Warner Bros. Entertainment | Release Date: February 10, 2012
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
51
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TheQuietGamerAug 31, 2012
Good wholesome family fun. It's funny and filled with some pretty cool moments, and is backed by great acting by the cast. The plot is surprisingly well thought out that ties in well and references with popular books like Gulliver's TravelsGood wholesome family fun. It's funny and filled with some pretty cool moments, and is backed by great acting by the cast. The plot is surprisingly well thought out that ties in well and references with popular books like Gulliver's Travels and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It will make for an enjoyable movie to watch with the family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cmeierdDec 12, 2012
Let's face it, this is not the type of movie you pit against the classics or try to take too seriously - nor should you be expected to. With Dwayne Johnson as a lead you probably also know what you're getting into when you see it on theLet's face it, this is not the type of movie you pit against the classics or try to take too seriously - nor should you be expected to. With Dwayne Johnson as a lead you probably also know what you're getting into when you see it on the shelf, though I admit, I did find him enjoyable in a goofy sort of way. All that being said, Journey 2 is good for what it is. Provided you can manage your expectations it's not a bad film. I found it entertaining and would probably watch it again with my young nephews since even the "scary" parts aren't that bad for younger audiences. Plus, all the book references they throw out in the movie could maybe even lead to them picking up one of the novels - and that's fine in my book....pun intended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gemini0577Mar 7, 2012
Aside from a wasted opportunity in the center of the film, Mysterious Island was a quick, frothy good time. Certainly not a memorable experience on all fronts but effective in its entertainment value, the film delivered some interestingAside from a wasted opportunity in the center of the film, Mysterious Island was a quick, frothy good time. Certainly not a memorable experience on all fronts but effective in its entertainment value, the film delivered some interesting sequences: namely the bee chase and the a sequence involving a gigantic electric eel. The problem I noted is that the film did not capitalize on the concept of the big beasties as well as it should have. For example, a dangerous trek through the most horrifying part of the island is summed up in a montage that features no giant creatures or any survivalistic actions. Simply put, the segment plays out like a Sunday stroll. The acting was pretty good though nothing to write home about. It is the breathtaking views the island presents that seal the deal, serving as a perfectly exotic backdrop for some thrilling action sequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Jan 20, 2013
This movie isn't fantastic or anything but it is quite entertaining. Sure, there are several cheesy 3D elements, the plot development is mediocre, and it's essentially a very childish version of a National Treasure or Da Vinci Code or IndianaThis movie isn't fantastic or anything but it is quite entertaining. Sure, there are several cheesy 3D elements, the plot development is mediocre, and it's essentially a very childish version of a National Treasure or Da Vinci Code or Indiana Jones type of film. That being said, Luis Guzman's character is absolutely hilarious, Vanessa Hudgens is freaking super hot, and the childish adventure has a certain element of charm to it that makes it enjoyable to watch. I also thought this was a little better than the previous film (Journey to the Center of the Earth) with Brendan Frasier. Obviously this isn't a cinematic masterpiece but it's a film that I think most people would like and it's a perfect film to watch with the family and with kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Vanessa_SFeb 19, 2012
I don't know what to say about the script and plot. It's just ridiculous and unlogic. Mix 3 books to 1 movie, interesting idea!? However, the scenes and special effects are really beautiful. How can I say no to those gorgeous colors? And theI don't know what to say about the script and plot. It's just ridiculous and unlogic. Mix 3 books to 1 movie, interesting idea!? However, the scenes and special effects are really beautiful. How can I say no to those gorgeous colors? And the 3D is also satisfying, way better than the effect in The Smurfs. Generally speaking, it will be a perfect film for children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TDailyRotationFeb 11, 2012
Journey 2 is just a pleasant movie. Yes, some moviegoers would say it looks incredibly dumb; being that The Rock is stooping down to kid humor again. But, really, in order to enjoy something like this, you have to embrace the silliness andJourney 2 is just a pleasant movie. Yes, some moviegoers would say it looks incredibly dumb; being that The Rock is stooping down to kid humor again. But, really, in order to enjoy something like this, you have to embrace the silliness and joy that radiates when The Rock isnâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
2zzredheadFeb 20, 2012
My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I think people giving this a very low rating are pretty harsh, and a bit stuffy!!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
shaagaahMar 2, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie -All of it-. Yes there were some flaws like the over exposed Vanessa Hudgens but you must remember that this movie was not intended for an in-deep analysis.It was an entertainment movie, nothing more. The actingI really enjoyed this movie -All of it-. Yes there were some flaws like the over exposed Vanessa Hudgens but you must remember that this movie was not intended for an in-deep analysis.It was an entertainment movie, nothing more. The acting was good while not incredible, but the story line was well-written. I highly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JHutchersonMar 12, 2012
I saw it with my best friend and we both loved it! I think this was a really well done movie one of the better ones. This is my new favorite movie! The way that they make the next movie more obvious with Josh Hutcherson, Sean, says the titleI saw it with my best friend and we both loved it! I think this was a really well done movie one of the better ones. This is my new favorite movie! The way that they make the next movie more obvious with Josh Hutcherson, Sean, says the title aloud. In Journey to the Center of the Earth he just reads the title and I your not paying much attention you might miss it I know because I watched it several times then after a I saw Mysterious Island I then noticed the title. I really enjoyed this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterJun 10, 2012
The best PG movie in a long time. This was a great science fiction adventure, even better then the first movie, with an amazing plot and great action. You need to get this whenever you are near a redbox machine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mins99Jul 3, 2012
This movie is great fun for the kids in more ways that one. It's best not to take anything Dwayne Johnson does too seriously. He has limitations as an actor, but at least he has a good strong, positive personality and can carry a movie likeThis movie is great fun for the kids in more ways that one. It's best not to take anything Dwayne Johnson does too seriously. He has limitations as an actor, but at least he has a good strong, positive personality and can carry a movie like this with aplomb. I recommend this to anyone who has one or more kids under the age of 11. My kids now want to see more Jules Verne films, and who knows maybe even pick up one of his books as well. That can't be too bad, can it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Dec 8, 2012
It`s a good movie and a good adventure but its not as good as Journey 1. Its worth watching and better then the avr. movie but nothing Amazing like I was hoping for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GudKosJul 27, 2016
The is one of the best adventure movie in all time. This was a masterpieceful science fiction adventure, written by Jules Gabriel Verne, slightly better then the first movie with Fraser. Dwayne's best acting perfomance in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 28, 2017
I enjoyed this more than the original. The start was actually great, and the ending was great. The acting could be improved, but it wasn't that bad. It was actually enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews