Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1295 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,134
Mixed:
69
Negative:
92
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DrewK.Nov 22, 2006
A captivating portrayal of Mr. Bond. While many elements of the film took a turn for the grittier, actually seeing Bond at true moments of weakness was a breath of fresh air. Daniel Craig played the character quite well. There were several A captivating portrayal of Mr. Bond. While many elements of the film took a turn for the grittier, actually seeing Bond at true moments of weakness was a breath of fresh air. Daniel Craig played the character quite well. There were several lines which made me groan (most by Eva Green's character Vesper), but for the most part the film stepped away from the cliche'd dialogue so relentlessly present in all other 007 flicks. A+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Nov 22, 2006
As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Nov 22, 2006
Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChazG.Nov 22, 2006
This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PetroMNov 22, 2006
Never was a fan of 007 movies, but this fun definitely rocks! Enjoyed it alot. Dench and Craig delivery an excellent performance. Well balanced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCNov 22, 2006
Best Bond since Goldeneye. The last half-hour was completely unecessary, but all in all a worthy movie. This Bond is stripped of all goofy gadgets and one liners, and armed instead with badass fighting skills and cunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateGNov 22, 2006
Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on great acting and a smart plot rather than gimmicky special effects and gadgets. Bond is smarter and darker and better because of it. Bravo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SETHDNov 22, 2006
Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
baym.Nov 21, 2006
This is not bond the icon.... this is a very supid bond movie... i don't care about the good ratings of the movie critics... we the public viewer make it a big hits... make it an invincible bond just like the old days... daniel? is not This is not bond the icon.... this is a very supid bond movie... i don't care about the good ratings of the movie critics... we the public viewer make it a big hits... make it an invincible bond just like the old days... daniel? is not invincible in looks, style, and humor as well... that is how an icon is created... by the way he is bond... make him a global icon... u better check out the box office world wide... it is not the same james bond movie that still showing in cinema in almost a month.. but one week maybe... and to the producer... does it concern you? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CarlM.Nov 21, 2006
Best Bond in eons. A captivating and actually somewhat believable story, and this itteration of the Bond character is actually more real. Every woman will want him. Every man will want to be him.Craig is perfect. If not just a TAD too Best Bond in eons. A captivating and actually somewhat believable story, and this itteration of the Bond character is actually more real. Every woman will want him. Every man will want to be him.Craig is perfect. If not just a TAD too beefcake. All in all well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillC.Nov 21, 2006
Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and it's a good thing Brosnan has hung up his license to kill. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredBruskyNov 21, 2006
Wow...thats all i can say about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryNov 21, 2006
What a breath of fresh air to get away from the gadgetry and the fluff of the previous 007 to a hardcore real Secret Service Agent. Daniel Craig where have you been? Instead of the predictable escape with comic touch, there was a real story What a breath of fresh air to get away from the gadgetry and the fluff of the previous 007 to a hardcore real Secret Service Agent. Daniel Craig where have you been? Instead of the predictable escape with comic touch, there was a real story and suspense that the viewer felt and sat on the edge of his seat. Thank you for reinventing what James Bond used to be. Don't miss this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSNov 21, 2006
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBNov 21, 2006
I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedRoseNov 21, 2006
1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I 1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of Mission Impossible/XXX etc and are used to seeing films run no longer than 100 mins. 4) This is the best film of the year. Vastly superior to the overrated Departed. BRITAINS FAVOURITE SPY IS BACK. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneHNov 21, 2006
Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting the writer(s) of the Bourne films for tips on integrating thrilling action with logic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
timmNov 21, 2006
Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! he looks scary! and he really wants that briefcase! retarded. i was soooo disappointed, especially with all those good reviews, saying this reinvents Bond. i like the feel of the movie, the aura, bond's character, and nothing else. and what was with that ending? i suppose if there's no plot there can't really be an ending, huh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennethK.Nov 21, 2006
Most satisfying movie experiece I've had in quite some time. Daniel Craig is the best Bond of all time. No question.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyH.Nov 20, 2006
A different kind of Bond...more real. Great action sequences but I think the Eva Green lacks the umph to catch Bond. They should have used the married woman in the movie as the lead female. Movie moves along nicely until 2/3 of the way in A different kind of Bond...more real. Great action sequences but I think the Eva Green lacks the umph to catch Bond. They should have used the married woman in the movie as the lead female. Movie moves along nicely until 2/3 of the way in when we take a pause to watch Bond fall in love...not so believable especially knowing what he was recovering from. Good vein on the re-styling of Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyK.Nov 20, 2006
Great movie. I was very doubtful at first, Craig is a surprisingly excellent Bond. The movie is also surprisingly long, but its not bad. Overall, it's a great development of the Bond character, really putting new meaning behind his Great movie. I was very doubtful at first, Craig is a surprisingly excellent Bond. The movie is also surprisingly long, but its not bad. Overall, it's a great development of the Bond character, really putting new meaning behind his convictions and behaviors. It focuses on the man, not the gadgets or the villains, and yet the coolness is still there, and the villain element is still there. Good Bond movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaS.Nov 20, 2006
There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. Daniel Craig shows serious pontential as our modern 6th James Bond. A great action packed romance movie all around. Has everything a bond movie needs. However, they all need more blood, i say the next one, go for the R Rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffF.Nov 20, 2006
The new Bond is a humorless stiff. One long pointless chase is followed by a long pointless fistfight followed by a long pointless card game followed by a long pointless shootout. We know who is going to win the poker tournament just get on The new Bond is a humorless stiff. One long pointless chase is followed by a long pointless fistfight followed by a long pointless card game followed by a long pointless shootout. We know who is going to win the poker tournament just get on with it. The movie just goes on and on and on. Other than Die Another Day this is the worst Bond ever. The thrill is gone. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
10
ChrisNov 20, 2006
The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough goodThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyS.Nov 20, 2006
This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor back to Sean Connery. This film has given me a new hope for the future of Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Nov 20, 2006
Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top futuristic things that plagued the last few bond movies.....BUT...that movie was a little too long...(that's why not a 10). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Nov 20, 2006
I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after they get shot. This is fast-paced, dark, suspenseful, and sets a new standard of cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeverianNov 20, 2006
I defnitely much prefer the intense, engaging and more personal Daniel Craig to the previous pretty boy Bond. The storyline is fine. (but the self help defibrillator bit is ludicrously unbelievable though). A good and refreshing facelift for I defnitely much prefer the intense, engaging and more personal Daniel Craig to the previous pretty boy Bond. The storyline is fine. (but the self help defibrillator bit is ludicrously unbelievable though). A good and refreshing facelift for the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewF.Nov 20, 2006
Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the most exciting action sequences that the series has ever seen. Great performance by Mads Mikkelsen as the most believable and sympathetic Bond villain to come along in awhile. Great entry in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Nov 19, 2006
It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something was missing. Also. Could've used a few more snappy lines--not necessarily on Bond's part but, in general, a bit sharper dialogue. But overall it was pretty good (not that you could get much worse than the last one with the diamond-faced dude) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegW.Nov 19, 2006
Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilaPechmanNov 19, 2006
I loved the movie. It was an edge of your seat movieand Daniel Craig was an excellent James Bond. It was fun, the plot was exciting and fast moving and Bond looked great. I have seen every Bond movie and this one was exceptional.I loved the movie. It was an edge of your seat movieand Daniel Craig was an excellent James Bond. It was fun, the plot was exciting and fast moving and Bond looked great. I have seen every Bond movie and this one was exceptional. Can't wait for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisKandtKandtNov 19, 2006
It was a very good movie. I've seen all of them. This one making 21. I came into it critcally tuned but came out pleasantly surprised. Daniel Craig, despite being blond, is worthy of bond in my mind. And though this movie breaks theIt was a very good movie. I've seen all of them. This one making 21. I came into it critcally tuned but came out pleasantly surprised. Daniel Craig, despite being blond, is worthy of bond in my mind. And though this movie breaks the traditional ending, it is the prequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TobeP.Nov 19, 2006
It was an awesome film with very good special effects that keep up to bond standards, however i cant seem to wrap my head round the fact that their target audience has been narrowed so much by the torture and drowning scenes. this definitely It was an awesome film with very good special effects that keep up to bond standards, however i cant seem to wrap my head round the fact that their target audience has been narrowed so much by the torture and drowning scenes. this definitely isnt a PG13. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickW.Nov 19, 2006
Horrible. Absolutely horrible. The movie's too long, boring, has no "enemy," and Craig will never be Brosnan or Connery...Ugh.. Just got the chills thinking about this "movie."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseM.Nov 19, 2006
Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenSmithNov 19, 2006
This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the ending tends to drag on just a littl bit. Go watch it! You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlueManNov 19, 2006
Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelP.Nov 19, 2006
This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the older classics. While the dialogue is quite good in places, it's flat in others. The stakes are vague, and the climax is also fuzzy. Furthermore, there is not much there in terms of Bond punishing the villian, not much sense of any justice. I think the choices for the two lead actors (Bond and his love interest) could have been better. This particular James Bond lacks the class and finesse of Sean Connery. The only thing that consistently shines in this film are the awesome action scenes. Without them, I'd only give it a 3 or 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StarfoxNov 18, 2006
Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new direction (and continuous storyline) for films to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DWillyNov 18, 2006
Nifty dialog, great locations, nice set pieces, and a servicable lead performance from Craig, appropraitely thuggish but with the limitation that comes with an actor who is emotionally cut playing someone who is emotionally cut off. Never Nifty dialog, great locations, nice set pieces, and a servicable lead performance from Craig, appropraitely thuggish but with the limitation that comes with an actor who is emotionally cut playing someone who is emotionally cut off. Never moving (which is possible in a top flight, action film like The Bourne Identity), but always entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondM.Nov 18, 2006
A darker, deeper and very human Bond is delivered by Craig. Eva Green is more of an exceptional Bond Woman than a typical Bond Girl. As M, Judi Dench finally gets to excersice her acting chops opposite someone (Craig) who can hold his own A darker, deeper and very human Bond is delivered by Craig. Eva Green is more of an exceptional Bond Woman than a typical Bond Girl. As M, Judi Dench finally gets to excersice her acting chops opposite someone (Craig) who can hold his own and take a few bites himself. Great movie, a must see. Best Bond movie in a very, very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelH.Nov 18, 2006
I enjoyed the movie. Daniel Craig has potential, but it seemed to me they tried to read to much depth in too many disperate directions into the Bond character. Similarly Eva Green adds a lot, but again they made everything a little too I enjoyed the movie. Daniel Craig has potential, but it seemed to me they tried to read to much depth in too many disperate directions into the Bond character. Similarly Eva Green adds a lot, but again they made everything a little too tragic for my tastes. I remember before Die Another Day the movie PR folk tried to advertise it as a "psychological thriller" which it totally wasn't. This isn't either, but the producers and actors threw more bones at what a tough world it is to be a secret agent. Personally, I'd rather enjoy him as a quick-witted superhero (and not one of the conflicted, brooding Bruce Wayne/Batman ilk) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianP.Nov 18, 2006
This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. Enough said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AMovieCriticNov 18, 2006
One of the most boring "action movies" I've ever seen. Now, I'm not exactly a huge Bond fan, but I've seen a few of them, and in general, they're fun movies. After the last few relied on high tech items and over-the-top One of the most boring "action movies" I've ever seen. Now, I'm not exactly a huge Bond fan, but I've seen a few of them, and in general, they're fun movies. After the last few relied on high tech items and over-the-top situations, the producers here tried to create a more realistic Bond movie this time...it ends up not being any fun AT ALL. The recent Bond movies were exciting. They had action, cool effects, and great situations. Yes, in Die Another Day, it was over the top and implausible that he surfed into the villain's HQ and that the showdown took place in BMW's on the ice...but it was exciting and fun. Casino Royale, in trying to be more realistic, spends almost the entire movie with them sitting around a card table. The villain....doesn't do ANYTHING in the entire movie. The only good action scenes are in the movie's first 45 minutes and by the end, they're totally forgotten. (This is a 2 hour and 20 minute movie, too.) The idea was to make Bond seem more like a real person. No longer is he basically invincible. He gets smashed around, he is almost killed on many occasions, his plans almost always seem to fail, and he seems borderline inept at times. The result is a hero who is just no longer cool. He spends almost the entire movie playfully arguing with the Bond girl, who lacks any of the mystery and seductive attitude that make other Bond girls so appealing. Again, they try to make their relationship realistic and the center of the movie, but it ends up being boring. The locations weren't great (Bourne Supremacy DESTROYS it in this area,) the action scenes (the few that are there) are only okay, the plot is almost non-existant, and unless you know how to play Poker, you will be lost for at least 40 minutes of this movie. Critics seemed to have loved this movie, which is proof that once again, they're out of touch with the average moviegoer. At least, in the theater I saw this movie in, where the crowd was noticeably antsy and unimpressed after this overlong and slow movie ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Nov 18, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricN.Nov 18, 2006
Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was ok for me as a Bond-geek, but my non-Bond-geek companions were getting a little worn out toward the end. Also, I haven't seen my local theater that packed in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JBWockyNov 18, 2006
Sure, its a very good reboot but the film has two serious problems that trip up its shot at being the definitive Bond flick -for a Bond fan of course. First, Daniel Craig is good, puts in a superb effort and is wonderfully darker but is Sure, its a very good reboot but the film has two serious problems that trip up its shot at being the definitive Bond flick -for a Bond fan of course. First, Daniel Craig is good, puts in a superb effort and is wonderfully darker but is really not what the character merits. Tux him up to the hilt and he still looks and acts more KGB than MI6, more Spetsnaz than Oxbridge toff. The 'working man's Bond' is a problem, especially after Brosnan. Second, by stripping down and subverting every Bond trope - even if it be to pretty good effect too - the film melts the glue that always bonded. Bond is about as real world as Willy Wonka. The Bourne Identity the film can never be. Simply being different, with respect to an admittedly tired formula, makes a movie interesting and good, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobM.Nov 18, 2006
No action at all in this movie compared to ones with Peirce. Trhs movie is not very characteristic of a bond film. It is often slow at times and goes on for lengthy periods with out adding to the plot. Do yourself a fvor and wait till it No action at all in this movie compared to ones with Peirce. Trhs movie is not very characteristic of a bond film. It is often slow at times and goes on for lengthy periods with out adding to the plot. Do yourself a fvor and wait till it comes out on video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyNov 18, 2006
Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbNov 18, 2006
"One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film."One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film. Flawed by an early false climax and not-totally-unexpected plot "twist" a good 30 minutes before the true climax -- which wasn't really all that satisfying, in my opinion, just a set up for the next film. Craig is truly excellent as Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCNov 18, 2006
I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues.I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues. An utter waste of (over-long) time and money. I actually feel cheated and robbed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceC.,CraneTexasNov 18, 2006
This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I love this film. Is because there is no gadgets. no Q, or no Moneypenny. But most of all. I love the new Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillW.Nov 18, 2006
The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up the dialogue (and does it show). And they pick a fantastic Bond. Daniel Craig is closer to the Bond of the novels than arguably even Sean Connery, and the supporting cast is uniformly excellent. The only slight annoyance is Mads Mikkelson doesn't get enough screen time as Le Chiffre, although he more than makes up for it with the magnetic torture scene. Martin Campbell's saved the franchise again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NeilV.Nov 17, 2006
Im not sure where all these "A" reviews came from...it truly baffles me! If anyone out there is a true Bond fan, there is no way in hell that this movie could be appreciated. Daniel Craig is the worst Bond I have ever seen...I think the Im not sure where all these "A" reviews came from...it truly baffles me! If anyone out there is a true Bond fan, there is no way in hell that this movie could be appreciated. Daniel Craig is the worst Bond I have ever seen...I think the people that casted him were on crack. Everyone knows 007 is a tall, dark hair, sophisticated, sauve gentlemen. Daniel Craig looks like a beaten up english pauper. This movie was absolutely rubbish. The storyline did not make sense, nor did it flow well at all. Even the opening song was lousy. From the very get go, it was straight up action, with very little dialogue, and feeble storyline. This is an insult to Mr. Sean Connery...the greatest, and only true Bond... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimJ.Nov 17, 2006
I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a dozen bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyT.Nov 17, 2006
It's Bond. Craig is a good one, but it's the same chases, the same formula especially where the love interest is concerned, the same angry boss and the same ugly villian, But it's Bond. Have some fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VR.Nov 17, 2006
This movie is perhaps THE closest to any of the Bond books and this Bond completely fits the tux. In this outing it's more about the man than the mission and for those who can forgive the absence of laser-guided anythings and This movie is perhaps THE closest to any of the Bond books and this Bond completely fits the tux. In this outing it's more about the man than the mission and for those who can forgive the absence of laser-guided anythings and concentrate on what made the agent who he is - then you will not be disappointed in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Nov 17, 2006
This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting is fantastic, and the frequent remarks and humorous quick comments keep viewers on the edge of their seat, if not standing up yelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanSchollNov 17, 2006
I am not a Bond fan-and my tickets were free-but I had a pretty good time other than the snake/ferret scene. The ending was a bit odd--so I am assuming the next two films will clear up the whole thing with Ellipsis? Might buy it come dvd time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladA.Nov 17, 2006
Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better actors? Yes, it's a rhetorical question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Nov 17, 2006
A couple of good ideas are lost in a muddle of contradictions and flaws. The new Bond is interesting, but too bad he doesn't have an adversary. The film tries to make up for this with forced twists. For the first time a Bond movie has A couple of good ideas are lost in a muddle of contradictions and flaws. The new Bond is interesting, but too bad he doesn't have an adversary. The film tries to make up for this with forced twists. For the first time a Bond movie has metaphorical significance and a darker side, but also for the first time Bond has nothing to do but get lucky in poker in this plotless, paceless entry. Its a shame considering the brave decisions, but at least I'm curious to see where this goes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
amicusNov 17, 2006
Well-crafted movie. A realistic portrayal of a secret agent with the flamboyance and wit only James could deliver.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickE.Nov 16, 2006
A fantastic Bond film. Great acting but may be too slow for those who like the old Moore/Brosnen style. Worked for me though it could possibly have a better final battle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaxM.Nov 16, 2006
Anyone who doesn't appreciate (at least) that Bond is back and better than he has been in years is just grumpy. Despite being a tad long, this definitely whet my appetite for the next Craig outing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
jojocaneteNov 16, 2006
its a poor mans james bond. the story doesn't jell together. after seeing all the bond movie. daniel craig is sour to the eyes, very hard to look at. please replace him immidiately. save the franchise before it go bankcrap. there areits a poor mans james bond. the story doesn't jell together. after seeing all the bond movie. daniel craig is sour to the eyes, very hard to look at. please replace him immidiately. save the franchise before it go bankcrap. there are lots of other qualified actors like clive owen. hugh hagman, russel crow, even the old sean connery with a tupay can do the job better Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JocelynE.Nov 16, 2006
The Bond persona needed a change in direction. Away from the character who started to resemble a superhero, and back to the secret agent who uses only his charm and quick wit to get out of tough situations, and into beautiful girls beds. The Bond persona needed a change in direction. Away from the character who started to resemble a superhero, and back to the secret agent who uses only his charm and quick wit to get out of tough situations, and into beautiful girls beds. Sure, Daniel Craig is a grittier Bond than we are used to seeing, but he still looks better in a tuxedo than any man should be allowed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BaqirT.Nov 15, 2006
Superb! Thrilling action, especially in Madagascar and at Miami Airport. Bond Girls are lovely (as usaul), especially Caterina Murino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyC.Nov 15, 2006
James Bond is ultra cool again at last. He's arguably not been this cool since Goldfinger. The whole cast are excellent, but Daniel Craig is outstanding. He even manages to make Pierce Brosnan seem faintly preposterous and I was a fan James Bond is ultra cool again at last. He's arguably not been this cool since Goldfinger. The whole cast are excellent, but Daniel Craig is outstanding. He even manages to make Pierce Brosnan seem faintly preposterous and I was a fan of Brosnan. Craig is aided by some cracking dialogue that capture just the right level of sardonic wit - but without the cheese! My big worry is that without a decent director, Higgis on script polishing and no Flemming book to work from, Bond 22 will be a much lesser affair. But that's another story. Casino Royale is alot better than I expected and leaps directly into my top five Bond films, maybe even top three. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesterlyQuetinNov 14, 2006
In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep inIn a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful