User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    Rashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independent romantic-comedy. Not to mention: she and Andy Samberg are magic together.
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Expand
  4. Lyn
    Jul 14, 2013
    6
    They're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest, endearing Rashida Jones, and Samberg to a lesser extent, keep this always-unrealistic concept going pretty well.But they are so believable as "pals" that you never quite buy them as passionate. Similar plots have been done amusingly ("It's Complicated") and horrendously ("The Break-Up"), with this film falling in between. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Started off beautifully, this endearing romantic comedy has enough funny moments as well as moments of truth to make it an enjoyable film to watch, which is defined by the realistic performance of Rashida Jones.
  6. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, as well as stars) what "Bridesmaids" was to Kristen Wiig. Jones gives an incredible performance showing incredible range. This is a good date movie, but an even better movie for the brokenhearted. Collapse
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    2
    I really, really find Rashida Jones attractive, and I even liked her character in this movie. Nothing sexier than an earthy, naturally beautiful, sarcastic intellectual for me. But I didn't like any of the other characters, and the script was weak and the dialogue full of cliches. Her husband was very annoying, and her sort-of boyfriend even worse. The drug dealer guy? I won't even say.
  8. Aug 24, 2012
    4
    Can a man and a woman just be friends?
  9. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, you might want to skip this. (I'm not, btw. I enjoyed all of it.) Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Dec 3, 2012
    40
    A low-fi indie that swiftly slums into terminal feyness.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    This honest, if not funny, comedy is all about Celeste. If anyone can make you sympathise with affluent LA yuppies, Rashida Jones can.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 31, 2012
    40
    Celeste and Jesse Forever isn't a movie many people will outright hate, but if this is the most original romantic comedy that Hollywood can muster, forever can't come soon enough.