User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 871 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 871
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best, is not the best, Bond films since the days of Connery. The dark and gritty tones are a welcome change of pace, and the story still manages to infuse humor in the right places, and in my opinion also in the right quantity. Easy 10.
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Simply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and theSimply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and the last Bond was essential, with the new techniques there are better visual and audio effects, that improve the whole movie quite much. 'Casino Royale' is a legendary story, the ending is absolutely great and I also enjoyed the poker game. It's a little step away from being a perfect action movie, but is surely one of the best I've seen in years and everything just works in this film. Simply awesome! Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Casino Royale is by far the best of the newest Bonds, with an exciting premise, masterful execution, and an overall Bond feel to it that is mesmerizingly good.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Casino Royale rejuvenates the Bond franchise with a beautifully crafted film complete with wit, emotion, plot and of course, enthralling action sequences.
  5. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the best Bond film ever, and one of the best action films I've ever seen. It's grittier and more violent than the previous films, but it is purely entertaining.
  6. May 22, 2014
    10
    OK Better than Sky fall. You can see this movie. this is one of my first movies with torture. First bond movie with a longest poker game in the movie.
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Best Bond movie ever, those who don't agree obviously don't know a good movie. To all of those guys who hate this movie ( luckily there aren't many, u mad brooooooo?)
  8. JeffM.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Casino Royale is the best Bond film ever and Daniel Craig, as Bond, was awsome. I only wish we can see more of him as Bond in remakes.
  9. R.Nichols
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Best Bond movie by far. Comparisons to Bourne Supremacy are right. Finally a Bond that's not a wimp, but a killer. Craig is the right actor for the role. Great casting. Hope the next Bond movie keeps with this new approach to Bond.
  10. MaryD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I enjoyed the action in this movie to make him more of a human event instead of a computer role. Thanks Daniel for your energy throughout the movie.
  11. DrewF.
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the most exciting action sequences that the series has ever seen. Great performance by Mads Mikkelsen as the most believable and sympathetic Bond villain to come along in awhile. Great entry in the series. Expand
  12. JamesN.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    More realistic than the previous Bond movies which have been too much like cartoons. Daniel Craig does a great job as Bond and the story and intro are great.
  13. CharlesT.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    The best James Bond movie ever made. It is a great fresh movie. It shows the series by doing something something i would not have ever thought of in my whole life and that is creating Daniel Craig into the best Bond ever and making it a great movie.
  14. RichardK.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly what the Bond franchise needed to save itself. I can't wait to see the next one, this time at the Theatre .
  15. ChrisF
    May 14, 2007
    9
    As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your reviews, the film needed the slower poker sections to add tension and depth to the characters and the story, but adds the fast-paced action sequences As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your reviews, the film needed the slower poker sections to add tension and depth to the characters and the story, but adds the fast-paced action sequences to bring about the necessary climax to each event. And for all those whining about the lack of the "usual" bond plot items, ie, the moneypenny scene, the gadgets, the corny one-liners; again these are not part of the plot, nor is it the bond of the story that is being told in this film, and for those that claim you are bond fans, you should understand this and appreciate it for what it is, even if it doesn't cover your checklist. For those complaining about the violence, it's unnecessary, it's too dark, too gory, etc; since when have we NEVER seen bond bleed? See Dalton, or Pierce, however, what we do see is an invincible Craig coming back to the table after a huge fight and again a poisoning! And then we see the suave, but still too young and inexperienced to be charming, coming back to match wits against his evil and over-the-top adversary, with plenty of glib comments, "that last hand almost killed me". How anyone could be blind enough to give this film less than 5 is beyond me, especially so-called "bond fans". The only thing left to say about the movie to prove all these confused nay-sayers wrong, is that people voteed with their wallets, making this film one of the top 40 (at least) ranked global grossing films of all time, leaving us with little to doubt, BRING ON BOND #22! Expand
  16. RyanS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Best Bond film since Goldfinger.
  17. JadaG.
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    This film action packed from beginning to nearly end then end. There was one moment that lasted a good 5 minutes that was too long, but everything else meet or exceeded standards. Go and see for yourself.
  18. HeathQ.
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as the ORIGINAL Bond Story, before he became a double 0 agent. Yes, Bond is a suave character in the films we have all grown to love, but this is the Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as the ORIGINAL Bond Story, before he became a double 0 agent. Yes, Bond is a suave character in the films we have all grown to love, but this is the unexperienced Bond, lover of women, but night quite as slick as he is yet to become. Great film, can't wait for Bond 22. Expand
  19. VitusP.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of explosives. Just to point out, I think the opening ("You Know My Name", appropriately enough) is the first Bond movie not to feature dancing females' nude silhousettes. This suggests that Bond films are becoming more than just toy commercials for middle aged men. Also, it's about time we saw another Bond film based on Ian Flemming's novels. Praise be that they got the first one right. Expand
  20. AzaE.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Great, but where was Q?
  21. GauthamS
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Raw, formidable and absolutely humane ! One of the best James Bond Movie .
  22. Oriel
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks to the filmmakers who helped bring an old childhood friend back.
  23. DougM
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    In looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms ofIn looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms of total number of tickets sold amongst Bond movies (not how much money made as a movie ticket costs three times what it did in Connery's day but actual number sold). It was dying. The new Bond is exactly what was needed to reinvent Bond for 2006 and onward. Expand
  24. BarryS.
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    As a youngster, I loved the Bond films and particularly ones starring Connery. In the years since, I had been growing tired of the cartoonish Bond, the man who could never lose at anything and who, when all else failed, would simply use a gadget to extricate himself from his dilemma. In fact, from the moment each gadget was issued to him, one could envision just when that life-saving As a youngster, I loved the Bond films and particularly ones starring Connery. In the years since, I had been growing tired of the cartoonish Bond, the man who could never lose at anything and who, when all else failed, would simply use a gadget to extricate himself from his dilemma. In fact, from the moment each gadget was issued to him, one could envision just when that life-saving device would come in handy. Everything about Bond had become stale and predictable. Casino Royale is not perfect. The villains roles and their relationships to each other could be better defined and the movie drags in small bits. But the overall product is the first Bond film worth seeing in years. Craig does a great job as the pre-quel Bond. Here's hoping Craig returns and builds on what he has started. With more experience and a growing reputation Bond is poised to act more cleverly and even be outfitted with some state of the art gadgetry, some of which he may not use despite having it. If you like a more realistic Bond and a story that was not simply re-written and repackaged, then you will like the new Bond. I look forward to what is in store for 007 now that he has someplace to go other than cartoon land. Expand
  25. MarkB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    Chomp, chomp, (choke), gulp. That's the sound of a good many 007-watchers, myself included, who spent the last two years or so moaning about Daniel Craig's casting as "the first blond Bond' eating our words. While I'm still rooting for Clive Owen to take his turn in a few years once the Craig/ Broccoli connection inevitably dries up, I've seldom been so happy to Chomp, chomp, (choke), gulp. That's the sound of a good many 007-watchers, myself included, who spent the last two years or so moaning about Daniel Craig's casting as "the first blond Bond' eating our words. While I'm still rooting for Clive Owen to take his turn in a few years once the Craig/ Broccoli connection inevitably dries up, I've seldom been so happy to be wrong: Craig gives Bond a rawness and intensity that, for all of Pierce Brosnan's undeniable charm in the role, has been missing ever since the vastly underrated Timothy Dalton strapped on the Walther PPK for two money-losing late 80s installments. Craig makes Martin Campbell's fully honorable attempt to rebuild Bond from the ground up an unqualified success; if you sat through The Sum of All Fears, the disastrous 2002 attempt to redefine Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan as a single Ben Affleck rather than a married-with-children Harrison Ford, you know what a dicey endeavor that reinventing an established character can be. Amazingly, Casino Royale, like Peter Jackson's brilliant do-over of King Kong from a year before, manages the heady task of both honoring its predecessors and correcting their mistakes: after Goldfinger in 1965, most of the Bond films--good, bad or indifferent--have been as ritualistic as Japanese kabuki theater (28 minutes into the flick? OK, time for the obligatory repartee with Moneypenney!) and have been, even at their best, relentlessly bloodless enterprises in both senses of the word. Over a quarter of a decade ago, Steven Spielberg pitched Indiana Jones to George Lucas by describing everyone's favorite fighting archaeologist as "better than Bond"; the result was three films that were "must-see moviegoing" rather than the "it's-there-and-it's-the-latest-so-what-the-heck" that such mediocre, by-the-numbers efforts as The Man With the Golden Gun and Moonraker had relegated the 007 films to being. Indy was no superhero...he was vulnerable, and felt pain, and Casino Royale's genius is that its Bond is still learning, makes BIG mistakes, and actually bleeds. (And bleeds, and bleeds. Make no mistake, parents, this isn't a PG-13 film at all but a hard R. If you haven't seen the documentary This Film Is Not Yet Rated, whose thesis is that the MPAA is far more lenient toward big studio efforts than small independent movies, this will convince you.) Eva Green is hands down THE best Bond girl of all time precisely because she's not a girl at all but a real woman... intelligent, multidimensional and able to give Bond as good as she gets, and I loved how this film, while remaining in the present day and being firmly rooted in the War on Terror rather than the Cold War, works as Bond's "origin story", explaining everything from his casual/ cruel attitude toward women (007 somehow qualifies as both the honorary president of the Playboy Club AND the He-Man Women-Haters Club) to his special fondness for Aston-Martins to even where the film series' famous "bloody iris" trademark comes from. (And the movie answers a few relevant fan questions, too. If you ever wondered whether Judi Dench's M has any kind of personal life, you'll find out...if you look closely.) Nearly everything works, including the risky Texas hold-em poker sequence that takes up a substantial part of the running time, but for many the most memorable sequence will be Bond's torture scene, which recalls memories of Goldfinger's legendary "laser bit" but turns up the intensity; if men in the earlier movie's audience crossed their legs in discomfort, they're likely to twist them like pretzels during THIS variant. Two more elements that place Casino Royale on the same rarified plateau as Goldfinger and its predecessor From Russia With Love is that all three are the only films in the entire Bond series that are viable Ten Best entries for their respective years, and all three of them, to refer to a very funny play that Casino Royale makes on one of 007's signature lines, are the Bond films virtually guaranteed to leave their audiences both shaken AND stirred. Expand
  26. JakeP.
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Very good, a bit more gadgetry could have been added, but overall a great addition to the Bond collection!
  27. Javier
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    I actually enjoyed Bronsan as Bond, especially in Goldeneye, but Die Another Day was "Batman and Robin" bad. This movie in my eye resurrects the franchise. While no one can top Connery's Bond, both dashing and brutal, Craig's interpretation recalls those qualities. People forget how ammoral Connery's Bond could be. Eva Green is riveting, rewatch her scenes with Bond and you I actually enjoyed Bronsan as Bond, especially in Goldeneye, but Die Another Day was "Batman and Robin" bad. This movie in my eye resurrects the franchise. While no one can top Connery's Bond, both dashing and brutal, Craig's interpretation recalls those qualities. People forget how ammoral Connery's Bond could be. Eva Green is riveting, rewatch her scenes with Bond and you will see how nuanced her performance is. The early action scene at the construction site is amazing, but the movie doesn't rely on overblown chase scenes to create tension. The movie is a tad too long, but at least the length allows Craig and Green to convey a real realtionship. I highly recommend this movie (Who ever said MI3 was better is nuts or is Tom Cruise - which may be the samething) Expand
  28. JimmyLoneWolf
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    I really can't believe some of the comments I'm reading on here...what stupidity! First off, this movie BLOWS Spy Game out of the water, to the idiot who said this was trying to be like that film by making us "feel" for a spy. Second, I get a HUGE kick out of the girl who claims this movie "seemed to be all about FX" when the movie that came out right before it was Die Another I really can't believe some of the comments I'm reading on here...what stupidity! First off, this movie BLOWS Spy Game out of the water, to the idiot who said this was trying to be like that film by making us "feel" for a spy. Second, I get a HUGE kick out of the girl who claims this movie "seemed to be all about FX" when the movie that came out right before it was Die Another Day, the worst example of overblown special effects I've seen in years. Finally, a shout out to the guy who says Live and Let Die (with its "gadgets") is "what REAL Bond films are about," conveniently ignoring From Russia With Love and the other SUPERIOR Connery films that wisely held back on overusing the gimmicks. As for Casino Royale, it was exceptionally good, and truly rivals the Connery years. Daniel Craig is perfect in the role, the cinematography is stunningly good, the romance feels real for a change, and the action is as harsh and brutal as it has ever been. People who don't like this movie simply have no idea what constitutes a "classic" film. Instead, they'll take the clunky camerawork and cheesy, pun-laden "humor" of the Brosnan films simply because there's giant lasers and CGI involved. This film will prove to film lovers that the state of cinema is just fine, its the state of mainstream audiences' minds that we should REALLY worried about. This is the best Bond film in nearly 30 years, its just too bad noone watches movies from 30 years ago so they have no idea what a GOOD Bond film is like. Wake up people, this is the real deal. Expand
  29. JamesB.
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is young and most energetic of his time. Expand
  30. CandyR.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned out to be the most breathtaking and enigmatic persona I've seen on the screen in a very long time! Imagine, Bond, a real person after all! For those who vastly enjoy the intellectual qualities of a film greater than the mindless and gratuitous sexual content with its childish repartees, this is the REAL McCOY!!! The dialogue is fresh, the action is riveting, and I've never seen anything so wonderful as Bond in a bathing suit! Expand
  31. BrianG
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    Perhaps the finest Bond film since Goldfinger. I have to agree that the Bond franchise was desperately in need of a "re-boot" given the ludicrous and wholly unsatisfying attempts of the recent films. Daniel Craig gives a superb performance, delivering intense, rugged sophistication. The scene on the train to Montenegro, in which Bond first meets Vesper and they quickly launch into their Perhaps the finest Bond film since Goldfinger. I have to agree that the Bond franchise was desperately in need of a "re-boot" given the ludicrous and wholly unsatisfying attempts of the recent films. Daniel Craig gives a superb performance, delivering intense, rugged sophistication. The scene on the train to Montenegro, in which Bond first meets Vesper and they quickly launch into their subtle verbal sparring provides fascinating insight into Bond Expand
  32. Gerdema
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    Cunning, great acting performance from Daniel Craig.
  33. JimP
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Best Bond ever, best Bond film ever. Period.
  34. amicus
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Well-crafted movie. A realistic portrayal of a secret agent with the flamboyance and wit only James could deliver.
  35. TimJ.
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a dozen bond movies.
  36. KevinM.
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting is fantastic, and the frequent remarks and humorous quick comments keep viewers on the edge of their seat, if not standing up yelling. Expand
  37. EricN.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was ok for me as a Bond-geek, but my non-Bond-geek companions were getting a little worn out toward the end. Also, I haven't seen my local theater that packed in a long time. Expand
  38. WillW.
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up the dialogue (and does it show). And they pick a fantastic Bond. Daniel Craig is closer to the Bond of the novels than arguably even Sean Connery, and The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up the dialogue (and does it show). And they pick a fantastic Bond. Daniel Craig is closer to the Bond of the novels than arguably even Sean Connery, and the supporting cast is uniformly excellent. The only slight annoyance is Mads Mikkelson doesn't get enough screen time as Le Chiffre, although he more than makes up for it with the magnetic torture scene. Martin Campbell's saved the franchise again. Expand
  39. BruceC.,CraneTexas
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I love this film. Is because there is no gadgets. no Q, or no Moneypenny. But most of all. I love the new Bond!!
  40. AnthonyS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor back to Sean Connery. This film has given me a new hope for the future of Bond!!
  41. KennethK.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Most satisfying movie experiece I've had in quite some time. Daniel Craig is the best Bond of all time. No question.
  42. RedRose
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of 1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of Mission Impossible/XXX etc and are used to seeing films run no longer than 100 mins. 4) This is the best film of the year. Vastly superior to the overrated Departed. BRITAINS FAVOURITE SPY IS BACK. 10/10 Expand
  43. PetroM
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    Never was a fan of 007 movies, but this fun definitely rocks! Enjoyed it alot. Dench and Craig delivery an excellent performance. Well balanced.
  44. LindaS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. Daniel Craig shows serious pontential as our modern 6th James Bond. A great action packed romance movie all around. Has everything a bond movie There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. Daniel Craig shows serious pontential as our modern 6th James Bond. A great action packed romance movie all around. Has everything a bond movie needs. However, they all need more blood, i say the next one, go for the R Rating. Expand
  45. LoriP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Not sure how you give it less than 7.5, but not a perfect 10 either. But the movie doesn't have to be perfect to be a must see. I seriously doubted their ability to revive this franchise, but like Batman Begins, going back to the beginning works here with a younger, stonger Bond - did I mention darker?? I love that Bond is dark. He is much more human than his predecessors in that he Not sure how you give it less than 7.5, but not a perfect 10 either. But the movie doesn't have to be perfect to be a must see. I seriously doubted their ability to revive this franchise, but like Batman Begins, going back to the beginning works here with a younger, stonger Bond - did I mention darker?? I love that Bond is dark. He is much more human than his predecessors in that he stumbles, bleeds, falls, etc and at the same time is the back to basics - a stone cold killer. He's an assassin. That's what he is at the bottom line although we're usually glossing that over with sex and witticisms which are are missing here, and I for one did not miss them. The only misstep was the super long ending. The romance really took us down a different path too quickly, to a different Bond, to a different story and just seemed a 15-20 minute setup for the inevitable ending. That said... go see this movie! I know you gentlemen will enjoy the feisty, intelligent new Bond Girl so allow me my moment to say... ladies... ummm, naked Daniel Craig... worth the price of admission. Expand
  46. Dr.Yes
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Ah, Russia's Vladimir Putin would be proud!!! Not sure why Time and the Miami Herald are so off in left field on this one. It's more realistic and more violent. The acting is much better too as is the story. He is not suave campy movie Bond...he's real world "I kill people...so part of myself is dying". Not sure how hard of a concept that is to understand. I do have to say Ah, Russia's Vladimir Putin would be proud!!! Not sure why Time and the Miami Herald are so off in left field on this one. It's more realistic and more violent. The acting is much better too as is the story. He is not suave campy movie Bond...he's real world "I kill people...so part of myself is dying". Not sure how hard of a concept that is to understand. I do have to say the end is a downshift, but necessary to advance the Bond character to more depth in future movies. Amazing timing with the real world ex-KGB spy's poisoning in Britain. The world is slowly drawing up sides again, Keep up the REALITY that we got in this movie...so much better. No more spacy laser beam Bond. Amen. Expand
  47. DanS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after they get shot. This is fast-paced, dark, suspenseful, and sets a new standard of cool.
  48. RD.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Very good movie. I can't compare it with other Bond movies as I have not seen them. But this is a great entertainer.
  49. Paul
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my pops. Any movie where you want a repeat viewing is a 10!
  50. GlenC
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    As young boys back in the Connery days of Dr. No and Goldfinger, we used to exchange James Bond movie cards. Big thing back then. I've been a lifelong Bond fan, but I must confess that the recent films were beginning to lose me. Too many techno gadgets, explosions, and hyperaction left us wondering if we were watching actors on film or video games. Thank God (and Ms Broccoli) for the As young boys back in the Connery days of Dr. No and Goldfinger, we used to exchange James Bond movie cards. Big thing back then. I've been a lifelong Bond fan, but I must confess that the recent films were beginning to lose me. Too many techno gadgets, explosions, and hyperaction left us wondering if we were watching actors on film or video games. Thank God (and Ms Broccoli) for the newest Bond. I must say this already ranks among my very favorites, and IMO, one of the best movies of 2006. Daniel Craig is awesome. His character reminds me of Connery, perhaps a bit more vulnerable and less humorous and charming, but we understand this is the beginning all over again. As for those critics who say the movie was too long, didn't their mothers tell them NOT to smoke crack? God forbid that we should ever be given a 90-minute Bond movie! Expand
  51. Peter
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    Best James Bond movie to date. Daniel Craig really roughened up Bonds character yet still kept the cool suave aspects that make Bond...Bond.
  52. ThomL.
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the curb to make a superb, believeable espionage thriller. Expand
  53. StormG
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Outstanding!
  54. KatyaS.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Craig certainly makes his bond debut a splash, this is exactly what the bond movies needed to bring the younger generation back to them.
  55. PatM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie---from the initial graphics to the ending scene!!!
  56. PepitaR.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Fantastic film. One word to describe the new bond and the entire film. "RAW". I loved it. The action, the romance, the mood has lingered with me through the night up to this minute.
  57. KevinD.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    This was a new kind of Bond film. Not all that bad. In fact highly enjoyable. It had some old elements such as the opening fight scene and the final scene, with the added effects of the black and white opener and the great lack of MI-6. Sean Connery Bond lovers will love it, Pierce's followers won't as much. Although I was disappointed that he was only with one woman and that This was a new kind of Bond film. Not all that bad. In fact highly enjoyable. It had some old elements such as the opening fight scene and the final scene, with the added effects of the black and white opener and the great lack of MI-6. Sean Connery Bond lovers will love it, Pierce's followers won't as much. Although I was disappointed that he was only with one woman and that she had to die, it was still a solid good ol' action flick. Expand
  58. TomS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Loved the film. Fab special effects, good story line and lots of twists and turns you would'nt expect. Not like the other Bond films, but that is not a bad thing just different!!
  59. JasonL.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just goes to show you how tired that whole disturbing comedy trash (with John Cleese of all people) was becoming. Thank god for this movie. Expand
  60. DougM.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I don't think he is "better" than previous Bonds. If you look at how ridiculous those movies were in Moore's era, it made perfect sense to play them for laughs. But Craig is perfect to play a three-dimensional Bond. Expand
  61. JB
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. This is a prequal film to all other Bonds after all, did they not even notice the entire start of the film being about him getting promoted to 00 Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. This is a prequal film to all other Bonds after all, did they not even notice the entire start of the film being about him getting promoted to 00 status? As for the person who suggests Steven Segal as a Bond. I mean really. A sadly overweight, aging (he has many years on Brosnan, and people thought him too old) American has-been, it would be charity to offer him a bit part as a hench man, let alone Bond. Well done, with that one suggestion you validate everything else you wrote as coming from someone totally clueless. Hurrah to Craig for reinventing the franchise. Expand
  62. Daz
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Probably the best bond movie ever. The biggest compliment I can give the movie is that it reminded me more of the Bourne films than any old Bond flick. Well done Mr Craig!!
  63. A.Martinez
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    One of the best Bond films. More mature, visceral, overall a great movie.
  64. DonaldR.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did surprise me though was the film's emotional arc. I was actually moved and saddened by the tenderness shown by this man who historically has been nothing but a hunk with a chunk of misogyny in his heart. Now I understand why. That added depth made this film all the better with its great action sequences, strong story line and believable villians. I look forward to the next chapter. Expand
  65. OLuck
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Really fantastic, one of the best spy movies ever. It is not getting the respect it deserves becasue fo the franchise. The direction, scripting, acting is superior, really trancends the genre. Fantastic.
  66. OLuck
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    To tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them wereTo tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them were really genuine Bond films! His movies lacked the suave, sardonic manner of Connery and all of his movies were at times ridiculous (Die Another Day).
    Now lets talk about Craig.
    While Connery was an incredible Bond, he is no Daniel Craig. While the appeal and "smooth" style of Connery as Bond is iconic. Daniel Craig turns Bond into a sadistic, volatile kind of agent of blazing ferocity, kind of like how Fleming would've wanted Bond. Craig alone makes the movie so incendiary, as well as the well-produced screenplay and the other small things (The Chris Cornell song rocks!). This movie made up for the disappointment I underwent when I saw the Departed and It is easily one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
    Expand
  67. JonathanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it was awesome, it gets better every time i watch it.
  68. RachelL.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration it shows the realism of the film. I don't think it should have been a pg13 as many of the scenes would have been unsuitable for a young aged The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration it shows the realism of the film. I don't think it should have been a pg13 as many of the scenes would have been unsuitable for a young aged viewer as they are extremely violent or of a sexual nature. Daniel Craig will improve as this character as he continues to play Bond. He has also bought a coldness to the character, never scene before, but commonly referenced to in the book. Expand
  69. EvertH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the best (if not the best...) Bond-movies that have come out. Gone are the silly gadgets and silly humor (although I hope a little bit more sardonic humor I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the best (if not the best...) Bond-movies that have come out. Gone are the silly gadgets and silly humor (although I hope a little bit more sardonic humor will return), not the typical ending of the franchise that ends up with the pretty woman in some unqiue position, no Q unrealisticly traveling around with all of his equipment and staff. Just down to earth honest action. The only I could see is that Judi Dench was still playing M (how can that be if the series just started over?). I can't wait till the next one (and I understand it's going to be another 2 year wait). Expand
  70. JoelC.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite Bond. I was amazed this movie turned out so good after seeing what Pierce was doing to the Bond franchise. Thank god he's gone!
  71. JasonS
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best Bond movies ever!
  72. EricY.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for cashing in on that as well. What a great movie!
  73. JakeE.
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally saw him. And for all those Daniel Craig doubters, he does more than silence the critics as a more rogue Bond.
  74. DAR
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the other. While those films have their own entertainment value, elements of suspense and a plot that leaves you with unanswered questions were not their hallmarks. Casino Royale takes a much different turn, one which I think is for the better, by being a smarter Bond film in that regard - devoid of the run-of-the-mill sequences that didn't set the previous Bond films apart from any other action flick. And, aside from MoneyPenny and Q not being present, all of the other standard Bond film elements that make the series unique are still in place, albeit more subtlely introduced than most Bond fans are used to. Craig played the role as well as Connery ever has, presenting a much more well-rounded character than we're used to seeing. All in all, a fantastic 007 film, perhaps only topped (or equaled, I should say) by From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Expand
  75. RussW.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva Green was, and remains, one of the only Bond girls I have ever been able to believe (the only other one being Pussy Galore, despite the name).
  76. MartinS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This is the James Bond that Ian Fleming had in mind.
  77. KrisK.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This was one of the best movies ever made! Thank God for Casino Royale!
  78. AllenT.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Yes! They resurrected the Bond franchise!
  79. JamesCool
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  80. MattR
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, exciting, unpredictable. The last several Bond movies have followed a formula that made them feel like the same movie each time. Other negative reviews say that the plot made no sense, but that's far from the film's fault, it says more about those people than the film. The way the plot comes together at the end is amazing and is story-telling mastery that the series has never been able to achieve in the past. Action scenes were incredible, particularly the parkour chase in the beginning and the Venice shootout at the end. Acting was great, especially Eva Green (playing Vesper Lynd) and Daniel Craig. I really grew close to the characters, making the plot twist all the more shocking. The one negative thing I have to say about this movie is that it feels like it drags on a little in the middle, and all the more if you don't understand how poker works. It's still completely engaging and entertaining all the way through, but the action-drought in the middle may slightly bother some. Only a very minor complaint. Expand
  81. RobertB
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Great movie! Best Bond in a long time. This is how Bond should be.
  82. Billw
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best James bond movies. I love the plot, Daniel are very cool and i think he is the real James bond.
  83. WesterlyQuetin
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

    If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
  84. BaqirT.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    Superb! Thrilling action, especially in Madagascar and at Miami Airport. Bond Girls are lovely (as usaul), especially Caterina Murino.
  85. VladA.
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better actors? Yes, it's a rhetorical question. Expand
  86. DebbieY.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Amazing.
  87. Starfox
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new direction (and continuous storyline) for films to come.
  88. Fantasy
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
  89. MegW.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
  90. BlueMan
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
  91. ChaseM.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies.
  92. JasonS
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best Bond movies ever!
  93. BillC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and it's a good thing Brosnan has hung up his license to kill. Bill C. Expand
  94. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top futuristic things that plagued the last few bond movies.....BUT...that movie was a little too long...(that's why not a 10).
  95. Chris
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there needThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
  96. ChrisB
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
  97. ChazG.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
  98. AngelM.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year.
  99. KentE.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat !
  100. SETHD
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. What a relief to escape the series' increasing bondage to high-tech gimmicks in favor of intrigue and suspense featuring richly nuanced characters and women who think the body's sexiest organ is the brain.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Craig comes closer to the author's original conception of this exceptionally long-lived male fantasy figure than anyone since early Sean Connery.
  3. This Bond is haunted, not yet housebroken, still figuring out the persona. In Casino Royale, the reset button has been pressed in the manner of "Batman Begins."