Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1280 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,119
Mixed:
69
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JayW.Feb 16, 2007
In my opinion, James Bond has risen to the rank of comic book superhero. By this I mean: nobody is smarter, nobody has skill, and like Batman, nobody can beat all of his gadgets. This said, I love James Bond. Everytime you walk inot 1 of In my opinion, James Bond has risen to the rank of comic book superhero. By this I mean: nobody is smarter, nobody has skill, and like Batman, nobody can beat all of his gadgets. This said, I love James Bond. Everytime you walk inot 1 of these movies, you know that you are going to get a completely unbelievealbe thrill ride as some villian seeks to take over the world...that is until "Casino Royale". In this movie, they attempted to make James real & fragile. If I want to see a real & fragile spy movie, I go rent "Spy Game". To me, they robbed James of his gadgets & swagger which essentially killed the character. Yes, I know that this was Flemmings first story, but "first" doesn't always mean "best". Some writers really struggle with their characters in the beginning while they try to figure them out. To me, this is the version on James Bond that Flemming left on the cutting room floor for a reason. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoelC.Mar 14, 2007
Quite possibly my favorite Bond. I was amazed this movie turned out so good after seeing what Pierce was doing to the Bond franchise. Thank god he's gone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSMar 18, 2007
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IsaacB.Mar 18, 2007
This is a good movie, not perfect. Lots of action, but this is NOT James Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricY.Mar 19, 2007
I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for cashing in on that as well. What a great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SylviaR.Mar 19, 2007
Worst Bond I've ever seen. There is no slight humor of the other Bonds, no special effects, a lot of violence. It's just a very hard, everyday cops and robbers movie. No Bond theme, no Bond-gets-the-girl ending. It was VERY Worst Bond I've ever seen. There is no slight humor of the other Bonds, no special effects, a lot of violence. It's just a very hard, everyday cops and robbers movie. No Bond theme, no Bond-gets-the-girl ending. It was VERY disappointing as a Bond movie. Have been loyal Bond watchers of ALL the movies but don't know if we'll watch another one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveK.Mar 21, 2007
This movie was just weird for me. [***Mild Spoilers***] I think they achieved the goal of psychoanalyzing Bond how he became a cold-hearted emotionally aloof badass, but as for the story, it had too many holes and the whole movie was weirdly This movie was just weird for me. [***Mild Spoilers***] I think they achieved the goal of psychoanalyzing Bond how he became a cold-hearted emotionally aloof badass, but as for the story, it had too many holes and the whole movie was weirdly paced. It went from heart-stopping action to a really bizarre torture scene that seemed like a first-grader made up and then it turned into some sappy love story only to thrust you back into action with hardly any explanation. I like that they tried to make a grittier, cold-blooded Bond but it was just a little weird for me. And when the end came ultimately, it wasn't very satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeE.Mar 22, 2007
I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally saw him. And for all those Daniel Craig doubters, he does more than silence the critics as a more rogue Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithA.Mar 29, 2007
It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action sequences and dialogue are top-notch but the plot isn't that interesting (not to mention a predictable twist), it was too long, and the villian goes down like a PUNK. It's the best bond since GoldenEye, but it could've been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DARMar 30, 2007
Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the other. While those films have their own entertainment value, elements of suspense and a plot that leaves you with unanswered questions were not their hallmarks. Casino Royale takes a much different turn, one which I think is for the better, by being a smarter Bond film in that regard - devoid of the run-of-the-mill sequences that didn't set the previous Bond films apart from any other action flick. And, aside from MoneyPenny and Q not being present, all of the other standard Bond film elements that make the series unique are still in place, albeit more subtlely introduced than most Bond fans are used to. Craig played the role as well as Connery ever has, presenting a much more well-rounded character than we're used to seeing. All in all, a fantastic 007 film, perhaps only topped (or equaled, I should say) by From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HaggApr 13, 2007
Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love in the connery movies of course no get the girl ending. As for charming that is learned not given trust me. Also for the person saying no American cars in Europe you have never left your city. In my military time I have been all over and fords and opels(gm overseas) are everywhere. Read the books and understand what you are being shown before making ignorant remarks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SparklingApr 2, 2007
Run away. I read a review saying this was a post Bourne Supremacy Bond fim- a film I liked. This film was pants. I had high hopes- such high hopes. Danny-boy is alright, don't get me wrong. Have you not see it yet? You decide.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RussW.Apr 7, 2007
I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva Green was, and remains, one of the only Bond girls I have ever been able to believe (the only other one being Pussy Galore, despite the name). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartinS.Apr 8, 2007
This is the James Bond that Ian Fleming had in mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LenR.May 5, 2007
A worthy new Bond. The action grabs you from the beginning and and keeps going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
lousyJun 6, 2007
Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish,Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrentRJul 13, 2007
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalterJul 22, 2007
Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too worried about their perfectly quaffed hair to kick as!" This Bond is tough, athletic, and cares not about the people he kills. Relentless, youthful, and invested with a mean streak, this Bond is finally refreshing and full of action. WELL overdue. Watch, take it in, and enjoy the much-needed overhaul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZackShannonOct 21, 2008
how the hell does this movie have universal acclaim? this killed bond for me. horrid story line and lets talk about that for a second. how the hell is it about when bonb first started and it takes place in fkin 2006? so i guess all the otherhow the hell does this movie have universal acclaim? this killed bond for me. horrid story line and lets talk about that for a second. how the hell is it about when bonb first started and it takes place in fkin 2006? so i guess all the other bond filmsd ont count? also he is the worst bonb i have seen yet.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JGrossOct 30, 2008
What makes this film great IS the lack of gadgets, ridiculous villians and stupid plots. It has a gritty realism that allows you really to get into the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This was one of the best movies ever made! Thank God for Casino Royale!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
Yes! They resurrected the Bond franchise!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomLJun 27, 2008
Terrible film, it detracts from what made all of the other James bond films great, gadgets and cars feature far more minorly than in the other films, gunplay seems less dramatic except for the opening scene which as far as I'm concerned Terrible film, it detracts from what made all of the other James bond films great, gadgets and cars feature far more minorly than in the other films, gunplay seems less dramatic except for the opening scene which as far as I'm concerned was the only part of the dreary fil worth watching, and most seriously of all, Daniel Craig just does not act like a true Bond actor should. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDJun 8, 2008
I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe the action could happen. Not too much CGI and the stupid camera movement of so many action films these days was steady, not moving around all the time. The bad in the movie was the main woman. She is not good looking at all!! Even with all that make up. Also, the poker games were just stupid. Not once have i ever seen those scenarios in a poker game. Too unbelievable. But overall, it was a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattRDec 29, 2009
Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, exciting, unpredictable. The last several Bond movies have followed a formula that made them feel like the same movie each time. Other negative reviews say that the plot made no sense, but that's far from the film's fault, it says more about those people than the film. The way the plot comes together at the end is amazing and is story-telling mastery that the series has never been able to achieve in the past. Action scenes were incredible, particularly the parkour chase in the beginning and the Venice shootout at the end. Acting was great, especially Eva Green (playing Vesper Lynd) and Daniel Craig. I really grew close to the characters, making the plot twist all the more shocking. The one negative thing I have to say about this movie is that it feels like it drags on a little in the middle, and all the more if you don't understand how poker works. It's still completely engaging and entertaining all the way through, but the action-drought in the middle may slightly bother some. Only a very minor complaint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jtJan 7, 2009
Very good movie overall. Starts over with bond from the beginning. It humanizes bond in a good way. Howeverwhen i thinik of bond danieal craig is the last image that comes to mind. if this movies was done with connery or brosnan it would be Very good movie overall. Starts over with bond from the beginning. It humanizes bond in a good way. Howeverwhen i thinik of bond danieal craig is the last image that comes to mind. if this movies was done with connery or brosnan it would be so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NilramN.Aug 31, 2009
Plot was Choppy hard to follow. How could Bond have Just been promoted?????? that is on of the many things in this film that Bothered me. Craig was way to serious and without emotion. In Jokes if there were any were hard to catch. Hated it. Plot was Choppy hard to follow. How could Bond have Just been promoted?????? that is on of the many things in this film that Bothered me. Craig was way to serious and without emotion. In Jokes if there were any were hard to catch. Hated it. wont be watching the next one till it makes it to TV....I wont Pay to see this crap again..not even on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertBAug 3, 2009
Great movie! Best Bond in a long time. This is how Bond should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillwSep 6, 2009
One of the best James bond movies. I love the plot, Daniel are very cool and i think he is the real James bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesterlyQuetinNov 14, 2006
In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep inIn a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BaqirT.Nov 15, 2006
Superb! Thrilling action, especially in Madagascar and at Miami Airport. Bond Girls are lovely (as usaul), especially Caterina Murino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladA.Nov 17, 2006
Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better actors? Yes, it's a rhetorical question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanSchollNov 17, 2006
I am not a Bond fan-and my tickets were free-but I had a pretty good time other than the snake/ferret scene. The ending was a bit odd--so I am assuming the next two films will clear up the whole thing with Ellipsis? Might buy it come dvd time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Nov 18, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianP.Nov 18, 2006
This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. Enough said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StarfoxNov 18, 2006
Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new direction (and continuous storyline) for films to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCNov 18, 2006
I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues.I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues. An utter waste of (over-long) time and money. I actually feel cheated and robbed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbNov 18, 2006
"One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film."One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film. Flawed by an early false climax and not-totally-unexpected plot "twist" a good 30 minutes before the true climax -- which wasn't really all that satisfying, in my opinion, just a set up for the next film. Craig is truly excellent as Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyNov 18, 2006
Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelP.Nov 19, 2006
This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the older classics. While the dialogue is quite good in places, it's flat in others. The stakes are vague, and the climax is also fuzzy. Furthermore, there is not much there in terms of Bond punishing the villian, not much sense of any justice. I think the choices for the two lead actors (Bond and his love interest) could have been better. This particular James Bond lacks the class and finesse of Sean Connery. The only thing that consistently shines in this film are the awesome action scenes. Without them, I'd only give it a 3 or 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegW.Nov 19, 2006
Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlueManNov 19, 2006
Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenSmithNov 19, 2006
This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the ending tends to drag on just a littl bit. Go watch it! You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseM.Nov 19, 2006
Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickW.Nov 19, 2006
Horrible. Absolutely horrible. The movie's too long, boring, has no "enemy," and Craig will never be Brosnan or Connery...Ugh.. Just got the chills thinking about this "movie."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSNov 21, 2006
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillC.Nov 21, 2006
Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and it's a good thing Brosnan has hung up his license to kill. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Nov 20, 2006
Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top futuristic things that plagued the last few bond movies.....BUT...that movie was a little too long...(that's why not a 10). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisNov 20, 2006
The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough goodThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
timmNov 21, 2006
Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! he looks scary! and he really wants that briefcase! retarded. i was soooo disappointed, especially with all those good reviews, saying this reinvents Bond. i like the feel of the movie, the aura, bond's character, and nothing else. and what was with that ending? i suppose if there's no plot there can't really be an ending, huh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JaneHNov 21, 2006
Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting the writer(s) of the Bourne films for tips on integrating thrilling action with logic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBNov 21, 2006
I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChazG.Nov 22, 2006
This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Nov 22, 2006
Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Nov 22, 2006
As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardSNov 22, 2006
Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot describe how bad the song is. A few other problems: the repeated use of mobile phone calls to reveal identities becomes grating. Also, the story has too many holes and improbabilities. But overall a success - an excellent start and Craig is superb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SETHDNov 22, 2006
Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateGNov 22, 2006
Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on great acting and a smart plot rather than gimmicky special effects and gadgets. Bond is smarter and darker and better because of it. Bravo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCNov 22, 2006
Best Bond since Goldeneye. The last half-hour was completely unecessary, but all in all a worthy movie. This Bond is stripped of all goofy gadgets and one liners, and armed instead with badass fighting skills and cunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertxxxNov 23, 2006
though I thought clive owen was the natural choice for the new bond, Craig proves to be sensational in a part that totally redesigns our concept of the master agent...a tad long, but ends with a double bang.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Nov 23, 2006
This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. Craig shines in Casino Royale, proving that even though he doesn't necessarily look the part, he plays it better than any Bond since Connery. The only bad thing i have to say about it is that the Bond girls weren't quite as good-looking as I'd hoped, but the acting and action make up for it in the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilB.Nov 24, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig pulls Bond of flawlessly. While there may not be a lot of suave womanizing in this Bond, there is a genuine roughness about him that is more believable than in any other Bond film. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 25, 2006
The only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and thereThe only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and there isn't just and obvious badguy with a scar and a cat and a maniacal laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilW.Nov 26, 2006
Finall, there's a Bond who shows us what it means to actually kill: it's brutal, it's very physical, and it devours your soul. Craig is just that. Apart from that, we finally get to see some true acting (just think of Pierce Finall, there's a Bond who shows us what it means to actually kill: it's brutal, it's very physical, and it devours your soul. Craig is just that. Apart from that, we finally get to see some true acting (just think of Pierce Brosnan's "I have only one facial expression" stance...). One point deducted for extremely annoying Sony product placement. But still - go and see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KerryNov 26, 2006
I must admit, I went into this with quite a strong prejudice against Daniel Craig, but sadly he was not the main problem with this movie. Don't get me wrong, his lack of timing, delivery and style were awful and with an actor more I must admit, I went into this with quite a strong prejudice against Daniel Craig, but sadly he was not the main problem with this movie. Don't get me wrong, his lack of timing, delivery and style were awful and with an actor more suited to play Bond, perhaps the film could have scored a five. The violence is too graphic. Bond is a fantasy, to bring reality in to the portrayal of the story is ridiculous. It was too long and then when it finally did end there was no resolution to the plot. Equally annoying was the blatant product placements for sony, google, Body Worlds (which btw is even dumber than this film) and about 5 000 other products. Then there was the whole set up to show us 'why Bond can't commit to a woman'. Actually the entire premise of seeing what made Bond the way he is was handled in such a heavy-handed way that you could almost see Freud and Jung standing at the corners of the screen with pointers to ensure that it wasn't too subtle. The line about Bond not caring if the martini was shaken or stirred made me want to slap the writers. Whoever was responsible for the script was given too much freedom and not enough editing. Moneypenny wasn't even mentionned! You could practically see Judi Dench cringing through her scenes. Craig made the best of a script where Bond morphed into the Terminator, relying solely on brawn and ignoring his brain. And to be blunt, I could have done without all the scenes of him in a speedo (or less). I get it, the man is in good shape. That's not the point of a Bond film. Lastly, to add insult to injury, THERE WERE NO GADGETS! This was not a Bond movie. In fact, based on this dreck, I will see another Bond film even if Daniel Craig is in it, because there is no way it could be worse than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhiloR.Nov 26, 2006
it was too long, got boring towards the end. initial chase seem was great, but downhill after that. i would not recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeC.Nov 26, 2006
The name
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
R.R.Nov 26, 2006
