Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 17, 2010
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
15
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FelonOct 3, 2010
I could not disagree more with the critics who described this film as "condescending" and "sleazy." I found it riveting, suspenseful (not a thriller, as others have mentioned, but suspenseful nonetheless), heartbreaking, and compassionate.I could not disagree more with the critics who described this film as "condescending" and "sleazy." I found it riveting, suspenseful (not a thriller, as others have mentioned, but suspenseful nonetheless), heartbreaking, and compassionate. Contrary to A. O. Scott of the New York Times' opinion, I thought it WAS "a brilliant exploration of the hidden corners of contemporary reality." See it before anyone wrecks it for you, and see it knowing as little about it as possible. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
CMCSep 24, 2010
The movie is a very interesting story that is the natural result of the facebook phenomena. It is thoroughly entertaining in a casual and breezy way, has inventive and fun graphic sequences using google and internet graphics, and the mainThe movie is a very interesting story that is the natural result of the facebook phenomena. It is thoroughly entertaining in a casual and breezy way, has inventive and fun graphic sequences using google and internet graphics, and the main protagonist is compelling. When I find myself thinking about a movie the next day, then I know it was as good as I thought. The middling critic's scores are baffling to me. It does not need to be "an indictment of our times"; it is light-hearted but not cute. It reminds me a lot of "Crumb" by Terry Zwigoff. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ekornblumSep 27, 2010
OK, so they ads/trailers are tricks to get you into the theater. This is definitely not a thriller. But if you can get over the fact that they pulled a fast one on you, what you'll find is a great story & acting, and very well developed &OK, so they ads/trailers are tricks to get you into the theater. This is definitely not a thriller. But if you can get over the fact that they pulled a fast one on you, what you'll find is a great story & acting, and very well developed & interesting characters. Definitely one to see. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
shepardnJan 12, 2011
one of the best movies ive seen this year. i caught myself making a phone call rite after i seen it to suggest it to a friend.. and if you have ever met anyone off the internet it will defiantly make you think twice about doing it again..
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
GOUGHOct 16, 2010
It was a little dull to get through but worth it in the end because for me I really felt for life as a result. Sad. Real. Despite all that's not what it's pretending to be...I call this the other facebook movie, and it's more real, moreIt was a little dull to get through but worth it in the end because for me I really felt for life as a result. Sad. Real. Despite all that's not what it's pretending to be...I call this the other facebook movie, and it's more real, more emotionally rewarding by far, than that "s" network thing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Jun 20, 2011
There is a lot of press around whether or not the events in this documentary are true, but nevertheless, it is indicative of the way people deal with internal pain in the digital age. Before the Internet, Myspace, Facebook, dating sites,There is a lot of press around whether or not the events in this documentary are true, but nevertheless, it is indicative of the way people deal with internal pain in the digital age. Before the Internet, Myspace, Facebook, dating sites, etc., people dealt with loneliness and pain in completely different ways. With the advent of new technology, though, seemingly shut-in, anti-social or introverted people can now explore a outside life without the fear of exposure or rejection. Well, unless you do what Nev allegedly did during this movie to get to the bottom of a relationship he THOUGHT he was building with a girl named Megan. The story that unwinds gets sadder and sadder, showing what this powerful, worldwide tool can be used for given the minds of certain people. True or not, Catfish does show the capabilities a twisted mind can use in this modern world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushMar 22, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/catfish.html

I feel like this movie was a pretty big buzz movie when the trailer first came out do it's trailer and mysteriousness, and their marketing worked. I was dying to see this movie.
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/catfish.html

I feel like this movie was a pretty big buzz movie when the trailer first came out do it's trailer and mysteriousness, and their marketing worked. I was dying to see this movie.

Basically the trailer of the movie is about a guy filming a documentary on this girl and her family he's been helping, and their relationship is all over facebook. He then falls for the sister of the girl he's helping and goes to meet her but nothing is as it seems.

Going into the movie I didn't know what to expect as the trailer only really covered a small percentage of the movie which I guess was probably their plan. Now, I'm not going to ruin the rest of the movie as I feel like that's the main draw to this movie is the unexpected hook thrown in the middle and then the movie is all about this new development. I will say I really loved the "moral" if you will of this story and you won't know what that is unless you watch it as well.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FinnaticOct 9, 2010
This movie pulled at my heart unexpectedly towards the end as I was extremely sympathetic towards Niv's search for love. Without going into the details of the movie which you really must see for yourself, I will say that this low-budget filmThis movie pulled at my heart unexpectedly towards the end as I was extremely sympathetic towards Niv's search for love. Without going into the details of the movie which you really must see for yourself, I will say that this low-budget film evoked more emotion from me than most of the bloated Hollywood movies of late. There's a powerful commentary in this movie about the differentiation between virtual and real life. Please give Catfish a look if it's playing in your area. I drove about 90 miles to go see it a week ago, and I thought the trip was well worth it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TonyOct 11, 2010
Without giving anything away, this film is very interesting. It plays like a thriller at times, and is pretty bare bones when it comes to filmmaking techniques. The less you know about the film before seeing it, the better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
OscarPicks2010Jan 2, 2011
Chatting and texting with a woman which he never met in real life for 8 months, Nev Schulman was in love (on Facebook). His brother Ariel decided to film Nev's relationship with "Megan", a girl he met while doing some business with her motherChatting and texting with a woman which he never met in real life for 8 months, Nev Schulman was in love (on Facebook). His brother Ariel decided to film Nev's relationship with "Megan", a girl he met while doing some business with her mother online. Not knowing where the documentary was headed, Ariel's determination proved itself to be worthwhile. More than half of the film is a guy chatting with a girl online, so the premise may make some uncomfortable. But the last 30 minutes of the film unravelled some disturbing moments that you could only imagine. Catfish proved that online dating isn't helping anyone with a problem yet damages them even more. Perhaps the message isn't what a lot of people want to hear since the story might relate to them, but it is the damn truth. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RumsyJan 6, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From watching trailers that had tag lines such as 'Shocking' and 'Haunting' I suppose that I assumed that the film would inevitably turn into a half-baked slasher film or something like that. I couldn't of been more wrong, the film actually surprised me. When looking at reviews for this film some of the comments were that it doesn't comment on contemporary living with social networking sites, as though this is a bad thing. I thought it was great that the film didn't force morals onto me or make me take sides, that's the beauty of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TriatsilaJan 7, 2011
A captivating piece of film. Quite controversial subject matters. At times the film is a bit flaky but so are all films if you go deep enough. The main point of the film I think is to show the public that this stuff does happen. I feel theA captivating piece of film. Quite controversial subject matters. At times the film is a bit flaky but so are all films if you go deep enough. The main point of the film I think is to show the public that this stuff does happen. I feel the outcome of the film a bit lenient from the truth. Saying that it's good fun talking about whether the film is fact or fiction with friends. Definitely needs to be watched. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZorglyJan 13, 2011
Fascinating to say the least. A profoundly moving look into the technological age and the effects it can have on people and society.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
hailtothevictorJan 30, 2011
The only part I didn't get was where they were in Chicago and drove north through Wisconsin and ended up in Gladwin before they got to the U P... I'm from Michigan, went to college in Chicago, and drove north through all of Wisconsin to go toThe only part I didn't get was where they were in Chicago and drove north through Wisconsin and ended up in Gladwin before they got to the U P... I'm from Michigan, went to college in Chicago, and drove north through all of Wisconsin to go to Cross-Country camp in the U P... I'm pretty sure this would take some science I'm not sure of. Still, maybe the film was shuffled a bit in the editing. I'll give 'em the benefit of a doubt. Great film. I have to believe if it was faked, it would have had much more suspense and weirdness. It was almost the lack of these things that make it so weird. Maybe I'll be proved wrong. I am Kurious Oranj. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SindriFeb 24, 2011
Intriguing contemporary documentary - Reality or fiction? That is the pivotal question in this American
independent documentary produced by Andrew Jarecki who made his
directorial debut with "Capturing the Friedmans" in 2003 and directed
Intriguing contemporary documentary - Reality or fiction? That is the pivotal question in this American
independent documentary produced by Andrew Jarecki who made his
directorial debut with "Capturing the Friedmans" in 2003 and directed
by Ariel Schulman and Henry Joost who has stated that "Catfish" is a
100% true story.

The story centers on photographer Yaniv "Nev" Schulman who lives in New
York with his brother Ariel and friend Henry who are both filmmakers
and who comes up with the idea of making a movie about Nev's romance
with a woman called Megan whom he connects with on Facebook, and decide
to record every step of the evolving relationship.

This uncanny portrayal of a young man's infatuation with a woman he has
never seen in real life, is an intriguing contemporary documentary
which gives a memorable and critical depiction of online dating.
"Catfish" has a convincing linear narrative and a good pace which
serves the story well, but it also make it seem more like a fictional
drama than a true documentary. The story first time directors Ariel
Schulman and Henry Joost tells is by no means beyond imagination or
absolutely unbelievable, but the unlikely reactions of the main
characters and the story's very appropriate development makes one
question weather this is reality or fiction. Aside from that, "Catfish"
works just fine as a modest character study and a suspenseful thriller
about art, friendship, love and networking.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ContextJul 10, 2011
Maybe I'm naive? I don't think so, because I'm an inveterate cynic and default to suspicion when a situation offers that alternative. Instead, I'm convinced "Catfish" is a tribute to the presentation of a terrific documentary that for myMaybe I'm naive? I don't think so, because I'm an inveterate cynic and default to suspicion when a situation offers that alternative. Instead, I'm convinced "Catfish" is a tribute to the presentation of a terrific documentary that for my money was what I very infrequently refer to as "a moment in cinema." I don't know why the term "thriller" is used to generate interest, it's not your garden variety "thriller" but it is a thrill to watch a remarkable life unfold before your eyes. "Riveting"? Yep. That works. It is a riveting, edgy, moving, compassionate and expertly told story that comments on life from two ends of its rather lengthy spectrum. "Catfish" allows the viewer to see a facet of the human condition that those of us occupying the more mundane portion of life's spectrum (we grow up, develop relationships, a family, a "life") may not realize exists. But it does, in seemingly ordinary circumstances and the revelations are simply - for me, anyway - breathtaking. The question surrounding "Catfish" is its authenticity as a documentary. Like I wrote, maybe I'm naive, but it looks like one to me. Authentic and memorable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
j30Sep 22, 2011
A very engaging documentary. That is strange, funny, and just plain creepy. I found it entertaining and interesting in the way we look at social networking sites.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked Catfish. Doesn't matter if it's real or not, though I tend to think it's mostly true. The rawness of it all... it rang true to me!

Apparently a lot of people saw a trailer and were disappointed by the film because the trailer made it out to be some horror slasher film, but I never saw the trailer before watching it, so I never had any of those silly expectations. It was what it was, and the humanity of the people involved just really got under my skin. I guess a lot of people, including me, would rather choose to believe that it's real. You know, I certainly wouldn't be surprised or shocked at all if they eventually came out and admitted it was fake. But there's this latent desire to believe in amazing feats of happenstance, and with this film, we want to believe that a couple of average guys in NYC could just stumble into creating this rather astounding and compelling documentary. But if it turned out to fake, it wouldn't be much of a change in my appreciation of the thing. It'd just mean that a couple of incredibly talented guys in NYC had instead created this rather astounding and compelling fictional story. PS: But dude, what was up with that male tramp stamp? Like seriously... that was probably the most unbelievable part of the film for me. Nev must be out of his goddamn mind.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Patrick94Nov 18, 2016
I'm not even sure what to say about it other than you need to watch it. Don't Google it, don't read up on it. Just watch it. Kept me interested pretty much the whole way through and completely messed with my emotions. The last 20 or soI'm not even sure what to say about it other than you need to watch it. Don't Google it, don't read up on it. Just watch it. Kept me interested pretty much the whole way through and completely messed with my emotions. The last 20 or so minutes were particularly.....I think uncomfortable is an appropriate word Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticAug 18, 2013
A very interesting documentary that makes you think before you talk to people you think you know. It works because Nev is a very likeable person and when the reveal happens you kind of feel for Angela.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 3, 2016
The story of this documentary was quite interesting and the results quite shocking.It accurately shows what could happen to any cyber-relationships.Catfish is not a great documentary, but it sure as hell is entertaining and interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews