Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: To call insurance agent Tim Lippe, "naive" is a gross understatement. He's never left his small hometown. He's never stayed at a hotel. And he's never experienced anything like Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sent to represent his company at the annual insurance convention, Tim is soon distracted byTo call insurance agent Tim Lippe, "naive" is a gross understatement. He's never left his small hometown. He's never stayed at a hotel. And he's never experienced anything like Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sent to represent his company at the annual insurance convention, Tim is soon distracted by three convention veterans who will show him the ropes and push his boundaries. For a guy who plays everything by the book, this convention will be anything but conventional. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 9, 2011
    91
    Sweetness makes the raunch in this honestly funny movie even funnier.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    Helms plays angelic insurance agent Tim Lippe with gentle nobility and hilarious naivete.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    If that all sounds like a lot of good, clean fun, a word of warning. In what seems to have become the genre's raison d'etre, the dialogue is so blue at times that you'll probably feel the heat of the blushing cheeks on either side of you, especially whenever Reilly's fast-talking savant of smut shows up.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    In addition to being funny and endearing and having a lively script and lots of nicely observed performances - is something of an education.
  5. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Feb 25, 2011
    70
    Cedar Rapids is certainly a guys' movie, yet it leaves us with the unmistakable impression that men are simple engines. [28 Feb. 2011, p. 80]
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 7, 2011
    70
    Though not as uproarious as "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," director Miguel Arteta's consistently entertaining white-collar laffer could do for Helms what that film did for Steve Carell.
  7. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Feb 8, 2011
    50
    A mild comedy of embarrassment.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Usually today's movies are either crude for the male audience or sweetly romantic for the female. Somehow this sleeper of a hit manages toUsually today's movies are either crude for the male audience or sweetly romantic for the female. Somehow this sleeper of a hit manages to provide solid gross jokes while making you something for the lead characters. Ed Helms (Hangover) plays the perfect naive small-town guy thrust into the "big" world of a convention in Cedar Rapids. John C. Reilly is the obnoxious agent with a touching story driving the smokescreen, Anne Heche is the party agent escaping a dull, dead marriage, and Isiah Whitlock Jr. (The Wire) surprises us will a small, quiet yet critical performance. The innocence and coming of age without seeming stupid or dumb really makes this movie shine. The the twist at the end provides you with a reason to come back and see it again. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    What's brown and sticky? A stick. Great movie. Ed Helms is his amazing self and John C takes on more of a lovable role. Very pleasant andWhat's brown and sticky? A stick. Great movie. Ed Helms is his amazing self and John C takes on more of a lovable role. Very pleasant and definitely worth a watch. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    The TV ads painted an unflattering picture, but I decided to give this one a shot. This was a fun little comedy with a talented cast playingThe TV ads painted an unflattering picture, but I decided to give this one a shot. This was a fun little comedy with a talented cast playing their usual roles. Loved the cameo from Rob Corddry. Expand
  4. CBZ
    Feb 20, 2011
    7
    Its an Ok movie to go on a sunday. Don't expect it to blow your mind, the plot is not very elaborate, but at the same time you dont feel likeIts an Ok movie to go on a sunday. Don't expect it to blow your mind, the plot is not very elaborate, but at the same time you dont feel like the movie is going nowhere. It has fun parts and quiet parts making an overall decent movie. I didnt feel like i wasted my time or money watching it. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    In my opinion this is an overall good movie. The story is great, and very funny through out the whole movie. I also think the acting is great,In my opinion this is an overall good movie. The story is great, and very funny through out the whole movie. I also think the acting is great, especially Ed Helms, and John C. Reilly. If you are a fan of comedy, you should definitely see this movie. Collapse
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    6
    It was ok but i just didnt like it that much. Very few funny parts and it wasnt all that interesting either. The acting was solid though ,asIt was ok but i just didnt like it that much. Very few funny parts and it wasnt all that interesting either. The acting was solid though ,as expected, and I am sure people would enjoy it but dont keep your expectations high. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    Two hours of my life I will never get back. Should have followed our instincts at about the 25 minute mark and bailed at that point. LiveTwo hours of my life I will never get back. Should have followed our instincts at about the 25 minute mark and bailed at that point. Live and learn I guess. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers