User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, youI think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, you might want to skip this. (I'm not, btw. I enjoyed all of it.) Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, as well as stars) what "Bridesmaids" was to Kristen Wiig. Jones gives an incredible performance showing incredible range. This is a good date movie, butEnjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, as well as stars) what "Bridesmaids" was to Kristen Wiig. Jones gives an incredible performance showing incredible range. This is a good date movie, but an even better movie for the brokenhearted. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    Rashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independent romantic-comedy. Not to mention: she and Andy Samberg are magic together.
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film isMy expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Charming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his other comedy roles. Grade A-
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama orIt supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    "Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film typically falls victim to. I keep seeing the word "charming" in other reviews for this movie, and that is probably the best word to describe it. Just a very
    "Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film typically falls victim to. I keep seeing the word "charming" in other reviews for this movie, and that is probably the best word to describe it. Just a very likable movie.

    The Bad: Celeste and Jesse are far more entertaining apart than they are together. If I met the two of them in real life I would have to resist the urge to throat punch them as their inside jokes and non-stop quips get old quickly. It is difficult to root for them ever getting back together, though you do root for them to succeed on an individual level. Great supporting cast.
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Dec 3, 2012
    40
    A low-fi indie that swiftly slums into terminal feyness.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    This honest, if not funny, comedy is all about Celeste. If anyone can make you sympathise with affluent LA yuppies, Rashida Jones can.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 31, 2012
    40
    Celeste and Jesse Forever isn't a movie many people will outright hate, but if this is the most original romantic comedy that Hollywood can muster, forever can't come soon enough.