A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than pleasantly surprised. His physical style, a little ungainly if effective, is a take on the character that's pretty close to Fleming's original vision. This James Bond is just starting out, and he's sorting out things as he goes along. The action scenes are all intelligently done, some of the repartee (vide the scene on the train) is brilliant and funny, the dialogue frequently examines and challenges the comfortable Bond myths, and Eva Green is a godsend. And yet, a "true" Bond film requires all of the following: inspired, cutting edge gadgets that, yes, have to be a little on the little-boy-toy side, a gargantuan bad guy whose scope is beyond petty cash (and who preferably owns a base of operations beneath the ocean), and, need I say this, Q and Moneypenny. Seeing as the film shows us Bond's beginnings, I am desperately hoping that its open end, with Bond finally giving us his calling card "My name is...etc. etc.", points to a future film more in the classic vein. Summing up: a refreshingly taught reinvention of a classic that hopefully won't forget its roots in future installments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaNov 27, 2006
Craig is impressive as Bond. And finally a Bond story worth telling is brought to the screen. N,o he's not Connery, but he's close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HélèneNov 27, 2006
This is exactly what Bond didn't need: more "realism". Or actually more violence I should say. Now let us proceed to the examination of the ten points that make a good James Bond movie, and rate the film accordingly. 1) The gun barrel This is exactly what Bond didn't need: more "realism". Or actually more violence I should say. Now let us proceed to the examination of the ten points that make a good James Bond movie, and rate the film accordingly. 1) The gun barrel sequence: has been removed (!!!) Shame. A very clumsy attempt to include it at the end of the flashback introduction, but in very poor taste. 2) The "Bond, James Bond" line. Last line of the movie. OK. 3) The "vodka martini, shaken not stirred" line. It appears, but in a very iconoclast way. Let's count half a point. 4) The Moneypenny scene. No trace of her in the whole movie. Shame. 5) The hotel scene (someone, girl or enemy, awaits for Bond in his room): well let's say it's there - quite a lot happens in hotels. 6) The casino scene. No problem for that point, the main plot being Bond playing against the bad guy. 7) The Q briefing. No trace of Q nor R in this film. Shame. 8) The bit of nonsense: the Medipac scene is quite enjoyable in that respect but we can feel in general that the producers fear that things appear too unrealistic, whereas it is precisely the point in Bond movies. We want unbelievable, cheesy things! 9) The funny lines: eternal shame on Eon Prod for having given birth to a humourless James Bond. No funny line AT ALL. 10) The "James Bond will return" quotation at the end of the credits: doesn't appear, and I sincerely hope this James Bond will NOT return! Total: 4,5/10, which I round up to 5 because I'm good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisH.Nov 27, 2006
I loved this movie, acion scenes were great. Bond got his ass kicked but still saved the day..almost. Daniel Craig is the man. Go all in and see this movie while it is still in theatres.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NatyN.Nov 28, 2006
As a Bond Movie fan, very dissapointed. A new human Bond??? Who asked for it???? We Bond fans are still fans for the gadgets, the women, the funny lines.....very dissapointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaphaelNov 28, 2006
This is one of the best Bond-Movies ever to hit the big screen. For me it is right up there with Goldfinger, Goldeneye and a view to a kill. Daniel did a great job, and wore his tux just as nicely as Sean would do!! And whoever mentions the This is one of the best Bond-Movies ever to hit the big screen. For me it is right up there with Goldfinger, Goldeneye and a view to a kill. Daniel did a great job, and wore his tux just as nicely as Sean would do!! And whoever mentions the lack of gadgets again, is an utter fool! BOND IS NOT ABOUT GADGETS, BUT ABOUT PURE ACTION AND THRILLING MOVIES! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachitS.Nov 29, 2006
Not bad for a new bond movie. I really like the action. its pretty raw. But the ending is a little wiered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoyG.Nov 29, 2006
The gadgets and plots of the previous Bond movies were over the top and cartoonish. Craig's Bond is more believable, the stunts realistic, the double and triple crosses dizzying and the conclusion left me wanting more. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BMRNov 29, 2006
Lot's of shiny cars and beautiful locales but not much of a compelling storyline. Worst of all; the main character is misogynistic, unsympathetic and one dimensional. If you' re between the age of 13 and 21 and you enjoy watching Lot's of shiny cars and beautiful locales but not much of a compelling storyline. Worst of all; the main character is misogynistic, unsympathetic and one dimensional. If you' re between the age of 13 and 21 and you enjoy watching the hero beat everyone's asses and spout off cheesy on liners, than you MIGHT enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekG.Nov 29, 2006
This was EXACTLY what Bond needed. I always thought the newer ones were kind of cheesy. This new one is exactly the de-cheesing the franchise demanded to stay alive. The way the book imagined him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ToddM.Nov 29, 2006
There are two moments of hope for this new "Bond", the opening scene stolen by the gravity defying black actor, and the coloring of the opening scene of the car chase in which disappointment is deepened by the wreck of a beauty by the There are two moments of hope for this new "Bond", the opening scene stolen by the gravity defying black actor, and the coloring of the opening scene of the car chase in which disappointment is deepened by the wreck of a beauty by the avoidance of the other "wanna" be. With innane dialog, horrific acting (Dench exempt), no Q or Money Penny and complete lack of English suave, this is the worst bond ever! OMG, they have destroyed the bond cache in one stroke. Sad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ANeilNov 30, 2006
Best bond in decades. Funny that the people who panned it basically complained that all the cliches werent included. Hey, how about the fact that it was the way flemming actually wanted Bond to be? Connery's early movies didn't Best bond in decades. Funny that the people who panned it basically complained that all the cliches werent included. Hey, how about the fact that it was the way flemming actually wanted Bond to be? Connery's early movies didn't have all the silly gadgets either. Back then they were actually realistic. A garrot in a watch? Okay. An invisible car? Gimme a break. Great to see them go back to a raw Bond, the way a secret agent should be. 3 or 4 movies like this and Craig will become Connery's equal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveH.Dec 11, 2006
This was a rip off of Austin Powers. They should just gone the usual way and highjacked nuclear weapons, at least that would be a plot. Way too many action scenes and my favorite moment: Bonds supposedly gorgeous girlfriend comes into the This was a rip off of Austin Powers. They should just gone the usual way and highjacked nuclear weapons, at least that would be a plot. Way too many action scenes and my favorite moment: Bonds supposedly gorgeous girlfriend comes into the casino to distract the players. She succeeded in scarying everybody with all that makeup. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UDDec 11, 2006
Daniel Craig puts on a tour de force performance rivaled only by the historical importance of the Connery era Bond films. The filmmakers have taken the lure of the Bond universe as a base to create not only the best action film of 2006, but Daniel Craig puts on a tour de force performance rivaled only by the historical importance of the Connery era Bond films. The filmmakers have taken the lure of the Bond universe as a base to create not only the best action film of 2006, but also, far and away the best 007 movie ever. Everything here seems to work perfectly and the producers were right to relieve Bond of his silly, cartoonish persona in favor of an actual human side with depth. All in all, a movie not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AB.Dec 10, 2006
This new Bond movie was dreadful to say the least. Credit to Daniel Craig for bringing a different dimension to the Bond character, but that was marred by poor action sequences (where people have said 'great action', I want to This new Bond movie was dreadful to say the least. Credit to Daniel Craig for bringing a different dimension to the Bond character, but that was marred by poor action sequences (where people have said 'great action', I want to know: WHERE?!?!), poor use of dialogue, weak 'super villian', incomplete continuation and confusingly rubbish storyline. Oh and it dragged on too long and it was one of the WORST endings I have seen ever ... EVER! Note to people: Do not waste 2+ hours of your time watching this film. It's awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinP.Dec 10, 2006
A superb prequel, with great plot, action, and intrigue - even if at times it seems somewhat predictable. However, the filmmakers have taken the film in a brave direction, opting to have a less suave Bond, a gritty man with more under the A superb prequel, with great plot, action, and intrigue - even if at times it seems somewhat predictable. However, the filmmakers have taken the film in a brave direction, opting to have a less suave Bond, a gritty man with more under the surface - the man before he became the legend. The classic James Bond theme music is also conspicuously absent from the film until the climax - the moment when Bond starts stepping into the shoes of the 007 that we have all come to know and love. Beautiful! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavrosD.Dec 16, 2006
Average story and boring Bond girls. Daniel Craig only just cuts it, maybe if there was a better plot, it would improve it somewhat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveCDec 19, 2006
I finally saw the film. I was shocked at the complete and total boldness in risks taken by the filmmakers. My hat is off to the risk takers and it was well worth it. If you had told me that they would make a Bond film with a blonde Bond and I finally saw the film. I was shocked at the complete and total boldness in risks taken by the filmmakers. My hat is off to the risk takers and it was well worth it. If you had told me that they would make a Bond film with a blonde Bond and discard most of the bond standards from the music to the usual lines including all the tongue in cheek campy stuff and a lack of gadetry and action sequences with cars, boats, planes or other mobile wonders, I would say that the movie would fail big time. I would be wrong. This film throws those standards back in your face and announces that this is a NEW Bond. It does this right up to the end when it shocks you back into Bond heaven with the final line and the roll of the credits that screams that Bond is back. This is a fantastic ressurection capable of extending the series for years to come. Well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenT.Dec 19, 2006
This move is OVER RATED, this is the worst 007 I've seen. The only good part was the begining, though the whole move, I was waiting for more action. I will not buy this when it comes out on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JensS.Dec 2, 2006
This is probably the worst Bond movie ever. Hopefully Craig will be a one time appearance. Each Bond actor over the decade had it's own style. We had the gentleman style Sean Connery (probably the best Bond ever), the charming Roger This is probably the worst Bond movie ever. Hopefully Craig will be a one time appearance. Each Bond actor over the decade had it's own style. We had the gentleman style Sean Connery (probably the best Bond ever), the charming Roger Moore and many more. Some with more style, others with less. What has Craig to offer? His style is violence no matter what. Very sad. Bond movies used to be so much. Tension, car chases, action, humorous dialog and a lot more. What do we have now? Sad car chases in cars nobody wants to see. Bond in a Ford? Please, I don't even want a Ford from a car rental place if I can avoid it... The parking lot in front of the hotel was another funny scene. Cheap American cars where ever you look. Please, we are supposed to be in Europe! Rich people in Europe don't even think about American cars in their nightmares... What was the producer thinking? I mean think about it. Bond is meeting with people to play in a multi-million dollar poker game and nobody had any money left to get a nice car!? What a joke! The dialog was also pretty sad. I mean where did the funny lines go? Where were the gadgets? Where was Q? I am suspicious he didn't want to give any gadgets to Craig to avoid him returning for another "Bond on Crack" movie... I had high expectations and I was disappointed all the way. My good advise to people: If you haven't been unfortunate enough to have already seen it, skip it. Trust me. You want to keep Bond in a better memory than this movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenMDec 2, 2006
Bound to be an instant Bond classic. Detractors will say no CGI or gadgets makes a Bond movie not, but they have no roots in the franchise. Go back and watch Dr. No, From Russia with Love and On her Majisty's Secret Service. Realism, Bound to be an instant Bond classic. Detractors will say no CGI or gadgets makes a Bond movie not, but they have no roots in the franchise. Go back and watch Dr. No, From Russia with Love and On her Majisty's Secret Service. Realism, limited gadgets and great stories. Just like Casion Royale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BamdadS.Dec 2, 2006
One of the best movies ever! Awesome Cast, Awesome Story! Just watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
G.C.Dec 20, 2006
Simply amazing. good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.Dec 23, 2006
More than a good addition to the Bond series; an excellent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeDec 27, 2006
How did this movie get so many positive reviews? There are numerous illogical moments in this movie, Why does every "action" movie have to be so dumb?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeTheDukeDec 28, 2006
A great new Bond. Daniel Craig takes Bond to a new level. Once again, another great James Bond film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinDec 3, 2006
This was a much better Bond flick than the last few have been. One thing I couldn't help but thinking about the whiners who bitched and moaned about Daniel Craig: they are all fools with lots of egg on their face. He did a GREAT job. This was a much better Bond flick than the last few have been. One thing I couldn't help but thinking about the whiners who bitched and moaned about Daniel Craig: they are all fools with lots of egg on their face. He did a GREAT job. The opening scene was my favorite in the movie, very video-game-esque, but in a good way. Not a perfect flick, but very entertaining, and much more characterization than what you'd expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anandk.Dec 30, 2006
awesome gr8 movie of bond, specially daniel craig to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyS.Dec 3, 2006
I was very impressed with the movie in nearly all aspects, especially Daniel Craig, who is phenomenal as Bond. I think Ian Fleming would be proud of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Dec 4, 2006
This movie is one of the best Bonds films ever! Craig is brilliant as Bond, bringing new life to a dying character. Eva Green and Mads Mikkelsen are equally impressive as one of the only intelligent Bond girls and one of the creepiest This movie is one of the best Bonds films ever! Craig is brilliant as Bond, bringing new life to a dying character. Eva Green and Mads Mikkelsen are equally impressive as one of the only intelligent Bond girls and one of the creepiest villains respectively. Judi Dench is also magnificent as M. The only complaint is that the film might be a bit overlong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Dec 4, 2006
A splendid tour de force for the Bond series, even if breaking into his boss's house was over the top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HappyKillmoreDec 7, 2006
Pathetic. No charm, no class, no hot Bond girl, weak villain, non-stop beatings, awful fight scenes, sadistic beating, no Q, no wit, no jokes, no MoneyPenny, use of cell phones, product placement. Simply awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful