User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 325
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    6
    Cars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that it feels disjointed, giving you no time to get adjusted to "Lightning's" storyline, while also at times not giving you enough time to really get intoCars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that it feels disjointed, giving you no time to get adjusted to "Lightning's" storyline, while also at times not giving you enough time to really get into "Mater's" storyline. It's odd that they shifted the focus of the main protagonist to Mater, which, while isn't necessarily bad, some will find it very off-putting. The film is fun, and this is where it holds up, making it a 6/10, also it has a good plot twist that I did not see happening at all. All in all, it's a fun film that shouldn't be overlooked, but it should really be called something like "Cars: it's Materin' Time!" as the story revolves around Mater, giving a fun Spy based film with explosions and everything, but certainly no Pixar masterpiece like we should be getting given their track record. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    I honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerking masterpiece like Up or Toy Story 3 - it was meant to be a simple, fun, summer comedy. And it succeeds at that. It doesn't have to be emotional or profound inI honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerking masterpiece like Up or Toy Story 3 - it was meant to be a simple, fun, summer comedy. And it succeeds at that. It doesn't have to be emotional or profound in order to be good. It's nice to take a break from all that crying for a change! (Not that there's anything wrong with Pixar movies making you cry.) Sure, it's not Pixar's best by a long shot, but just because it isn't the next WALL-E or Toy Story or Finding Nemo doesn't mean that it isn't good. Kudos to Pixar for branching out, trying something different, and proving that they still don't know how to make a bad movie! 8/10. Expand
  3. BKM
    Jul 18, 2011
    6
    While Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as a spy while Lightning McQueen races in the World Grand Prix. This is the first Pixar film that seems geared almost entirely for kids which is a bitWhile Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as a spy while Lightning McQueen races in the World Grand Prix. This is the first Pixar film that seems geared almost entirely for kids which is a bit of a disappointment. Still, there is enough inventiveness and chuckles to makes it a tolerable vieweing experience. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    While not the best Pixar film, still better than most animated films, and thourghly enjoyable
    The haters rating it a 0 just because they want to see pixar fall is pathetic, nothing should deserve a 0
  5. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    "Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
    I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
    A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world, Which I wish to visit only in my dreams.
    83/100.
  6. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing!
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Ok this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons, it stands for Parental Guidance, which mean you guide your child into the theater and if they don't understand something you do your best to itOk this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons, it stands for Parental Guidance, which mean you guide your child into the theater and if they don't understand something you do your best to it explain to them when the movie is over. it is your responsibility to screen what your children watch NOT DISNEY/PIXAR. they have done their part by saying. "HEY, GUESS WHAT? THIS MOVIE IS ABOUT SPIES. SPIES SOMETIMES KILL PEOPLE. THAT'S WHY WERE PUTTING A PG RATING ON THIS MOVIE" just get over your selves you jerks. Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Clear, concise, intelligent and humorous - such is Cars 2. Cars was never my favorite Pixar, but coming out of the theater after seeing the sequel, I found myself smiling over a clever, well-thought, simply entertaining film. There is no deep, emotional story, but for entertainment this is by far extremely enjoyable. The humor is intelligent (not crude, suggestive or shallow like so manyClear, concise, intelligent and humorous - such is Cars 2. Cars was never my favorite Pixar, but coming out of the theater after seeing the sequel, I found myself smiling over a clever, well-thought, simply entertaining film. There is no deep, emotional story, but for entertainment this is by far extremely enjoyable. The humor is intelligent (not crude, suggestive or shallow like so many other animated films), the story moves at a solid, easy to understand pace and the characters are engaging. Mater is a character that is easy to root for with his positive outlook on life and his compassion toward everyone around him. When it comes to giving a good example of a nonjudgmental attitude, Mater is hard to beat. Finn McMissile has many of the typical spy characteristics, but goes beyond what we stereotypically think of the "James Bond" character by showing kindness and respect toward others. He openly admits his own shortcomings/need for help, while remaining debonair through it all. He doesn't even show the womanizing side so easily associated with the "spy world" and instead shows his female counterpart a great deal of respect. Kudos to Pixar for their work on these characters. There is lots of "eye candy" in the depth of animation and the creative little touches to background motifs that make this world truly and mechanically unique. After seeing the film numerous times on various screens, I am still catching the little details placed in the film - all of which have never been of any suggestive nature inappropriate for a general viewing audience. This film also allows us a chance to look at some of our little idiosyncrasies in a fun way and gives positive messages such as friendship, compassion and honesty. While not for everyone - a caution to families with young children due to intense action sequences and suggested deaths - for older children through adults, Pixar's continued show of intelligent film making sets it apart from all other animation companies regardless of where the awards land. As for what I witnessed during my various visits to the theater for this film, everyone was fully engaged - laughing, cheering and generally having a good time. We all left with smiles, which I think says a lot for the film. My money will remain on Pixar. Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Very good sequel to a great animated film.
  10. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    This movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks AnimationThis movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks Animation movies that tried to copy Pixar's style rather than an actual Pixar film. All in all, it felt like a cash grab that purposely misled customers through their ads by not telling us that Mater was the lead in this film - not Lightning McQueen as the ads portrayed. Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    When there are parents and children up and walking around the theater literally during the entire movie, you know it's not holding anyone's attention. Most of the best jokes are in the movie trailer. We were very disappointed.
  12. Jun 28, 2011
    2
    Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

    Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you remember that this movie is supposed to be for little kids, they failed tremendously. I was completely shock with the amount of guns and violence,
    Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

    Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you remember that this movie is supposed to be for little kids, they failed tremendously.

    I was completely shock with the amount of guns and violence, seriously for a pixar's movie, how can Disney allow this?

    As a mom of 3 little boys who adored cars and their whole world and my wallet was all about cars they really messed it up. They were frightened by all the gun power of the first 5 minutes and they were lost in the plot.

    Who ever made the plot (probably a James Bond Fan) totally forgot who his target audience was, young children!

    Do NOT take your little kids to watch this movie unless they are over 8 probably or take them if you are one of those parents who could care less about the amount of violence their child's watches
    The toy story short at the beginning is the only true terrific thing about the movie and the animation, the technical part.
    Expand
  13. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action,There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Car 2, a John Lasseter film. This piece of crap does not deserve to where the Pixar label. The only redeeming quality of the film was the incredible location artwork. Lasseter vilifies the very industry that supplies the raw materials used to make all the plastic toys they hoped to sell. Pixar should not bother with Incredibles 2 if it will receive the same treatment. Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring,I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring, thrown together, and hollow, and the whole movie is just a very mediocre and boring animated movie. C'mon Pixar. You're better than this crap. Expand
  16. Jun 26, 2011
    3
    Pixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail given to the first film. With cutout facsimiles of the original characters, an overly complex, confusing and dialogue besieging plot, and devoid of thePixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail given to the first film. With cutout facsimiles of the original characters, an overly complex, confusing and dialogue besieging plot, and devoid of the heart and wit found in every other Pixar movie, I look forward to the documentary made to reveal the truth about how this awful train wreck of a movie came to be. Unbelievably disappointing. Expand
  17. Jun 27, 2011
    4
    Truly the weakest pixar movie.It emphasised on random subplots,it was entertatining but i expected alot more!!! plus there is no racing this time so...yeah
  18. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    The movie is overly creative with a complex story-telling that is not quite for the kids to understand. I know that Pixar can do better, and I hope they will.
  19. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mindMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Expand
  20. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Read some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. ThisRead some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. This time around the movie was more centered around Mator rather than Mcqueen. I am going to go against the grain here and say that the plot and storyline were well laid out and put together quite well. If you like Pixar and the first cars movie, there is no reason you will not like this movie. Expand
  21. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better, but still loved Cars 2. Ignore the losers on Rotten Tomatoes! Cars 2 is definitely worth seeing (maybe even twice)!
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing! Rambo is a kid story compared to this unbelievable Cars 2! If I knew the movie would be so violent I wouldn't take my son to watch it!
  23. Jul 5, 2011
    2
    We didn't make it to the end of the movie. My daughter was so bored she was running around. We had to leave and that did not bother me. I guess I will get it when it comes out on DVD but I am glad I did not pay for 3D.
  24. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Cars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from theCars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from the characters but they will recognize the good story and it's complexities. Collapse
  25. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this has low scores? The movie was great, watched it in 3D with my daughter and we both loved it! The locations, cars & story was great!
  26. Jun 30, 2011
    2
    There are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogueThere are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogue for the first movie. The spy story line was fun for the first scene but quickly transformed into a pointless story line for the only purpose of giving Mater more screen time and creating situations that he can act "wacky" in. The movie also attempts to cover up the fact that it was made for money by making some half-assed message about friendship. However, the animation is great, which is no surprise for Pixar, so the whole movie is far from being ugly like some other animated movies (Gnomeo and Juliet for example). Some parts are enjoyable, and I wasn't quite depressed until I got out of the theater and stopped trying to create excuses for the film because it's Pixar. I hope Brave and Monsters University is better than this. Expand
  27. Jul 16, 2011
    6
    This isn't bad, it's just not that good. Way different feel to the first, and pretty much feels like a cash grab. Not for younger kids, but not really sure who would enjoy it!
  28. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Loved it, found it the best out of all of the other films. It has a lot of action and is just plain wonderful. I really really hope they make a new one, Cars 3.
  29. Dec 19, 2011
    2
    Part 2 falls flat on its face, the story plot is too deep for young minds, too much gun play for a childrens movie, my wife and I walked out about half way through. Probably one of the worst movies I have seen in a long, long, long time.
  30. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it ai loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it a 90 out of 100 Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Jul 18, 2011
    60
    It's not vintage Pixar, but Cars 2 is still streets ahead of most of the animated pack. For all its energy and Bondian panache, perhaps its problems are insurmountable: Pixar's cars - and their universe - don't resonate and endear as much as its toys, monsters, clownfish and OAP dreamers.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    30
    A rare dud from Pixar.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    Marginally better than its predecessor, but the same problem still remains: Cars just aren't very interesting as anthropomorphic animation vehicles (pun intended).