User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 85
  2. Negative: 9 out of 85

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Maybe I'm naive? I don't think so, because I'm an inveterate cynic and default to suspicion when a situation offers that alternative. Instead, I'm convinced "Catfish" is a tribute to the presentation of a terrific documentary that for my money was what I very infrequently refer to as "a moment in cinema." I don't know why the term "thriller" is used to generate interest, it's not yourMaybe I'm naive? I don't think so, because I'm an inveterate cynic and default to suspicion when a situation offers that alternative. Instead, I'm convinced "Catfish" is a tribute to the presentation of a terrific documentary that for my money was what I very infrequently refer to as "a moment in cinema." I don't know why the term "thriller" is used to generate interest, it's not your garden variety "thriller" but it is a thrill to watch a remarkable life unfold before your eyes. "Riveting"? Yep. That works. It is a riveting, edgy, moving, compassionate and expertly told story that comments on life from two ends of its rather lengthy spectrum. "Catfish" allows the viewer to see a facet of the human condition that those of us occupying the more mundane portion of life's spectrum (we grow up, develop relationships, a family, a "life") may not realize exists. But it does, in seemingly ordinary circumstances and the revelations are simply - for me, anyway - breathtaking. The question surrounding "Catfish" is its authenticity as a documentary. Like I wrote, maybe I'm naive, but it looks like one to me. Authentic and memorable. Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    The only part I didn't get was where they were in Chicago and drove north through Wisconsin and ended up in Gladwin before they got to the U P... I'm from Michigan, went to college in Chicago, and drove north through all of Wisconsin to go to Cross-Country camp in the U P... I'm pretty sure this would take some science I'm not sure of. Still, maybe the film was shuffled a bit in theThe only part I didn't get was where they were in Chicago and drove north through Wisconsin and ended up in Gladwin before they got to the U P... I'm from Michigan, went to college in Chicago, and drove north through all of Wisconsin to go to Cross-Country camp in the U P... I'm pretty sure this would take some science I'm not sure of. Still, maybe the film was shuffled a bit in the editing. I'll give 'em the benefit of a doubt. Great film. I have to believe if it was faked, it would have had much more suspense and weirdness. It was almost the lack of these things that make it so weird. Maybe I'll be proved wrong. I am Kurious Oranj. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Fascinating to say the least. A profoundly moving look into the technological age and the effects it can have on people and society.
  4. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    one of the best movies ive seen this year. i caught myself making a phone call rite after i seen it to suggest it to a friend.. and if you have ever met anyone off the internet it will defiantly make you think twice about doing it again..
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From watching trailers that had tag lines such as 'Shocking' and 'Haunting' I suppose that I assumed that the film would inevitably turn into a half-baked slasher film or something like that. I couldn't of been more wrong, the film actually surprised me. When looking at reviews for this film some of the comments were that it doesn't comment on contemporary living with social networking sites, as though this is a bad thing. I thought it was great that the film didn't force morals onto me or make me take sides, that's the beauty of it. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    I could not disagree more with the critics who described this film as "condescending" and "sleazy." I found it riveting, suspenseful (not a thriller, as others have mentioned, but suspenseful nonetheless), heartbreaking, and compassionate. Contrary to A. O. Scott of the New York Times' opinion, I thought it WAS "a brilliant exploration of the hidden corners of contemporary reality." See itI could not disagree more with the critics who described this film as "condescending" and "sleazy." I found it riveting, suspenseful (not a thriller, as others have mentioned, but suspenseful nonetheless), heartbreaking, and compassionate. Contrary to A. O. Scott of the New York Times' opinion, I thought it WAS "a brilliant exploration of the hidden corners of contemporary reality." See it before anyone wrecks it for you, and see it knowing as little about it as possible. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    OK, so they ads/trailers are tricks to get you into the theater. This is definitely not a thriller. But if you can get over the fact that they pulled a fast one on you, what you'll find is a great story & acting, and very well developed & interesting characters. Definitely one to see.
  8. CMC
    Sep 24, 2010
    10
    The movie is a very interesting story that is the natural result of the facebook phenomena. It is thoroughly entertaining in a casual and breezy way, has inventive and fun graphic sequences using google and internet graphics, and the main protagonist is compelling. When I find myself thinking about a movie the next day, then I know it was as good as I thought. The middling critic's scoresThe movie is a very interesting story that is the natural result of the facebook phenomena. It is thoroughly entertaining in a casual and breezy way, has inventive and fun graphic sequences using google and internet graphics, and the main protagonist is compelling. When I find myself thinking about a movie the next day, then I know it was as good as I thought. The middling critic's scores are baffling to me. It does not need to be "an indictment of our times"; it is light-hearted but not cute. It reminds me a lot of "Crumb" by Terry Zwigoff. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: G. Allen Johnson
    25
    Unlike "Exit Through the Gift Shop," Catfish isn't able to make the leap from odd incident to an indictment of our times.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    70
    Of all the twists in Catfish-the most surprising of all is what an honest and thoughtful film it turns out, against all odds, to be.
  3. 75
    The facts in the film are slippery, but the revelation of a human personality is surprisingly moving.