Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1280 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,119
Mixed:
69
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JeffM.Mar 4, 2007
Casino Royale is the best Bond film ever and Daniel Craig, as Bond, was awsome. I only wish we can see more of him as Bond in remakes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryD.Jan 26, 2010
I enjoyed the action in this movie to make him more of a human event instead of a computer role. Thanks Daniel for your energy throughout the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesN.Jan 1, 2007
More realistic than the previous Bond movies which have been too much like cartoons. Daniel Craig does a great job as Bond and the story and intro are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesT.Apr 10, 2007
The best James Bond movie ever made. It is a great fresh movie. It shows the series by doing something something i would not have ever thought of in my whole life and that is creating Daniel Craig into the best Bond ever and making it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardK.Apr 1, 2007
Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly what the Bond franchise needed to save itself. I can't wait to see the next one, this time at the Theatre . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Jan 9, 2008
Best Bond film since Goldfinger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VitusP.Dec 28, 2006
This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of explosives. Just to point out, I think the opening ("You Know My Name", appropriately enough) is the first Bond movie not to feature dancing females' nude silhousettes. This suggests that Bond films are becoming more than just toy commercials for middle aged men. Also, it's about time we saw another Bond film based on Ian Flemming's novels. Praise be that they got the first one right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrielDec 9, 2006
Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks to the filmmakers who helped bring an old childhood friend back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougMJan 18, 2007
In looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept BondIn looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms of total number of tickets sold amongst Bond movies (not how much money made as a movie ticket costs three times what it did in Connery's day but actual number sold). It was dying. The new Bond is exactly what was needed to reinvent Bond for 2006 and onward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 2, 2007
This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is young and most energetic of his time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandyR.May 8, 2007
I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned out to be the most breathtaking and enigmatic persona I've seen on the screen in a very long time! Imagine, Bond, a real person after all! For those who vastly enjoy the intellectual qualities of a film greater than the mindless and gratuitous sexual content with its childish repartees, this is the REAL McCOY!!! The dialogue is fresh, the action is riveting, and I've never seen anything so wonderful as Bond in a bathing suit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPFeb 8, 2009
Best Bond ever, best Bond film ever. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimJ.Nov 17, 2006
I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a dozen bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Nov 17, 2006
This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting is fantastic, and the frequent remarks and humorous quick comments keep viewers on the edge of their seat, if not standing up yelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricN.Nov 18, 2006
Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was ok for me as a Bond-geek, but my non-Bond-geek companions were getting a little worn out toward the end. Also, I haven't seen my local theater that packed in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceC.,CraneTexasNov 18, 2006
This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I love this film. Is because there is no gadgets. no Q, or no Moneypenny. But most of all. I love the new Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyS.Nov 20, 2006
This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor back to Sean Connery. This film has given me a new hope for the future of Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethK.Nov 21, 2006
Most satisfying movie experiece I've had in quite some time. Daniel Craig is the best Bond of all time. No question.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedRoseNov 21, 2006
1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I 1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of Mission Impossible/XXX etc and are used to seeing films run no longer than 100 mins. 4) This is the best film of the year. Vastly superior to the overrated Departed. BRITAINS FAVOURITE SPY IS BACK. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Nov 20, 2006
I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after they get shot. This is fast-paced, dark, suspenseful, and sets a new standard of cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Dec 11, 2006
Very good movie. I can't compare it with other Bond movies as I have not seen them. But this is a great entertainer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDec 1, 2006
This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my pops. Any movie where you want a repeat viewing is a 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterDec 14, 2006
Best James Bond movie to date. Daniel Craig really roughened up Bonds character yet still kept the cool suave aspects that make Bond...Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomL.Dec 15, 2006
Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the curb to make a superb, believeable espionage thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StormGDec 2, 2006
Outstanding!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyaS.Dec 23, 2006
Craig certainly makes his bond debut a splash, this is exactly what the bond movies needed to bring the younger generation back to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatM.Dec 24, 2006
I loved this movie---from the initial graphics to the ending scene!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PepitaR.Dec 2, 2006
Fantastic film. One word to describe the new bond and the entire film. "RAW". I loved it. The action, the romance, the mood has lingered with me through the night up to this minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomS.Dec 31, 2006
Loved the film. Fab special effects, good story line and lots of twists and turns you would'nt expect. Not like the other Bond films, but that is not a bad thing just different!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Dec 3, 2006
Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just goes to show you how tired that whole disturbing comedy trash (with John Cleese of all people) was becoming. Thank god for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougM.Dec 6, 2006
I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I don't think he is "better" than previous Bonds. If you look at how ridiculous those movies were in Moore's era, it made perfect sense to play them for laughs. But Craig is perfect to play a three-dimensional Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DazDec 8, 2006
Probably the best bond movie ever. The biggest compliment I can give the movie is that it reminded me more of the Bourne films than any old Bond flick. Well done Mr Craig!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldR.Jan 11, 2007
Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did surprise me though was the film's emotional arc. I was actually moved and saddened by the tenderness shown by this man who historically has been nothing but a hunk with a chunk of misogyny in his heart. Now I understand why. That added depth made this film all the better with its great action sequences, strong story line and believable villians. I look forward to the next chapter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OLuckJan 12, 2007
Really fantastic, one of the best spy movies ever. It is not getting the respect it deserves becasue fo the franchise. The direction, scripting, acting is superior, really trancends the genre. Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OLuckJan 12, 2007
To tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies haveTo tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them were really genuine Bond films! His movies lacked the suave, sardonic manner of Connery and all of his movies were at times ridiculous (Die Another Day).
Now lets talk about Craig.
While Connery was an incredible Bond, he is no Daniel Craig. While the appeal and "smooth" style of Connery as Bond is iconic. Daniel Craig turns Bond into a sadistic, volatile kind of agent of blazing ferocity, kind of like how Fleming would've wanted Bond. Craig alone makes the movie so incendiary, as well as the well-produced screenplay and the other small things (The Chris Cornell song rocks!). This movie made up for the disappointment I underwent when I saw the Departed and It is easily one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanM.Nov 5, 2007
I thought it was awesome, it gets better every time i watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelC.Mar 14, 2007
Quite possibly my favorite Bond. I was amazed this movie turned out so good after seeing what Pierce was doing to the Bond franchise. Thank god he's gone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSMar 18, 2007
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This was one of the best movies ever made! Thank God for Casino Royale!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
Yes! They resurrected the Bond franchise!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillwSep 6, 2009
One of the best James bond movies. I love the plot, Daniel are very cool and i think he is the real James bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesterlyQuetinNov 14, 2006
In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep inIn a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Nov 18, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyNov 18, 2006
Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegW.Nov 19, 2006
Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlueManNov 19, 2006
Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseM.Nov 19, 2006
Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSNov 21, 2006
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisNov 20, 2006
The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough goodThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBNov 21, 2006
I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChazG.Nov 22, 2006
This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Nov 22, 2006
Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Nov 22, 2006
As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SETHDNov 22, 2006
Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateGNov 22, 2006
Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on great acting and a smart plot rather than gimmicky special effects and gadgets. Bond is smarter and darker and better because of it. Bravo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Nov 23, 2006
This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. Craig shines in Casino Royale, proving that even though he doesn't necessarily look the part, he plays it better than any Bond since Connery. The only bad thing i have to say about it is that the Bond girls weren't quite as good-looking as I'd hoped, but the acting and action make up for it in the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilB.Nov 24, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig pulls Bond of flawlessly. While there may not be a lot of suave womanizing in this Bond, there is a genuine roughness about him that is more believable than in any other Bond film. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 25, 2006
The only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and thereThe only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and there isn't just and obvious badguy with a scar and a cat and a maniacal laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoyG.Nov 29, 2006
The gadgets and plots of the previous Bond movies were over the top and cartoonish. Craig's Bond is more believable, the stunts realistic, the double and triple crosses dizzying and the conclusion left me wanting more. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BamdadS.Dec 2, 2006
One of the best movies ever! Awesome Cast, Awesome Story! Just watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeTheDukeDec 28, 2006
A great new Bond. Daniel Craig takes Bond to a new level. Once again, another great James Bond film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anandk.Dec 30, 2006
awesome gr8 movie of bond, specially daniel craig to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
grantcowansDec 8, 2006
i think it was brill between me and u if i wasnt bovared what people think i would have a big cry over it because when his girlfreinf died a the end it was sad i think it explains everythink about him and why he uses his girlfriends i give 5 stars
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCDec 3, 2007
Possibly the best Bond movie there has ever been. Great acting by everyone and a Bond that actually gets hurt once in awhile is much better. The only reason why people won't give good reviews is because they can't deal withPossibly the best Bond movie there has ever been. Great acting by everyone and a Bond that actually gets hurt once in awhile is much better. The only reason why people won't give good reviews is because they can't deal with change. How many times can you do the same movie over and over? Saying this movie is a failure couldn't be farther from the truth. From critical acclaim to the best box-office results for a Bond, it's anything but a failure. My personal favorite movie, can't wait for the next one.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinB.Apr 17, 2007
Best Bond movie ever, I never thought anyone could be better than Sean Connery until now. Daniel Craig is the best. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jameswSep 13, 2009
The bond franchise has needed an overhaul for years, and Daniel Craig is the perfect engine. much closer to how Fleming envisioned bond in his books. an assassin, who does his job, without remorse. the first time bond has been portrayed on The bond franchise has needed an overhaul for years, and Daniel Craig is the perfect engine. much closer to how Fleming envisioned bond in his books. an assassin, who does his job, without remorse. the first time bond has been portrayed on screen faithfully to Ian Flemming's original vision , bravo Daniel Craig, bravo !!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondM.Nov 18, 2006
A darker, deeper and very human Bond is delivered by Craig. Eva Green is more of an exceptional Bond Woman than a typical Bond Girl. As M, Judi Dench finally gets to excersice her acting chops opposite someone (Craig) who can hold his own A darker, deeper and very human Bond is delivered by Craig. Eva Green is more of an exceptional Bond Woman than a typical Bond Girl. As M, Judi Dench finally gets to excersice her acting chops opposite someone (Craig) who can hold his own and take a few bites himself. Great movie, a must see. Best Bond movie in a very, very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisKandtKandtNov 19, 2006
It was a very good movie. I've seen all of them. This one making 21. I came into it critcally tuned but came out pleasantly surprised. Daniel Craig, despite being blond, is worthy of bond in my mind. And though this movie breaks theIt was a very good movie. I've seen all of them. This one making 21. I came into it critcally tuned but came out pleasantly surprised. Daniel Craig, despite being blond, is worthy of bond in my mind. And though this movie breaks the traditional ending, it is the prequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilaPechmanNov 19, 2006
I loved the movie. It was an edge of your seat movieand Daniel Craig was an excellent James Bond. It was fun, the plot was exciting and fast moving and Bond looked great. I have seen every Bond movie and this one was exceptional.I loved the movie. It was an edge of your seat movieand Daniel Craig was an excellent James Bond. It was fun, the plot was exciting and fast moving and Bond looked great. I have seen every Bond movie and this one was exceptional. Can't wait for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryNov 21, 2006
What a breath of fresh air to get away from the gadgetry and the fluff of the previous 007 to a hardcore real Secret Service Agent. Daniel Craig where have you been? Instead of the predictable escape with comic touch, there was a real story What a breath of fresh air to get away from the gadgetry and the fluff of the previous 007 to a hardcore real Secret Service Agent. Daniel Craig where have you been? Instead of the predictable escape with comic touch, there was a real story and suspense that the viewer felt and sat on the edge of his seat. Thank you for reinventing what James Bond used to be. Don't miss this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredBruskyNov 21, 2006
Wow...thats all i can say about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaD.Nov 24, 2006
I thought that this was an amazing James Bond and that Daniel Craig and Eva Green did brilliantly. I own all the other James Bond movies and really enjoy them in general, but i thinnk that this just may become my favourite. It was well made I thought that this was an amazing James Bond and that Daniel Craig and Eva Green did brilliantly. I own all the other James Bond movies and really enjoy them in general, but i thinnk that this just may become my favourite. It was well made and well acted. It makes me mad that people say that Craig couldn't be Bond because he's blonde... utterly ridiculous, he may just be one of the best Bonds. If i could rate this movie higher than a 10, i would. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianY.Nov 25, 2006
Nothing short of spectacular in this one! The only complaint I have is the lack of showcasing of the Bond car and other gadgets. Daniel Craig did a great job and I'm looking forward to future films!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieB.Nov 25, 2006
Definitely a 10 out of 10! The new bond movie is simultaneously a man's and a woman's dream -- it got real action and a really great story line. I used to love Roger More. Now, Daniel Craig is my new favorite Bond. And the movie Definitely a 10 out of 10! The new bond movie is simultaneously a man's and a woman's dream -- it got real action and a really great story line. I used to love Roger More. Now, Daniel Craig is my new favorite Bond. And the movie itself is up there among the best Bond movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Nov 29, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Nov 29, 2006
Hands down my favorite bond movie! It just goes to show how important charactor is in any film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaganY.Dec 14, 2006
The best Bond film in a while Daniel Craig is unlike any other 007 before him. He may lack the looks of Pierce Brosnan, but he compensates in charisma that rivals Sean Connery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Dec 19, 2006
Though I couldn't jump on the bandwagon of hating "Die Another Day," this movie's certainly better than the last effort, and possibly than any others. Time will tell if Daniel Craig will improve on the legend of Sean Connery, but Though I couldn't jump on the bandwagon of hating "Die Another Day," this movie's certainly better than the last effort, and possibly than any others. Time will tell if Daniel Craig will improve on the legend of Sean Connery, but for now we'll just say he's excellent. Kudos for making a story that's almost half-century old completely modern and timely. Like all Bond films, "Casino Royale" is too long but there's so many wow sequences (like the free-running in the beginning) that you're sure to keep your eyes fixed on the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thommythomDec 22, 2006
this is great. my favorites comments happen to be "where were all the gadgets" hey fucknut, ever seen from russia with love? and this one "they should have just highjacked nuclear weapons". oh im so sorry that this one had a unique plot andthis is great. my favorites comments happen to be "where were all the gadgets" hey fucknut, ever seen from russia with love? and this one "they should have just highjacked nuclear weapons". oh im so sorry that this one had a unique plot and whoever doesnt like the dialogue is just dumb. the man responsible for writing the last two best picture winners wrote that. suck on that you haters. action was great too. fast, brutal, and more real than most bonds Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
susanaw.Dec 23, 2006
Having watched every bond out there at least 4 to 5 times, this is the best yet for me, Daniel Craig is an actor and if they continue to give him a good script, he will set teh franchise on fire! I have already watched this one 3 times Having watched every bond out there at least 4 to 5 times, this is the best yet for me, Daniel Craig is an actor and if they continue to give him a good script, he will set teh franchise on fire! I have already watched this one 3 times now...can you tell i am a fun! Craig blew me away, he brought the real bond to life...raw and real! bravo craig! The naysayers can go and eat some humble pie now! THat physique.....oh !Yeah! see you next time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilMNov 19, 2008
A believable spin on the ridiculous campiness of the older Bond's. Darker, grittier, yet still with the charm, just subtler. Just because somethings not exaggerated to the point of campiness doesn't mean it's not there. The best Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.Dec 12, 2009
This is the best Bond film of them all, due in large part to Craig's take on Bond, which is not only masterful, but also unprecedented.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ddayusaOct 9, 2010
This is the best Bond movie. Bond is thoroughly human: He's hit, he recoils. He cuts, he bleeds. The series had gone to absurd levels of incredulity through the Roger Moore and Pierce Brosnan years. This movie brought the films back to aThis is the best Bond movie. Bond is thoroughly human: He's hit, he recoils. He cuts, he bleeds. The series had gone to absurd levels of incredulity through the Roger Moore and Pierce Brosnan years. This movie brought the films back to a human scale, and it's all the more powerful. Daniel Craig dominates the movie as Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
norseNov 16, 2012
After reviewing Skyfall, I thought that I ought to give Casino Royale the 10 it so royally deserves in my opinion. Dench and Craig are my all-time favorite actors and are cast perfectly, the story is deep with a gut-wrenching twist. This isAfter reviewing Skyfall, I thought that I ought to give Casino Royale the 10 it so royally deserves in my opinion. Dench and Craig are my all-time favorite actors and are cast perfectly, the story is deep with a gut-wrenching twist. This is hands down the best Bond movie I've ever seen. And now I am going to go see it again ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chardr69May 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The twenty-first James Bond film, second directed by Martin Campbell (GoldenEye), and the first to star Daniel Craig as 007.
After the way-over-the-top CGI heavy â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SMURPH44Jun 1, 2011
Easily one of the best, is not the best, Bond films since the days of Connery. The dark and gritty tones are a welcome change of pace, and the story still manages to infuse humor in the right places, and in my opinion also in the rightEasily one of the best, is not the best, Bond films since the days of Connery. The dark and gritty tones are a welcome change of pace, and the story still manages to infuse humor in the right places, and in my opinion also in the right quantity. Easy 10. Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
10
sinadoomSep 28, 2011
This film is fantastic! Especially the chase at the beginning. Loved every second of it. They've got the right balance between action and developing the story. It's not boring to watch, but isn't guns going off all the way. Nicely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFFeb 18, 2013
I bet the big wigs at MGM are laughing and making crude gestures to all the doubters who petitioned to have Daniel Craig removed as the new Bond, and they should be, because there was no mistake, and what has been crafted one of the mostI bet the big wigs at MGM are laughing and making crude gestures to all the doubters who petitioned to have Daniel Craig removed as the new Bond, and they should be, because there was no mistake, and what has been crafted one of the most flawless films in the past decade. This is not the Bond everybody knows, gone are the gadgets of Brosnan or the suave of Connery,not only does Casino Royale basically cancel out the rest, as Bond has yet to receive his '00' status, but it creates a whole new type of character that we have not yet seen. The opening black and white scene paints a very different agent to what we are accustomed to..fist fighting with a man in a toilet, beating each other senseless and slamming each other into sinks until Bond eventually drowns his victim, this is a new, dark and gritty direction that is brilliant in every way.
Judi Dench returns as a more centered and grounded M, who tasks Bond with infiltrating the terrorist operation of Le Chiffre (Mals Mikkelsen) who employs a bomb maker that Bond chases in a breathtaking parkour scene through a construction site.
After Bond foils Le Chiffre's terrorist attempt in a Miami airport, he is entered into a poker game involving Le Chiffre to attempt to bankrupt him to the end of MI6 using him to bring down a terrorist organisation.
With Eva Green taking the female lead as Vesper Lynd, this is a Bond film that is very much human, with touches of realism that paint a very different picture, he bleeds, he is reckless, and doesn't seem to give a damn about anything, and the writing team have taken on this leap to show Bonds complete disregard for what we are use to like the utter destruction of a brand new Aston Martin, ("Shaken or Stirred?" "Do I look like I give a damn?")
Daniel Craig portrays a man who has the skill set and aura of Jason Bourne, but with a vulnerable state of insecurity and isolation.There is enough action to rival the biggest of blockbusters, with carefully choreographed scenes and brilliant set pieces including an airport chase along the runway, it can't be stressed enough that Craig is portraying a very serious and realistic 'operative', and not a 'secret agent'.
Not only is this the best Bond movie in its long history, but also one of the best films to appear this decade.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Commander_JimDec 14, 2011
Welcome back James! This is a movie I NEVER expected to see as a lifelong fan of 007. That is, a movie that is just as good as the classic Connery era films. And coming after the atrocious and embarrassing Die Another Day it came as even moreWelcome back James! This is a movie I NEVER expected to see as a lifelong fan of 007. That is, a movie that is just as good as the classic Connery era films. And coming after the atrocious and embarrassing Die Another Day it came as even more of a pleasant surprise. Daniel Craig is an exceptional James Bond, part swaggering Connery, part intense Dalton. The action is exciting and thrilling, without any of the naff CGI used in the previous couple of films, and the story is one of very vintage Bond intrigue. The best Bond film in 30 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanteTheCynicDec 27, 2012
Craig's introduction the the Bond role is filled with action, suspense, and a dark new take on James Bond himself. Easily the closest movie adaptation of Bond to Ian Fleming's novels, it shows that Bond can be edgy and dark, even gritty andCraig's introduction the the Bond role is filled with action, suspense, and a dark new take on James Bond himself. Easily the closest movie adaptation of Bond to Ian Fleming's novels, it shows that Bond can be edgy and dark, even gritty and outright cringe-worthy at times. To put it into perspective, Daniel Craig is the ANTI Roger Moore. He's dark, serious, emotionless, and brutal. Just like Ian Fleming's original adaptation. So if you prefer a lighter bond, he may not be for you. But if you love Fleming's Bond, you'll probably adore Craig. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FSJ_973Nov 17, 2012
Maybe it's a little bit slow, but it's complex and "no-cliché" plot, with a spectacular acting from Daniel Craig makes Casino Royale the best James Bond film ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Casino Royale" is the story of, MI6 agent, James Bond's (Daniel Craig) first mission. Fresh off of receiving the coveted "007" status, Bond begins the long and elaborate task of bankrupting the world's top terrorist financier, Le Chiffre"Casino Royale" is the story of, MI6 agent, James Bond's (Daniel Craig) first mission. Fresh off of receiving the coveted "007" status, Bond begins the long and elaborate task of bankrupting the world's top terrorist financier, Le Chiffre (Mikkelson). Now, I am, proudly, a James Bond fan myself and when I had heard that they were going to reboot the franchise ala "Batman Begins"; I was elated. Because honestly the last few Bond films have been something off a showcase of silliness. After watching "Casino Royale" I can safely say that this film effectively restores the Bond film series, as well as the James Bond name, to everything that author Ian Fleming had originally intended. This film features one of the most dynamic portrayals of the character I've ever seen on film. Sure, everything from the previous films is there (the charm, wit, etc.), but Actor Daniel Craig brings some aspects to the character I've never seen before. He does a really profound job at accentuating just how much of a cold bastard 007 really is. Though he also does a good job at depicting the more loving side of Bond -like I said. . .dynamic. With all these different shades of Bond in tow, Craig creates, quite possibly, my favorite representation of the character. Eva Green does a fine job in her role as the beguiling treasury agent, Vesper Lynd. Green and Craig construct a deep kind of chemistry that I have yet to see any other Bond and "Bond-girl" develop on film. Also, cheers to Mads Mikkelson for playing one of the creepiest Bond-villains I've ever seen. In terms of technicalities, The camerawork is very clean, and editing is logical and accurate. The soundtrack utilizes the classic Bond Theme, but it also employs some extra nuances that I found to be quite suitable for the overall tone of the film. The screenplay is very well written, giving Bond some of the funniest lines I've ever heard his character say. The action is there too, as this movie features some of the coolest and most intimidating set pieces I've seen on film. I mean like some real "Uncharted-esque" stuff happens in this movie- pretty awesome. Anyways, I sincerely enjoyed "Casino Royale", for it re-establishes the James Bond franchise in a place that I feel is very fresh and provocative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
One of the most surprising and satisfying films I've ever seen. Not only is this a great Bond movie, it may very well be the best Bond movie. Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
b-radMay 19, 2013
Casino Royale is the best bond film since Goldfinger and Daniel Craig is the best bond since Sean Connery. The last four bond films starring Pierce Brosnan were all just 90 minute parades of badly choreographed car chases, way too manyCasino Royale is the best bond film since Goldfinger and Daniel Craig is the best bond since Sean Connery. The last four bond films starring Pierce Brosnan were all just 90 minute parades of badly choreographed car chases, way too many seemingly irrelevant gadgets and stuff blowing up. It was time for a change and Casino Royale effectively cleaned the slate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialSamDec 23, 2012
Best Bond movie ever, those who don't agree obviously don't know a good movie. To all of those guys who hate this movie ( luckily there aren't many, u mad brooooooo?)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
A new bond is always good in the new refreshed 007 movies. 21st century James Bond is entertaining and has a leveled amount of violence. Excellent plot and you MUST see this. Really, anyone who gave it 5 or under did not actually see theA new bond is always good in the new refreshed 007 movies. 21st century James Bond is entertaining and has a leveled amount of violence. Excellent plot and you MUST see this. Really, anyone who gave it 5 or under did not actually see the movie or needed glasses, or they might have been watching clique Casino Spoof. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
A great restart to the classic character that is played out brilliantly by Daniel Craig. The film is another great classic Bond film (that is only missing a few elements, but those are overshadowed by other classic Bond elements), the actingA great restart to the classic character that is played out brilliantly by Daniel Craig. The film is another great classic Bond film (that is only missing a few elements, but those are overshadowed by other classic Bond elements), the acting in this film is great, the script is well written and witty that breaths freshness into the series, the action is jaw dropping, the music brings us back to John Barry's style with a modern twist. This film is high in style and is a very great and classical Bond film adaption! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manofthemoonJan 25, 2015
The Pierce Brosnan era was over, the actor still good as Bond, but weighed down by poor scripts, he never really got the kudos he deserved. EON felt it was time to reboot and they did so perfectly with "Casino Royale", Fleming's first book.The Pierce Brosnan era was over, the actor still good as Bond, but weighed down by poor scripts, he never really got the kudos he deserved. EON felt it was time to reboot and they did so perfectly with "Casino Royale", Fleming's first book. The mood is dark and gritty, physical, returning to the darker tone of the Dalton era, and setting Bond up for the modern age. The cast, especially Daniel Craig as Bond, are first rate and the results make this one of the best Bond films ever. Excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 26, 2013
Casino Royale is by far the best of the newest Bonds, with an exciting premise, masterful execution, and an overall Bond feel to it that is mesmerizingly good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews