Cars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages. [Disney]
  • Director: Joe Ranft and John Lasseter
  • Genre(s): Sport, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: G
  • Runtime: 117 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Whether the movie will make you believe a shocking-orange stock car has a future with a lavender Carrera, it's more fun to follow than a televised freeway chase.
  2. A work of American art as classic as it is modern. Note to tourists: Leave before the very end of the credits and you'll miss some of the best and funniest roadside sights.
  3. 88
    Cars leaves the animated competition in the dust, even if it is a tad slower and more predictable than Pixar at full throttle.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    Cars is a classic American tale firing on all cylinders and fueled by organic emotion and a lively sense of adventure.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Periodic bursts of cleverness brighten the festivities, but they're too few and far between, and the trademark humor that appeals to adults and kids often misfires.
  6. 63
    Cars is certainly watchable, and there's always some amusing bit of business happening at the edges of the frame.
  7. 30
    If Cars is indicative of the kind of movie we can expect from Pixar post-Disney merger, well, there's always Miyazaki.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 121
  2. Negative: 8 out of 121
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small townIn this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
  2. MikeJ.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and I thought this movie was excellent in both graphical presentation and story telling. I watched in a theatre filled with adults and kids and found myself laughing at the jokes for the kids as well as the ones aimed at the adults. Well done Disney/Pixar! Another fine piece of quality entertainment. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    A perfect film for children that has a strong story and likable characters. The first time I saw this film, I was not impressed, but after oneA perfect film for children that has a strong story and likable characters. The first time I saw this film, I was not impressed, but after one more viewing, I changed my mind completely. Expand
  4. DrewF.
    Jul 9, 2006
    8
    Really had no inclination to go see this movie, which makes me all the more surprised by just how much i enjoyed it. If you are a Pixar fan, Really had no inclination to go see this movie, which makes me all the more surprised by just how much i enjoyed it. If you are a Pixar fan, or a fan of automotive racing in general (mainly NASCAR, but there is a little bit in there for F1 and open-wheel racing fans, too), you'll more then likely find some entertainment here. Up there among Pixar's best. It's no "Incredibles", but i doubt that there ever WILL be anything that can top that. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    I thought that "Cars", even at 117 minutes, is slightly overlong. The film is quite dull in places where nothing exciting is happening. TheI thought that "Cars", even at 117 minutes, is slightly overlong. The film is quite dull in places where nothing exciting is happening. The film also lacks a script with some emotion, however, the animation is fabulous. Prepare yourself for some exciting car-racing scenes! Expand
  6. MattS.
    Apr 7, 2007
    6
    I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie Pixar has made that has been truly average. Up to this point, PIxar's movies have been comedic adventures, keeping the film rolling from place to place and never trapping us in one local. Cars is entirely different - the first fifteen minutes promise a cross-country romp, but instead we soon find our favorite red racecar trapped in a small desert town. He tries to escape, again and again, and who can blame him? As is usually the case with small towns, it is incredibly boring - but as if also often the case with small towns, it is a great place to moralize. As a result, Cars quickly runs out of gas, and becomes a good-looking but so-so entry into a field of computer animated films that is already becoming oversaturated. Expand
  7. JonS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    1
    American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?