Cars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 381 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages. [Disney]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A work of American art as classic as it is modern. Note to tourists: Leave before the very end of the credits and you'll miss some of the best and funniest roadside sights.
  2. 88
    Cars leaves the animated competition in the dust, even if it is a tad slower and more predictable than Pixar at full throttle.
  3. 75
    Overall, if the film is not as funny as its predecessors, that's probably part and parcel of why it doesn't seem as enchanting. Emotionally, despite the character arc, Cars doesn't resonate in the same way "The Incredibles" or "Toy Story" did.
  4. 70
    If Cars is something of a letdown, that is not because of the moral messages that it delivers but because of the heavy hand with which it cranks them out.
  5. Warning: Cars comes unequipped with two essential options -- charm and a good muffler.
  6. 30
    If Cars is indicative of the kind of movie we can expect from Pixar post-Disney merger, well, there's always Miyazaki.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 123
  2. Negative: 8 out of 123
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small townIn this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
  2. MikeJ.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and found myself laughing at the jokes for the kids as well as the ones aimed at the adults. Well done Disney/Pixar! Another fine piece of quality entertainment. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    A lot of people consider this to be Pixar's weakest film, but I really enjoyed it. The film definitely takes me back to my childhood and myA lot of people consider this to be Pixar's weakest film, but I really enjoyed it. The film definitely takes me back to my childhood and my love of vehicles. The story is pretty simple but I would give it a pass because it doesn't distract the film at all. I thought Mater was going to be annoying, but he was actually alright. But other than that the characters are memorable, the racing is fabulous, and it has a lot of heart-warming moments. Expand
  4. JackB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    A good movie with great animation, but a little boring in some parts.
  5. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    Pixar's "Cars" is a visual masterpiece with a good morale planted within the movie. However, if I am correct that this company was the creatorPixar's "Cars" is a visual masterpiece with a good morale planted within the movie. However, if I am correct that this company was the creator of "Toy Story" and "WALL-E", I expect more. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    6
    Cars is an okay movie, but the sequel is a mess. I'm not a fan of the merchandise they have so far and quite possibly the most overrated movieCars is an okay movie, but the sequel is a mess. I'm not a fan of the merchandise they have so far and quite possibly the most overrated movie in Pixar's 17-year run. Although it can't match the success of the Toy Story series, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, or Monsters, Inc., but it has a lot of great racing action and a slew of characters like Lightning McQueen and Mater. Well, probably I'll rent the movie, but I hope Pixar could make a better Cars movie or else I'll stay home watching Toy Story 3. Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?