Casino Royale

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1214 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Casino Royale rejuvenates the Bond franchise with a beautifully crafted film complete with wit, emotion, plot and of course, enthralling action sequences.
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    i really enjoyed this bond film i wasn't sure about Daniel Craig as bond at first but he actually performed very well in this film. the plot of the film was also well written better then a lot of other bond films
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    I was actually really surprised. Daniel Craig was an amazing Bond and Eva Green to me was one of the best Bond girls. The plot was actually really good and believable. The acting was great. The only problems I have with the movie is that its a prequil but the technoligy was far better then the other films and M looks older. But once you get past those details this movie was great.
  4. Jan 3, 2015
    0
    Why is this so highly praised is one of universe mysteries to me.
    Its one of the most boring dull stupid films I have ever watched in my entire life.
    I have never had to force myself to sit through a film with multiple pauses to breath and rest my brain from boredom. Only worse movie experience for me was "Give them hell Malone" its that bad. The black guy chasing scene...omfg...its so
    Why is this so highly praised is one of universe mysteries to me.
    Its one of the most boring dull stupid films I have ever watched in my entire life.
    I have never had to force myself to sit through a film with multiple pauses to breath and rest my brain from boredom. Only worse movie experience for me was "Give them hell Malone" its that bad.
    The black guy chasing scene...omfg...its so long and so pointless and so stupid.
    Its not a Bond film, Craig is an ok actor but he's all the opposite of Bond. He looks like a construction worker, more like a bad guy from Bond films than main character. I got some feedback that he's attractive to women in that lumberjack sort of way so that's the appeal...ok, to each their own but Bond is not a lumberjack.
    Even as a "not Bond action film" its shallow uninteresting and stupid. Everything rolls around tracing cell phones, the main bad guy is totally forgettable, the plot is pointless...getting money for terrorism ( not something explicit but terrorism as an occupation maybe ? lol ) by playing high stakes poker..i mean wtf? who come up with that **** lol
    Only redeeming quality is Eva Green, beautiful woman ( not that great of on actress but still) but even she is poorly used.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Simply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and theSimply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and the last Bond was essential, with the new techniques there are better visual and audio effects, that improve the whole movie quite much. 'Casino Royale' is a legendary story, the ending is absolutely great and I also enjoyed the poker game. It's a little step away from being a perfect action movie, but is surely one of the best I've seen in years and everything just works in this film. Simply awesome! Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Casino Royale is by far the best of the newest Bonds, with an exciting premise, masterful execution, and an overall Bond feel to it that is mesmerizingly good.
  7. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the best Bond film ever, and one of the best action films I've ever seen. It's grittier and more violent than the previous films, but it is purely entertaining.
  8. May 22, 2014
    10
    OK Better than Sky fall. You can see this movie. this is one of my first movies with torture. First bond movie with a longest poker game in the movie.
  9. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best, is not the best, Bond films since the days of Connery. The dark and gritty tones are a welcome change of pace, and the story still manages to infuse humor in the right places, and in my opinion also in the right quantity. Easy 10.
  10. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    The movie is a revolution to the Bond franchise. Mark Campbell presents to the audience that James Bond is not a hero who kills the bad guys and gets laid with girls using his gadgets and slick words. Using Daniel Craig, he presents a Bond that actually gets hurt and looses the ones he love. Through this change of portrayal, Bond has become a stronger character and a worthy franchise toThe movie is a revolution to the Bond franchise. Mark Campbell presents to the audience that James Bond is not a hero who kills the bad guys and gets laid with girls using his gadgets and slick words. Using Daniel Craig, he presents a Bond that actually gets hurt and looses the ones he love. Through this change of portrayal, Bond has become a stronger character and a worthy franchise to watch. Kudos Campbell (and you too Craig)!!! Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    I did not like this movie at all. The action scenes are waaaaaaaaaaaay too long, so long that you'll forget how and why they're even happening. Bond jumps all over the place, so much so that he reminds me more of Super Mario than anything else. The plot is difficult to appreciate, there's just nothing the viewer is able to relate to in this movie. The only bright spot is Judy Dench,I did not like this movie at all. The action scenes are waaaaaaaaaaaay too long, so long that you'll forget how and why they're even happening. Bond jumps all over the place, so much so that he reminds me more of Super Mario than anything else. The plot is difficult to appreciate, there's just nothing the viewer is able to relate to in this movie. The only bright spot is Judy Dench, who is wonderful in any role she plays. Maybe this movie is worth watching just for her scenes. Daniel Craig is good, too, but the movie doesn't take advantage of his strong screen presence. Hopefully Skyfall will be better? Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    0
    This movie was as laughable as they come. They un-naturally included all the present trends at the time i.e. par-core and texas hold em (in which they in detail had to explain through script what was going on to heighten the atmosphere of the anti-climatic card game for those watching who didn't know even the basics of texas hold em.) And the scene where it's supposed to portray Bond as aThis movie was as laughable as they come. They un-naturally included all the present trends at the time i.e. par-core and texas hold em (in which they in detail had to explain through script what was going on to heighten the atmosphere of the anti-climatic card game for those watching who didn't know even the basics of texas hold em.) And the scene where it's supposed to portray Bond as a sex symbol women love and men want to be is a slow mow of him emerging from the ocean looking like a **** old man will get an audible hardy bellow every time. For the older generation Connery will always be untouchable, for mine its Bronson. And that's it/ This movie truly is hilarious. Best Comedy of 2006. Expand
  13. JeffF.
    Nov 20, 2006
    3
    The new Bond is a humorless stiff. One long pointless chase is followed by a long pointless fistfight followed by a long pointless card game followed by a long pointless shootout. We know who is going to win the poker tournament just get on with it. The movie just goes on and on and on. Other than Die Another Day this is the worst Bond ever. The thrill is gone.
  14. Sam
    Mar 19, 2007
    5
    Great action sequences WITHOUT the use of CGI (psst, Die Another Day) and Craig is an excellent James Bond, but the plot was very sub-par.
  15. AndrewP
    Jul 5, 2009
    0
    A James Bond film is a classy spy movie with a lot of action and story, but not too much of either to make it unbalanced. Casino Royale is a poker movie. Think about it. It starts with some talking, then there's a (very cool) action scene, then...poker. And more poker. And even more poker. Then there's that scene when bond gets poisoned and nearly dies, and then more poker. The A James Bond film is a classy spy movie with a lot of action and story, but not too much of either to make it unbalanced. Casino Royale is a poker movie. Think about it. It starts with some talking, then there's a (very cool) action scene, then...poker. And more poker. And even more poker. Then there's that scene when bond gets poisoned and nearly dies, and then more poker. The over involved plot doesn't have to do with bond taking out the bad guy as normal, instead he has to make him bankrupt in a, no joke here, game of high stakes poker. I think what really does it for me is seeing bond striped naked, tied to a chair, and whipped repeatedly in the area a man does not want to be whipped in. And he doesn't use his whits or cunning to escape, but instead he has to be rescued. Its just insulting. Also, no Q means no cool gadgets. Bond, the franchise that first had the idea of equipping spys with ultra high tech gadgets, suddenly has no gadgets. Personally, when i think bond, two of the first things that come to mind are the laser watch and the Aston with missiles under the head lights and now both of these icons are gone. Its just sad. This movie left me with a hollow, empty feeling that made me go back and watch one of the twenty superior bond films. No charm. No heart. No soul. 0 out of 10. Expand
  16. carim
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    One of the absolute worst films I've sat through in a very long time. It was painful to say the least.
  17. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    An absolute complete waste of time. This film is terrible anybody who has rated this film as good is more than likely drunk on drugs or just plan retarded. Its the worst film I have ever seen. The director want to be shot as soon as possible Daniel Craig is just a joke (His acting is that of a 15 year old yob) and the rest is just a fail. I feel that strongly about this film that I haveAn absolute complete waste of time. This film is terrible anybody who has rated this film as good is more than likely drunk on drugs or just plan retarded. Its the worst film I have ever seen. The director want to be shot as soon as possible Daniel Craig is just a joke (His acting is that of a 15 year old yob) and the rest is just a fail. I feel that strongly about this film that I have created an account just to slate it. Destroyed the bong legacy, and replace it with rubbish!!!! I am disgusted Expand
  18. Dave
    Apr 5, 2009
    1
    Stupid. Boring. Sadistic. Implausible. Charmless. Illogical. Cheesy. Lame. Impossible, etc etc Personally i think we should nuke the earth, maybe a better species than humans will evolve, and movies like this never get past the moronic script stage.
  19. JCampbell
    Oct 17, 2007
    0
    The positive reviews of this picture reflects how shallow and frankly stupid people in general are creatively. First, Craig is all wrong for Bond. Since a lot of people are nothing but criminals, no wonder he appeals to them. And he's a poor actor, mumbling his lines. Violent movie from start to finish. The original story by the way has little resemblance to this mess. Should be The positive reviews of this picture reflects how shallow and frankly stupid people in general are creatively. First, Craig is all wrong for Bond. Since a lot of people are nothing but criminals, no wonder he appeals to them. And he's a poor actor, mumbling his lines. Violent movie from start to finish. The original story by the way has little resemblance to this mess. Should be titled "JAMES BOMB" Casino Royale is a Royale FLOP! Bond is supposed to be a gentleman GQ type. Suave yet physical. Roger Moore was perfect. Good-bye Cubby, too bad your kid drove Bond into the ground in just one movie. If you want to change everything-MAKE ANOTHER FILM! Sasino Royale was not the box-office success it hoped for, and the above reasons are why. Next time, hire the right actor for Bond, and stck with the story that has worked! Oh, the torture scenes-just great to watch, huh! Violent, sleazy movie with Bond an anti-hero criminal. Hmmm, how hip. Expand
  20. ZZZZZboring
    May 8, 2007
    3
    Worst Bond ever!!! Ok this is before Sean Connery and everything, how come he's using cellular phones and driving 2006 Aston martins? The movie is horrible. Craig's input is spending six months in the gym the dialogue is nothing. The humor is completely gone I mean Bond used to be fun and unrealistic that was the whole point of it. It is one long commercial for Sony and Aston Worst Bond ever!!! Ok this is before Sean Connery and everything, how come he's using cellular phones and driving 2006 Aston martins? The movie is horrible. Craig's input is spending six months in the gym the dialogue is nothing. The humor is completely gone I mean Bond used to be fun and unrealistic that was the whole point of it. It is one long commercial for Sony and Aston martin. I mean they must have showed off the complete line of Sony Ericsson cellphones and all the wonderful things they have in them. And what kind of pussyass Bond has a defibrillator in his car incredible. Come on Bond doesn't play poker he plays Baccarat every f.cking person in the universe knows that. It's just so sold out Sony controlling Ok we need someone who has spent his life in the gym next to out cellphones. Bond doesn't concern himself with tells. This is the worst movie ever. Anyone would have made a better Bond. Bond is not boring. Homer Simpson would have made a better bond. George bush would have made a better Bond. Any one with intelligence would have made a better Bond. Even Madonna. And I'm guessing the average of people in here is 7. Expand
  21. RD
    Nov 10, 2008
    0
    Terrible. I felt as if I was channel surfing, first a dark and cold blooded assasination, then an action packed areobatic scene, quick onto explosions, oil tankers and aeroplanes no wait switch to a dramatic aka boring casino scene. Time for a sadistic and disturbing torture scene and finally the death of the villian, was he the villain? Who shot him? It wasn't Bond. Oh well but wait Terrible. I felt as if I was channel surfing, first a dark and cold blooded assasination, then an action packed areobatic scene, quick onto explosions, oil tankers and aeroplanes no wait switch to a dramatic aka boring casino scene. Time for a sadistic and disturbing torture scene and finally the death of the villian, was he the villain? Who shot him? It wasn't Bond. Oh well but wait there's more an abrupt and unexplainable change to a story of romance and betrayl. Culminating in the death of the bond girl. The plot seemed thrown together from several different ideas none of which came together. Visually unappealing, lacking anything cinematic in the form of special effects. What little I noticed of the musical score grated on the ears. As for the main character Bond was not reinvented or grittier he was just less. Less charming, less intelligent, less talkative. In fact everyone else did the talking for him, they all talked at him while he responded with bored stares. When Daniel Craig did talk as many others have mentioned he mumbled, making a discontinuous plot even more disjointed. Definately yet another example of current movie makers ruining a long standing franchise, ie. Star Trek, Star Wars, Indianna Jones, etc etc. Collapse
  22. CobiWan
    Dec 17, 2006
    5
    I am sorry but I was really disappointed...not much of a love story and a long poker game...lacking real bond action.
  23. DanielA.
    Dec 15, 2007
    2
    This movie is a load of crap. Most bond films weren't killing everyone so violently. He is made out to be a vicious killer. Nothing against violence in movies, But James Bond When you compare the older classic Bond movies This guy doesn't have the Carisma of Either a Roger Moore or a Sean Connery. I'm truly disappointed. I want my money back. Pierce Brosnan did a better job This movie is a load of crap. Most bond films weren't killing everyone so violently. He is made out to be a vicious killer. Nothing against violence in movies, But James Bond When you compare the older classic Bond movies This guy doesn't have the Carisma of Either a Roger Moore or a Sean Connery. I'm truly disappointed. I want my money back. Pierce Brosnan did a better job even. Maybe it was the story But I didn't buy in to his character. Truly not my bag baby. Expand
  24. ChristopherS.
    Mar 14, 2007
    3
    In an effort to reinvent the Bond franchise the filmmakers succeeded only in burying it. The best part of this movie ends at the 11 minute mark the ensuing 2+ hours are completely and utterly forgettable. Daniel Craig, an otherwise fine actor, is comically miscast. His pug face and squat muscular body are totally inappropriate for the role. In fact, apart from Caterina Murino, Casino In an effort to reinvent the Bond franchise the filmmakers succeeded only in burying it. The best part of this movie ends at the 11 minute mark the ensuing 2+ hours are completely and utterly forgettable. Daniel Craig, an otherwise fine actor, is comically miscast. His pug face and squat muscular body are totally inappropriate for the role. In fact, apart from Caterina Murino, Casino Royale will be remembered as the Bond film featuring the most unattractive cast ever assembled. My advice; pickup Mission Impossible 3 and leave this waste of time on the shelf. Expand
  25. baym.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    This is not bond the icon.... this is a very supid bond movie... i don't care about the good ratings of the movie critics... we the public viewer make it a big hits... make it an invincible bond just like the old days... daniel? is not invincible in looks, style, and humor as well... that is how an icon is created... by the way he is bond... make him a global icon... u better check This is not bond the icon.... this is a very supid bond movie... i don't care about the good ratings of the movie critics... we the public viewer make it a big hits... make it an invincible bond just like the old days... daniel? is not invincible in looks, style, and humor as well... that is how an icon is created... by the way he is bond... make him a global icon... u better check out the box office world wide... it is not the same james bond movie that still showing in cinema in almost a month.. but one week maybe... and to the producer... does it concern you? Expand
  26. CiaranC.
    Nov 29, 2006
    3
    I did enjoy the first 5 minutes and the inital chase but it deteriated quickly. The Casino scenes were laughable and but the time it reached the climax I'd reached my limit also. How is this considered a good movie by critics I'll never know. Daniel Craig was dreadful, this movie should never have been made as the story of Casino Royale is substandard.
  27. JayW.
    Feb 16, 2007
    4
    In my opinion, James Bond has risen to the rank of comic book superhero. By this I mean: nobody is smarter, nobody has skill, and like Batman, nobody can beat all of his gadgets. This said, I love James Bond. Everytime you walk inot 1 of these movies, you know that you are going to get a completely unbelievealbe thrill ride as some villian seeks to take over the world...that is until In my opinion, James Bond has risen to the rank of comic book superhero. By this I mean: nobody is smarter, nobody has skill, and like Batman, nobody can beat all of his gadgets. This said, I love James Bond. Everytime you walk inot 1 of these movies, you know that you are going to get a completely unbelievealbe thrill ride as some villian seeks to take over the world...that is until "Casino Royale". In this movie, they attempted to make James real & fragile. If I want to see a real & fragile spy movie, I go rent "Spy Game". To me, they robbed James of his gadgets & swagger which essentially killed the character. Yes, I know that this was Flemmings first story, but "first" doesn't always mean "best". Some writers really struggle with their characters in the beginning while they try to figure them out. To me, this is the version on James Bond that Flemming left on the cutting room floor for a reason. Expand
  28. Sparkling
    Apr 2, 2007
    3
    Run away. I read a review saying this was a post Bourne Supremacy Bond fim- a film I liked. This film was pants. I had high hopes- such high hopes. Danny-boy is alright, don't get me wrong. Have you not see it yet? You decide.
  29. timm
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! he looks scary! and he really wants that briefcase! retarded. i was soooo disappointed, especially with all those good reviews, saying this reinvents Ok. so... this movie kinda sux. new and different doesn't mean better when the plot sux and there is no character development whatsoever. i challenge anyone to tell me who the bad guys actually were. and the guy with one sunglass! uhoh! he looks scary! and he really wants that briefcase! retarded. i was soooo disappointed, especially with all those good reviews, saying this reinvents Bond. i like the feel of the movie, the aura, bond's character, and nothing else. and what was with that ending? i suppose if there's no plot there can't really be an ending, huh. Expand
  30. DsdsfTetete
    Mar 26, 2007
    3
    Bond is the bad guy in this movie. He's just an as.hole picking on this guy in a poker game. Plot made no sense. Action was few and far in between. And the story made no sense.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    Nov 5, 2015
    80
    Bond 21 is refreshed yet faithful, any grumbles easily quashed by Craig's powerful presence. The suit fits. And he wears it well.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 5, 2015
    75
    Casino Royale is one of the good ones and not just for the way it wittily recontextualizes several series touchstones.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 5, 2015
    60
    Casino Royale is just swell when Bond is busting up bathrooms in Prague, busting up embassies in Madagascar and busting a move in Nassau. But when he gets to, well, Casino Royale (here, in the former Yugoslav Republic of Montenegro), the film goes utterly flat.