Cars

Cars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages. [Disney]

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A work of American art as classic as it is modern. Note to tourists: Leave before the very end of the credits and you'll miss some of the best and funniest roadside sights.
  2. 88
    Cars leaves the animated competition in the dust, even if it is a tad slower and more predictable than Pixar at full throttle.
  3. 75
    Overall, if the film is not as funny as its predecessors, that's probably part and parcel of why it doesn't seem as enchanting. Emotionally, despite the character arc, Cars doesn't resonate in the same way "The Incredibles" or "Toy Story" did.
  4. 70
    If Cars is something of a letdown, that is not because of the moral messages that it delivers but because of the heavy hand with which it cranks them out.
  5. Warning: Cars comes unequipped with two essential options -- charm and a good muffler.
  6. 30
    If Cars is indicative of the kind of movie we can expect from Pixar post-Disney merger, well, there's always Miyazaki.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 131
  2. Negative: 8 out of 131
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small townIn this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
  2. MikeJ.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and found myself laughing at the jokes for the kids as well as the ones aimed at the adults. Well done Disney/Pixar! Another fine piece of quality entertainment. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    A perfect film for children that has a strong story and likable characters. The first time I saw this film, I was not impressed, but after oneA perfect film for children that has a strong story and likable characters. The first time I saw this film, I was not impressed, but after one more viewing, I changed my mind completely. Expand
  4. JohnH.
    Jul 3, 2006
    8
    The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding down-hill, in music, TV broadcasts, and in movies. But the sort of crap I would call American drivel is the stream of cheap, dumb comedies released every week. Theaters are flooded in sequels to Scary Movies, Garfield Movies, Adam Sandler Movies, and computer animated trash like Doogal and Over the Hedge. This movie was better written than all of the above, truly funny and clever. The typical Disney happy endings and abundant morals get somewhat tiresome for a 15 year old like myself, but my Mom enjoyed Cars even more than I did! It may not quite measure up to the Incredibles (which I consider one of my favorite 10 movies), but Pixar has done worse before (A Bug's Life). It defies the trend of recent comedies sucking, and could never be called "American Drivel". Expand
  5. May 23, 2015
    7
    I guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequencesI guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequences and never seen the full animation ).

    Pros:
    - Enchanting animation
    - Humour
    - Story
    - Back Story

    Cons:
    - Lenght
    - Slow Start
    - Gets boring

    I like a lot the idea of replacing EVERY MOVEMENT THING with CARS. This is a great idea, amongst other Pixar's. But this is one of those movies that you will see and hardly remember about it, maybe forget it exists. Looking forward to see the sequels.
    Expand
  6. MattS.
    Apr 7, 2007
    6
    I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie Pixar has made that has been truly average. Up to this point, PIxar's movies have been comedic adventures, keeping the film rolling from place to place and never trapping us in one local. Cars is entirely different - the first fifteen minutes promise a cross-country romp, but instead we soon find our favorite red racecar trapped in a small desert town. He tries to escape, again and again, and who can blame him? As is usually the case with small towns, it is incredibly boring - but as if also often the case with small towns, it is a great place to moralize. As a result, Cars quickly runs out of gas, and becomes a good-looking but so-so entry into a field of computer animated films that is already becoming oversaturated. Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand

See all 131 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?