Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 9, 2012
    60
    If there's a book-loving adventuress or adventurer in your house younger than 10, Journey 2: The Mysterious Island provides a lighthearted break from the death-obsessed "Harry Potter" franchise and other literary but limp adventures like the "Narnia" films and "The Lightning Thief."
  2. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Feb 7, 2012
    60
    A fun though rarely funny family adventure whose lively special effects compensate somewhat for actors who largely sleepwalk through their roles.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Massively throwaway, but funnier and more likable than the first entry. Mainly that's due to an A-list pairing that's as inspired as it is demented.
  4. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    For all the special effects – like its predecessor, this is in 3-D – the film coasts on Johnson being charming and Caine being Caine.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    With cheesy-looking effects including a ride on the backs of giant bees and dubious literary references, Journey 2: The Mysterious Island comes dangerously close to giving books, never mind 3-D, a bad name.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Feb 9, 2012
    50
    This kind of movie is all about the special effects. They start out great - cool helicopter crash, very convincing giant lizard - but grow more amateurish as the film goes along, with a flight sequence on giant bees proving particularly clunky.
  7. 50
    Surrogate fathers and family values are at the foreground, making the film a quick sell to parents - especially as it boasts the added value of literary roots.
  8. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Feb 9, 2012
    50
    This is a family movie, after all -- but you'll have to sit through some abrasively broad, unfunny exchanges to get there. Dialogue, alas, is the kind of thing that can't be enhanced by the wearing of 3-D glasses.
  9. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    The look of the film is impressive, as are the effects. Overall, however, it's a big, loud, 3-D-drenched jumble.
  10. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Jan 30, 2012
    50
    As the band of adventurers skips from one supersized Survivor-like challenge to the next, one can't help feeling the creative potential of Verne's vision is wasted.
  11. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Feb 9, 2012
    40
    The island locale rings with reggae music regardless of its proximity to Jamaica, and any action sequence is rendered in painfully deliberate slo-mo.
  12. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Feb 9, 2012
    40
    Even "Bwana Devil" showed less crassness in its attempts to wow, however, and the more this cardboard blockbuster piles on the cut-rate F/X, the less anyone - the cast, the filmmaker, you - can muster up the energy to care.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 9, 2012
    40
    It's silly enough that young teens are unlikely to be drawn to it unless they've got a thing for Hudgens or want to take an early peek at Hutcherson, who will soon be seen as Peeta in "The Hunger Games." He was great as a sulky brat in "The Kids Are All Right" but in Journey 2 he comes across as wooden, dull and though not yet 20, too old for roles like these.
  14. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Feb 7, 2012
    40
    The film is endurable owing solely to Johnson, a veteran of bad kids' movies whose sense of when to dial up the charm in such a generic, soulless entertainment remains impeccable.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D,The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D, which increased my rating to like a 4. Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I thinkMy 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I think people giving this a very low rating are pretty harsh, and a bit stuffy!! Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    5
    Due to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quiteDue to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quite funny, visually stunning, and bringing plenty of visual and frightening thrills it is worth the money for a solid adventure flick. It just doesn't live up to its predecessor. I give this movie 52%. Full Review »