't knowEvery great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't know how anyone could miss it. The movie does rehash some action, comedy and spy movie conventions, but what it also does is keep you invested in the characters - especially Mater. I never knew I could care so much for a rusty old tow truck! I think that anyone with an open mind to culture and diversity will embrace Mater as the lead, and invest in his character arc. In my opinion, the critics who are giving this movie poor reviews are not only missing the point, but are being left in the dust by John Lasseter's craft. Not every movie has to be Wall-E (which I ADORE) or some pretentious, art-house bag of air to have innovation, heart, soul and intelligence. Cars 2 is another milestone for Pixar. Go see Cars 2 and be a kid again... and an adult. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
meetacriticJun 25, 2011
As an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this oneAs an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this one officially breaks their magic streak. They took all the heart and artistry of the first movie, and just chucked it out the window on their way to cashing in on all the merchandising possibilities. Owen Wilson may as well have not even shown up, because McQueen is relegated to a minor character in this film, as Mater becomes the centerpiece of a ridiculous (and almost completely unfunny) spy plot. Many reviewers have commented this was aimed at younger audiences than the first film, but no children's animated film you will see this year (or possibly ever) does more to glorify gun violence.
Occasional glimmers of humor and clever touches are eclipsed by a bewildering, written-by-committee plot that tries to do too much and accomplishes too little.
Upon leaving my 5 year-old son asked me "What was that movie about...?" I honestly couldn't answer him.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
3
WeAreOneJun 24, 2011
Terribly disappointing. Very little attention paid to the characters or the animation. Clearly a money grab. Avoid this movie at all cost, the studio should pay for the crap they have delivered.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
6
FalindrithJun 24, 2011
Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that theLet's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year, rather than focusing on quality, which is quite honestly, a disturbing trend. It shows in the movie as well. The story is a blend of a spy movie with the normal Pixar themes of "don't ditch your friends" etc. The spy sections work well. The normal Pixar themes feel forced and unnatural in the context of the plot. Mater has his moments, but is not a strong enough or deep enough character to carry the movie and ended up being very annoying towards the middle of the film. The animation is as always fantastic, the sets were awesome, the water physics are getting much better, can't complain much there. That being said, Cars 2 is still a pretty fun ride. But it definitely wasn't given the attention that it desperately needed. Hopefully Pixar's just saving it for Brave, their next original movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticJun 24, 2011
There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun toThere are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
4
Bullet97Jun 24, 2011
I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and funI thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring, thrown together, and hollow, and the whole movie is just a very mediocre and boring animated movie. C'mon Pixar. You're better than this crap. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
doesitmatterJun 24, 2011
a loving comedy but its dumb why pixar u dazzle us with ur crative mind but not anymore i rather say go see KUNG FU PANDA 2 then this. this should be uses as a punishment than a gift
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
SelaphielJun 24, 2011
This film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has madeThis film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. They are, after all, a business. They're in it for the money. But they should seriously at least attempt to retain their artistic integrity. Since Cars, Pixar released not only their four greatest films, but four of the greatest animated films ever made. They broke their streak with this film. They're artistic geniuses, they're capable of so much more, yet they squander it on this trash. They sacrifice their honor in the name of the all-mighty dollar. So take your kids to see this piece of filth, buy them their Cars toys and backpacks and lunchboxes. Contribute to the artistic downfall of the greatest animation studio ever. This is a terrible film. I gave it an honest chance because Toy Story 3 was a sequel that outdid both of the previous films, proving Pixar can pull of cashgrabs while making a quality film, but this is a piece of trash. If Brave doesn't prove they can continue the quality we saw in movies like Wall-E and Up, I honestly will lose all faith in Pixar. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
10
ShaZayum1993Jun 24, 2011
I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better,I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better, but still loved Cars 2. Ignore the losers on Rotten Tomatoes! Cars 2 is definitely worth seeing (maybe even twice)! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
pisces4200Jun 24, 2011
Read some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as goodRead some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. This time around the movie was more centered around Mator rather than Mcqueen. I am going to go against the grain here and say that the plot and storyline were well laid out and put together quite well. If you like Pixar and the first cars movie, there is no reason you will not like this movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
4
HfahmyJun 24, 2011
Big mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended forBig mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have the two hours gone, but very slowly, boringly. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
DDtcsJun 24, 2011
A plot somewhat long and boring, something that would use as a punishment in case my children do something wrong. Expecting much more than this sequel, very bad pixar.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews