Pantelion Films | Release Date: March 16, 2012
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 40 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
16
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
kewlgeek555Nov 1, 2013
This movie might gave been very low budget and might have not shown the action promised, but honestly all the low-budget quality made this film the FUNNIEST movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mo-teurJan 31, 2013
I loved this movie. Lots of throwbacks at how movies were made and the puppets used are plain ridiculous. The whole movie is kind of serious but couldn't stop laughing. Favorite comedy of 2012.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tvchicano07Jan 15, 2013
Pretty funny. Will Ferrell is okay but the movie was really funny because of Diego Luna and sexy because of Genesis Rodriguez! The plot was not the best it could have been but hey it's a comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tuinSep 6, 2012
This film shouldn't be taken too serious I very much enjoyed the scenes and all the funny errors that we're in there. it's nice to see a movie again that doesn't take things too serious. I think Will ferrel did a very good job here. I wishThis film shouldn't be taken too serious I very much enjoyed the scenes and all the funny errors that we're in there. it's nice to see a movie again that doesn't take things too serious. I think Will ferrel did a very good job here. I wish there were more films like this out there instead of the typical blockbuster movies we have nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
screamingmonkeyAug 17, 2012
This is the best way i can put this. If you've seen "Black Dynamite" and liked it, you'll probably love this. here's the caveat. "Black Dynamite" is a movie about blaxploitation films that were churned out to cash in on the success ofThis is the best way i can put this. If you've seen "Black Dynamite" and liked it, you'll probably love this. here's the caveat. "Black Dynamite" is a movie about blaxploitation films that were churned out to cash in on the success of "Shaft." Few of them really tried to be good. This is a love letter to the tellanovella, in the form of an early 80's western. I have a feeling that some of the people making tellanovellas actually believe that they're doing something with quality and weight. This movie takes itself seriously, which makes it more absurd, but in a quieter way. It really helps to have had spanish in high school, because you will read the subtitles much faster, since your brain already has some idea what's being said whether you know it or not. This allows you to notice more of the subtleties. There are so many consistency errors. I'm not talking about the plentiful "now he has a cig, now he doesn't, now he does" moments. I'm talking about extras being filled out with mannequins, or a wedding massacre victim casually smoking away because he doesn't know he's on camera. At the same time, there isn't one single technology or fashion anachronism ever. Comedy is like horror. What one person finds effective, another thinks is terrible. I thought this movie was hilarious, but I understand that few will agree. Hope this lets you know if you're one of the few that does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lancekozAug 14, 2012
I can't believe how fussy the critics and viewers are about a film that is made to be a silly spoof in the first place. Lighten UP! and you will find a lot to enjoy here. The actors stay deep in character at all times, the story and scenesI can't believe how fussy the critics and viewers are about a film that is made to be a silly spoof in the first place. Lighten UP! and you will find a lot to enjoy here. The actors stay deep in character at all times, the story and scenes move along without stalling, and there are a lot if visual pleasures here. The purposely bad sets and effects not only spoof old Mexican films and telenovelas, but are refreshingly artistic in an era when even crappy American movies and TV shows have way too much budget dedicated to 'professional' production values that end up just looking boring by comparison. The art direction is really quite good. The title sequence alone is a beautiful tribute to 70's art. And if you understand Spanish and Mexican efforts at understanding English, the crazy subtitles are hilarious! My only complaints are a slightly long ending that sort of goes all over the place, and the film is a bit too violent in several places (for a comedy). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HumanApr 15, 2012
This film has a lot of Tim and Eric style humor, as does a lot of Will Ferrell projects these days. I did laugh a good deal while watching this film, however the pacing was kind of off. Like a super ridiculous scene followed by a "heartfelt"This film has a lot of Tim and Eric style humor, as does a lot of Will Ferrell projects these days. I did laugh a good deal while watching this film, however the pacing was kind of off. Like a super ridiculous scene followed by a "heartfelt" one. It just felt kind of inconsistent. I think that's part of the problem of relying too much on surrealist humor, it can get old fast and too much of it makes the story incoherent, so it was applied in small doses. All that aside, Will Ferrell does an excellent in an all Spanish-speaking role. Fans of Will Ferrell's more recent works will probably enjoy this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GOUGHMar 24, 2012
In a word, "perfecto". It is what it is. Pulls no punches, and, you know, in the world of Tarantino does homage or spoof or exact copy replicas of the films he saw as a kid, this does one better. Funny, Violent, and muy corazon!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TishlindaMar 17, 2012
It is a hard to swallow movie, but; if you do have an open mind, I believe, like me, you will love this pelicula (movie in Spanish) I appreciate the risk taken by Will Ferrel and this production. They were brave and as honest as they couldIt is a hard to swallow movie, but; if you do have an open mind, I believe, like me, you will love this pelicula (movie in Spanish) I appreciate the risk taken by Will Ferrel and this production. They were brave and as honest as they could get. Casa de mi Padre is a comedy, but also a Satire; keep this in mind and enjoy... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DanielOnFilmMar 17, 2012
Casa de mi Padre is a loving parody of Mexican "B" movies, and all the movie-making goofs that that entails. There's fake-looking, obvious sets. Horse riding scenes are done with mock-ups, not real animals. Blown takes are kept in.Casa de mi Padre is a loving parody of Mexican "B" movies, and all the movie-making goofs that that entails. There's fake-looking, obvious sets. Horse riding scenes are done with mock-ups, not real animals. Blown takes are kept in. And it's all done on purpose. In one scene, an extra smokes a cigarette--unaware that the camera is rolling and his character should be lying in a sprawl dead. Casa de mi Padre bends over backwards trying to be a bad film, and does it tremendously well. Troll 2 was bad, consciously bad, enjoyably bad--but still bad. But Casa de me Padre stumbles, tumbles, and bumbles so well, it's actually good. It's mistakes are worse, deliberate, avoidable, and far more consistent. It made me laugh so much, tears were streaming down my eyes--it's that funny. If you've never seen a subtitled movie, I can't think of a better place to start. Full review on my blog. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews