User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 54
  2. Negative: 20 out of 54
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    1
    When I was growing up the first Cats and Dogs came out, however I'm now all grown up and have no feelings of love towards it, so when I had to take my cousin to see it, you could say I was horrified I liked the original in the first place. Where to start, the acting, CG and story are all inept. I will say Marmaduke looks worse but that's not a whole lot of praise. Overall I'd say if yourWhen I was growing up the first Cats and Dogs came out, however I'm now all grown up and have no feelings of love towards it, so when I had to take my cousin to see it, you could say I was horrified I liked the original in the first place. Where to start, the acting, CG and story are all inept. I will say Marmaduke looks worse but that's not a whole lot of praise. Overall I'd say if your child is around 5 s/he be entertained. But at around 7+ I'd recommend renting something Expand
  2. AlanG
    Jul 30, 2010
    0
    A horrible piece of crap. It makes the first one look bad. It makes battlefield earth look bad.
  3. Aug 16, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers. $85 Million Dollars was used to make this film. Where did the money go?!!?! Not in the story part of Cats and Dogs The Revenge of Kitty Galore. Seriously what company would wait for nine years to make a sequel to a film that didn't need one in the first place. I hated everything about this film. All it was was a rehash of the first films plot which involves a cat bent on taking over the world and some dogs trying to stop the mad feline. The only difference is that the dogs team up with the cats. This film made me laugh a few times, but not enough to recommend this movie. Plus the ending leaves opened for a sequel that will probably never see the light of day. Hopefully this is the final film in the Cats and Dogs Franchise. Collapse
  4. MikeH.
    Jul 30, 2010
    1
    Really, it's rated PG for "Animal Action"? It's as if their making up things to rate it PG for. PG is the New G.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A disappointment...

    A big waste of time.

    There was some jokes that were not funny at all like in one part you see the main villain from the first movie and he's in a hannibal lector costume i mean chidren don't know about that!

    It was good for the first 5 minutes then it got stupid and annoying.

    All in all it was pretty terrible.
    Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I was growing up the first Cats and Dogs came out, however I'm now all grown up and have no feelings of love towards it, so when I had to take my cousin to see it, you could say I was horrified I liked the original in the first place. Where to start, the acting, CG and story are all inept. I will say Marmaduke looks worse but that's not a whole lot of praise Expand
  7. CourtneyP.
    Jul 31, 2010
    7
    It was an okay movie filled with corny jokes and dry humor. I just don't know why the film makers would spend $85,000,000 on something that would wind up to be a piece of crap.
  8. RickA
    Aug 3, 2010
    7
    Great movie to take all the family to. I enjoyed this a lot and found it quite entertaining which is why I go to movies. I guess the critics go for deeper meanings to movies or something because I can not figure why it was so poorly rated by them.
  9. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    "This was actually overall a pretty decent flick , not great or anything , no where compares to its predecessor , but i did like Bette Midler as the villain , the 3D was unnecessary , and the movie was cornballlish and predictable so a mild recommendation" .. C+
  10. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    I don't see why people don't like it. well I do. It was great entertainment, perfect visuals, and great comedy.
  11. ChadS.
    Aug 1, 2010
    6
    An announcement made over the PA during German Shephard's orientation is about as funny as anything in Zucker/Abraham/Zucker's "Airplane", the 1980 comedy classic that spoofed "Airport"-type movies, for instance, Jack Smight's "Airport 75", the one with the stewardess flying the plane. Although "Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore" never quite gives "Austin Powers" a An announcement made over the PA during German Shephard's orientation is about as funny as anything in Zucker/Abraham/Zucker's "Airplane", the 1980 comedy classic that spoofed "Airport"-type movies, for instance, Jack Smight's "Airport 75", the one with the stewardess flying the plane. Although "Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore" never quite gives "Austin Powers" a run for its money, as far as James Bond send-ups go, this unwarranted sequel is reasonably smart, especially when you consider it's primarily an exercise in talking animals, the most dreaded of all children movie subgenres. Nevertheless, the film has a brain, albeit a pigeon's brain, the size of a pea, as evidenced by the scene where a cat rides a motorcycle, a cat incognito, lodged inside a human dummy. In a lesser talking animals movie, the filmmaker wouldn't bother to acknowledge how people may react to the miracle of a kitty on two wheels. At Alcatraz, however, rather than have a cat mimic Hannibal Lecter, in yet another tired "Silence of the Lambs" parody, why not mimic the Zodiac killer instead, since the island prison is off the coast of San Francisco? In this alternative universe, cat and dog technology is clearly ahead of our technology, so the same should be true for canine and feline law enforcement. The animals could bitch and moan about how David Fincher got it all wrong. As for Kitty Galore(a chi chi voiced superbly by Bette Midler), her plan to turn the humans against the dogs sidesteps her real grudge, which is the humans themselves. The popular belief that dogs need human companionship more than cats could've been explored, as man's best friend, once again, would have to save the city from the Zodiac killer, a cat. Kitty Galore's hench-cat looks demented enough to play the part, but due to the constraints of a children's movie, the violence is tempered, limited to knives stuck in a stuffed toy, as the chi chi obviously doesn't need her human owner, a magician(played by Jack McBrayer)."Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore" eventually runs out of inspiration(there is the occasional funny line interspersed throughout the otherwise routine screenplay), and resorts to ripping off Barry Sonnenfeld's "Men in Black". Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    This is not a good movie at all! I can't believe I even went to see it! The plot is so unoriginal. It reminds me of James Bond, or some other secret agent movie. The acting is pretty bad also. It sounds like nails screeching on a black board. To be fair here, this movie is meant for little kids, but I was fourteen when I saw this. I thought it would be good, but it was terrible! IThis is not a good movie at all! I can't believe I even went to see it! The plot is so unoriginal. It reminds me of James Bond, or some other secret agent movie. The acting is pretty bad also. It sounds like nails screeching on a black board. To be fair here, this movie is meant for little kids, but I was fourteen when I saw this. I thought it would be good, but it was terrible! I don't even like dogs! Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    CATS & DOGS: The Revenge of Kitty Galore is a bad and highly unfunny or entertaining kiddie film that doesn't pay respect to the decent original and looks more cheaper than the first.
  14. Apr 27, 2012
    6
    A cute film, but don't expect anything too different or new from the first film.
    Final Score: C+
  15. Jun 11, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the first movie was funny and entertaining. This film was boring and bad. I saw it on 3d and the 3d sucked. I liked the scene with The silence of the cats. This one was good. All the other movie was flying cats and dogs talking Expand
  16. Mar 5, 2014
    5
    No, no, and no, this film does not get more. What I see is a boring and repetitive work, with bad dubbing and a villain that gives shame.
    The only thing I liked was .......... no, I do not find anything, and only give 5 so it is not so bad.
  17. Feb 22, 2015
    1
    Cats and Dogs should not have added this piece of crap sequel. I fell asleep 30 minutes into the movie. This movie is definitely for kids 7 and under.
  18. Mar 11, 2015
    0
    This isn't worth spending time watching. I would rather was dishes than watch this. My 3 year-old brother, 20 minutes into this movie asked if we could leave. How's that for a critic.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 12 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    40
    Nine years on from the first movie but somehow the effects have gone backwards and the charm has gone missing.
  2. 30
    Mostly, though, "Kitty Galore" is a grind, as well as proof that "What up, dog?" isn't any funnier when a pigeon says it to a dog.
  3. Fails to deliver enough clever gags, emotional warmth, or eye-popping 3D to compete with recent family releases.