Cars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages. [Disney]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A work of American art as classic as it is modern. Note to tourists: Leave before the very end of the credits and you'll miss some of the best and funniest roadside sights.
  2. 88
    Cars leaves the animated competition in the dust, even if it is a tad slower and more predictable than Pixar at full throttle.
  3. 75
    Overall, if the film is not as funny as its predecessors, that's probably part and parcel of why it doesn't seem as enchanting. Emotionally, despite the character arc, Cars doesn't resonate in the same way "The Incredibles" or "Toy Story" did.
  4. 70
    If Cars is something of a letdown, that is not because of the moral messages that it delivers but because of the heavy hand with which it cranks them out.
  5. Warning: Cars comes unequipped with two essential options -- charm and a good muffler.
  6. 30
    If Cars is indicative of the kind of movie we can expect from Pixar post-Disney merger, well, there's always Miyazaki.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 128
  2. Negative: 8 out of 128
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small townIn this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
  2. DavidM.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    Pixar has indeed done it again. "Cars" has more wit, charm, and most important of all, HEART, than all of the movies released this summer Pixar has indeed done it again. "Cars" has more wit, charm, and most important of all, HEART, than all of the movies released this summer combined. To all those who say that the movie's central premise is formulaic and tired: I say it is something that is badly needed to be said, over and over, especially in our frentic society of fast food and celebrity/sports worship. It's quite ironic given that the only things that are "tired" and "formulaic" in Hollywood today are just about every other movie released recently that has been shamelessly sequeled or repackaged, soley to make a buck. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A really underappreciated movie, ranked as one of Pixar's worst. I disagree completely, thinking that it is one of Pixar's best. Cars is veryA really underappreciated movie, ranked as one of Pixar's worst. I disagree completely, thinking that it is one of Pixar's best. Cars is very creative and quite often very funny. Expand
  4. JohnH.
    Jul 3, 2006
    8
    The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding down-hill, in music, TV broadcasts, and in movies. But the sort of crap I would call American drivel is the stream of cheap, dumb comedies released every week. Theaters are flooded in sequels to Scary Movies, Garfield Movies, Adam Sandler Movies, and computer animated trash like Doogal and Over the Hedge. This movie was better written than all of the above, truly funny and clever. The typical Disney happy endings and abundant morals get somewhat tiresome for a 15 year old like myself, but my Mom enjoyed Cars even more than I did! It may not quite measure up to the Incredibles (which I consider one of my favorite 10 movies), but Pixar has done worse before (A Bug's Life). It defies the trend of recent comedies sucking, and could never be called "American Drivel". Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    Cars gets a bad rap from some people. It's not nearly as good as films like WALL-E and The Incredibles, but it's still a solid movie with someCars gets a bad rap from some people. It's not nearly as good as films like WALL-E and The Incredibles, but it's still a solid movie with some really nice emotional touches. It also has the distinction of being one of the most absolutely gorgeous films Pixar has ever made. Expand
  6. KenG.
    Jun 26, 2006
    6
    Harmless but hardly ihspired. It was very wholesome (almost painfully so) and at times a certain warmth threatens to break through, but Harmless but hardly ihspired. It was very wholesome (almost painfully so) and at times a certain warmth threatens to break through, but filmmalkers felt no inclination to develop this. Movie is also sappy, and completely unorginal. Still, preteens will likly be more enchanted then adults. The kids might no even notice how much this movie rips-off Michael J. Fox's "Doc Hollywood". (Since "Cars" wants very much to send the right messages to kids, how's this for a message to the kiddies "thou shall not steal") Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Collapse

See all 128 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?