Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Aug 9, 2012
    100
    This film has a voice of its own. And at a time when the romantic comedy seems to be a lost art form, that's saying something.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 1, 2012
    91
    I will say that it's been a while since a romantic comedy mustered this much charm by looking this much like life.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Aug 16, 2012
    88
    It's hard to know whether this is a function of the sympathetic screenplay or of Krieger's sympathetic direction - or both - but Celeste and Jesse are endearing even when they do unsympathetic things.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 8, 2012
    88
    I'm not surprised that Rashida Jones took the lead in writing this screenplay; the way things are going now, if an actress doesn't write a good role for herself, no one else is going to write one.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Aug 3, 2012
    83
    It's as if we were watching one of those buddy-buddy bromances told, this time, from the perspective of the woman who is normally on the sidelines of the men's attentions and affections. It's a welcome angle.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Full Review »
  3. Lyn
    Jul 14, 2013
    6
    They're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest, endearing Rashida Jones, and Samberg to a lesser extent, keep this always-unrealistic concept going pretty well.But they are so believable as "pals" that you never quite buy them as passionate. Similar plots have been done amusingly ("It's Complicated") and horrendously ("The Break-Up"), with this film falling in between. Full Review »