User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 323
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    2
    Surprisingly, Cars 2 manages to be better than the first Cars by an iota. The scenes are still cheesy and unnecessarily long, and the story is a bore. Skip it.
  2. May 13, 2012
    5
    I personally believed that a sequel to Cars would be unnecessary, but Pixar's Toy Story movies have had fantastic sequels so I figured this one would be good, and I wasn't exactly wrong kids are going to love it but older audiences aren't and given Pixar's reputation of creating fantastic animated movies that both kids and adults love makes this disappointing. It's pretty funny evenI personally believed that a sequel to Cars would be unnecessary, but Pixar's Toy Story movies have had fantastic sequels so I figured this one would be good, and I wasn't exactly wrong kids are going to love it but older audiences aren't and given Pixar's reputation of creating fantastic animated movies that both kids and adults love makes this disappointing. It's pretty funny even throwing in a few laugh out loud moments, and seeing you favorite characters from Cars return is welcome, I didn't find the plot or new spy theme interesting, and Pixar took an appalling turn by adding killing to the movie so cautious parents beware. Like I said before kids are going to love it for it's humor and returning characters, but older audiences are going to be disappointed with it's bland and predictable story and spy setting, and upset/shocked at the killing in it, but respect it for keeping they're kids entertained and it's lesson on friendship, all in all not the worst but not the best, and a huge disappointment for Pixar fans. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    The movie is overly creative with a complex story-telling that is not quite for the kids to understand. I know that Pixar can do better, and I hope they will.
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    cars two was a better sequel . everything is just like the 50's like james bond . but people and critics hated it it is 99 % true it does suck . but i hope there's not a cars 3 . larry the cable as matter is gay that's not an a opinion it is true
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Cars 2 is basically the first Cars with a sprinkle of The Fast and the Furious. This was an experiment that Pixar has never done before and I respect that. Just because Cars 2 isn't a heartwarming Toy Story 3 doesn't mean that it is bad. Cars 2 breaks the overused tradition of other Pixar films and thats why I don't think it is as bad as the critics say it is.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    Lightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gain back his friend's trust while trying to foil an evil professor's scheme. I was shocked to see the negative reviews it had from the critics, so I'mLightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gain back his friend's trust while trying to foil an evil professor's scheme. I was shocked to see the negative reviews it had from the critics, so I'm going to disagree with them by saying that this movie is as good as the first. What can I say about it? Acting...fantastic Animation...well done Action...very impressive Comedy...funny as h*ll The only problem that I had with the movie was the pacing because it was so rushed with no reason. Cars 2 is Pixar's amazing sequel to a good movie. Keep up the work, guys. 8/10 Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    Okay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And um where is all the heart Cars had which got it all the good reviews. Hmm Pixar can we trust you. And most of all making another Cars means that this franchise has no place in the other world that Pixar has created. Which makes it the moreOkay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And um where is all the heart Cars had which got it all the good reviews. Hmm Pixar can we trust you. And most of all making another Cars means that this franchise has no place in the other world that Pixar has created. Which makes it the more disappointing. I give this film a 32% of a good movie. Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Compared to this movie, 'Cars' is all realistic and seems possible. I suspect it's because this sequel is so convoluted that's the biggest laugh you can get out the whole film. Mater is the only interesting thing, as I found every other car annoying. 'Cars' should have stayed within the range of simple anthropomorphic vehicles, not anthropomorphic spy cars.
  9. Aug 5, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A VHS copy of the musical "Hello, Dolly" is the robot's most-prized possession. "WALL-E", a lonely earthbound portable garbage compactor, makes a recording of the duet "It Only Takes a Moment" because the song moves him, inspiring the machine to hold his own hand, in imitation of the characters who have fallen for each other, from a long-ago past when the planet was habitable. Nothing green grows on earth anymore. The detritus of human civilization, bearing a color scheme that's nearly monochromatic in its brownness, is all that's left. Overrun by trash, entire populations boarded vast spaceships, leaving WALL-E behind with the endless job of minimizing waste into stacked cubes, while the planetary refugees floated around space in what are, essentially, movable countries, displaced indefinitely from their homes. But what does hardware know about love? How can something made out of microprocessors and integrated circuits develop a consciousness? At what point in time did "it" evolve and become a "he"? It's only a matter of time before robots like Eve(as in Adam &) supplant a human race made morbidly obese by generation upon generation of insentient living. Whereas "WALL-E" presents a dystopian take on our extrapolated planet that's easily identifiable, "Cars 2"(and "Cars"), obscures the nightmarish elements of a four-wheeled society through the audience's supposition that this largely inorganic world is an alternate one. Under closer scrutiny, "Cars" starts to look more and more Cronenberg-ian, in which the pornography of auto fetishism in "Crash" actually gets put into practice. Let's meet the Flintstones again. Similar to the animated series, with its parodic names like Rock Quarry and Cary Granite to corroborate the Jurassic Period setting, both films use car-centric names(Bob Cutlass, Brent Mustangburger) as a means of harmonizing its metal beings with this variant earth. But when it comes to places, in which Bedford becomes Bedrock, the conversion process stalls in "Cars 2" stalls, leaving the names of Paris, Tokyo, and London in its original incarnation, and furthermore, the landmarks of the cities(for instance, the Eiffel Tower) remain unaltered. Where are we, exactly? In "Planet of the Apes", the astronaut learns that he traveled across time, not space, when he discovers Lady Liberty in ruins, decapitated and rusting, along the shoreline of what turns out to be the Atlantic Ocean. Dr. Zaius' best efforts to perpetuate the long-standing notion of simian superiority is undermined by a chimpanzee, the archaeologist Cornelius, who unearths artifacts which proves that apes evolved from man during his cave excavations in the forbidden zone. "Cars" shares with "Planet of the Apes" the same conspiracy: the suppression of evolution. While remaining silent on the subject of man, despite the cars' admission that dinosaurs existed, they give themselves away, therefore deeming full disclosure of the timeline a moot point. Unlike Dreamworks, whose "Shrek" films employ a lot of pop culture references, Pixar avoids such anachronisms(the post-modernism of pastiche) yet in "Cars", Kenny G.'s "Songbird" scores a cheap laugh when a car gang puts Mack to sleep with the easy-listening jazz, causing the truck to lose his precious cargo(Lightning McQueen). This instrumental, like the videotape in "Wall-E", proves that man existed. Quite possibly, he's the missing link. Bolstering this theory, a VW bus, an auto-hippie, without any spoofing appellation, names Hendrix, after a military jeep voices his displeasure with the metalized version of "The Star-Spangled Banner". This is our earth, not some near-identical equivalent, like the one in the Tim Burton remake, where the film ends with a man staring aghast at the Lincoln Memorial, augmented with ape-like features. These cars are partly human. Vestiges of their humanity can be glimpsed in their faces. In addition to the eyes, Lightning has a tongue, while Mater sports buckteeth like a hayseed. And somewhere in the recesses of their "brains", these evolved vehicles remember sex. In "Cars", Mater throws Lightning into a homosexual panic as the tow-truck uses his hook on the auto racing car's undercarriage(read; sodomy). Likewise, the spy in "Cars 2", as suggested by the double entendre inherent in the name Holly Shiftswell, denotes a woman who was mustard in the sack. Unlike "Planet of the Apes", perhaps the conspiracy is an extra-diegetic one. In "Cars", Sally waxes nostalgic about Radiator Springs in the fifties. This history runs concurrently with the our timeline. What if she's lying? What if the conspiracy is the film itself, in which the narrators, both omniscient and first-person are fallible? In the climactic race for the coveted Piston Cup("Cars"), a blimp hanging over the stadium reads "Light Year". It's a clue. Exactly what year is it in this planet of the cars? Maybe these aren't Anno Domini times. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2011
    3
    Cars wasn't Pixar's finest hour but it had style, it was still clever, with some fantastically funny moments. It also had a novelty factor working in its favour. Cars 2 doesn't have that to fall back on and because it lacks the heart of the first its just a shell of a movie.
    Cars 2 represents an amalgam of recycled jokes, ideas and images from every other film that came before it and
    Cars wasn't Pixar's finest hour but it had style, it was still clever, with some fantastically funny moments. It also had a novelty factor working in its favour. Cars 2 doesn't have that to fall back on and because it lacks the heart of the first its just a shell of a movie.
    Cars 2 represents an amalgam of recycled jokes, ideas and images from every other film that came before it and because of that you feel empty after having seen it, as if you went to a nice restaurant expecting a big piece of meat but instead you got a salad.
    Cars 2 moves away from the original in favour of turning the franchise into a comedy spy thriller, because that always works out so well (Get Smart, Johnny English 1 & 2). The introduction of Michael Caine's Finn McMissile does add an element of humour and entertainment but the fact that the film concentrates more on Mater (Larry the Cable Guy) than Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) seemed like a good idea but it eventually grates. Overall by moving away from Cars in favour of making the 2nd film more lively it has taken away some of the things that really did make Cars enjoyable.
    Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    In isolation Cars 2 will not have won over new audience, but should have tickled the audience of the first outing enough to long for a 3rd instalment.
  12. Jun 27, 2011
    5
    I liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't likedI liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't liked (although "Up" was barely acceptable for me). There is a 5 minute short before the movie featuring the Toy Story characters, and it is better than the feature film! Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    Cars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this is good but I’m not really sure what they were thinking. I’m as baffled as the cars in the movie were when McQueen moves to the outside lane. The Toy StoryCars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this is good but I’m not really sure what they were thinking. I’m as baffled as the cars in the movie were when McQueen moves to the outside lane. The Toy Story short at the start of the movie was better the film itself. If you’re a kid or a Mater fan you’ll love this movie. However, anyone who believes that Cars 2 will be another masterpiece from Pixar forget it. Cars 2 is a disappointing movie that has made me lose trust in studio that until now has been flawless. Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    This could be the first Pixar movie that disappointed us. Just like all Pixar films, the visuals and effects are stunning, but we have an under-plotted and messy story to go with it.
  15. Mar 12, 2015
    7
    Okay, it was a fairly decent movie. But the dream company, Pixar, didn't add the warmth and feeling. The first I didn't care for much, but it had that love in it. Cars 2 was aesthetically marvelous, but it felt like a small glove. The move didn't feel right. It did not have the Pixas shimmer and secret ingredient, love.
  16. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Very good sequel to a great animated film.
  17. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    This was OK, but a serious let down from the first! Watching this was hard, cause I wanted to like it after watching the first, but like others have said, this was a money grab.I guess I wasn't surprised cause I did wonder what could they possibly do with a second part. Sadly they had no clue just like me.
  18. Dec 24, 2014
    5
    Admittedly impressive on animation level, but annoying and uninspiring on storytelling and dialogue, this Pixar sequel induces some laughs and little else.
  19. Apr 24, 2015
    4
    It’s never easy coping with the death of an icon, especially for a franchise as intimately associated with that icon as Cars was with Paul Newman. Yet in a shocking miscalculation, the usually brilliant folks over at Pixar coped with Newman’s death in the stupidest possible way—by transforming John Lasseter’s shiny love letter to the automobile into an unabashed vehicle for the hayseedIt’s never easy coping with the death of an icon, especially for a franchise as intimately associated with that icon as Cars was with Paul Newman. Yet in a shocking miscalculation, the usually brilliant folks over at Pixar coped with Newman’s death in the stupidest possible way—by transforming John Lasseter’s shiny love letter to the automobile into an unabashed vehicle for the hayseed comedy stylings of Larry The Cable Guy. Larry The Cable Guy’s hillbilly tow truck Mater must have sold a lot of toys and played like gangbusters for focus-group respondents, because Cars 2 makes the vehicular redneck its proud centerpiece. That leaves Owen Wilson, the film’s ostensible star, to fret about the state of his relationship with his best friend Mater. Itchy & Scratchy Studios didn’t push Poochie on audiences the way Cars 2 does Mater.

    Cars 2 sends Mater and Wilson’s Lightning McQueen on a globe-trotting trek to compete in an international Grand Prix that doubles as a showcase for an amazing new wonder-fuel. In Europe, Mater unwittingly lives out the plot of The Man Who Knew Too Little when he gets entangled in a web of intrigue involving a James Bond-style car voiced by Michael Caine and his more-than-capable associate Holley Shiftwell. Yes, in Cars 2, Mater even gets the girl.

    The first Cars was pitched at a much younger audience than the rest of Pixar’s oeuvre; the sequel is pitched even more directly at an even younger audience. It’s difficult to insert scatological humor into a film devoid of human bodily functions, but Cars 2 nevertheless manages to smuggle some in via Mater “leaking fluids” and at one point ending up in a lavatory truck. Cars 2 is so enraptured with Larry The Cable Guy’s persona that it even has Mater spout the comedian’s catchphrases, though the more Mater insists something is just funny right there, the less funny it becomes. This being Pixar, Cars 2 looks fantastic, but the studio has never given audiences—especially audiences over the age of 10—less reason to be emotionally invested in the beautiful shiny things flying across the screen.

    (Preceding the film is a clever short from the Toy Story universe involving Ken and Barbie’s crudely improvised Hawaiian vacation. This provides an unflattering reminder of what a really good Pixar sequel looks like.)
    Expand
  20. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun action movie, and the movie does a great job of doing so. If you don't like that, go watch something else.
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Cars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from theCars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from the characters but they will recognize the good story and it's complexities. Expand
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    Finally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it. It was good but it definitely is at the bottom of my list of pixar films. I went in with low expectations and i wasnt disappointed. Ive been a huge Pixar fan, but never a big cars fan, the first one was at the bottom of my pixar list and now theFinally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it. It was good but it definitely is at the bottom of my list of pixar films. I went in with low expectations and i wasnt disappointed. Ive been a huge Pixar fan, but never a big cars fan, the first one was at the bottom of my pixar list and now the second one is there. This movie was decent ill give it that. I cant say it was a disappointment because you'd have to expect something in order to be disappointed and i didnt expect much because i never really liked cars and i didnt like the fact that they made a sequel to my least favorite pixar movie, and they shouldnt have. I know they are making a sequel to monsters inc (my fav pixar film) but that shouldve been thought of first before this, feels like they rushed this one into theatres, dont get me wrong, i did still enjoy it but they couldve spent more time on it and thought of a better storyline. I think alot of people disliked this movie so much because it was released right after toy story 3 which was really good and it set the bar real high for pixar. Anyways i still enjoyed this movie even though im not a cars fan. More like 5.5/10 but ill round it up to 6 because its Pixar. Expand
  23. Jun 14, 2012
    4
    I think Cars is one of the most overrated movies in the Disney/Pixar universe because I thought this was supposed to be an original look for Cars 2 (the same as the original Cars movie), but I find it a little less violent and the James Bond-type spy theme just isn't the type of script or design Pixar has hoped for. I loved how they done Toy Story and all of the critically-acclaimed moviesI think Cars is one of the most overrated movies in the Disney/Pixar universe because I thought this was supposed to be an original look for Cars 2 (the same as the original Cars movie), but I find it a little less violent and the James Bond-type spy theme just isn't the type of script or design Pixar has hoped for. I loved how they done Toy Story and all of the critically-acclaimed movies that we shared and thinking of the great moments since Oscar night arrives. Cars 2 just wasn't in the Oscar picture, it was the first and only movie not to receive an Oscar nomination because of the bad criticism these critics and fans felt. So I'm hoping that Disney/Pixar could put Brave to #1. It's a new year and hopefully they'd better not make the same mistakes as Cars 2 did. Cars 2 is one of the big disappointments of 2011. Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2011
    3
    I have seen all Pixer films and its totally clear to me that this is the worst movie that they made , I can't believe an Pixer film could be this much worst . What did they just do ? The animation was good but the story sucked 100% and it was less funny then any Animation film ever made . The starting was good (when L returned home) but after that all went to hell . Request to Pixer not toI have seen all Pixer films and its totally clear to me that this is the worst movie that they made , I can't believe an Pixer film could be this much worst . What did they just do ? The animation was good but the story sucked 100% and it was less funny then any Animation film ever made . The starting was good (when L returned home) but after that all went to hell . Request to Pixer not to make this mistake ever please . Expand
  25. BKM
    Jul 18, 2011
    6
    While Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as a spy while Lightning McQueen races in the World Grand Prix. This is the first Pixar film that seems geared almost entirely for kids which is a bitWhile Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as a spy while Lightning McQueen races in the World Grand Prix. This is the first Pixar film that seems geared almost entirely for kids which is a bit of a disappointment. Still, there is enough inventiveness and chuckles to makes it a tolerable vieweing experience. Expand
  26. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action,There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Expand
  27. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    You may call it a crime to like "Cars 2", but I truly did. While its storytelling isn't spectacular and has similar elements that has been done before, it has visuals, humor, and well written scenes that somehow make up for it. "Cars 2" is a kid film that isn't shallow and stupid, it's complex and full of fun energy. It could be the worst Pixar film, but it's better than nearlyYou may call it a crime to like "Cars 2", but I truly did. While its storytelling isn't spectacular and has similar elements that has been done before, it has visuals, humor, and well written scenes that somehow make up for it. "Cars 2" is a kid film that isn't shallow and stupid, it's complex and full of fun energy. It could be the worst Pixar film, but it's better than nearly three-fourths of the animated films that come out today. Expand
  28. Jul 14, 2013
    1
    Pixar jamas ha logrado tan bajo desempeño en sus peliculas se supone que pixar se saca las mejores peliculas no las peores una pelicula que destroza la buena reputacion de Cars.
  29. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    Lets start of with the good things. The action sequences are well done and there are a lot of them. And the visuals are top notch. It really does feel like youâ
  30. Oct 3, 2012
    6
    Overall, it is a good animated movie. But this is not what I expect from Pixar. Complicated plot, occasionally cheesy voice acting and surprisingly basic presentation. The animation as always is fantastic. But still, I am very disappointed with Pixar. I expect a lot more from them. I hope they will redeem themselves in their next films.................
  31. Jun 25, 2011
    1
    I don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes are only funny for a little while then they just become borderline retarded. Don't ever waste your money on such a horrible film.
  32. Oct 19, 2014
    6
    Star racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty of potholes, detours and hilarious surprises when Mater gets caught up in an intriguing adventure of hisStar racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty of potholes, detours and hilarious surprises when Mater gets caught up in an intriguing adventure of his own: international espionage. Torn between assisting Lightning McQueen in the high-profile race and towing the line in a top-secret spy mission, Mater’s action-packed journey leads him on an explosive chase through the streets of Japan and Europe, trailed by his friends and watched by the whole world. Adding to the fast-paced fun is a colorful new all-car cast that includes secret agents, menacing villains and international racing competitors. Expand
  33. Oct 31, 2013
    4
    in my opinion thisis the worst film that walt disney pixar has ever made so far,the first movie wasn't so good at all,this second movie is even worst then the first one.
  34. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    I heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leading role. I wasn't expecting that at all. But he was really annoying, especially when it's voiced by Larry the Cable Guy. This is probably one of the worstI heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leading role. I wasn't expecting that at all. But he was really annoying, especially when it's voiced by Larry the Cable Guy. This is probably one of the worst Pixar movies, including the first one. But why did they made a sequel to '' Cars " ? Why they didn't to that to a good Pixar movie, like '' Monsters, Inc. '' for example ? It bothers me a little. After seeing how terrible and boring '' Cars '' was, I would have never thought that they will make an other one. At least '' Cars 2 '' was more enjoyable. Also, I liked the fact that the world of Cars resembles our world. The animators did a good job on that. I liked how the makers made the cars holding a gun and stuff like that. Yes, there's action scenes with guns, which was way to violent for children. The imagination was there, but not the elements necessary to make a good and noticeable Pixar movie. Expand
  35. Aug 9, 2011
    5
    Decent movie but one of Pixar's worst even though it's better than most trash out right now though. It has a few really funny moments that are rare in most animated movies of other studios.
  36. Dec 29, 2014
    4
    There is a little bit of fun to be had, but Cars 2 is a very messy and incoherent film that made the fatal mistake of making the comic relief from the first Cars the main character of this one.
  37. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    Cars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice work is great. Do not listen to the critics... that is one of the first times I will say it. Cars 2 is a fantastic movie, that you should not miss out on.
  38. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    This is sadly Pixar's worst film in terms of the quantity, it loses the special magic that made the original so good for me. It's not one of the worst animated films I've seen, but it's still pretty disappointing seeing this after Toy Story 3. Whilst the film looks gorges, has great action, good racing sequences it still doesn't make up for it's unoriginality.
  39. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring,I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring, thrown together, and hollow, and the whole movie is just a very mediocre and boring animated movie. C'mon Pixar. You're better than this crap. Expand
  40. Jul 11, 2012
    6
    Cars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that it feels disjointed, giving you no time to get adjusted to "Lightning's" storyline, while also at times not giving you enough time to really get intoCars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that it feels disjointed, giving you no time to get adjusted to "Lightning's" storyline, while also at times not giving you enough time to really get into "Mater's" storyline. It's odd that they shifted the focus of the main protagonist to Mater, which, while isn't necessarily bad, some will find it very off-putting. The film is fun, and this is where it holds up, making it a 6/10, also it has a good plot twist that I did not see happening at all. All in all, it's a fun film that shouldn't be overlooked, but it should really be called something like "Cars: it's Materin' Time!" as the story revolves around Mater, giving a fun Spy based film with explosions and everything, but certainly no Pixar masterpiece like we should be getting given their track record. Expand
  41. Apr 1, 2014
    3
    If you could use just one word to describe this film, it is pointless. Just a worthless sequel made with probably some of the weakest story telling ever. There was a lot of cliche things in this film that felt so pointless and stupid; the characters also didn't feel as memorable in this as they did in the first Cars, they just felt bland and also that addition of making Mater like a secretIf you could use just one word to describe this film, it is pointless. Just a worthless sequel made with probably some of the weakest story telling ever. There was a lot of cliche things in this film that felt so pointless and stupid; the characters also didn't feel as memorable in this as they did in the first Cars, they just felt bland and also that addition of making Mater like a secret agent or something, that's just not fitting for the Cars series really when comparing this to the first film. It's a shame that Pixar actually made a film like this, I mean PIXAR! The company that has made so many masterpieces like the Toy Story films, Monsters Inc, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles and Wall-E; now this, Pixar's first film that's only point was just to sell a bunch of toys. I would not recommend this film, after seeing this I was hoping that Pixar would never do something like this again, well apparently they inspired The Planes series, which looks terrible (luckily they are not making those) but it doesn't stop there, Pixar may have pleased a lot of fans announcing The Incredibles 2, but while doing that they also displeased us by announcing Cars 3. This is not Pixar, I remember when every film Pixar made was great and had no intention of just existing just to make money, but to also tell amazing stories. While Pixar isn't completely doomed today (I did like MU), I just wonder if they'll ever make a new film that actually has quality and lives up to their oldest and most classic films. Expand
  42. Jul 3, 2011
    5
    I feel that I need to premise this review with the fact that I'm PIXAR's number one fan. I've loved every picture they've put out. Having said that, they've misstepped here. "Cars" was the worst movie from the PIXAR arsenal, but it was still a very solid film. It, by no means, warranted a sequel. Sadly, "Cars 2" happened anyway, and it's a mess. The plot is overcrowded, the dialogue isI feel that I need to premise this review with the fact that I'm PIXAR's number one fan. I've loved every picture they've put out. Having said that, they've misstepped here. "Cars" was the worst movie from the PIXAR arsenal, but it was still a very solid film. It, by no means, warranted a sequel. Sadly, "Cars 2" happened anyway, and it's a mess. The plot is overcrowded, the dialogue is much less intelligent than other PIXAR works, and the annoying "Mater" has, for some reason been promoted to te leading role (which was a terrible idea). His "aww-shucks" charm wears out fast, and by the end you're just waiting for him to shut his rusted trap. Other than a few witty jabs at global culture, "Cars 2" just isn't very good. (A a side note, the animation is gorgeous. It almost makes up for the crappy writing). Despite this flub, PIXAR is still a brilliant company who has an unprecedented record for quality. We can certainly forgive them for "Cars 2". Expand
  43. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    Big mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have theBig mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have the two hours gone, but very slowly, boringly. Expand
  44. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    Okay, let me re-explain what you probably know; Cars 2 is widely being considered as Pixar's worst. This is true. It's also being widely considered as a bad film. This is not true. I personally believe this is another great film from Pixar, it just plunges a little more into the Dreamworks tub. The story revolves around Mater, rather than Lightning McQueen, a mixed decision in my opinion.Okay, let me re-explain what you probably know; Cars 2 is widely being considered as Pixar's worst. This is true. It's also being widely considered as a bad film. This is not true. I personally believe this is another great film from Pixar, it just plunges a little more into the Dreamworks tub. The story revolves around Mater, rather than Lightning McQueen, a mixed decision in my opinion. On one hand, Lightning McQueen is a bland character, with little personality. And Mater, while much more interesting and defined, is also extremely one dimensional, and that really shows when he becomes the star of the show. Mater is mistaken as an American spy by two secret agents, Flinn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell. Mater then takes part in many missions, while the two secret agents have no idea he's just a regular tow truck. In the meantime, Lightning McQueen is on a World Grand Prix in hopes of beating the **** Francesco. There's a bit more to the plot than this, but that's the gist of it. The film certainly looks like a Pixar film. The animation is easily Pixar's best; appearing more detailed than that of Toy Story 3, and the various race/spy scenes give the movie a chance to show what it can do. Some things look impeccably real (in the last 20 minutes of the film, take a look at the trees). The film sounds like a Pixar movie too. The musical soundtrack is performed masterfully by Michael Giacchino. Also, the voice talents have been selected carefully, just as in all Pixar films. The original voice actors are back (though due to the death of two characters, Fillmore's voice has been replaced and Doc is deceased), though most of them get few appearances. Also, John Ratzenberger (who gets a role in every Pixar film) has an infestimal role in this film: only two lines. So, the film sounds and looks like a Pixar, but it doesn't feel like one. Compared to the other Pixars, the story is weak and disappointing. Also, there is none of the heart and emotion that made the other Pixars so lovable. There's little adult-kid balance, so most parents won't be watching with their kids, which is completely opposite of other Pixars, where parents may enjoy the film more than the kids. I said earlier that this film is more like a Dreamworks movie. This is because of the lack of emotion, the shallow story, and the kid appeal. Even the humor is a little more Dreamworks oriented, a lot of it being roll-your-eyes kind of humor, and there's even some potty humor. That's not to say you won't laugh; there are plenty of amusing bits, but overall, it pales in comparison to Pixar's previous efforts. Concluding, this is Pixar's worst film, hands down. However, it's still a great film, although flawed. It's certainly not a must see like the other Pixars, but it's good enough. Just don't do this to us again, Pixar: I won't be quite as forgiving. Expand
  45. Jul 25, 2011
    3
    You think that Pixar would learn there mistakes with the first one and try to improve it, the answer is no. Not only is the plot rediculous since it takes plot elements from The World is Not Enough and North By Northwest making it the most unoriginal animated feature since Alpha and Omega. it doesn't even bother to develop the characters new and old.
    Another terrible idea is Mater having
    You think that Pixar would learn there mistakes with the first one and try to improve it, the answer is no. Not only is the plot rediculous since it takes plot elements from The World is Not Enough and North By Northwest making it the most unoriginal animated feature since Alpha and Omega. it doesn't even bother to develop the characters new and old.
    Another terrible idea is Mater having more screen time. I mean c'mon he had more screen time in those Mater shorts. It tries to do a spoof of the spy genre but the jokes are to predictible and makes it looked like it was made in the sixties. Not even the supporting actors like Michael Caine (who's probably having nightmares of his experience in Jaws 4) and Emily Mortimer can save this from being overshadowed by another animated sequel (Kung Fu Panda 2) which I rather rewatch than see this again.
    While Toy Story had great sequels thanks to great plots and character development, this you could considered as the black sheep of the Pixar canon.
    Expand
  46. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    This movie is a total cash in. Worst Pixar movie. The great thing about Pixar movies is that they appeal to a wide audience, but not this movie. If you have kids under 5 and want to take them to see an okay movie this one will suffice. Pixar should stop making sequels an go back to being original. (they got lucky with Toy Story and should stop with 3). There is no emotional attachment toThis movie is a total cash in. Worst Pixar movie. The great thing about Pixar movies is that they appeal to a wide audience, but not this movie. If you have kids under 5 and want to take them to see an okay movie this one will suffice. Pixar should stop making sequels an go back to being original. (they got lucky with Toy Story and should stop with 3). There is no emotional attachment to the characters in this movie like there are in other Pixar movies and the dialogue is terrible. If you like Mater you might like this movie but I don't think you can have a movie centered around your comic relief. Expand
  47. Jul 16, 2011
    6
    This isn't bad, it's just not that good. Way different feel to the first, and pretty much feels like a cash grab. Not for younger kids, but not really sure who would enjoy it!
  48. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    As a huge fan of pixar I had high hopes for this movie after finding the original fairly enjoyable but this film just annoyed me. The worst and most irritating character from the original film (Mater) is made the main focus of this movie, and he is insufferable. In my opinion this character rivals jar-jar binks in terms of being incredibly annoying. The overall plot of the film is a spyAs a huge fan of pixar I had high hopes for this movie after finding the original fairly enjoyable but this film just annoyed me. The worst and most irritating character from the original film (Mater) is made the main focus of this movie, and he is insufferable. In my opinion this character rivals jar-jar binks in terms of being incredibly annoying. The overall plot of the film is a spy flick crossed with some fast and furious for kids action. The portions with mater are annoying and the portions with the racing are nothing new or exciting, I did not laugh at any of the jokes, which compared to pixars other movies, some of which are incredibly funny, is very disappointing. The films animation is top notch, so it is at least nice to look at but other than that the movie is by far the worst pixar has ever created. Expand
  49. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags, and silliness to keep most anyone entertained. The use of 3D is smart and not in any way distracting from the story or artistic direction of the movie.More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags, and silliness to keep most anyone entertained. The use of 3D is smart and not in any way distracting from the story or artistic direction of the movie. I always come out of a Pixar film feeling like I got my money's worth, and this one is no exception. The short film that precedes the feature is just plain satisfying, as well. Expand
  50. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    I will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have hands and using front wheels as hands is a stretch. I halfway agree with that, but i still say you can't hate this movie. Go see it once, but I don't knowI will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have hands and using front wheels as hands is a stretch. I halfway agree with that, but i still say you can't hate this movie. Go see it once, but I don't know about a second time. Expand
  51. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    I went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. The voice actors did a fine job and the story is predictable. This is slightly better than Cars and my only real gripe is how this film should have been PGI went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. The voice actors did a fine job and the story is predictable. This is slightly better than Cars and my only real gripe is how this film should have been PG because it's actually really violent for a kids movie! But this film is alright for what it is. Expand
  52. Jun 24, 2011
    3
    Terribly disappointing. Very little attention paid to the characters or the animation. Clearly a money grab. Avoid this movie at all cost, the studio should pay for the crap they have delivered.
  53. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    Cars 2 is a sequel to the 2006 animated film, Cars, once again proves its title over the visionary field of technical excellence. Here, not only the characters are well-voiced but also it's visuals have improved that often looks glorious and stunning. It has many amazing action sequences and exploding scenes but this film is technically does not belong to PIxar's top mastery works. Cars 2Cars 2 is a sequel to the 2006 animated film, Cars, once again proves its title over the visionary field of technical excellence. Here, not only the characters are well-voiced but also it's visuals have improved that often looks glorious and stunning. It has many amazing action sequences and exploding scenes but this film is technically does not belong to PIxar's top mastery works. Cars 2 is the only sequel that received a rotten rating from all other rating websites; and the question is, Why? It is because of its carelessly handled storytelling that's so complicated to understand that it wants to become like the greatest action movie you never before seen on animation -- intended to become like a James Bond film or any spy film. So because of that bad storytelling. We can see now that Pixar somehow loses magic and credibility in crafting innovative, original, and outstanding stories which we have seen from its past Academy Award winning films like those of Finding Nemo, Ratatouille, Wall-E, Up, and Toy Story 3. No heartfelt or improving drama, no cleverly crafted gags. Cars 2, fairly, does not belong to the list of the worst animations produced on screen but it is rendered as a mediocre film. Overall, it's still watchable and quite enjoyable for some scenes which are somewhat smart, intelligent and quite funny. Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    There is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if you hate Larry the Cable Guy, you probably will hate the movie as he gets about 80% of the screen time. There are a lot of things that kids will not get,There is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if you hate Larry the Cable Guy, you probably will hate the movie as he gets about 80% of the screen time. There are a lot of things that kids will not get, but both of my daughters, 7 and 4, enjoyed it. It got a few chuckles out of me, and parts of it were pretty good. I actually really enjoyed how Pixar poked a little good natured fun at the James Bond franchise while trying to weave a story kids will enjoy. Still, rent it on DVD when it comes out, don't spend your money at a theatre to see this. As to the people who say the animation is terrible, I think you might have seen a different movie. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was blown away by the animation. The street scenes, racing scenes, and backgrounds are amazing. Expand
  55. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    Definitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-down animated anthropomorphic spy movie. It didn't really have that feel for cars anymore. Since lightning McQueen became more of a side character and materDefinitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-down animated anthropomorphic spy movie. It didn't really have that feel for cars anymore. Since lightning McQueen became more of a side character and mater became the head of the movie, it was almost like watching a different movie. Criticisms are that the bad guys weren't convincing and the plot was pretty messy. It sort of lacked that Pixar charm. Overall, though, go. Expand
  56. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) is offered a placement to race in a new international race circuit involving the greatest style of race cars. However, there is one specific race car McQueen desires to beat, the Italian Francesco Bernoilli The hardly see eye to eye on the race track. The International races are located at Tokyo, Italy and London. Sadly, Mater has a problem. He must takeLightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) is offered a placement to race in a new international race circuit involving the greatest style of race cars. However, there is one specific race car McQueen desires to beat, the Italian Francesco Bernoilli The hardly see eye to eye on the race track. The International races are located at Tokyo, Italy and London. Sadly, Mater has a problem. He must take part in a mission to stop the evil villains destroying the best cars with their lasers.

