Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty ofStar racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty of potholes, detours and hilarious surprises when Mater gets caught up in an intriguing adventure of his own: international espionage. Torn between assisting Lightning McQueen in the high-profile race and towing the line in a top-secret spy mission, Mater’s action-packed journey leads him on an explosive chase through the streets of Japan and Europe, trailed by his friends and watched by the whole world. Adding to the fast-paced fun is a colorful new all-car cast that includes secret agents, menacing villains and international racing competitors. (Disney, Pixar)

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 19, 2011
    90
    The rare sequel that not only improves on but retroactively justifies its predecessor, this lightning-paced caper-comedy shifts the franchise into high gear with international intrigue, spy-movie spoofery and more automotive puns than you can shake a stickshift at, handling even its broader stretches with sophistication, speed and effortless panache.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    In terms of story and atmosphere and overall feeling, Cars 2 is a brand-new experience - and a distinct improvement.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 24, 2011
    70
    A fun, silly, kid-friendly summer popcorn entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    This savvy and sensitive company has unapologetically made a movie for (very) young moviegoers.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 23, 2011
    55
    The plot of Cars 2 is both overly convoluted and thin, and it folds in so much unvarnished toddler-instruction that it almost feels like an educational film.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    The movie has its own deficits - a lack of variety, originality, subtlety, clarity and plain old charm.
  7. Reviewed by: Jamie N. Christley
    Jun 22, 2011
    25
    A crass and uncharacteristically threadbare cash-grab.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 124
  2. Negative: 33 out of 124
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the bestI saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing! Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent PixarI'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun action movie, and the movie does a great job of doing so. If you don't like that, go watch something else. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    cars two was a better sequel . everything is just like the 50's like james bond . but people and critics hated it it is 99 % true it doescars two was a better sequel . everything is just like the 50's like james bond . but people and critics hated it it is 99 % true it does suck . but i hope there's not a cars 3 . larry the cable as matter is gay that's not an a opinion it is true Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    Finally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it.Finally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it. It was good but it definitely is at the bottom of my list of pixar films. I went in with low expectations and i wasnt disappointed. Ive been a huge Pixar fan, but never a big cars fan, the first one was at the bottom of my pixar list and now the second one is there. This movie was decent ill give it that. I cant say it was a disappointment because you'd have to expect something in order to be disappointed and i didnt expect much because i never really liked cars and i didnt like the fact that they made a sequel to my least favorite pixar movie, and they shouldnt have. I know they are making a sequel to monsters inc (my fav pixar film) but that shouldve been thought of first before this, feels like they rushed this one into theatres, dont get me wrong, i did still enjoy it but they couldve spent more time on it and thought of a better storyline. I think alot of people disliked this movie so much because it was released right after toy story 3 which was really good and it set the bar real high for pixar. Anyways i still enjoyed this movie even though im not a cars fan. More like 5.5/10 but ill round it up to 6 because its Pixar. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    5
    I liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restlessI liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't liked (although "Up" was barely acceptable for me). There is a 5 minute short before the movie featuring the Toy Story characters, and it is better than the feature film! Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    This movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most PixarThis movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks Animation movies that tried to copy Pixar's style rather than an actual Pixar film. All in all, it felt like a cash grab that purposely misled customers through their ads by not telling us that Mater was the lead in this film - not Lightning McQueen as the ads portrayed. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2011
    0
    As a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convincedAs a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly low expectations (for both my memory of the first and poor reviews critically) the film was still worse than I would had anticipated. The characters are one-note, we never see anything endearing about these characters or really get to know them on a personal level. They do not have the instant lovable quality of any other characters which is not just because they are cars, Wall-E made robots look cute and cuddly after all. For a studio as progressive as Pixar I found the portrayals of characters in the film to be stereotypical and unfair and bad representations of the countries in this film (as the plot takes place and features characters from around the globe.) Mater is the single worst character in Pixar's history and it is a slap in the face that they made him an even larger part in the sequel, which is no doubt the worst film in Pixar's history, it should have been scrapped or made straight to dvd. I have faith in them still, as I loved the Toy Story short before this atrocious film. Fingers crossed for Brave and all their future ventures. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.