User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 194

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    A horrible movie. Full of cliches, stupid dialogue, badly choreographed fights and unintentionally hilarious acting. Halle Berry deserved that Golden Raspberry, I'd take Batman and Robin any day.
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I found this film great. It is a very good origin film. It shows how she got her power, how her life changed, and what happens when someone messes with her. I thought that the costume kept with catwoman's personality and that Halle Berry played her role very good. I don't know why a lot of people did not like this film.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I believe that the new Cat Woman (2004) is the best Cat Woman,of all of the Cat Woman movies.
    Halle Berry(as Patience Phillips/Cat Women) hit the mark-that I believe,Cat Woman deserves. I wasn't very impressed with Anne Hathaway's version that where she tried to be like Cat Woman in Batman Rises.
    I felt like when Halle Berry played Cat Woman,it was more of a dominating version-that we
    I believe that the new Cat Woman (2004) is the best Cat Woman,of all of the Cat Woman movies.
    Halle Berry(as Patience Phillips/Cat Women) hit the mark-that I believe,Cat Woman deserves. I wasn't very impressed with Anne Hathaway's version that where she tried to be like Cat Woman in Batman Rises.
    I felt like when Halle Berry played Cat Woman,it was more of a dominating version-that we expect of Cat Woman. As I watched every little detail of how Anne Hathaway made Cat Woman-a character,I didn't think Anne Hathaway had that really sick/bad girl side to her. She wasn't at her most-the flirtiest/dominating/feisty self.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think a lot of the critics just didn't get this movie. Maybe they were disappointed that it wasn't another chapter in the adventures of Selina Kyle. No, it's not: different name, different premise and totally different interpretation of what it might be like to become a Catwoman. What =I= don't get is why there is anything wrong with that? We're talking about a fictional character, people, lighten up! Some of the critics are saying that Halle Berry's performance is too "over the top" after she is transformed. Maybe for a 100% human lady but hey this is a story about a woman brought back to life by a magical Mau on an errand from Bast the Cat Goddess. Halle's facial expressions, voice and moves, especially when toying with her "prey", become verrrry feline which is a good part of the point of the movie. Another point is that Catwoman is both a tribute to female power and independence and also explores the darker side of power in both men and women and methinks some of the critics are a tad uncomfortable with both of these things. Whatever. There's plenty to like in this movie. A mythic storyline of initiation and rebirth, darkly beautiful visuals, a clever Egyptian-inspired cats-and-catwomen through history subplot that starts with elegant title art, solid performances from Sharon Stone, Benjamin Bratt, Frances Conroy and Hembert Wilson and a fine supporting cast both human and feline. Forget the critics. Go see this movie with an open mind and you'll probably enjoy it. And you might even love it as much as I did :-) Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    2
    So overall, Catwoman is pretty bad. It is far removed from the comics, has a terrible story, a main character who makes emo Peter look decent. The choices made here are baffling. It is like the writers did not even read the comics and do not know what makes Catwoman Catwoman. Rather than getting an exciting action flick we get a sexy/club themed movie that sucks. Catwoman may arouse someSo overall, Catwoman is pretty bad. It is far removed from the comics, has a terrible story, a main character who makes emo Peter look decent. The choices made here are baffling. It is like the writers did not even read the comics and do not know what makes Catwoman Catwoman. Rather than getting an exciting action flick we get a sexy/club themed movie that sucks. Catwoman may arouse some people but if you look past that you’ll see the major problems with this movie. Catwoman is a mess due to the terrible choices made by the filmmakers and it can only be enjoyed as guilty pleasure. So unless you enjoy looking at Hal Berry in her sexy cat suit then I would say this is a definite skip. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    A true waste of time and film. Horrible plot, horrible costume, horrible script, horrible acting, horrible directing. The one thing I did like was how bad Sharon Stone's acting was and how her one-liners became a drinking game.
  7. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    I couldnt watch more than 30 minutes without getting bored.
    The Plot isnt catchy, hate the catwoman outfit, a really bad movie

    When Michelle Pfeiffer is depressed she watch this movie.
  8. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    If there ever were a template on how not to make a superhero movie, Catwoman would be it. This film is completely void of action, a decent story and only an average lead.
  9. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    I don't think this is a bad movie.It wasn't based on the comics but it had a good storyline.It didn't needed Batman in this movie,it was good.I would give a 6.5 in a review,but this movie don't deserve 3,9 in Metacritic,so I'm going to give a 10 only to help.
  10. Mar 27, 2015
    0
    When I first heard about this movie about Catwoman, would it be cool if Halle Berry made a perfect fit to star in a lead role as the fan-favorite female equivalent to Batman? The answer is...NO. To be fair, Halle won an Oscar in Monster's Ball, but how come Hollywood never listens to frustrating audiences wondering why she chose this. No disrespect, I love Halle. Her performance as StormWhen I first heard about this movie about Catwoman, would it be cool if Halle Berry made a perfect fit to star in a lead role as the fan-favorite female equivalent to Batman? The answer is...NO. To be fair, Halle won an Oscar in Monster's Ball, but how come Hollywood never listens to frustrating audiences wondering why she chose this. No disrespect, I love Halle. Her performance as Storm in the first 2 X-Men films were over-the-line fantastic. But her role in Marvel's arch-rival DC's Catwoman is the only film I watched and so far and when I get to the last few minutes, I traded this movie back at an old Blockbuster Store. Absolutely horrible. Hollywood just got the wrong cast. Michelle Pfeiffer (I howled at her catsuit and her nipples in OG Batman Returns) should've come back and reprise her role. That's sad. And why is 57-year-old MILF Sharon Stone in this movie? That also ended her career and Basic Instinct 2. And what's with those CGI stuff? Did Halle just made it herself? Oh yeah, they made crappy CGI Catwoman a snooze in that awful tie-in video game. I wish that somewhere there's gotta be a porn parody of this mess, Hustler or Vivid anyone?

    I just wasted a few bucks to see Catwoman in New York. If I were you, STAY AWAY. Don't buy it, don't rent it, don't watch it on HBO or those other channels that I used to have. I have to say it, but it's worse than Green Lantern. Kinda. But be warned. Awful acting, awful dialogue, awful CGI effects, and awful soundtrack as well. I need my money back, Warners. I think you've just pissed off Bob Kane off his death bed.
    Expand
  11. Oct 2, 2011
    1
    Catwoman isn't even really a movie. It's a music video that somebody expanded out under two hours, by padding out shots of Halle Berry pinup fodder.
  12. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    I wasn't paying too much attention on a first watch, so I took another. Didn't help much: the story is good, with nice witty twists, but all too obvious. Plus, in my private tastes, there are too many elements I dislike. Sharon Stone is great, at least when compared to Halle Berry's performance. It is not always easy to be a star... at least in a movie like this.
  13. May 17, 2012
    2
    Imma be honest, as much as Catwoman is may favorite Superhero /Antihero of all time, this film was just B.A.D, I originally saw this when i was 12 and didn't know a bad movie from a good one. BUT, seeing it today makes me want to jump in a time machine just to get my $7.25 back. Like how do directors screw up source material? Anybody coulda went to wikipedia, look up Catwoman, and write aImma be honest, as much as Catwoman is may favorite Superhero /Antihero of all time, this film was just B.A.D, I originally saw this when i was 12 and didn't know a bad movie from a good one. BUT, seeing it today makes me want to jump in a time machine just to get my $7.25 back. Like how do directors screw up source material? Anybody coulda went to wikipedia, look up Catwoman, and write a better script than this "movie". I give this a two because Halle Berry would made a believable Catwoman if the script wasnt trash, and the i absoulutly love the music in this movie. Expand
  14. Jul 13, 2012
    3
    This movie is horrible. The only reason it gets a 3 is because at sometimes its unintentionally hilarious. Halle Berry is horrible in the role and the costume looks ridiculous. The dialogue is poorly written, the music is strange, and the battle scenes are just plain awkward. If you're looking for a Catwoman movie, see Batman Returns.
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    Why was this movie just in the low standards of mediocre when it could have been pure gold? Don't get me wrong it had it's moments. But barely enough of them. The problems are that it wasn't constantly entertaining and the dialogue was at times bland and boring.
  16. Jan 8, 2015
    2
    Halle Berry Dar o máximo de si em uma super performance mas o filme não funciona.
    Eu só dei 2 por causa de umas cenas boas de ação e a delícia de ver a linda barriga de Halle Berry e o decote dos peitões dela,Sharon Stone é uma delícia também e dar uma grande performance como vilã no filme.
  17. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    Terrible. Whoever thought that making up a new Catwoman story that doesn't have the actual character in it should have their hands put in a toaster. Yes, I am serious, because it is that stupid and horrendous.
  18. chw
    Sep 10, 2014
    0
    What in God's name is this?! This isn't the Catwoman based on Bob Kane's Batman character. The main character isn't Selina Kyle a.k.a. Catwoman, her name is Patience, the opposite of Pitof, the retarded director (name says it all), who didn't do research OR homework on Catwoman despite the suit and name.
  19. Jul 12, 2014
    3
    Catwoman 3 out of 10: Halle Berry isn't the first actor to squander Oscar gold (F. cough Murray cough Abraham) but I can't recall an actor doing it so quickly.

    Sure Oscar winners have old films embarrassingly show up on DVD and after a few years and ex-wives they will take a paycheck role in some European schlock. But in your next movie in which you are the star? Berry isn't awful as
    Catwoman 3 out of 10: Halle Berry isn't the first actor to squander Oscar gold (F. cough Murray cough Abraham) but I can't recall an actor doing it so quickly.

    Sure Oscar winners have old films embarrassingly show up on DVD and after a few years and ex-wives they will take a paycheck role in some European schlock. But in your next movie in which you are the star?

    Berry isn't awful as simply horrible miscast (lacks a certain erotic nastiness for the role.) and apparently doesn't have the acting chops to make up the difference. One must speculate how the studio felt when the first rushes came in. It sounded so good on paper and Berry is such a big star it's doubtful that any screen test was done. Now the evidence is in front of them and the enormity of the casting mistake is obvious. Was anyone in that room brave enough to admit the emperor has no clothes?

    Now Berry is hardly the worst actor in the movie (Alex Borstien as the fat horny comic relief is pretty awful but the honors go to Frances Conroy as the cat lady who is so awful one wonders if she has ever had a conversation with another human.)

    While the movie overall is not nearly as bad as its reputation led me to believe Catwoman still falls short. Besides acting there is the horrible horrible music (a 13 year old girls idea of what is hip), a lot of silly jumping around the city scenes, and the coup de grace, the Ferris wheel scene.

    Now no-one wants to see Catwoman save cherub face boy from carny ride gone bad…come to think of it no-one wants to see Batman do this either. The direction and scripting on this scene is bad… Ballistic: Ecks vs. Sever bad. If you rent this (or God forbid received it as a gift) see deleted scenes for excellent action scene involving dogs in a junkyard that rivals anything put in the movie. I guess they didn't want any dogs in the final movie. Too close to home.
    Expand
  20. Aug 10, 2014
    2
    My main problem with 2004 "Catwoman" is its terrible screenwriting. Disgraceful dialog and a weakly presented plot. Halle Berry doesn't look that bad in Catwoman's suit, in fact she has an ideal feline-like body that, combined with some good videogame-like CGI, does the job decently. She is not the standard Pfeiffer character, but I liked her looks. Sharon Stone's use in the film isMy main problem with 2004 "Catwoman" is its terrible screenwriting. Disgraceful dialog and a weakly presented plot. Halle Berry doesn't look that bad in Catwoman's suit, in fact she has an ideal feline-like body that, combined with some good videogame-like CGI, does the job decently. She is not the standard Pfeiffer character, but I liked her looks. Sharon Stone's use in the film is totally wasted, she is great at something destined to fail. I loved her dreadful look, though. Overall, everything was okay, except for that awful scriptwriting that results in a huge disappointment. I don't think that it is the worst film ever made, however, that is a bit of an exaggeration. Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This film is amazing: Halle berry is perfect as catwoman. The action scenes show adrenaline. This is my favourite version of catwoman. This is better than the DC version.
  22. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    Catwoman was GOD-AWFUL. Most people don't mean God-awful when they say it, but it is, and Reader, you'd agree with me once you see it. So don't see it.
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 35
  2. Negative: 24 out of 35
  1. The "Showgirls" of superhero movies. This is not a compliment. A vacuous lingerie show posing as feminism, it's the biggest movie hairball this side of "Garfield."
  2. 30
    Like the action movies of yore (you know, the 1980s), Catwoman is simultaneously overstuffed and undernourished.
  3. I wouldn't call Catwoman incompetent, yet it has no visual grandeur, and very little surprise; you can tick off the story beats as if they'd been graphed.