    Mater appears to have the spotlight throughout, unlike McQueen in the first installment. We see the rusty truck as a sidekick to McQueen as he sets out to be the hero and becoming a spy along with Holley Shiftwell (Emily Mortimer) and Finn McMissile (Michael Caine) whose voice acting is superb. A few action scenes reminiscent of James Bond films appear in the film which are very enjoyable and keep the older audience from getting bored. The moral message to this film is â
    Expand
  57. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    while theres not alot of character development in here it is still a site to see......................................................................
  58. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    If there was a Pixar film I could trade for to see Pixar movies I missed in theaters, it would easily be Cars 2. Such a huge leap from the first movie. It lacked story and just sped by the running time with guns ablaze and cars exploding. I think the violence is justified here since most of the characters are vehicles but there is no reason to turn a sequel into an action film.
  59. Oct 11, 2013
    4
    As a pixar loved, I loved the first cars (well technically all of them), but the second was a BIG MESS! What happened here? boring characters, predictable spy plot and a lot more!
    Try harder, Pixar.
  60. Jul 2, 2011
    1
    It is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only exists for Disney to sell more toy cars to children. It's a shame, too, because Pixar is better than this. Cars 1 was average at best and by far the worstIt is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only exists for Disney to sell more toy cars to children. It's a shame, too, because Pixar is better than this. Cars 1 was average at best and by far the worst of Pixar's outings, yet they are forced to push out a sequel to it instead of more deserving films like The Incredibles. This film just shouldn't have been done and hopefully there will never be a Cars 3 because I don't want Pixar's legacy to be tainted further. Avoid this one. Expand
  61. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it ai loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it a 90 out of 100 Expand
  62. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    This is a good movie, not a great movie. The first one is better but this one is still fun to watch especially if you watched the first one. It may not be Pixars best movies but people who enjoyed the first one should see it.
  63. May 10, 2012
    2
    I was very disappointed with this film. It showed so much potential to be good but it was not at all good. The humor was very blank and the storyline seemed to drift off in some moments. 2 out of 10
  64. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    I honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerking masterpiece like Up or Toy Story 3 - it was meant to be a simple, fun, summer comedy. And it succeeds at that. It doesn't have to be emotional or profound inI honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerking masterpiece like Up or Toy Story 3 - it was meant to be a simple, fun, summer comedy. And it succeeds at that. It doesn't have to be emotional or profound in order to be good. It's nice to take a break from all that crying for a change! (Not that there's anything wrong with Pixar movies making you cry.) Sure, it's not Pixar's best by a long shot, but just because it isn't the next WALL-E or Toy Story or Finding Nemo doesn't mean that it isn't good. Kudos to Pixar for branching out, trying something different, and proving that they still don't know how to make a bad movie! 8/10. Expand
  65. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    I did not think I would have liked this movie, but I was as funny as the first. They did not change any of the original cast and added a few new ones. The only think I didn't like is how they took mater and made him into a spy I don't see the ties with the first movie.
  66. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    Well Pixar has done it again. Cars 2 may not be the best Pixar has done , it is still fun to watch. Many new voice actors were brought in for this movie, Eddie Izzard, Jeff Gordon, Michael Caine, Jeff Garlin, Bruce Campbell and many others, my favorite was Michael Caine. Caine is good in most things, and this spy character he pulls off perfectly. AS with most Pixar movies the animation isWell Pixar has done it again. Cars 2 may not be the best Pixar has done , it is still fun to watch. Many new voice actors were brought in for this movie, Eddie Izzard, Jeff Gordon, Michael Caine, Jeff Garlin, Bruce Campbell and many others, my favorite was Michael Caine. Caine is good in most things, and this spy character he pulls off perfectly. AS with most Pixar movies the animation is top notch, and the final 25 minutes are great amounts of CG. The film does start out kind of stupid but it then gets really entertaining. My only gripe i have about the movie, is how it differs a lot from the first film, the first film was a racing movie and very heartwarming, this one is more of an action movie and spy movie than a racing movie, plus the plot is all over the place. But the comedy is still spot on with this movie, it still has all the original characters as the original, Mater, Sally, Flo, Ramone, Sarge, Filmore, Guido, Luigi, the only one not there is Doc Hudson. Now i was wondering how they were going to do Doc for the movie, if they were going to kill him off, or if they were going to get another voice actor for him like they did for Slinky in the new Toy Story. Speaking of Toy Story there is a fantastic short film before the movie that is about all the Toy Story 3 characters having a hawaian vacation. if you are looking for a decent animated film definitely check this out. Expand
  67. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    I don't understand the negative reviews. This movie was great! Sure it wasn't as good as PIXAR's other movies, but I liked it. It was exciting, it was funny. For me, PIXAR's streak stays alive.
  68. Aug 27, 2011
    6
    What?!?!?! Pixar can make a bad film?! The Apocalypse really is near! LOL. I saw this while in Minnesota with my cousins, expecting an enjoyable experience. Sadly, it felt lie I was watching one of those straight-to-video Disney films they keep making. That doesn't mean it's unbearable. The jokes are kind of amusing, and it accidentally spoofs the summer blockbuster. I think it would haveWhat?!?!?! Pixar can make a bad film?! The Apocalypse really is near! LOL. I saw this while in Minnesota with my cousins, expecting an enjoyable experience. Sadly, it felt lie I was watching one of those straight-to-video Disney films they keep making. That doesn't mean it's unbearable. The jokes are kind of amusing, and it accidentally spoofs the summer blockbuster. I think it would have been good, if only Mater hadn't been made the main character. That really reminds you of Family Matters making Urkel the main character. Expand
  69. Aug 26, 2013
    2
    I would rate this as a four if it were made by some other studio, but Pixar? We expect better!
    The first Cars film was just boring, this one is insipidly stupid. My little sister who is barely past the age of six couldn't enjoy this film.
  70. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure, if you don't like Mater's schtick it will get tiring, but the spy stuff is great -- especially if you're a 007 fan -- and the movie expands the "Cars"Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure, if you don't like Mater's schtick it will get tiring, but the spy stuff is great -- especially if you're a 007 fan -- and the movie expands the "Cars" universe beyond Radiator Springs. Funny, too. Expand
  71. Jul 5, 2011
    2
    We didn't make it to the end of the movie. My daughter was so bored she was running around. We had to leave and that did not bother me. I guess I will get it when it comes out on DVD but I am glad I did not pay for 3D.
  72. Aug 7, 2011
    0
    Terrible Terrible ! I Adored Cars 1 , But this oh myy.. Can they really have Cars MURDERING each other in kids movie ? Im sitting there with my 4 year old tot and cars are murdering and carrying weapons , barking death threats oh my gosh it was just WOAH ! Well who are we to talk , Pixars making MILLIONS AND MILLIONS off merchandising . Wait.. Oh ya ! Thats why Cars 2 was released. Oh the money (:
  73. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Ok this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons, it stands for Parental Guidance, which mean you guide your child into the theater and if they don't understand something you do your best to itOk this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons, it stands for Parental Guidance, which mean you guide your child into the theater and if they don't understand something you do your best to it explain to them when the movie is over. it is your responsibility to screen what your children watch NOT DISNEY/PIXAR. they have done their part by saying. "HEY, GUESS WHAT? THIS MOVIE IS ABOUT SPIES. SPIES SOMETIMES KILL PEOPLE. THAT'S WHY WERE PUTTING A PG RATING ON THIS MOVIE" just get over your selves you jerks. Expand
  74. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    I read the reviews here before I decided on going for the movie. Judging by the low score here, I assumed it would be a pretty flat movie but I was pleasantly surprised! Not only is this movie as good as the first, in some respects its even better. The only reason I would suspect that this movie got a low score here is that its a bit too involved to be a pure kiddy movie. Its actually gotI read the reviews here before I decided on going for the movie. Judging by the low score here, I assumed it would be a pretty flat movie but I was pleasantly surprised! Not only is this movie as good as the first, in some respects its even better. The only reason I would suspect that this movie got a low score here is that its a bit too involved to be a pure kiddy movie. Its actually got all the pizazz of a James Bond flick and plenty of laughs thrown in as well. Sure the dialog could be better in some places, but its really not all that bad a film overall. Expand
  75. Dec 19, 2011
    2
    Part 2 falls flat on its face, the story plot is too deep for young minds, too much gun play for a childrens movie, my wife and I walked out about half way through. Probably one of the worst movies I have seen in a long, long, long time.
  76. Jun 26, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Car 2, a John Lasseter film. This piece of crap does not deserve to where the Pixar label. The only redeeming quality of the film was the incredible location artwork. Lasseter vilifies the very industry that supplies the raw materials used to make all the plastic toys they hoped to sell. Pixar should not bother with Incredibles 2 if it will receive the same treatment. Expand
  77. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    "Cars 2" is DEFINITELY NOT the original "Cars" you, if not, many others fell in love with back in 2006. Although its more "processed" and "generic" story will delight children, it may leave the older audience members waiting for more, due to it's abrupt, rushed, and face past ending. The animation is what you hope to expect from Pixar (in a good way), which presents the audience with crisp"Cars 2" is DEFINITELY NOT the original "Cars" you, if not, many others fell in love with back in 2006. Although its more "processed" and "generic" story will delight children, it may leave the older audience members waiting for more, due to it's abrupt, rushed, and face past ending. The animation is what you hope to expect from Pixar (in a good way), which presents the audience with crisp and pristine images of the action in front of you. Though Lightning McQueen's arrogant smirk is still plastered up front on all the posters, know that this is NOT HIS FILM. This film seems more of what of those mini-short specials just for Mater that got carried away for about an hour and a half, so be prepared for just that. If you are on a quest for the delight and charm of the original "Cars" go ahead and walk, or should I say race, your little butt back home, because there's gonna be a long wait for Lightning to be back in the lime light, for every other supporting character has to get their own little carried away feature too. Expand
  78. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I liked this one. I thought it was actually better than the first, which I enjoyed as well. I can't quite figure out why this is being called the worst Pixar film to date. Pixar films are kind of like Bond films- even the bad ones are still OK movies.
  79. Nov 27, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first time I have felt so let down by a Pixar film. Cars 2 exploded into the cinemas with such great expectations usually filled by the magicians over at Pixar, particularly after their first great hit with Cars; however, these expectations were not met and, subsequently, what was once a good idea has now been squandered.

    Pixar should not be slated entirely, however; they still maintained their impeccable graphics, character reactions and humour input in Cars 2, yet the film lacked a general sense of any sort of storyline. We see our favourite character Lightning McQueen burst back into the fray near the beginning of the film when, without any sort of heads up, the audience suddenly discovers he has won the Piston Cup four times, is now officially going out with Sally and Doc Hudson has died. This is just the start of what created such a flat effort for a film; new character introductions were brief, the attempt at a storyline was sloppy and there was no effort to show how amazing Lightning McQueen was at racing. The whole film revolved around a brand-new renewable fuel for cars called Allinol and, ever since its introduction, conquered the whole film in every scene possible. Okay, so maybe the film was about Allinol and how it was going to be used to kill Lightning McQueen in a very dramatic way, but I just miss the ideology behind the original Cars. Another main problem lies with Lightning McQueen's recession into more of a background character; the main character becomes Mater who, in short, is a funny character, but his characteristic traits can only be stretched out by so much and 106 minutes is far too stretched. Pixar are now to redeem themselves and prove to their countless fans that they can produce another decent film with a great backing storyline mixed with characters you are forced to love and hate. Pixar's new film, Brave, now has very high expectations in order to excuse this below-par effort at a film, for never before have I been disappointed in a Pixar film.
    Expand
  80. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    This movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks AnimationThis movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks Animation movies that tried to copy Pixar's style rather than an actual Pixar film. All in all, it felt like a cash grab that purposely misled customers through their ads by not telling us that Mater was the lead in this film - not Lightning McQueen as the ads portrayed. Expand
  81. Jun 24, 2011
    5
    A plot somewhat long and boring, something that would use as a punishment in case my children do something wrong. Expecting much more than this sequel, very bad pixar.
  82. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    A good exciting cool car action movie with gadgets and guns,exciting chases,spy action and Big explosions,better than the original.I bet they are going to make a third cars movie for a secret villian.My favorite part is when mater says dad-gum and then the computer activates the terminator guns and shoots crazlily, it was funny.and my other part is the beginning thats the most start for aA good exciting cool car action movie with gadgets and guns,exciting chases,spy action and Big explosions,better than the original.I bet they are going to make a third cars movie for a secret villian.My favorite part is when mater says dad-gum and then the computer activates the terminator guns and shoots crazlily, it was funny.and my other part is the beginning thats the most start for a spy named Finn Mcmissle,who does gadgets,guns and car-fu.that was like my favorite action scene in the movie.My other funny scene is that mater tastes the wassabi and his tongue was burning off-screen. Expand
  83. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    "Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
    I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
    A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world, Which I wish to visit only in my dreams.
    83/100.
  84. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Why do people hate this movie, I mean sure its not Pixar's best but it's still great, its a funny spy movie with likeable characters, I mean how could people not like the characters. What's wrong with a spy car, a race car, and a tow truck. This movie is not Pixar's worst movie
  85. Jun 24, 2011
    6
    Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year,Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year, rather than focusing on quality, which is quite honestly, a disturbing trend. It shows in the movie as well. The story is a blend of a spy movie with the normal Pixar themes of "don't ditch your friends" etc. The spy sections work well. The normal Pixar themes feel forced and unnatural in the context of the plot. Mater has his moments, but is not a strong enough or deep enough character to carry the movie and ended up being very annoying towards the middle of the film. The animation is as always fantastic, the sets were awesome, the water physics are getting much better, can't complain much there. That being said, Cars 2 is still a pretty fun ride. But it definitely wasn't given the attention that it desperately needed. Hopefully Pixar's just saving it for Brave, their next original movie. Expand
  86. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    [adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

    [child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that
    [adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

    [child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that perspective is an entirely great movie. Lots of action, bright colors, and funny characters. From the child's perspective I'd estimate this movie would hit around about an 8. Thus, my score is the average of the two rounded down to the nearest number.
    Expand
  87. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    This movie was ok. Though I didn't think that the whole espionage story didn't really fit into the whole cars movie thing other than that it was fine. But I expected a little better on the story.
  88. Jul 17, 2011
    2
    Pixar's first terrible film. Mediocre storyline, broken script, useless 3D, bad voice acting, and more espionage than races makes from this sequel an absolute rip-off from James Bond.
  89. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mindMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Expand
  90. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience.I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience. Mater (voice by Larry the Cable Guy) makes the movie funny, going into the ladies room in japan, mistaking wasabe ice cream and going gonzo with the voice activated disguise machine is adds to the enjoyment of the movie. Love how they brought in popular T.V. shows in with The F/v Northwestern (Crabby, voice by Capt. Sig Hansen) . A message to those of you who didn't like this movie, "don't get your prop in a twist," and go see the movie again. " Expand
  91. Jun 30, 2011
    2
    There are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogueThere are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogue for the first movie. The spy story line was fun for the first scene but quickly transformed into a pointless story line for the only purpose of giving Mater more screen time and creating situations that he can act "wacky" in. The movie also attempts to cover up the fact that it was made for money by making some half-assed message about friendship. However, the animation is great, which is no surprise for Pixar, so the whole movie is far from being ugly like some other animated movies (Gnomeo and Juliet for example). Some parts are enjoyable, and I wasn't quite depressed until I got out of the theater and stopped trying to create excuses for the film because it's Pixar. I hope Brave and Monsters University is better than this. Expand
  92. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Not terribly bad, nor amazingly good. Pixar, surely, made a mistake with this one. Cars 2 brings back the first movie's characters in a new storyline and a new point of view. More than the last one, the cars are humanised while a mess is made right in front of you. On one side of the story, there's a GP - the only place where you can see McQueen - and, on the other, there's some kind ofNot terribly bad, nor amazingly good. Pixar, surely, made a mistake with this one. Cars 2 brings back the first movie's characters in a new storyline and a new point of view. More than the last one, the cars are humanised while a mess is made right in front of you. On one side of the story, there's a GP - the only place where you can see McQueen - and, on the other, there's some kind of 007-ish thing happening - where you find a more stupid Tom Mater. Nevertheless, it's a funny and well-done movie. Of course, there are many better things to watch, but it is an option at worst. Just an option, not the best... Expand
  93. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Wij vonden de film hartstikke leuk! De hele klas heeft ervan genoten! We hopen op een Cars 3!! De verhaallijn had misschien iets simpeler gekund, maar Cars blijft Cars! We zijn 3 keer naar de bioscoop geweest, en zodra de film op dvd uit komt rennen mijn kinderen meteen naar de winkel!Jammer dat Cars 3 door sommige wordt afgekraakt!Zijn gewoon jaloers!Cars blijft speelgoed verkopen al 5Wij vonden de film hartstikke leuk! De hele klas heeft ervan genoten! We hopen op een Cars 3!! De verhaallijn had misschien iets simpeler gekund, maar Cars blijft Cars! We zijn 3 keer naar de bioscoop geweest, en zodra de film op dvd uit komt rennen mijn kinderen meteen naar de winkel!Jammer dat Cars 3 door sommige wordt afgekraakt!Zijn gewoon jaloers!Cars blijft speelgoed verkopen al 5 jaar lang, wie doet jullie dat na??!!Be proud!!And good job!! Expand
  94. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    Although visually amazing, it lacks of a good plot and originality. It almost seems like a not very good James Bond movie. And I thought the main character was McQueen!! It had his funny moments, but not even that could save Cars 2 from blowing!
  95. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing!
  96. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Read some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. ThisRead some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. This time around the movie was more centered around Mator rather than Mcqueen. I am going to go against the grain here and say that the plot and storyline were well laid out and put together quite well. If you like Pixar and the first cars movie, there is no reason you will not like this movie. Expand
  97. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    While not the best Pixar film, still better than most animated films, and thourghly enjoyable
    The haters rating it a 0 just because they want to see pixar fall is pathetic, nothing should deserve a 0
  98. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    I'm honestly surprised by all the hatred this movie has received. Sure, it's not a GREAT movie, but is it terrible? No. It's a decent movie with a few funny moments and some spectacular animation, but it probably is Pixar's "least best" movie. Still worth seeing, though.
  99. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better, but still loved Cars 2. Ignore the losers on Rotten Tomatoes! Cars 2 is definitely worth seeing (maybe even twice)!
  100. Jun 24, 2011
    0
    This film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. TheyThis film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. They are, after all, a business. They're in it for the money. But they should seriously at least attempt to retain their artistic integrity. Since Cars, Pixar released not only their four greatest films, but four of the greatest animated films ever made. They broke their streak with this film. They're artistic geniuses, they're capable of so much more, yet they squander it on this trash. They sacrifice their honor in the name of the all-mighty dollar. So take your kids to see this piece of filth, buy them their Cars toys and backpacks and lunchboxes. Contribute to the artistic downfall of the greatest animation studio ever. This is a terrible film. I gave it an honest chance because Toy Story 3 was a sequel that outdid both of the previous films, proving Pixar can pull of cashgrabs while making a quality film, but this is a piece of trash. If Brave doesn't prove they can continue the quality we saw in movies like Wall-E and Up, I honestly will lose all faith in Pixar. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Jul 18, 2011
    60
    It's not vintage Pixar, but Cars 2 is still streets ahead of most of the animated pack. For all its energy and Bondian panache, perhaps its problems are insurmountable: Pixar's cars - and their universe - don't resonate and endear as much as its toys, monsters, clownfish and OAP dreamers.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    30
    A rare dud from Pixar.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    Marginally better than its predecessor, but the same problem still remains: Cars just aren't very interesting as anthropomorphic animation vehicles (pun intended).