Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: August 3, 2012
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 40 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
11
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DirigiblePulpJan 31, 2017
I still think this is one of the best pure romantic comedies of this decade. It's a shame it didn't get more attention or a wider release. I don't get it. There's nothing about this that feels too hard or real for a mainstream audience.I still think this is one of the best pure romantic comedies of this decade. It's a shame it didn't get more attention or a wider release. I don't get it. There's nothing about this that feels too hard or real for a mainstream audience.

Genuine laughs and humor coming from characters you like without any obvious archetypes or easy plot contrivances (except the whole pregnant thing, it's necessary but also a bit sudden and contrived).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TechnoElfNov 12, 2015
A great rom com with great dialogue and enough funniness to get through the sad moments. Andy Samberg & Rashida Jones work brilliantly together as two best friends who love each other but can't make it work. One of my personal favourite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Oct 18, 2015
Celeste & Jesse Forever was a surprisingly original romantic comedy that seems to me more common these days after movies like (500) Days of Summer and The Spectacular Now. The cast in excellent in this movie and I really did care about theCeleste & Jesse Forever was a surprisingly original romantic comedy that seems to me more common these days after movies like (500) Days of Summer and The Spectacular Now. The cast in excellent in this movie and I really did care about the two main characters played by Rashida Jones and Andy Samberg. The film is surprisingly emotional at points but can also be quite light hearted and funny as well. Rashida Jones is so great in this movie. I have loved her since Parks & Rec and I thought she was just so easy to latch on to and so easy to love that you just have to keep your eyes on her for the whole run time. This movie would be great for date night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
heathermApr 13, 2015
This movie has a lot of things going for it, like a stunning and talented cast and the beautiful backdrop of LA, but somehow the whole thing managed to fall flat. The character of Celeste herself, who dominates the film first with her upbeatThis movie has a lot of things going for it, like a stunning and talented cast and the beautiful backdrop of LA, but somehow the whole thing managed to fall flat. The character of Celeste herself, who dominates the film first with her upbeat acceptance of her marital separation, and then with her downward spiral when she discovers the hard way that she isn't as over things as she thinks, is compelling and interesting in her struggle. But the movie spends a lot of time acting out rom-com stereotypes but with a meta-wink so that we know they're too clever, which is wasted time and often unfunny--Elijah Wood is completely unbelievable and not at all entertaining when his character makes a conscious attempt to be the over-the-top stereotypical gay friend, and of course Rashida Jones has to give a slightly drunk maid-of-honour speech at her BFF's wedding. There's also a weird but somehow not awful interlude where the adult Rashida Jones strikes up a friendship with the young pop star (played by Emma Roberts, who brings just the right amount of attitude and melodrama to the role) Jones' workplace has recently signed, in which Jones somehow finds clarity in the comfort and company of the younger woman--definitely an unexpected plot turn, and not very believable, but Roberts' was charming enough in the role that I didn't mind. Still, the charm of the cast couldn't make up for the lack of direction in the story, which strayed into shapelessness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscApr 11, 2015
Charming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his otherCharming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his other comedy roles. Grade A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film
"Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film typically falls victim to. I keep seeing the word "charming" in other reviews for this movie, and that is probably the best word to describe it. Just a very likable movie.

The Bad: Celeste and Jesse are far more entertaining apart than they are together. If I met the two of them in real life I would have to resist the urge to throat punch them as their inside jokes and non-stop quips get old quickly. It is difficult to root for them ever getting back together, though you do root for them to succeed on an individual level. Great supporting cast.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Rashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independent romantic-comedy. Not to mention: she and Andy Samberg are magic together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RoraEstJul 5, 2014
It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in badIt supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RevRonSep 3, 2013
My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with thisMy expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LynJul 14, 2013
They're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest, endearing Rashida Jones, and Samberg to a lesser extent, keep this always-unrealistic concept goingThey're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest, endearing Rashida Jones, and Samberg to a lesser extent, keep this always-unrealistic concept going pretty well.But they are so believable as "pals" that you never quite buy them as passionate. Similar plots have been done amusingly ("It's Complicated") and horrendously ("The Break-Up"), with this film falling in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrJun 21, 2013
Started off beautifully, this endearing romantic comedy has enough funny moments as well as moments of truth to make it an enjoyable film to watch, which is defined by the realistic performance of Rashida Jones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Friskytiger81Sep 28, 2012
Enjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, asEnjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, as well as stars) what "Bridesmaids" was to Kristen Wiig. Jones gives an incredible performance showing incredible range. This is a good date movie, but an even better movie for the brokenhearted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrThistleAug 25, 2012
I really, really find Rashida Jones attractive, and I even liked her character in this movie. Nothing sexier than an earthy, naturally beautiful, sarcastic intellectual for me. But I didn't like any of the other characters, and the script wasI really, really find Rashida Jones attractive, and I even liked her character in this movie. Nothing sexier than an earthy, naturally beautiful, sarcastic intellectual for me. But I didn't like any of the other characters, and the script was weak and the dialogue full of cliches. Her husband was very annoying, and her sort-of boyfriend even worse. The drug dealer guy? I won't even say. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinAug 24, 2012
Can a man and a woman just be friends?
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleAug 7, 2012
I think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakoutI think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, you might want to skip this. (I'm not, btw. I enjoyed all of it.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews