DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: December 25, 2002
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 440 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
415
Mixed:
23
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MovieGuysSep 4, 2014
Catch Me If You Can is a breezy, light Spielberg film full o charm and great performances, especially DiCaprio and Walken. Hanks plays the slightly inept FBI agent, and the move closes with a surprisingly fulfilling ending. It is 140 minutesCatch Me If You Can is a breezy, light Spielberg film full o charm and great performances, especially DiCaprio and Walken. Hanks plays the slightly inept FBI agent, and the move closes with a surprisingly fulfilling ending. It is 140 minutes of entertainment, and maybe even some themes in there somewhere. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
glend690Feb 22, 2011
This is easily the most underrated movie ever
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Catch Me If You Can is a true story and a triumph. This is a very different story and it's that uniqueness that lets you know it has to be true. You can't make this stuff up! Leo DiCaprio is amazing, showing the birth of one of the theCatch Me If You Can is a true story and a triumph. This is a very different story and it's that uniqueness that lets you know it has to be true. You can't make this stuff up! Leo DiCaprio is amazing, showing the birth of one of the the countries all-time best con men, in a time when it was relatively easy to do. Tom Hanks is equally as good as the guy who's chasing him, showing once again why he has the reputation that he does. This is one of the best films I've seen in a long time, don't be a fool, you have to see this! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BenYaniwJan 21, 2012
A very entertaining and emotionally stimulating watch. Wouldn't say the film was unmissable but definitely a good use of some spare time. An interesting study of the sly and cunning of a legendary con artist , also on how simply appearanceA very entertaining and emotionally stimulating watch. Wouldn't say the film was unmissable but definitely a good use of some spare time. An interesting study of the sly and cunning of a legendary con artist , also on how simply appearance and sincerity on the exterior can affect human behaviour and confidence in the most powerful ways. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Starting with tasteful credits, and ending in one of the most iconic film pursuits.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RecycledAirAug 9, 2013
Why hasn't DiCaprio gotten an Academy Award? Ever since I saw this film that question has hung over me. "Catch Me If You Can" is brilliant, a beautifully delivered movie in all ways. This film has it all, great actors, realistic and wittyWhy hasn't DiCaprio gotten an Academy Award? Ever since I saw this film that question has hung over me. "Catch Me If You Can" is brilliant, a beautifully delivered movie in all ways. This film has it all, great actors, realistic and witty dialogue, amazing cinematography, flawless execution and the list goes on and on. Out of all of Spielberg's films, I have to say that this one is my favorite. A very entertaining and emotionally stimulating film that carries some of the most memorable performances I have seen ever. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MamaTLFAug 30, 2013
Recently watched the movie, its entertaining, funny, gets you to think that with proper motivation you can achieve anything and in summary very well made film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
samsusDec 31, 2013
I watched this movie for a second time, and I still really enjoyed it. Though I must admit I do get a little fidgety at the start, finding it easy to lose interest for a few seconds, this movie never fails to catch my interest right back. TheI watched this movie for a second time, and I still really enjoyed it. Though I must admit I do get a little fidgety at the start, finding it easy to lose interest for a few seconds, this movie never fails to catch my interest right back. The fact that it is a true story still amazes me, the movie portraying the story very well. It is a very fun and exciting movie to watch and the characters are played very well throughout the entirety of the film! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Although not considered one of Steven Spielberg's grander successes, Catch Me If You Can is one of the most fascinating and stimulating stories ever told. It also helps that the gang's all here... Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hanks and a film debutAlthough not considered one of Steven Spielberg's grander successes, Catch Me If You Can is one of the most fascinating and stimulating stories ever told. It also helps that the gang's all here... Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hanks and a film debut for Amy Adams. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PeterC.Nov 25, 2007
Way underrated, this is an exciting, quick, and well built movie with an excellent plot. Leo and Tom together work, but Tom does the better job.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexPFeb 16, 2008
This movie marked a turn for Di Caprio as a pretty face in terrible movies to a great actor in great movies. This movie is funny, smart, and moving and the acting does not disappoint either.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GraceA.Nov 25, 2007
I love it, a movie that can be watched over and over again and it will be good every time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
rotkuApr 16, 2011
Underrated performance by Di Caprio who is excellent in this movie which starts well but I found it ran out of steam about half way through. Still an enjoyable movie and well worth a watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
IlirC.Jul 30, 2006
Great movie which keeps you in it until the very last second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesMDec 20, 2005
Not particularly impressive, but an entertaining film nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndyJan 20, 2007
Was entertaining but somewhat disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlexZ.Jan 29, 2006
I liked the movie overall. It had its funny moments like his first case at the court after he watched TV. The acting was great too from both Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio. Though overall it was pretty repetitive and thus became a little I liked the movie overall. It had its funny moments like his first case at the court after he watched TV. The acting was great too from both Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio. Though overall it was pretty repetitive and thus became a little bit boring the more it moved to the end. After the first hour I'd have probably given it a 10 but it was a tad too long in my opinion. It's still an entertaining movie and surely one of the better ones I've seen these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnAug 21, 2007
Highly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RebeccaS.Oct 19, 2008
This movie is smart, witty and plays with the elements of classic 1970's movies; such as one flew over the cukoo's nest. A highly entertaining watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdM.Dec 26, 2008
Fantastic, witty, clever and nailbiting the entire time...J. Ryan G stop trying to be cleverer than everyone else all the fucking time and just enjoy a good film. you cunt !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Paul_YoonSep 19, 2010
Smart, intelligent, and even adept movie with exciting, quick, well-made stylistic writing, and powerful performances by Di Caprio makes this movie superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMay 16, 2012
Although too slight to make a serious dent, Catch Me If You Can is a very entertaining effort from Spielberg. I say 'effort', but it all seems so effortless. Everything combines excellently in this movie; the excellent performances, theAlthough too slight to make a serious dent, Catch Me If You Can is a very entertaining effort from Spielberg. I say 'effort', but it all seems so effortless. Everything combines excellently in this movie; the excellent performances, the breezy pacing, the tight script, the sumptuous period detail... It might not be epic or even particularly deep, but Catch Me If You Can makes for a fantastic popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobNov 7, 2016
This was the turning point of DiCaprio's career and when he went from a heartthrob to a legit actor. He matched Hank's tit for tat the entire film, Even one upping Hank's many times through out the film. It's truly well acted and quiteThis was the turning point of DiCaprio's career and when he went from a heartthrob to a legit actor. He matched Hank's tit for tat the entire film, Even one upping Hank's many times through out the film. It's truly well acted and quite interesting plot wise as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 31, 2014
Catch Me If You Can is a very well made film who's greatest strength is its enjoyability. A very easy watch, this one is simply a fun and fast paced film that tells a riveting story that really hooks you in from the get go. Steven SpielbergCatch Me If You Can is a very well made film who's greatest strength is its enjoyability. A very easy watch, this one is simply a fun and fast paced film that tells a riveting story that really hooks you in from the get go. Steven Spielberg directs this one brilliantly as usual and really tells the story of Frank Abagnale is a unique and enjoyable way. Leonardo DiCaprio is phenomenal here, as are Tom Hanks, Christopher Walken, Amy Adams, and Martin Sheen. Really great cast on paper and they all did a great job in practice. The film does a really good job painting Abagnale as neither a bad guy or a good guy, rather you just feel sympathy for him since he is so smart, but uses his brains to steal, which is too bad and, plus, his rough home life certainly makes him even more sympathetic. Overall, Catch Me If You Can is a really well told, well acted, and well directed, film, that is just infinitely fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineApr 4, 2015
A very good movie (based on a true story) about a creative con man and a FBI agent chasing him. Great performance by Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hanks and Christopher Walken. Do not miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Apr 21, 2013
This one is a Steven Spielberg biographic classic. The story of a con-man in the 1960s who conned millions of checks and took the role of becoming a Pan Am Pilot, a doctor and a legal prosecuter is very interesting to watch. To me, it wasThis one is a Steven Spielberg biographic classic. The story of a con-man in the 1960s who conned millions of checks and took the role of becoming a Pan Am Pilot, a doctor and a legal prosecuter is very interesting to watch. To me, it was interesting to see Frank basically just go all over the place. The movie has some very talented actors like Christopher Walken, Tom Hanks and especially Leonardo DiCaprio. This is easily one DiCaprio's top 5 films of all time. He really plays the role perfectly and has that kid like sense in him that we haven't seen since "What's Eating Gilbert Grape". Plus, Tom Hanks was a great supporting actor. I've never seen him as one of those "side characters". However, he manages to give a great performance as Carl Handratty. As far as storyline goes, it's all over the place. There's just so much to keep up with, but with Steven Spielberg, you're on a great journey with this likeable character. The movie does slow down at the end once Frank gets thrown in prison and eventually starts to work with the FBI, but other than that, the movie sets a good pace. Overall, it's an interesting biography on one of the biggest con-artist's in America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScorpionDec 3, 2013
Can glamor, style, beauty and charisma are better than the gross substance? Yes, Spielberg shows us that yes in its flash and as a director artificial version (took me to believe that he was the director until you see the final) DiCaprio andCan glamor, style, beauty and charisma are better than the gross substance? Yes, Spielberg shows us that yes in its flash and as a director artificial version (took me to believe that he was the director until you see the final) DiCaprio and Hanks form a formidable duo in an almost platonic friendship, the cast of support does their role well (especially C.Walken illustrating the figure of the patriarch example for family, good pint but insecure and flawed) catapulting stars at the time were mere adjuncts or doubt himself as DI Caprio, and Amy Adams (who knew) Jennifer Gardner.
Its main defects are the means swollen end, and a certain indecision tonic, because it is not as funny as a comédiae not serious for a drama, but nothing that affects too, say that he is one of those movies that extol the quality of a director for its contrast with his previous films (which is not to say that the film is a masterpiece, but that impresses with versatility director, who is admit Spielberg).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
Directed by Steven Spielberg and starring Tom Hanks, Leonardo Di Caprio, Christopher Walken, what more could anybody ask for ? Strongly acted, beautifully filmed, Catch Me If You Can successfully conveys a warm-hearted message not only aboutDirected by Steven Spielberg and starring Tom Hanks, Leonardo Di Caprio, Christopher Walken, what more could anybody ask for ? Strongly acted, beautifully filmed, Catch Me If You Can successfully conveys a warm-hearted message not only about how the life of the probably most incredible con artist of 20th century, Frank Abagnale Jr. turned upside down due to the influence his father's lifestyle and personality had on him, which raised sympathy rather than hatred but also about an unbelievable friendship between him, a criminal, and an FBI agent who, while attempting to have him arrested, realized his potential to become the world's leader in financial crime investigation. This is such a masterpiece that i am shocked by the fact that Leo didn't win the Academy Award for Best Actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BetterOffDead_May 15, 2014
Very well put together movie. This is a drama film that will have you guessing what's to come. The conclusion is great, the acting is well done. The dialog in this is well written great movie highly recommend a viewing 8.9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Aug 5, 2015
Catch Me if You Can is fun, energetic, and surprisingly touching. Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks both did outstanding in this movie and so did Christopher Walken. Catch Me if You Can is another great Steven Spielberg movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffMar 13, 2015
'Catch Me If You Can' is the most fun and intelligent movie I've ever seen, director Steven Spielberg has managed to craft a coherent and educational film that tells the amazing life of Frank Abagnale Jr. (Leonardo DiCaprio).

Spielberg,
'Catch Me If You Can' is the most fun and intelligent movie I've ever seen, director Steven Spielberg has managed to craft a coherent and educational film that tells the amazing life of Frank Abagnale Jr. (Leonardo DiCaprio).

Spielberg, DiCaprio, Tom Hanks and Christopher Walken clearly had a lot of fun making this movie and this is one of the reasons why I love the movies. I could watch this again and again and again. I have never had so much fun just watching someone lie their way to success.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobertBroganSep 28, 2015
Catch Me If You Can is great for an evening's entertainment in a large group (e.g. a family gathering). It is light, clever, comical, and a bit suspenseful. The acting and shooting are (as you'd expect) nicely done. It is the type of movieCatch Me If You Can is great for an evening's entertainment in a large group (e.g. a family gathering). It is light, clever, comical, and a bit suspenseful. The acting and shooting are (as you'd expect) nicely done. It is the type of movie that everyone can enjoy and few are likely to be disinterested or hate it. The reason why I did not rate it higher is because it is so light and the plotting is weak. I never felt the impact that separates the experience of movies from that of television. The best parts of the film were the scenes with the father, which showed the rest could have been a bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
Great movie, awesome cast. Frank Jr, learns the craft of the con from Frank Sr. and perfects it. Jennifer Garner can use this as a springboard to bigger and better things. Perhaps someday Leonardo will be as revered and versatile as Tom HanksGreat movie, awesome cast. Frank Jr, learns the craft of the con from Frank Sr. and perfects it. Jennifer Garner can use this as a springboard to bigger and better things. Perhaps someday Leonardo will be as revered and versatile as Tom Hanks is today but it's still a wonderful performance. The film slowed a bit in parts but it shows why Frank Jr. decides that he can not live with his parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 21, 2016
Directed by Steven Spielberg and starring both Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio for like one of the best both Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio movies you'll ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The story. Lots of films lack in that department, and this one certainly doesn't. With plenty of thrilling twists and turns you wont believe 'Catch me if you can is real.' What's more both lead roles are played brilliantly, andWHAT I LIKED: The story. Lots of films lack in that department, and this one certainly doesn't. With plenty of thrilling twists and turns you wont believe 'Catch me if you can is real.' What's more both lead roles are played brilliantly, and the characters are well developed by their actors and Spielberg alike
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Like many of Spielberg's films, this is too much crammed into one picture
VERDICT: Splielberg's best film exceeds in so many ways: a thrilling story that you wont believe is true.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
The larky "Catch Me if You Can" is like a trot around the track for the thoroughbreds involved, and one of the results is that it takes them far too long to get to the finish line. A good 40 minutes too long, this amiable account of the trueThe larky "Catch Me if You Can" is like a trot around the track for the thoroughbreds involved, and one of the results is that it takes them far too long to get to the finish line. A good 40 minutes too long, this amiable account of the true story of teenage con man Frank Abagnale Jr. is a case in which the talented players could have won big had they cashed out much earlier; you can literally feel the returns diminishing the longer the game is extended.

Abagnale’s autobiographical book recounts a youth so fantastic that it’s amazing it took Hollywood 20 years to get around to putting it on the screen. Reeling from his beloved parents’ divorce, the 16-year-old left home and discovered talents for survival that he readily turned into a genius for scamming. Playing out a string for an amazing five years, Abagnale successfully passed himself off as a Pan Am co-pilot, surgeon and lawyer while becoming a true master in one field in particular — that of writing bad checks.

Although the film reps a lightweight breather between the darker and more grandiose projects Spielberg is taking on these days, there may also lurk a personal connection for the director with the subject of the film. After all, at the very same time Abagnale was pulling his stunts, the teenage Spielberg was dressing in coat and tie and trying to palm himself off as an executive on the Universal lot, a ploy that paid off when he got a TV directing gig by age 21.

Setting a fizzy mood via some very mid-’60s animated opening credits and a jazzy John Williams theme that harks back to his “Johnny” Williams days as pianist for Henry Mancini’s orchestra, pic gets off to a jaunty start as DiCaprio’s Abagnale is introduced as one of three contestants on the venerable gameshow “To Tell the Truth.” Unfortunately, neither is the mood consistently maintained nor is the climax of the TV show ever shown.

After beginning with a framing scene of FBI Special Agent Carl Hanratty (Hanks) coming to return Abagnale from his Marseilles prison cell to the U.S. in 1969, action flips back six years to New Rochelle, N.Y. Local businessman Frank Sr. (Christopher Walken) is a romantic, better at dreaming and scheming than at supporting his family. His proudest achievement is having brought back a French girl (Nathalie Baye) as his bride after WWII, so both he and his son are brought low when her infidelity triggers divorce, a matter exacerbated by dad’s troubles with the IRS.

The FBI is on to Abagnale before long, but he proves remarkably elusive. Even when Hanratty corners the “Skyway Man,” gun drawn, in a Hollywood hotel room, Abagnale is able to turn the tables on his pursuer and slip away to continue his spree, this time in Atlanta.

Spielberg and screenwriter Jeff Nathanson (the “Rush Hour” pics) might have taken this as a cue to begin wrapping things up themselves, but instead elaborate a great deal of follow-up material to more-is-less effect.

Info about how Abagnale, under Hanratty’s tutelage, came to become a check fraud expert for the FBI after serving but part of his prison sentence is interesting and satisfyingly ironic, but could have been dispensed in a fraction of the time. Ultimately, the film pays for the excess baggage it takes on, suggesting this would have been a very good occasion for Spielberg to make his first under-two-hour film since “E.T.”

Lively and appealingly retro as the picture may be, it has other problems as well. Attempt to give the story more dimensions than provided by the outlandish narrative result in a wobbly tone. While Abagnale’s love for his father and evident desire to succeed where the older man has failed provides plausible psychological motivation for the son’s exploits, the darkening of their relationship as the story progresses adds little and sidelines the narrative at times.

More vexing still are the film’s visuals. Due to the cues received from the opening credits, the era involved and the serio-comic approach, the viewer could reasonably expect a high-gloss studio look in the manner of a Blake Edwards picture of the period; a bright, artificially polished style would have just added to the fun.

Instead, cinematographer Janusz Kaminski eschews old-school elegance for gobs of blown backlight cascading through windows and other sources, even to the point of obscuring faces in the foregrounds. No one in Hollywood shot movies in this fashion until the ’70s, and the disjuncture here provides a big disappointment given the possibilities for period precision provided by the diverse locations, Jeannine Oppewall’s resourceful production design and Mary Zophres’ costumes.

Charming, clean-cut and blessing his con man with an optimism that assumes the best possible outcome no matter how dire the dilemma, DiCaprio betrays not a speck of the sullenness he exhibited in “Celebrity” and “The Beach,” nor the stoic toughness he used in “Gangs of New York.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GMReviewsSep 20, 2016
Catch Me If You Can is an enthralling film, built with some of the best pacing I’ve experienced in a film, and brilliant performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks. This film knows exactly what it wants to be, which is a blend betweenCatch Me If You Can is an enthralling film, built with some of the best pacing I’ve experienced in a film, and brilliant performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks. This film knows exactly what it wants to be, which is a blend between comedy and drama and features very bright tones throughout, expressing the film as a sort of real life Tom and Jerry. This film doesn’t rely on fast, action sequences and car chases but expresses a depth of interest based on the truly intellectual Frank Abagnale J.R, who really grabs your interest as you’re left baffled at how such a young man can surpass the police skills of an agent and earn such a high quantity of money before the age of 18. This film not only succeeds as a cat and mouse drama but as a biopic – this film introduces DiCaprio’s character in such a way that it really elevates the feeling you’re on this personal crime journey with him; though the emotional power this film really fleshes out the true reasons why he is selecting the dangerous side of life and that can make you smile and almost respect the character. As I first mentioned, this film has some of the best pacing I’ve ever seen, no scenes feel too drawn out or too short, and that’s another factor that really increases the intrigue. Overall, this is a great watch and definitely one of Spielberg’s best films. Therefore, I’m going to give this a 9/10 – 94% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews