Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: February 11, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
22
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
Tranquilbez22Jun 3, 2012
Starts out like crap but slowly becomes slightly better as the movie goes, I can see why this went straight to DVD in Australia, I found it hard to watch but I stuck through it anyway, Helms is a decent lead but it's John C. Reiliy thatStarts out like crap but slowly becomes slightly better as the movie goes, I can see why this went straight to DVD in Australia, I found it hard to watch but I stuck through it anyway, Helms is a decent lead but it's John C. Reiliy that steals the entire film. Support cast is pretty good as well with the likes of Anne Hesche, Stephen Root, Sigourney Weaver and the black guy from The Wire. this movie is best to be watched once and then re-visited when your bored of your DVD Collection. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
txrangersfan72Feb 17, 2012
Quirky, dry, at times vulgar, but this story of a coming-of-age insurance salesman (yes...I wrote that) played by the seemingly typecast Ed Helms as a naive, middle-aged man learning about love and business while trying to maintain hisQuirky, dry, at times vulgar, but this story of a coming-of-age insurance salesman (yes...I wrote that) played by the seemingly typecast Ed Helms as a naive, middle-aged man learning about love and business while trying to maintain his integrity and heart-of-gold. About as unreal as it gets, the story is adorable and sweet with well-written characters played by a talented ensemble including John C. Reilly, Isiah Whitlock and Anne Heche. This threesome embraces young-at-heart Tim Lippe while also learning a bit about themselves and the lives they've allowed themselves to get sucked into as tacky insurance salespeople. The result is a warped moral and an unlikely happy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SarganymSep 24, 2011
Such a terrible slow start, what starts out as a corny mess of crap FINALLY becomes good about 40-45 minutes after you've been trying to convince yourself to keep watching anyway. Seriously half of this movie could have been cut and it wouldSuch a terrible slow start, what starts out as a corny mess of crap FINALLY becomes good about 40-45 minutes after you've been trying to convince yourself to keep watching anyway. Seriously half of this movie could have been cut and it would have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobinsNestDec 18, 2011
Mr Helms should get an award for making me believe that there could be someone as naive and shut off from the "real" world as his character. But he does. Many times he was just on the brink of me saying"No way; no one is that out of touch".Mr Helms should get an award for making me believe that there could be someone as naive and shut off from the "real" world as his character. But he does. Many times he was just on the brink of me saying"No way; no one is that out of touch". Mr Reilly, Mr Whitlock and Ms Heche are excellent turning in top notch characterizations. I was nodding in agreement as there characters developed. The story is the usual let's expose the two-faced leader of the pack and our hero does the right thing and comes out on top. And that's okay, just nothing new here. The acting is what makes it worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 20, 2011
It was ok but i just didnt like it that much. Very few funny parts and it wasnt all that interesting either. The acting was solid though ,as expected, and I am sure people would enjoy it but dont keep your expectations high.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobSep 30, 2012
Didn't think it was that funny. Was a rather generic comedy that you would expect from an indie movie. It was ok and worth taking a risk on if you are a fan of Helms but other then that, It's worth passing on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Jul 21, 2012
A funny film which is well worth a view, Cedar Rapids surprised me as, if I am being totally honest, I was not expecting much from the picture. It was paced well and funny in a lot of parts, one of the hidden gems in a genre which is entirelyA funny film which is well worth a view, Cedar Rapids surprised me as, if I am being totally honest, I was not expecting much from the picture. It was paced well and funny in a lot of parts, one of the hidden gems in a genre which is entirely dominated by one man, Judd Apatow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews