Cars

Cars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages. [Disney]

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A work of American art as classic as it is modern. Note to tourists: Leave before the very end of the credits and you'll miss some of the best and funniest roadside sights.
  2. 88
    Cars leaves the animated competition in the dust, even if it is a tad slower and more predictable than Pixar at full throttle.
  3. 75
    Overall, if the film is not as funny as its predecessors, that's probably part and parcel of why it doesn't seem as enchanting. Emotionally, despite the character arc, Cars doesn't resonate in the same way "The Incredibles" or "Toy Story" did.
  4. 70
    If Cars is something of a letdown, that is not because of the moral messages that it delivers but because of the heavy hand with which it cranks them out.
  5. Warning: Cars comes unequipped with two essential options -- charm and a good muffler.
  6. 30
    If Cars is indicative of the kind of movie we can expect from Pixar post-Disney merger, well, there's always Miyazaki.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 138
  2. Negative: 8 out of 138
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small townIn this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
  2. DavidM.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    Pixar has indeed done it again. "Cars" has more wit, charm, and most important of all, HEART, than all of the movies released this summer Pixar has indeed done it again. "Cars" has more wit, charm, and most important of all, HEART, than all of the movies released this summer combined. To all those who say that the movie's central premise is formulaic and tired: I say it is something that is badly needed to be said, over and over, especially in our frentic society of fast food and celebrity/sports worship. It's quite ironic given that the only things that are "tired" and "formulaic" in Hollywood today are just about every other movie released recently that has been shamelessly sequeled or repackaged, soley to make a buck. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A really underappreciated movie, ranked as one of Pixar's worst. I disagree completely, thinking that it is one of Pixar's best. Cars is veryA really underappreciated movie, ranked as one of Pixar's worst. I disagree completely, thinking that it is one of Pixar's best. Cars is very creative and quite often very funny. Expand
  4. AdrianoC.
    Jul 3, 2006
    8
    It may be the worst Pixar film, but it's still dazzling - the landscapes are mesmerizing - and it has a wonderful climax at the final It may be the worst Pixar film, but it's still dazzling - the landscapes are mesmerizing - and it has a wonderful climax at the final race. The result is a movie at least pretty entertaining. And that's fine by me. Expand
  5. May 23, 2015
    7
    I guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequencesI guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequences and never seen the full animation ).

    Pros:
    - Enchanting animation
    - Humour
    - Story
    - Back Story

    Cons:
    - Lenght
    - Slow Start
    - Gets boring

    I like a lot the idea of replacing EVERY MOVEMENT THING with CARS. This is a great idea, amongst other Pixar's. But this is one of those movies that you will see and hardly remember about it, maybe forget it exists. Looking forward to see the sequels.
    Expand
  6. MattS.
    Apr 7, 2007
    6
    I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie Pixar has made that has been truly average. Up to this point, PIxar's movies have been comedic adventures, keeping the film rolling from place to place and never trapping us in one local. Cars is entirely different - the first fifteen minutes promise a cross-country romp, but instead we soon find our favorite red racecar trapped in a small desert town. He tries to escape, again and again, and who can blame him? As is usually the case with small towns, it is incredibly boring - but as if also often the case with small towns, it is a great place to moralize. As a result, Cars quickly runs out of gas, and becomes a good-looking but so-so entry into a field of computer animated films that is already becoming oversaturated. Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand

See all 138 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: May 5, 2016
    We rank all 17 Pixar films from worst to best.
  2. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  3. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  4. Six Picks for the Week of June 20-26

    Six Picks for the Week of June 20-26 Image
    Published: June 19, 2011
    This week, Pixar puts its success streak on the line, but will "Cars 2" get schooled by "Bad Teacher"? We also welcome the returns of "Louie" and "True Blood" and celebrate the release of a new Bon Iver album.
  5. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 10, 2011
    This week, watch a preview of the next "Twilight" movie and clips from "Green Lantern" and "Cars 2." Plus, get updates on upcoming projects from Robert Zemeckis, Quentin Tarantino, and Wes Anderson.