Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
170
Negative:
87
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JonathanMorganJun 30, 2011
There are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but IThere are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogue for the first movie. The spy story line was fun for the first scene but quickly transformed into a pointless story line for the only purpose of giving Mater more screen time and creating situations that he can act "wacky" in. The movie also attempts to cover up the fact that it was made for money by making some half-assed message about friendship. However, the animation is great, which is no surprise for Pixar, so the whole movie is far from being ugly like some other animated movies (Gnomeo and Juliet for example). Some parts are enjoyable, and I wasn't quite depressed until I got out of the theater and stopped trying to create excuses for the film because it's Pixar. I hope Brave and Monsters University is better than this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
shimano6000Jul 16, 2011
This isn't bad, it's just not that good. Way different feel to the first, and pretty much feels like a cash grab. Not for younger kids, but not really sure who would enjoy it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GifariOct 20, 2011
Loved it, found it the best out of all of the other films. It has a lot of action and is just plain wonderful. I really really hope they make a new one, Cars 3.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
TexasGamerDec 19, 2011
Part 2 falls flat on its face, the story plot is too deep for young minds, too much gun play for a childrens movie, my wife and I walked out about half way through. Probably one of the worst movies I have seen in a long, long, long time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewhunterFeb 5, 2012
"Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world,
"Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world, Which I wish to visit only in my dreams.
83/100.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
inuyashaloverJul 11, 2012
i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it a 90 out of 100 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
PixarRulesAllJan 8, 2013
I'm honestly surprised by all the hatred this movie has received. Sure, it's not a GREAT movie, but is it terrible? No. It's a decent movie with a few funny moments and some spectacular animation, but it probably is Pixar's "least best"I'm honestly surprised by all the hatred this movie has received. Sure, it's not a GREAT movie, but is it terrible? No. It's a decent movie with a few funny moments and some spectacular animation, but it probably is Pixar's "least best" movie. Still worth seeing, though. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
WeAreOneJun 24, 2011
Terribly disappointing. Very little attention paid to the characters or the animation. Clearly a money grab. Avoid this movie at all cost, the studio should pay for the crap they have delivered.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
5
DDtcsJun 24, 2011
A plot somewhat long and boring, something that would use as a punishment in case my children do something wrong. Expecting much more than this sequel, very bad pixar.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
movies4prezAug 2, 2011
As a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly lowAs a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly low expectations (for both my memory of the first and poor reviews critically) the film was still worse than I would had anticipated. The characters are one-note, we never see anything endearing about these characters or really get to know them on a personal level. They do not have the instant lovable quality of any other characters which is not just because they are cars, Wall-E made robots look cute and cuddly after all. For a studio as progressive as Pixar I found the portrayals of characters in the film to be stereotypical and unfair and bad representations of the countries in this film (as the plot takes place and features characters from around the globe.) Mater is the single worst character in Pixar's history and it is a slap in the face that they made him an even larger part in the sequel, which is no doubt the worst film in Pixar's history, it should have been scrapped or made straight to dvd. I have faith in them still, as I loved the Toy Story short before this atrocious film. Fingers crossed for Brave and all their future ventures. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
SelaphielJun 24, 2011
This film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has madeThis film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. They are, after all, a business. They're in it for the money. But they should seriously at least attempt to retain their artistic integrity. Since Cars, Pixar released not only their four greatest films, but four of the greatest animated films ever made. They broke their streak with this film. They're artistic geniuses, they're capable of so much more, yet they squander it on this trash. They sacrifice their honor in the name of the all-mighty dollar. So take your kids to see this piece of filth, buy them their Cars toys and backpacks and lunchboxes. Contribute to the artistic downfall of the greatest animation studio ever. This is a terrible film. I gave it an honest chance because Toy Story 3 was a sequel that outdid both of the previous films, proving Pixar can pull of cashgrabs while making a quality film, but this is a piece of trash. If Brave doesn't prove they can continue the quality we saw in movies like Wall-E and Up, I honestly will lose all faith in Pixar. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
0
doesitmatterJun 24, 2011
a loving comedy but its dumb why pixar u dazzle us with ur crative mind but not anymore i rather say go see KUNG FU PANDA 2 then this. this should be uses as a punishment than a gift
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
HfahmyJun 24, 2011
Big mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended forBig mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have the two hours gone, but very slowly, boringly. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
1
filmtrashreviewJun 25, 2011
I don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes areI don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes are only funny for a little while then they just become borderline retarded. Don't ever waste your money on such a horrible film. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
J-DubJun 25, 2011
Every great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't knowEvery great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't know how anyone could miss it. The movie does rehash some action, comedy and spy movie conventions, but what it also does is keep you invested in the characters - especially Mater. I never knew I could care so much for a rusty old tow truck! I think that anyone with an open mind to culture and diversity will embrace Mater as the lead, and invest in his character arc. In my opinion, the critics who are giving this movie poor reviews are not only missing the point, but are being left in the dust by John Lasseter's craft. Not every movie has to be Wall-E (which I ADORE) or some pretentious, art-house bag of air to have innovation, heart, soul and intelligence. Cars 2 is another milestone for Pixar. Go see Cars 2 and be a kid again... and an adult. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
FalindrithJun 24, 2011
Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that theLet's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year, rather than focusing on quality, which is quite honestly, a disturbing trend. It shows in the movie as well. The story is a blend of a spy movie with the normal Pixar themes of "don't ditch your friends" etc. The spy sections work well. The normal Pixar themes feel forced and unnatural in the context of the plot. Mater has his moments, but is not a strong enough or deep enough character to carry the movie and ended up being very annoying towards the middle of the film. The animation is as always fantastic, the sets were awesome, the water physics are getting much better, can't complain much there. That being said, Cars 2 is still a pretty fun ride. But it definitely wasn't given the attention that it desperately needed. Hopefully Pixar's just saving it for Brave, their next original movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
RicochetPhoenixJul 2, 2011
It is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only existsIt is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only exists for Disney to sell more toy cars to children. It's a shame, too, because Pixar is better than this. Cars 1 was average at best and by far the worst of Pixar's outings, yet they are forced to push out a sequel to it instead of more deserving films like The Incredibles. This film just shouldn't have been done and hopefully there will never be a Cars 3 because I don't want Pixar's legacy to be tainted further. Avoid this one. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
IronmongerJun 27, 2011
I will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have handsI will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have hands and using front wheels as hands is a stretch. I halfway agree with that, but i still say you can't hate this movie. Go see it once, but I don't know about a second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
utmamJun 25, 2011
There is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if youThere is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if you hate Larry the Cable Guy, you probably will hate the movie as he gets about 80% of the screen time. There are a lot of things that kids will not get, but both of my daughters, 7 and 4, enjoyed it. It got a few chuckles out of me, and parts of it were pretty good. I actually really enjoyed how Pixar poked a little good natured fun at the James Bond franchise while trying to weave a story kids will enjoy. Still, rent it on DVD when it comes out, don't spend your money at a theatre to see this. As to the people who say the animation is terrible, I think you might have seen a different movie. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was blown away by the animation. The street scenes, racing scenes, and backgrounds are amazing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
guardian210Jun 25, 2011
I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good forI'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience. Mater (voice by Larry the Cable Guy) makes the movie funny, going into the ladies room in japan, mistaking wasabe ice cream and going gonzo with the voice activated disguise machine is adds to the enjoyment of the movie. Love how they brought in popular T.V. shows in with The F/v Northwestern (Crabby, voice by Capt. Sig Hansen) . A message to those of you who didn't like this movie, "don't get your prop in a twist," and go see the movie again. " Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Soes72Jun 26, 2011
To all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down toTo all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down to it, they're movies are made for children. I just have to laugh at how people can be angry over a movie that is about talking CARS. Are you also going to tell me that movie is just too unrealistic!? When you see this movie, you should judge it by your children's faces afterwards and not by your issues with the plot or anything else. My 5-1/2 and 4 year old boys LOVED this movie and SO DID I! We will go see it again and I have no doubt it will be even better the second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
raven720Sep 2, 2011
I consider myself a great Pixar fan, I have loved every movie since Toy Story but in this one, I can just say: I **** HATE MATER!!! .
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesJun 27, 2011
I liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does notI liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't liked (although "Up" was barely acceptable for me). There is a 5 minute short before the movie featuring the Toy Story characters, and it is better than the feature film! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJul 13, 2011
Cars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice workCars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice work is great. Do not listen to the critics... that is one of the first times I will say it. Cars 2 is a fantastic movie, that you should not miss out on. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
SimbahhAug 7, 2011
Terrible Terrible ! I Adored Cars 1 , But this oh myy.. Can they really have Cars MURDERING each other in kids movie ? Im sitting there with my 4 year old tot and cars are murdering and carrying weapons , barking death threats oh my gosh itTerrible Terrible ! I Adored Cars 1 , But this oh myy.. Can they really have Cars MURDERING each other in kids movie ? Im sitting there with my 4 year old tot and cars are murdering and carrying weapons , barking death threats oh my gosh it was just WOAH ! Well who are we to talk , Pixars making MILLIONS AND MILLIONS off merchandising . Wait.. Oh ya ! Thats why Cars 2 was released. Oh the money (: Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
TheRaterAug 16, 2011
Disney/Pixar destroyed a great story with violence and lots of GUNS!

What happened? They destroyed a great story. Cars was a wonderful movie with a beautiful message and no violence. Now, Cars 2 is just an attempt to make a Hollywood action
Disney/Pixar destroyed a great story with violence and lots of GUNS!

What happened? They destroyed a great story. Cars was a wonderful movie with a beautiful message and no violence. Now, Cars 2 is just an attempt to make a Hollywood action film (supposedly for kids). Guns? Really? And then we complain about kids with guns?! The violence includes guns, shooting, explosions, death.. Furthermore they make Mater look as ignorant as the rest of the world sees us. There is also some alcohol...I will never buy this movie for my son, who by the way didn't enjoy this film as much as the first one any ways. People in charge of story lines are way off if their target are kids and parents who will pay for the crap they want!
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
meetacriticJun 25, 2011
As an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this oneAs an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this one officially breaks their magic streak. They took all the heart and artistry of the first movie, and just chucked it out the window on their way to cashing in on all the merchandising possibilities. Owen Wilson may as well have not even shown up, because McQueen is relegated to a minor character in this film, as Mater becomes the centerpiece of a ridiculous (and almost completely unfunny) spy plot. Many reviewers have commented this was aimed at younger audiences than the first film, but no children's animated film you will see this year (or possibly ever) does more to glorify gun violence.
Occasional glimmers of humor and clever touches are eclipsed by a bewildering, written-by-committee plot that tries to do too much and accomplishes too little.
Upon leaving my 5 year-old son asked me "What was that movie about...?" I honestly couldn't answer him.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
4
ZabbotJun 25, 2011
[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies.[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

[child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that perspective is an entirely great movie. Lots of action, bright colors, and funny characters. From the child's perspective I'd estimate this movie would hit around about an 8. Thus, my score is the average of the two rounded down to the nearest number.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
myfajahas400Jun 29, 2011
I don't understand the negative reviews. This movie was great! Sure it wasn't as good as PIXAR's other movies, but I liked it. It was exciting, it was funny. For me, PIXAR's streak stays alive.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JacobNov 14, 2013
Cars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this isCars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this is good but I’m not really sure what they were thinking. I’m as baffled as the cars in the movie were when McQueen moves to the outside lane. The Toy Story short at the start of the movie was better the film itself. If you’re a kid or a Mater fan you’ll love this movie. However, anyone who believes that Cars 2 will be another masterpiece from Pixar forget it. Cars 2 is a disappointing movie that has made me lose trust in studio that until now has been flawless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews