Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 9, 2012
    38
    Anyone old enough to have read Jules Verne or seen the way his work was successfully adapted in the past will suffer worse than the kids in the audience who just came to laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 9, 2012
    38
    Even by the unambitious standards of some children's movies and many movies that star Caine, this one has a difficult time making a case for itself as anything other than an adventure in baby-sitting.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 9, 2012
    38
    Hutcherson spits his lines out as quickly as possible, which you appreciate, because the way the likable Johnson wrestles with his lines ("It looks like the liquefaction has tripled overnight!") you think, well, it's a living.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 8, 2012
    33
    This adventure strands Johnson's famously animated features in eyebrow jail, and squanders his outsized charisma and gift for winking self-deprecation in a thankless worried-stepfather role. It doesn't call for much, beyond a lot of muscles and an ever-present look of concern for his whiny stepson.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 9, 2012
    30
    The result is a goofy-weird mishmash of some pretty swell CGI creatures and some downright lousy screenwriting.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 9, 2012
    25
    For a time, Journey 2 becomes a lost episode of "Lost," then it becomes "King Kong," minus the ape. Then it becomes a ukulele music video featuring the Rock's take on Israel Kamakawiwo'ole's "What a Wonderful World."
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 8, 2012
    25
    Prizes computer-generated wizardry above logical plotting or thoughtful character development, a misguided set of priorities exacerbated by the fact that said digital effects prove so chintzy.
  8. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 9, 2012
    0
    The movie's flexibility with its own rules would be less noticeable if it were busy thrilling us.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D, which increased my rating to like a 4. Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I think people giving this a very low rating are pretty harsh, and a bit stuffy!! Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    5
    Due to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quite funny, visually stunning, and bringing plenty of visual and frightening thrills it is worth the money for a solid adventure flick. It just doesn't live up to its predecessor. I give this movie 52%. Full Review »